Skip to Content

Starting at

$399.99

23

4.4 based on 23 customer reviews

13
9
0
0
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

23 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

Great quality

Body + Waterproof Case 09/08/2017 by DJ123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We have been using this for approximately a year and it is great. Our only issue is with the software, we have had to download a different programme in order to merge videos, think Sony need to work on their software.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy to use

Body + Waterproof Case 24/01/2017 by Adam John (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to use great pic´s and movies all round a good device to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

In general, Awesome!

Body + Waterproof Case 22/12/2016  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Received this as a gift before a friend moved, works great takes amazing videos while snowboarding with extremely good quality sound.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The best action camera for the money.

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 26/10/2016 by pavelip (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The best combination picture quality and stabiliser.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Decent device

Body + Waterproof Case 30/07/2016 by Not2Bshared (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

2nd device after a year with AS20. Appreciate GPS and Remote. A good universal camera -sports, music and business. Indoor/ Outdoor.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Good action cam

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 11/05/2016 by Jerry P67 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great cam. After watching on YouTube comparison of those small Sony action cams I realized that that one is the one the best fits what I want. Would be nice if there would be available lens caps. I made some out of silicon DIY because I didn't find any on market. Test it and happy with it. It has the FOV of 170° and reasonable resolution I like. The wrist remote control is just awesome with it's small monitor on it. I don't know but maybe Sony has always something better than others doesn't have. That's why I has chosen Sony. Small detail which make big difference.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

2

0

Only worked once

Body + Waterproof Case 02/02/2016 by Sam555 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is a very sad piece of equipment! Worked for one day with good quality videos & on my second day discovered that all my skydives were not filmed & when I searched for help I discovered that a lot of people had the same issue!

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

4

9

0

Produces nice footage. Long life.

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 05/10/2015 by Deema (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

You get the sony quality, slick profile (for paintball marker mounting) nice battery life (of course replaceable with additional power pack) 1 button recording. Image stabilizer via 120 degree FoV (170 deg. FoV without stabilizer) Vivid colors - is a Must. Bought the VR version - remote control and lcd screen is a pleasant bonus for little extra money. I wish only for more precise and crisp image recording starting at a distance 20 meters and more "in action" it is the Action Cam, right? (paintball stress test)

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

7

0

Image is awesome!!

Body + Waterproof Case 25/09/2015 by smurf2002 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I do a lot of motorcycle track days and had a few other camera's. All of them suffer from severe video vibration, I must say the Sony as200v is the best I have ever seen! Stable with GPS and speed tracking what more do you want! It is small and the variety of mounts make it easy to mount anywhere as you can change the angle of the video recording :) Any if you like to show of your track god status get one of them!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Easy setup

Body + Bike Mount Kit 31/08/2015 by Paul 57 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The AS200VB is the bike accessories version and comes with most things you need to get going. The live veiw remote is easy to use and setup with the camera. An extra battery is required if you need to video more than an hours worth of footage. Turning of the gps and wifi does extend the battery life and the camera is easy to use on its own without the LVR. A better anti vibration mount would make video smoother but I have yet to try all the recording modes so will have to wait and see. However, the footage on rough down hills is very shaky when using the HD MP4 settings. All in all I'm pleased with the camera so far.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

GREAT ACTION CAM

Body + Waterproof Case 12/08/2015 by cal269 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It does wonderful things. As it should. The downside to this is the controls. Using the camera it self to can be a bit confusing and it it best to set things up with a PC or your cell(Android) phone. The battery will last about 60-100 mins of rec. I suggest getting a spare or 2. I use mine for motorcycle rides and have spares. The camera quality is outstanding.

20

2

0

First "Action" style camera

Body + Waterproof Case 15/07/2015 by Nickbris (USA)

I purchased this camera because, well I love Sony, the price was better than competitors, and the reviews were good. I ride a motorcycle. I also am a service technician at a dealer. I like to record my ventures so I can reflect on them and God forbid something go wrong... I will have it recorded. The clip is of me riding from a gas station to work. I fitted the camera to the top of my helmet with the mount that is ment for rounded objects. I saw the 3M grey adhesive and knew it would hold well on a clean surface that is not completely smooth. If it were smooth I would recommend scouring the surface for maximum hold. I have now rode over 200mi with the cam atop my head. No issues with it. I had the cam set to 1080 30fps. I now have it set at 720 30fps for battery life and memory savings. In both modes you can read liscense plates and other important location information. The 720 mode also seems to make the battery last a while longer. This camera overall has met and exceeded my expectations. I would buy some more and take advantage of the link feature... But they still are not that inexpensive. Good job Sony! Also the image stabilization works well if you want to use it on a dash of a car. Battery life is good not excellent. Also I do not see an easy way to keep the unit plugged in whilst recording, thus it does not make a good dash cam... But it isn't one. So good...

