Skip to Content
USB TURNTABLE

Product Reviews

$149.99

59

3.9 based on 59 customer reviews

27
15
6
6
5
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Very happy

PSLX300USB 21/02/2015 by olwill (USA)

I bought a few different Crosley's and the sound was tinny,even hooked up to my stereo speakers it was not a good sound.This Sony turntable sounds great on my stereo speakers.It was easy to assemble and is easy to operate.The usb ability to convert music to the computer works great and is much easier to do than some reviews indicated.I have over 600 classic rock albums and I am pleased with how they sound and how easy it is to put in computer to burn cd's.Very,Very happy!

11

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Mac users NO software provided

PSLX300USB 09/10/2014 by JanMH (USA)

Turntable works OK except for black buttons on black faceplate are also labeled in black. NO FREE SOFTWARE FOR MAC USERS AND NO VOLUMN CONTROL. Windows users get software (over $150+ value) for free. Nothing for Macintosh users, and the instructions are for windows machines only. When will Sony support the Macintosh community???

30

12

59 Customer Reviews

0

Great Product.

PSLX300USB 15/10/2017 by baseballmom (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have quite a collection of LP's from the 60's and 70's. I like to hear the original recording and do not wish to digitize these albums So I am pleased this product is manufactured

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

nice to have the usb feature

PSLX300USB 06/10/2017 by not interested by me (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

great looking and easy to put together and get ready to run

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Sound

PS-LX300USB 26/09/2017 by Chelsi (USA)

I got this for Christmas 2016 and I love it!! I was also very excited because it can link up to your computer to turn your vinyls into mp3s. However, THIS DOES NOT WORK WITH MAC COMPUTERS!! I am super not happy about that. Overall great turntable but I really wish they would add some kind of downloadable software for mac users

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Vinyl heaven

PS-LX300USB 23/09/2017 by Geordie p (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace my old turntable to add on to my Sony hi fi and the result is amazing I haven't set the usb up yet so I can put my vinyl on to a usb stick

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Definitely worth it, but?

PSLX300USB 11/09/2017 by the dude 1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Enjoy the automatic feature. Helps needles and records to last longer. Supposed to have included a 45 rpm piece, but can't find it anywhere!!! Otherwise a fine product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Louzy time so far I need a tec That knows somet

PSLX300USB 01/09/2017 by DPW0lf (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very disappointed so far. I really want Product to work Need help getting it programed

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

Sony USB Turntable

PSLX300USB 25/08/2017 by Ricci1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace my old Garrard turntable and for the price, you cant beat the quality and features. Sound is wonderful.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony turntable

PSLX300USB 24/08/2017 by Wilson Combat user (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Absolutely outstanding for the money. Great performance. Exactly what I wanted. Very, very pleased. Listening to the old tunes again. THANKS!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Damaged

PSLX300USB 03/08/2017 by Bodollar (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Delivered on time as promised. Fits into my current entertainment system. However - RECORD PLAYER STYLUS was damaged....had to purchase one on my own.....at my own cost.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent sound for the price

PSLX300USB 23/07/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Definitely would recommend to someone starting the hobby of playing vynil records. The USB feature and the included software make it really easy to digitize your records. The sound quality is amazing.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great - when it worked

PS-LX300USB 07/07/2017 by Pasty Person (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought a number of years ago with the sole purpose of converting vinyl record collection to digital. Worked extremely well with the software provided (Sound Forge Audio Studio 9 LE - only compatible with Windows - now have imac) however, no serial no. is provided with the disk which must be registered within 90? days of purchase to activate. I have had to re-install operating software on old laptop I used for purpose so am now unable to reactivate disk. Contact Sony "Help Line" twice, both times person gave advise incompatible with my question, which leads me to believe the question was inconvenient and to be avoided. Therefore I now have a turntable that is not fit for purpose. Moral - Do Not Buy unless you are given PERMANENT right to use of software.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

So easy to operate

PSLX300USB 06/07/2017 by Hen do (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just bought this product too bad it doesn't hook up to my Mac computer

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Back To Vinyl

PSLX300USB 05/07/2017 by Wilson Combat User (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Absolutely love this product. Fits my needs(records a far back a the 1950*s). Quality excellent. Value the same . Perfect addition to my 42 year old component set. Very, very happy. Thanks a million.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good sound quality

PSLX300USB 24/06/2017 by bufn (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Birthday present - enjoyed it - designed with no strobe light stabilizer

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good, but could be better

PS-LX300USB 14/05/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Seemed like a quality product initially, continued use has highlighted a weakness though. The Auto function only now seems to be working intermitantly. Not a major problem but a little disappointing on such a nice product.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great Turntable

