Skip to Content
38

3.9 based on 38 customer reviews

16
13
3
2
4
Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great action cam

Body + Waterproof Case 24/03/2015  (USA)

Noticed better quality than from HDR AZ1. Like the 4K recording ( I can get 98mbps using this card: SanDisk Extreme PRO 64GB UHS-I/U3 Micro SDXC). Asked a Sony rep why no steadyshot in 4K mode and basically it comes down to processing power and heat. I guess the next model may have it. Overall I really like the quality it produces.

9

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Close, but missing some critical features

Body + Waterproof Case 30/04/2015 by Neo302 (USA)

I like the camera for the most part, but a huge issue is that you only can record 4K at the widest angle where the fisheye effect and how the pixels move around in the video are bizarre. With other resolutions, you can reduce the angle. The ability to choose other angles is really needed when shooting 4K.

18

1

38 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

Nice pictures, terrible interface

Body + Waterproof Case 18/09/2017 by Terjes (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good videoquality, but user interface including wifi is poorly implemented. Bit disappointing also that underwater lense needs to be bought independently (really expensive).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Small but perfectly formed!

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 11/09/2017 by kevinshorp (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this in preparation to go to Florida next year, was going to buy a GoPro but reading reviews this camera came out top. Glad I did as camera is easy to use, has great accessories (the underwater housing will come particularly handy when swimming with the dolphins). Had a few trial runs and picture quality on video and photos were brilliant quality. The live-view accessory is fairly unobtrusive when on wrist (looks like a chunky watch) and is great for giving you the comfort of seeing exactly what you're shooting. Great buy, great performance, NoPro go Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great for having 4k in your pocket!

Body + Waterproof Case 13/08/2017 by Royden (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great for action and any filming. I use with Sony A7r - Sony should update firmware for s-log etc!!!!

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Love this little fella!

Body + Waterproof Case 05/04/2017 by jcstreet (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera is better than a Go pro Hero 4. Love the color and conectivity.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

broke

Body + Waterproof Case 16/01/2017 by longjon62 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

had to send back something went wrong got my money back

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Affordable 4K wide angle

Body + Waterproof Case 07/10/2016 by Bockeman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought two, primarily to use in discreet fixed location for wedding videos and similar. The wide angle, almost fish eye, is distorted, but any 2K crop is fine which is great for post-process selection of the desired subject. With two placed a fixed distance apart on a tripod gives fantastic stereoscopic 3D viewing experience, though software support for 3D is lacking.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent, a lot of punch from a small camera

Body + Waterproof Case 11/06/2016 by Paul981 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The camera was easy to set up and the menus easy to navigate. I purchased the additional suction mount to enable me to use in the car on road trips. Picture quality either 4K to 1080p is excellent and the steady shot on the later format makes this camera stand out from the competition.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

7

0

0

Great camera

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 11/06/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fantastic 4K action cam easy to use and superb quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

0

Not happy

Body + Waterproof Case 28/04/2016 by Teker (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Camera did not work with Sony sdxc class10 U3 4K 64Gb memory card returned to shop in this point cannot recommend to anyone I have tried memory card with GoPro and worked.Called Sony support they asked me to send for repair instead of replaced.

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

7

14

0

Great small video camera with great features

Body + Waterproof Case 08/03/2016 by DragonEdin (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this as a pocket video camera easy to carry instead of my larger video camera. So far has proved a good and useful buy. Easy to carry and small enough to fit into a pocket. Quality of video is good, though in low light conditions quality suffers a bit. Am happy with purchase and would recommend it.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

7

1

0

Multi uses

Body + Waterproof Case 28/01/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had this camera only for a short time but can say with comfort that it's a amazing piece of kit. I use as a dash cam in my car and also at use on a selfish stick at my sons party.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Really good action cam

Body + Waterproof Case 17/01/2016 by NICK_4x4 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Picture quality is exceptional, I also have a GoPro Hero 4 Black Edition and the Sony FDR-X1000V is in no way inferior to the GoPro from video quality point of view. Sound quality is better for Sony than the GoPro Hero 4 Black, I tested both of them with no waterproof case, in the same conditions (concert outdoors, fireworks, mounted outside of the car where you can hear the engine) Sony sound is better. I don't like so much the LCD screen and settings menu from Sony, with abbreviations of the settings live V, FMT for Video Format and L, OPT for length of the Loop video and INTVL for Interval, etc. such good camera could've had a better LCD screen and a better Settings Menu, but if you change the settings from the app, on a smartphone or tablet it's not a problem. Also I would say their video editing software is not the best, and it will need some improvements, but if you use third party video software, this shouldn't be a problem also. Except for these few things it's and excelent camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

7

3

0

Great Features

Body + Waterproof Case 12/01/2016 by Furqan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Action cam is just great. However was a big task find a compatiable memory card for it. Sadly 4K videos cannot sync with my phone have to manually download it to my computer to view.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

8

0

0

very poor camera for the money!

