Skip to Content
HDR-AS50 ACTION CAM

Product Reviews

$199.99

15

4.5 based on 15 customer reviews

9
5
1
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Poor Sound In The Case - Great For Scuba

HDR-AS50 04/05/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I primary got this for scuba diving use and so far for that it has worked well. Unlike other such cameras it actually has a manual white balance option which can be used and set underwater (however quite a few menu steps to get to the option). The basic camera is not water or splash proof in any way and when in the case you will find the sound is virtually inaudible (foam covers the microphones in the case front). This model has a tripod mount on the camera as well as the case but you need dry weather. With a 64Gb card (put in it the correct way around, you can put it in the wrong way) with basic 1080p mode you get 8hrs of recording space. In super high quality high bit rate 1080p this drops to under 3hrs

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

11

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great Features and easy to use - not underwater

HDR-AS50 18/07/2016 by mredcats (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the action cam and used it within a few days - it is easy to use and the quality appears to be good. Unfortunately the same can't be said for the waterproof housing and seal, the camera is now dead due to seal issue after full empty housing test etc.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

5

4

15 Customer Reviews

0

Cool little toy!

HDRAS50B 11/10/2017 by GraphicTV (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got it as a gift. Bought a mount for the handlebars on my bike. Makes great videos of my rides. Nicer picture than I anticipated, really nice color in daylight, image steady feature works well and very practical. Several apps available that work with it.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

SEEMS PROMISING

Body + Waterproof Case 25/08/2017 by TOCHIQUI2017 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I STILL HAVE TO LEARN THE FEATURES. BUT WITH MY FORTHCOMING TRIP I WILL BE ABLE TO USE THE FEATURES.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Versatile device

HDR-AS50 02/07/2017 by Parajumper (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I spent a long time deciding which action camera to buy. GoPro was at a price that I could not justify but I wanted something of quality. The Sony unit appeared to fit the bill. It has all the options of movies, stills, time-lapse etc. But within each there are many choices of quality, frame speed, zoom etc. I have only touched the surface of what is possible but, so far I am more than happy with my choice.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Great footage, easy to use!

HDR-AS50 16/06/2017 by Jeebraun (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We bought this product because of its ability to go up to 60 meters under water, in preparation for our upcoming scuba trip. We've been testing it out snorkeling and the images are fantastic, clear and bright. It is very easy to use as well. Great purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Lightweight, easy to use anywhere.

HDR-AS50 25/02/2017 by Diveworldsteve (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Used underwater, so light and easy to carry. Picture quality is superb for this genre of camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Best than Gopro

Body + Waterproof Case 19/02/2017 by Romão (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I happy, now I have a Camera to use in my scuba diving adventures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Excellent just simply excellent

HDR-AS50 18/02/2017 by Ken_CP (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the HDR50 for skiing. I bought this with the chest mount along with it (which was also excellent). The picture quality was fab and the digital stabilization worked like a dream. The sound was almost entirely shutout in the case but I knew that from reviews before I bought it - no probs as edited film was added with BGM. However when I did take it out of the case to record a pub band in hol the sound quality was very pleasing. I was also very pleasantly surprised with the battery life. I really didn't have any expectations on this and bought but out of caution I bought a spare battery. However the battery lasts so long when you only take short videos intermittently there really was no need for it. Finally the ease of use warrants a mention. The simple one button start/stop was excellent. You can set it to turn off automatically which I think must have helped with the battery too. The camera can be linked to your Smartphone and turned on/off from there (as well as used as a separate monitor) but I found this was a little on the slow side when on the slopes. However when you are released apres skiing and taking videos/pics then the monitoring via your phone proved very useful. Overall I am very happy with this camera and look forward to using it cycling when the weather improves.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Excellent Time Lapse Capture and smooth video

HDR-AS50 12/01/2017 by Ralf04 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The HDR-AS50 I bought has lived up to all the expectations I had after reading many reviews. I was looking for a low cost quality action cam to take video of good quality. Mainly skiing and other cultural events in our locality. I am also very impressed with the quality of time lapse capture in 4k. for a product in this price range Sony I feel have surpassed themselves. Well done!

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Great features in a small compact package

HDR-AS50 25/10/2016 by Liamh2o (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Been using this little toy for a couple of weeks now, love it as my business start up product, great wifi and Bluetooth controls and live view and direct wifi to the router to live stream to u-stream, good battery life and brilliant companion to my quadcopter drone Yet another Sony product I love that I own

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

All-day remote video.

HDR-AS50 04/10/2016 by SUPaddict (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I use my HDR-AS50 action cam with LVR-3 live view remote on long stand-up paddleboard trips. It is not easy to access the camera during these trips. This combination has amazing power-saving tricks. WiFi is used to stream video from camera to LVR, but low-power bluetooth is used to control the camera from the LVR. The camera can be shut down by turning off the LVR. While sleeping, the camera monitors bluetooth and it wakes itself when the LVR is turned on. The LVR is used as a viewfinder, but while filming video, WiFi and LVR video can be shut down. Using this combination, I can locate the camera on a boom for interesting shots, take pictures and video intermittently all day without recharging or physically accessing the camera. The picture quality is good and the picture stabilisation works like magic. The camera will not record sound while inside its waterproof case.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Great Features and easy to use - not underwater

HDR-AS50 18/07/2016 by mredcats (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the action cam and used it within a few days - it is easy to use and the quality appears to be good. Unfortunately the same can't be said for the waterproof housing and seal, the camera is now dead due to seal issue after full empty housing test etc.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

5

4

0

Great feature but lack of accessories

HDR-AS50 10/07/2016 by Roy237 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Took nice pictures and video underwater but unfortunately no red filter available in the market. So disappointed at present. Otherwise good picture and video quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

4

0

Well made, value and great features

HDR-AS50 19/06/2016 by Jez L (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the ease of use and access to the new menu system. Steadyshot is great. Tripod mount very user friendly. HD video XAVC quality vivid mode.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Small and compact with good pictures

HDR-AS50 15/06/2016 by OakT (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this camera to do some timelaspe and outdoor recording. Work really well for both. The size is great and the waterproof case is solid and doesn't add to much bulk. The sound is not very good when in the case but I guess that is to be expected.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Poor Sound In The Case - Great For Scuba

HDR-AS50 04/05/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I primary got this for scuba diving use and so far for that it has worked well. Unlike other such cameras it actually has a manual white balance option which can be used and set underwater (however quite a few menu steps to get to the option). The basic camera is not water or splash proof in any way and when in the case you will find the sound is virtually inaudible (foam covers the microphones in the case front). This model has a tripod mount on the camera as well as the case but you need dry weather. With a 64Gb card (put in it the correct way around, you can put it in the wrong way) with basic 1080p mode you get 8hrs of recording space. In super high quality high bit rate 1080p this drops to under 3hrs

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

11

0