PSLX300USB 26/04/2017 by Retro Joe (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a couple of weeks ago can't stop using it. What can I say it's a Sony you get what you pay for.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Deje' vu

PSLX300USB 18/03/2017 by rocon (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great to play my old 33s again! I have not been able to listen to my collection for a number of years.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Amazing

PSLX300USB 04/03/2017 by Batman123 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just bought this to replace my old turntable that was over thirty years old. This new turntable makes my old records sound like live performances.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very nice turntable for the price

PSLX300USB 28/02/2017 by wild man (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted a good, but not too expensive, turntable to listen to my vinyl records from the 1960's and 1970's, and one that would work with a older receiver with no HDMI ports. This turntable performs nicely and is very reasonably priced. The design is attractive, the size is compact, and it has all the features I need. Thanks, Sony sound engineers!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Simply a great turntable

PSLX300USB 27/02/2017 by NoNickName1066 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this, connected to my sounder and I was playing my old record collection in minutes. Good sound for my setup. Pleasant but not hi-fi. Also the included software does not support Apple. I am not currently interested in the USB functions.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Works like a turntable should.

PSLX300USB 26/02/2017 by Purcy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My old Sansui finally broke. Glad to find this Sony. Not sure I will use digital feature.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

MY TURNTABLE

PS-LX300USB 23/01/2017 by SoapyTim (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased by my family as a gift for Christmas I am very disappointed that I have been unable to use it yet as a result of difficulties being experienced with sourcing phono speakers.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

6

0

usable for apple

PSLX300USB 25/12/2016 by mailmansteve (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

had to google a bunch of stuff and sown load audacity to get it to work, a lot of people use a mac and you need to include a program to be able to load it and use it on a mac.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Easy as 1,2,3

PSLX300USB 25/12/2016 by briSTARbre (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This system is so easy to use. A little assembly is required but its nothing too hard.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy setup

PSLX300USB 22/12/2016 by jlamar (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purched this so I could make MP3's out of our old records. No trouble sync with computer. Does an excellent job.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony - LX300USB

PSLX300USB 13/12/2016 by Nonicknamedumbquestion (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recently bought this turntable and it provides new life to my ancient "records." The sound through my much high quality home theatre system is excellent. The turntable does a great job. A major disappointment is that this unit is capable of converting records to digital files such as mp3 to be used on a computer or an iPod, iPhone or iPad or android type devices. The software provided is only good for PC users and no Mac software is provided. That's terrible!!! I know I will be able to convert my music using other Mac software but seriously would it have been a big deal or project to have provide Mac software too??? How about providing some references on line to Mac software? You have section on-line noting software downloads and there are none for this unit. You should have provided the software that came with the unit here AND added some Mac software too. Why do you ask for a nickname? I put in my name (taken) i put in my initials (too short) I put in SONY (taken). I don't have a nickname so I used that

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Simple and great!

PSLX300USB 27/11/2016 by reinaldodv (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great and simple operations for beginners!!! Very good sound for such an affordable device!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great replacement for a 30 year old purchase

PSLX300USB/CA 20/11/2016 by KarenMac (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was searching for a turntable that would be able to work with a 30 year old component system, and it certainly does that well. The sound is amazing. What bothered me is I needed the experts (additional cost) to put the platter on, attach the drive belt and to teach me to operate the unit. What ever happened to "out of the box" use?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Too complicated

PSLX300USB 17/10/2016 by bigmokev (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got this as a gift. The instructions are extremely difficult to follow. Have yet to records a vinyl record and save to my computer

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

Perfect for noobs

PSLX300USB 02/10/2016 by ProJektor (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Limited, but how much does one need to enjoy vinyl? You only have two options for speed, the platter doesn't run very flat, and there's no way of gauging whether or not the platter is spinning at the correct rate. However, it DOES sound amazing, and the controls are super intuitive. Auto stops when records are done, and even comes with an up/down option, for pausing, or in the attempt to skip tracks. PERFECT for a first time unit, but don't expect much from it if you've used turntables before.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Good Value Turntable

PS-LX300USB 09/08/2016 by Digger Fixer (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was purchased to replace a turntable that was rendered inoperative by my 3 year old grandson! It matches the rest of my Hi-Fi set up and performs well. My only complaint is that the 'phono' leads are 30cm too short to connect 'out of sight'.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Turntable with pre-amp

PS-LX300USB 04/07/2016 by Seriousbent (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's fine.........................................