Body + Waterproof Case 24/10/2015 by stuart64 (United Kingdom)

I would describe myself as an advanced user of this type of device. So I know what is what, and how it should work. I have always been a sony fan, but unfortunately this camera just doesnt make the grade!

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

6

47

0

Sharp images

Body + Waterproof Case 12/09/2015 by Smg24 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera to capture the view from my road bike without me having to handle a camera rather than the handle bars.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

0

Great quality... But... ***long review***

Body + Waterproof Case 15/08/2015 by TwisterAD3 (USA)

First off, I'm a helmet camera junkie. While Contour is my favorite overall brand, Sony is a very close second. I have a: -AS10 -AS15 -AS100v's (2 of them, working on a 3rd).. Thought this would be the perfect edition to my Sony Collection. However, it feel like a bigger version of the AS100v. I didn't notice an improvement in the video quality, and at this point, it's almost 3x the cost of my beloved AS100vs. I love that the 1/4 20 screw is on the camera without a silly adaptor. I love that when you go to use it, it works. Areas of opportunity: -Time Lapse mode still could use improvement. GoPro uses 12mp on their cameras, and Contour uses 5mp. I use my Contours for time lapse all the time because 5 is more than enough. This however... Doesn't cut it IMO. -I don't like the new backdoor personally (but that's probably just nitpicking). -I dislike the new cases. But again, I'm just nit picking. Overall, this camera is great. However, I would probably save my $$$ next time, and just keep picking up AS100's. (even though they're missing loop recording).

8

18

0

Great Action Cam

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 05/08/2015 by SynergyKim (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great action cam. I use it in conjunction with the Action Cam Mini as well, creates great videos when using the video sync option in Play Memories / Action Cam Movie Maker. If you are just getting into the "realm" of action cams, I'd suggest the Mini first (since it is at a lower price point) but if you're all about 4K then this is the cam for you. I also will be headed to Japan for an extended time frame, so I figured Sony was a good option. Also cool that it integrates with my Android phone and PS4 Play Memories. I also opted to get the Live View Remote, definitely worth it. Can't wait for the update that lets me view both cams via the 1 wrist remote. Have used all the recording modes (I have a 4K TV, as well) and have been blown away by the quality and detail. I have used the shoulder/backpack mount as well as the helmet/curved mount. I use the cams on a motorcycle, and haven't had any issues at higher speeds - wind noise though is present even with wind reduction on (not a complaint for me, I would expect some wind noise since on a motorcycle). Typically, the 4K cam is mounted to the bike, mini cam mounted on helmet. I would highly recommend picking up a spare battery for any Action Cam that you end up purchasing.

11

2

0

I love this action camera

Body + Waterproof Case 02/07/2015 by rossyb (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I cannot believe how such a small camera can do so much. Without the the waterproof cover it is really small but I keep it on just for protection. The camera comes with mounts so that it can be fixed to your dashboard when driving or helmet when cycling or skiing. The pictures are clear and even with lots of movement the filming is steady .with no blurring or juddering. My son has used when cycling up and down mountains with superb results and tomorrow we are filming a sports day. Hubby is a LGV driver and this will come in useful for him to. You can film underwater with it but as yet we have not tried this but with experience so far I cant see why this also will be very good. The product website/Sony is excellent and explains how to set up and use the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great camera if you've got a 4K TV

Body + Waterproof Case 02/07/2015 by UKviewer (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

At first sight the menus look confusing but once you've chosen your settings the camera is so simple to use. The image quality is stunning with some curvature at the edges as with any wide angle action cam. The camera will connect to your phone to see what you're recording but in practice I just point and shoot. The size of the camera is perfect- it just fits discretely in your hand if you're not using it for action shots. In a city this makes it feel much safer than more obvious cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Love my new Action cam, I bought 2 weeks ago.