9

1

0

Fantastic action sports camera

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 02/07/2015 by Rapha (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great video quality with a fantastic remote to watch and adjust your footage on the go. The GPS capabilities area a real bonus. Easy mounting options, lots of mounts as well as adapters available. SteadyShot works really well. Treat yourselfa and get one of these.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

Fantastic HD Camera - not so good accessories

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 15/06/2015 by NixRSV4 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought the AS200V a few weeks ago, my main aim was to allow me to put it on my motorbike and record some ride outs with friends. Unfortunatley Sony dont make any decent (strong) clamps to allow you to safely and securely fit it to a high speed motorbike, the only option is the adhesive mounts, which i am loathe to stick to my fairings as they may damage the paintwork. I have had to resort to using a GoPro adapter (alumimium) and a Aluminium clamp for a Wasp Cam, as the plastic clamps and mounts that Sony and GoPro produce are to flimsy. If you are not a Biker and intend to use this camera for other, less high speed, activities then i am sure the plastic mounts would suffice. As for the camera, it easily beats the top of the range GoPro, fantastic picture quality, though do bearin mind that you will need a very high speed class10 card to get the most out of this camera. All in all a brilliant product let down by lack of good quality mounting options. Sony, if your reading this, MAKE ALUMINIUM MOUNTS :)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great camera w/some cool new features

Body + Waterproof Case 03/06/2015 by coltrane (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera primarily for the built in GPS for use when I drag race or autocross. I haven't had an actual event but on a highway test run the speed data is very cool to have on the video. While it lags a hair the speed was very accurate to what I saw on the HUD while driving. The other neat feature is the waterproof capability. I only tried that on vacation in the pool with my kids but it was very cool to get video of them jumping right at me in the pool, and then swimming to me underwater. The underwater footage was very clear, much better than I expected, of course in a fairly clear hotel pool. I have an older GoPro so its not a direct comparison of current technology but the Sony's picture quality was great, kind of like high definition to non, but I would expect it to be just being 2-3 years newer. So far I'm very pleased with the camera.

8

2

0

Great Action Cam

Body + Waterproof Case 27/05/2015 by TheKid (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a upgrade from my previous model Sony Action cam, great features and excellent image quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Easy to use, it has some very good features

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 26/05/2015 by WynO (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this on route to my daughters wedding, my wife had banned me from using my large camera! this gave us great stills and superb natural video with it being so small it allowed for many natural unforced moments.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Great action cam user friendly

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 21/05/2015 by Ricardusrex (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great purchase easy to set up ,used for a scuba diving holiday worked great underwater,,,,impressed so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great motion stability

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 30/04/2015 by AdrianB (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

3 test runs and I'm impressed. Used for mountain biking and mounted firstly using Sony mount which is too bulky and vibrates a touch. Now use KEdge mount which is better. Battery life is quite poor though. Still a superb gadget

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great picture quality, small and beautiful design

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 19/04/2015 by mtif (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love its design and the remote, picture quality is excellent as is the steady can Software is not so good, basic, doesn't even handle time lapse

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Amazing video quality but about the gps...

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 12/04/2015 by cam_eroon (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Has amazing video quality and is great for what i need, however the gps does not seem to work in the movie creator even though in play memories it says it does have gps information. I do not know if this is the camera or the softwares fault however it would be good to be sorted.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

My First Action Cam

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 11/04/2015 by Peam (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having pondered for ages whether or not to buy an action cam, I finally decided to take the plunge. For me their were only 2 cams in the running, GoPro Hero 4 Silver and the Sony HDR AS200 and from the multitude of reports and reviews I read I chose the Sony for the following reasons, in no particular order. Price, image stabilisation, ease of use, familiarity with other Sony products and battery life to name just a few. I have a big programme or half marathons, triathlons and, mainly, cyclo sportives this year so this camera will come in useful to record all this. I've had it for a couple of weeks now and haven't hit any problems. I haven't used the HD recording yet, but the MP4 mode is excellent. Battery life is good but GPS and WiFi do run it down more quickly, I bought a couple of spare batteries which is probably essential for longer events. For mounting on my handlebars I bought a K-Edge Go Big Pro mount and adapter - a REALLY good but expensive mount. I also bought the Sony Universal head mount kit, it is very versatile and includes everything you need to put the camera on your bonce :) The Live View remote works well and is great for framing your shots, I find it more convenient than using my Xperia mobile for this purpose. All in all, so far, I'm a satisfied customer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

HDR-AS200 - My first Action Camera

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 16/03/2015  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After placing an order for this back in January it finally arrived in March. I've been using it mainly on my DJI Phantom and I'm pretty happy with it so far. Good picture on video and single still shots are ok.What is disappointing about the camera is when using in 'Interval' mode, the still pictures taken are only low res (approx 2mp) and not the full resolution. As I wanted to get some great aerial shots from above this is a major shortcoming of the camera and as the range of the live view is limited I can't remotely get the camera to take single shot pictures at full resolution/best quality. I purchased a range of mounts and accessories and these are of good build quality and i'm very happy with these.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0