Skip to Content
63

4.0 based on 63 customer reviews

30
20
5
1
7
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Good product

BDV-E2100 31/07/2016 by Borga123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product a few weeks ago and it's very good, l like it, you can go to youtube and choose any music u like. It also have fantastic sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Horrible system

1,000 W 02/01/2017 by Sorsha (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought two of these systems, and both have the same exact issue. They stay blocked in a particular function (one audio, the other tv) and become unresponsive. After calling Sony customer service, everything need to be sent back to be fixed... Will take long and not sure if can be fixed. Stay away from this product!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

63 Customer Reviews

0

Riddled with problems

BDV-E2100 15/10/2017 by Andyofsmeg (United Kingdom)

I've owned the system for just over a year. The sound is generally good but the levels appear 'off' at low volumes unless you switch to night mode. The connectivity is good but that's where anything positive ends. Like my Sony hi-fi the startup time is extremely slow. There's an option to change the default which improves life slightly but it's hardly a car of turn on and play. However they biggest issue is with the system's ability to pay Blu-rays or DVDs which, given that it's a Blu-ray and DVD player is more than a little problem: 1. For as long as I can remember the system has had a sporadic issue whereby the tray won't eject. You can even start the system by pressing the eject button and still it won't come out. Sundries it can take several (painfully slow) restarts before it will finally eject. This has now become a permanent feature rendering it useless after just over a year. This is made worse by: 2. Often the system won't recognise that there's a disc inside and a restart is required. Worse is that at the same time as it is displaying 'no disc' it won't allow you to factory reset or use a number of other features because the disc tray is in use! 3. The sound sync seems to need too be adjusted for every individual Blu-ray or DVD. I'm someone that's particularly sensitive to lip sync but it's quite annoying when you settle down to a film and then have to apologise to the family the first time someone speaks as you fiddle with the sync 4. Occasionally a restart is required sure to the sound levels throwing a wobbler. Essentially it sounds like everyone is speaking like they are using a voice distortion device. This also note seems to be permanent. I could go on. It's terrible.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

not bad

BDV-E2100 18/09/2017 by MINAREBELIUS (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I both a month a go is working good but the problem is I'm conection to the Internet and after couple a days he didn't recognise the password I must login again...otherwise good product

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Bass power is awesome

BDV-E2100 30/08/2017 by jcwakies (USA)

Great device to use love the bluetooth capabilities,bass power is fantastic makes the room feel like a true homw theater

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

easy set up

1,000 W 25/08/2017 by mecco1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

always had sony dvd players/blu-ray.last one lasted 12 years, I expect this one to last just as long.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

The worst product.

1,000 W 28/07/2017 by LeeG42 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought on June 6th 2017 and it would shut down on its own during a movie and need to be started from the beginning again!! Called and did all the things directed by Customer Support. Shut down again the next day (7-20-17) then worked until 7-27-17 when it shut down 5 times during a movie in 2 hours!!! This has greatly disappointed me Sony has always been dependable in their other products.

Sound Quality

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

In sony i trust.

BDV-E2100 23/07/2017 by Mansell5winner (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sound quality is amazing and so adjustable to suit any size room .

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Good all round and happy I purchased this one.

BDV-E2100 19/06/2017 by leatherbiker27 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

You obviously have a high expectation when buying a Sony item and normally I would only get devices that matched I.E. Sony Home Entertainment System to go with a Sony Television, however, the other customer reviews as opposed to cost won me over and I am happy with the purchase. I shall outline the good and bad here I.E. What just stopped me giving it a "5"? I'll get negatives out the way so that we end of positives but this is what genuinely prevented me just nudging it up to "5". That said, if 4.8 could be given, then I would give it that. A couple of times it has gone on a "go-slow" when trying to use apps. It strikes me as odd (although you only have to do it once each time you turn the device on) that it goes through a 3 step start up to log-on. Although this only takes around 20 seconds, it feels like a backward step to me when my telly can go to these apps with no such fuss. Just a little asphectic as I wasn't expecting it when I brought it as no photos showed it but it has a little white light on the front which I can only assume is for novelty purposes. You can see it on the images and video below, however, me personally, I don't think it looks right. If you had the choice change its colour then maybe but just plain white?! THAT'S IT! Here's the good stuff: Easy setup, lots of good apps as you would expect such as your standard ones. Good sound with the option of messing around with it so to speak I.E. Set it to "Movie" if watching a movie or "Music" if listening to music & so on. There have been a couple of times it has made me jump as I have positioned the speakers as per the manual and because one is behind my head, it sounds so like-like at times I have genuinely thought something was going on outside. Has all the connections you would want. I don't buy these systems as a matter of course for the DVD or Blu-ray player. All I am interested in is good quality sound for the surround sound whilst watching basic television. This system does come with a "Optical In" however I did not need one as the HDMI cable was sufficient and worked well with both connection to my TV & satellite receiver.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Good Quality, low sound