Body + Waterproof Case 28/06/2015 by Mr Ritter (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The camera is outstanding, it is better than go pro, however very few accessories and the software for edit is very limited.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Tiny, light, shame 4k defaults to fish eye

Body + Waterproof Case 24/06/2015 by Shed (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very pleased with the cam, would get 5 stars if you had another option of field of view on 4k

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Camera is good but no Gimbal in market

Body + Waterproof Case 11/06/2015 by ppundeer2000 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

the camera is only better quality image but rest is all negative - not many attachments No gimbal what so ever

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

White???

Body + Waterproof Case 06/06/2015 by GE0RGl0 (USA)

White.. Really?? Why Sony didn't offer other color options is beyond me.. NIce video recording but, make sure you purchase correct memory card that states: UHS-I/U3 in order to record in 4K. I'd throw in an extra star or two if it was offered in black and if an Android phone app could be used as a remote control.

7

30

0

Great Camera - Quality Video

Body + Waterproof Case 05/06/2015 by DoninOakville (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent features - Great pics & videos - Up to 240 fps video for sports training, however Sony video software does not process the higher frame rates very well at this time. Underwater housing is great. Tripod mounts on both the camera and the housing a plus. Very good interface with android based smartphone and Windows 8 PC. I would assume the IPhone interface works just at well.

1

3

0

Excellent camera

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 04/06/2015 by KKen (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great camera, brilliant quality pictures and the stereo microphone and anti-shake place it well above the GoPro for me. The Live View Remote is also excellent and allows you to monitor the recording when the camera is mounted in a remote location. The only feature I would add is quick set selection to allow you to pre-program the modes for e.g. Cycling, Driving, Snorkling. Otherwise it can take 5 mins to set it up to configure video mode, wind noise reduction, mount location, anti-shake, etc.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great little gadget

Body + Waterproof Case 30/05/2015 by DQUEENS (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great little product. Battery the only down. Loads of extra's. Could do with a better app.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Good Alternative

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 07/05/2015 by OZFour (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I own several compact action cams including the popular brands and the not so 'known' brands and I consider this camera a good alternative. I put the Sony in the top 3 action cams for its picture quality, stability, features, and waterproof housing. Where I feel the camera falls short is the price which I feel is too high for what it's used for and the limited amount of mounts. If the next version comes out at a better price point I would consider upgrading and giving 5 stars but if not. . .we'll see!

8

2

0

Epic Slow Mo!

Body + Waterproof Case 05/05/2015 by Chris O (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I use this for capturing sports events. Last week used it at an Athletics Track & Field day and was able to place the camera in 'no-go' areas to get some great slow mo of javelin, discuss, long/high jumps, crossing the finish line etc. Great little camera. It's very easy to switch on by mistake so recommend picking-up a 2nd battery (can't power it from mains/usb whilst in use). I'm now thinking of more and more creative ways of using it. Very nice!

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

Close, but missing some critical features

Body + Waterproof Case 30/04/2015 by Neo302 (USA)

I like the camera for the most part, but a huge issue is that you only can record 4K at the widest angle where the fisheye effect and how the pixels move around in the video are bizarre. With other resolutions, you can reduce the angle. The ability to choose other angles is really needed when shooting 4K.

18

1

0

Excellent image quality

Body + Waterproof Case 25/04/2015 by Biggles13 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have owned my Sony Action Cam for a couple of weeks. The image quality is excellent. Use of the case appears to have no significant degrading impact. Sound quality good too. Wifi seems robust and straightforward to operate from my android phone. I am experimenting with various video settings. It would help if Sony supplied a manual that gave guidance on recommended settings for particular shooting situations. It is also clear that my own computer equipment struggles with a combination of high bit rates and high frame rates. I bought a San disc ultra 64 GB XC1. I was disappointed to find that it will not record in the highest 4K setting. But in practice the lower 4K setting is more than adequate for any shooting I expect to be doing. Steady shot works well. Wide angle is impressive. There is a bit of fisheye distortion at 170 degrees, but I do not find this off-putting. This is not noticeable at 120 degrees when steady shot (which is good) is activated. I like both the natural and vivid color settings. Overall very happy with this product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Needs simple 4k time-laps firmware update

Body + Waterproof Case 25/04/2015 by petr321 (USA)

Don't get me wrong , its a great camera. But it can be better with a simple firmware update. When you up against the best action cam in world (gopro) you need to out preform them. 75% of the time I shoot video and it out perform all the action cams out there. But the other 25% we all shoot time-lapse. And thats where this cam falls short, ONLY 1080p in time-laps mode, come guys you. Gives us 4k time-laps and add in there .5 sec increments and you got the best cam out there hands down.