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

4

0

Potentially good but out of date

PS-LX300USB 08/01/2016 by Ambazac (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product a year ago and used it to successfully transfer vinyl discs on to a USB via my laptop. However one year later I can not do so as this product cannot cope with windows 10 and there is apparently no upgrade available.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

6

6

0

Great device but shocking software

PS-LX300USB 05/10/2015 by Timpers (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to assemble, great instructions but the bundled software just doesn't work which really ruined my experience. Sony really need to, not send any more out until they find software that is compatible with Window Vista, Windows 7, Windows 8 or Windows 10. Downloaded Audacity software for free which worked quite will with the turntable.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

8

12

0

Another great Sony product

PS-LX300USB 15/09/2015 by Snoopy Brown (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have this connected to 2 No. powered speakers amazing sound.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

2

0

excellent unit

PS-LX300USB 22/05/2015 by drumduan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

good value for money,easy to use and set up, best one yet.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Great turntable

PS-LX300USB 04/05/2015 by classical john (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted a turntable that does not require an amplifier with phono input, and the Sony PS-LX300USB is ideal with its built-in phono stage. The sound quality from the cartridge is good, and there is a cueing button which allows you to find a particular track on the record safely as well as automatic operation. You can copy records to your PC via the USB output, otherwise it is very satisfying to put a disc on the turntable and see it making music! Finally, the unit is smart and stylish.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Great piece of kit.

PS-LX300USB 20/04/2015 by Dugcha (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought along with a soundbar for my new TV which also has an auxiliary. With vinyl back in play and a direct recording option, couldn't have asked for more.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Very happy

PSLX300USB 21/02/2015 by olwill (USA)

I bought a few different Crosley's and the sound was tinny,even hooked up to my stereo speakers it was not a good sound.This Sony turntable sounds great on my stereo speakers.It was easy to assemble and is easy to operate.The usb ability to convert music to the computer works great and is much easier to do than some reviews indicated.I have over 600 classic rock albums and I am pleased with how they sound and how easy it is to put in computer to burn cd's.Very,Very happy!

11

0

0

Brings back the memories

PSLX300USB 28/12/2014 by Rickym (USA)

Was nice to blow the dust off the old LP's and listen to the way music is supposed to be heard. Works to perfection, was easy to set up, and mine did not skip a beat while walking by it, and i have hardwood floors.

6

1

0

Mac users NO software provided

PSLX300USB 09/10/2014 by JanMH (USA)

Turntable works OK except for black buttons on black faceplate are also labeled in black. NO FREE SOFTWARE FOR MAC USERS AND NO VOLUMN CONTROL. Windows users get software (over $150+ value) for free. Nothing for Macintosh users, and the instructions are for windows machines only. When will Sony support the Macintosh community???

30

12

0

Sony USB Turntable

PS-LX300USB 19/09/2014 by dr drewlittle (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Using this turntable saved messing about with swapping cables for connecting to amp or pc. Took a bit of working out how to set up software but when done was good.Software could do with improved instructions but overall good.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

9

0

Cartridge broke within days!!

PSLX300USB 29/10/2013  (USA)

i purchased this turntable about a month ago and i got three days out of it, and the needle broke! unable to find a replacement. very cheep!! :(

9

12

0

Good sound

PSLX300USB 19/01/2013 by Teezes (Canada)

I bought this turntable to hook up to my stereo and not my computer. The sound is great, but you need to tip toe around or it will skip. Sony should have put better dampers on this unit. Not only will the turntable skip, you can hear when our small dog walks by through the speakers. I managed to solve this issue by putting the turntalbe on a shelf that is attached to the wall. Sound review: Excellent stereo separation and balance Great bass Clear highs, The sound is much better than expected from a turntable at this price. Issues, bass feedback at higher volumes, untill wall mounted. If you do have this option on your amp, use the subsonic filter. Overall: Recommended

25

1

0

Great for ripping and listening

PSLX300USB 07/01/2013 by Bobbimtl (Canada)

After using it for a couple of weeks I have to say that it works really well! From other reviews many people said that monitoring was not working...follow the manual, mine works perfectly with my receiver and computer. Listening to vinyl with the computer works just fine. the software is great and easy to use, the only thing missing is a FLAC encoder. great product

9

0

0

Great Buy!

PSLX300USB 15/06/2012 by mhedden94 (USA)

This is a very good turntable for the money. Plays vinyl records very well. Don't be mislead by the title, this turntable is able to play a record like normal through speakers via RCA out. However, you also have the option to convert your vinyl to mp3, etc. Sound quality is great, can't beat a good old fashioned record. Definitely worth buying!