1,000 W 26/04/2017 by cmacman (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this product thinking it would be loud as it claims 1000w, though the sound volume is so so. I had an RCA surround sound system I was replacing that outperformed it and it was a 250w system. Claiming this is a 1000w system is just ridiculous. WiFi receiving, sending video, set to highest bass level, and volume at max this system maybe takes 400w (I've never gauged it but am really curious now). The quality of the sound IS good, but I do listen to it at near max all the time when watching shows or playing music working around the house and it's not uncomfortable and could be louder even when I'm a few feet away. Also, the system has specific plug connectors so they will not accept just any speakers with bare speaker wire ends as other systems do. I wanted to plug my old speakers into it but that is not immediately possible. If quality is more important than volume capacity, this system would be great for you. If you want volume, you'll be at 30-33/33 (max) most of the time and might not be satisfied, like me, most of the time. Realistically, this probably outputs 250w if that, as the sub is good but not a huge power hog in the system. I'd love to run an amp meter on it to see. I'll play with the modes more to see what I can get out of it but so far it is what it is: underpowered.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound for a small system

1,000 W 24/04/2017 by MsBrenda219 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this system a few weeks ago and it is the perfect sound system for a small space.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

EXCELENT SYSTEM has everything anyone could need

1,000 W 10/04/2017 by robert4039man (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

just bought this system and am loving it. picture quality is super, the sound only SONY can give

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent 3D Blu Ray Player

1,000 W 02/04/2017 by BESkinner1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just recently purchased the Sony BVD-E2100 and I'm totally impressed with the performance. Great sound and features!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good for the price

1,000 W 25/03/2017 by Fromtom (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Overall: great video quality, audio is a bit lacking (sound seems weak at even high volume levels), the WIFI speed is incredibly slow (and it's not the connection). Even with my FIOS quantum gateway directly behind the unit, web browsing is nearly impossible.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Awesome sound

1,000 W 24/03/2017 by Bayougarden (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I. Love the sound, however, I remain frustrated with the short cord. I need longer cords. I don't to call an electrician to cost me more than the Home Theater to get longer wires.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Pay extra for a better system.

BDV-E2100 02/03/2017 by Old man Kev (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not bad. Could be better. It should have a co-axial aerial socket, and the menu system needs to be improved upon.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

Easy Set - Up. Great sound

1,000 W 13/02/2017 by Thephoneman (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very easy to use, set up and has great sound quality

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Not as good as I would hope.....but not bad either

BDV-E2100 09/02/2017 by mazy56 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

First.... I need to say, that I am a little bit a Sony fan and this wont change my status :) but, I was hoping for more from this system (bdv-e2100), but may be in this price range its hard to hope for more... :( System is good overall for the price, but really far, far away from hi-fi... (I was hoping for it to be a little bit closer) Things that I am not satisfied: 1. Surround sound side speakers quality - they are trebbling too, too much on high volume when your are playing music through bluetooth (for example: Armin Van Buuren pres. Gaia - Aisha, Ferry Corsten - Sweet Sorrow and etc like that style of music - deep trance :), for other styles its better) 2. Cooler Fun is too loud when system starts Things that I like: 1. Its a Sony :) 2. Good price 3. Overall good performance 4. Pretty easy to set up everything

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Horrible system

1,000 W 02/01/2017 by Sorsha (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought two of these systems, and both have the same exact issue. They stay blocked in a particular function (one audio, the other tv) and become unresponsive. After calling Sony customer service, everything need to be sent back to be fixed... Will take long and not sure if can be fixed. Stay away from this product!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

needed blue ray player

1,000 W 31/12/2016 by pitterpat (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The setup for playing discs was beyond simple. i just unplugged the old dvd player and plugged in this one, adding the 5 speakers. It all worked beautifully. The setup for the wireless connection is not so simple. It found the wireless router, established the ssid and keyword, but it always says "connection failed". No clue why. I have looked at the online help site, and only found what was in the manual, which was no help for this failure. I would like to be able to use Netflix with this system and my TV. Since I can use it on my computer with my wireless router, I should be able to use it with this system. I am frustrated.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

great

1,000 W 09/12/2016 by shortwave (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

great little bundel many features easy to use nice looking

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

happy with the sound and features

BDV-E2100 09/12/2016 by DaveLB (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted a home cinema system that also had in-built wi-fi. Pleased with the sound and features. Only draw back is that the speaker wires are fixed and as I had hidden cables in the wall I had to cut and join the wires, it would have been better to be able to add plugs to my cabling for a neater solution.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Great

1,000 W 07/12/2016 by Artemio21 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great deal for family and friends HD movies and good condition

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good product let down by speaker cables

BDV-E2100 22/11/2016 by Jimmy46 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Speaker cables far to short. Had to extend them only to be told guarantee is invalid now. Totally ridiculous they should supply enough cable

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great System & Sound.

1000W 15/11/2016 by SCS1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great Sound But the Front Speaker Wire are to short I wish they were long like the Back Speaker Wires. Now need to buy Speaker wire to make them longer for the room.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony - Blu-ray Home Theater System with Bluetooth

1,000 W 27/10/2016 by jljimbo1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this product over a year ago and still as new as possible

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound great picture

BDV-E2100 25/10/2016 by Corgi (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A great buy. The sound and picture quality are superb. Easy to use and set up , great looking product .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Disappointed

BDV-E2100 10/10/2016 by Damousm (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought home cinema system bvd e2100 in January and I still can't set sound or speakers very dissatisfied

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

3