23

5

0

Camera great but Sony is bad

Body + Waterproof Case 21/04/2015 by eocs (USA)

Camera shoots beautiful video and works pretty well. there are however some things missing from Sony side that take away what it could be. *Camera can do time lapse photos, but the camera or playmemories home does not have the ability to combine them. I need to use GoPros App for this. Also the photos are not full resolution for time lapse. *Camera has live streaming ability, Sony has limited this to a 100€ MONTHLY PAID streaming site (USTREAM), no youtube or twitch ect. therefore this feature is useless. *I contacted Sony support before buying the camera to ask if it logged GPS altitude, it was confirmed that it did indeed do this, however after buying i find the overlays available in playmemories home do not display altitude. i feel slightly cheated about this but am hoping it will be addressed in either a camera or playmem update. important as im a skydiver. (case:12437807) There are several more little things along the same line but these are the main ones that bother me. So overall the camera has some serious shooting power for videos, great resolution photos if not using time lapse the camera itself if really good. However Sonys support of the camera, its functions and their general knowledge about their own products really take it down. Still better then GoPro cause it actually works when i want it to and does not melt itself.

15

3

0

Vertical good camera with some minor issues

Body + Waterproof Case 14/04/2015 by Grzesiek111 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera a month ago. Only tested it yesterday. Love the design and ease of access to menu and sub menu great quality only need more aaccessories defiantly the camcorder housing AK1LU or something. Nice motorcycle helmet side mount would be great. GPS seems to lose track of speed above 200 kph.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Disappointed

Body + Waterproof Case 14/04/2015 by Sash (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not good. 4k only films in annoying mega fish eye, worse of all fab image stabilisation is disabled with 4k which for me defeats whole point of an action cam. It's also bigger and heavier than previous models. I wait for next model with 4k stabilisation and normal wide angle not unusable Fisheye.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

10

1

0

lots of featurea to keep you interested

Body + Waterproof Case 13/04/2015 by dagganay (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this to use on my motorbike I'm still working out the best way to shoot with it but I'm very impressed so far

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great action cam

Body + Waterproof Case 24/03/2015  (USA)

Noticed better quality than from HDR AZ1. Like the 4K recording ( I can get 98mbps using this card: SanDisk Extreme PRO 64GB UHS-I/U3 Micro SDXC). Asked a Sony rep why no steadyshot in 4K mode and basically it comes down to processing power and heat. I guess the next model may have it. Overall I really like the quality it produces.

9

0

0

Good camera - but thanks for not telling the truth

Body + Waterproof Case 22/03/2015 by xPho (USA)

So all in all the camera is good... things you cant do.. 1) cant record at 100mbps in 4k ... there are no MicroSD cards that support it... best i have found is 80mbps.. 2) you cant use Steady Shot in 4k.. so if you want to shoot 4k that feature is not a available. 3) yes you can stream live.. but you have to pay for it 3 times... first ustream that is $100 a month a month.. you couldn't just use twitchTV... it is free.. second... you cant stream unless you eat up your bandwidth... yep ... you have to connect the phone to the camera not the camera to the phone ... so you cant be on the same wifi last the wifi... if you want to manage the camera you have to join its wifi... no join it to wifi... a little backwards... since... that would make it be able to use local internet or hot spots. Smart camera stupid designs...

38

11

0

Make sure you get the correct accessories

Body + Waterproof Case 04/03/2015 by Mtlock (USA)

The camera is sturdy and I personally like the menu as opposed to the GoPro equivalent. I went with Sony because I had previously gone with them before and I heard bad things about GoPro's 4k camera from a friend. I also like that Sony records stereo as opposed to mono sound. The only thing is I can't review on the quality of the camera yet because I was not aware that you have to have at least a 64GB U3 (I thought it just had to be U3 but size matters) memory card for it to be able to record xav-c which is required to do any video in 4k. Memory cards don't really give you that type of info so it's been a trial and error with the cards thus far so i wanted to post a review so others don't have the same issue.

47

1