10

0

0

Great Stereo Turntable

PSLX300USB 02/02/2012 by BeeGeeDC (USA)

I've only had my turntable for a couple of months, but easily converted several vinyl albums using the vinyl restoration feature in SoundForge 9.0, although some songs don't break. That's easily fixed via cut & paste into new tracks. Just make sure you save first in WAV format and then you can edit freely and save into other formats (e.g. MP3, etc.#. Still learning software, but it seems to work best via the vinyl restoration wizard. For replacement, the stylus #N-6516) part number is 9-885-117-75 and the cartridge part number is 9-885-117-76. Give Sony parts and accessories a call. I'm going to convert all my vinyl and have loads of MP3s to load on phone that are probably not even available in online stores. Wish I could sell them, but I'm sure the bad guys would call. :-)

16

1

0

No power

PSLX300USB 08/12/2011 by frenchbus (USA)

Followed troubleshooting help from Sony rep which we confirmed there is no power going to the unit. The spindle does not move after depressing "start" and no electronic sounds can be heard. Inspection with a flashlight under platter and it looks to me like there are some electronic components missing. Too bad they don't have another one in stock or I'd review a working model.

5

16

0

No bueno, my friends

PSLX300USB 25/09/2010 by alecbucky (USA)

I guess it is nice to have this as a record converter, but the fact that you can't actually listen to any records on it doesn't make any sense... I wouldn't really recommend it. Sorry Sony, but I don't like this one...

8

75

0

Excellent Record Player

PSLX300USB 28/07/2010 by roelof (USA)

Excellent value considering all of the outputs and the preamp and also the ability to plug into computer. People complain that you can't listen to the music while uploading to your computer, making it difficult to know when to flip the vinyl. However, that's wrong. All you have to do is look at the stylus and when it comes onto the slick surface you flip the record(not that hard -_-). Warning: don't buy this if you want to learn to spin records and do scratches and stuff, it's nearly impossible to spin without touching the vinyl itself.

24

4

0

Blown Away

PSLX300USB 20/06/2010 by ChuckDizzle (USA)

I have been collecting vinyl for a few years now and this is my third USB turntable in that time. This player has surpassed them all in quality of components and performance. The built in phono preamp is great considering a lot of people will not have a receiver with it. The only drawbacks seems to be that a drive belt needs to be installed, and the recording process is more complicated than the push button recording offered on other models. The reason for this complication is the robust software package that comes bundled with the unit. Sound Forge allows the average hobbyist just about all they could want in an integrated sound editing and recording package. It is great to be able to turn off some filters for mint recordings, or being able to manually smooth out a really rough copy. There is a learning curve, even for an average computer user and it might be overwhelming for grandma and grandpa. It pays off though as the end result has convinced me to re-archive most of my prized vinyls with this new turntable. If you are a moderate hobbyist collecting vinyls this player is a best buy as it stacks up to players 3-4 times more expensive.

30

2

0

Monitoring while you record is easy

PSLX300USB 13/03/2010 by dcmike (USA)

I just bought a PS-LX300USB and made my first recording. Very slick! I wanted to address a point made by more than one reviewer - "Can't monitor while recording". It is really very easy to do as there are two sets of outputs - USB & RCA (phono). All you do is run the USB to your computer and run the RCA to a stereo. In my case, my stereo is in another room - SO - I just got an adaptor from Radio Shack (COUPLER - two female RCA, one end, and one female mini phono, other end) and hooked up a set of iPod earphones to the RCA outs. Cheap headphones are best because they are designed for low output devices and will give you enough volume to monitor with, with only the turntable's built in "line-out" to power them. When one song ends hit the pause button, then the make another recording button, then the record button again. There are plenty of effects and tools - for old albums you can use the EQ to boost the highs, etc or put in a little reverb to make it sound more live.. You can preview (hear) any effect before committing. A great little package - all you need to do the job.

65

1

0

Great Idea/Dumb Execution

PSLX300USB 29/01/2010 by Indybob (USA)

I've only had this thing two weeks...and it's been frustrating. Whoever designed the software should be fired for incompetence. Why would you design a product that records vinyl to hard drive without giving one the ability to listen while recording? A Sony 'help' person told me it wasn't designed to do that! So, you have to guess when to flip over the record or pause between tracks or only record certain tracks. And you have to pause between tracks because the software doesn't recognize the space between cuts; it will only read as a continuous recording. Now, if you do the 'guessing' thing, it will record and do a nice job of cleaning up your vinyl without destroying the richness of an album sound. But man, why would Sony put out a product with this serious glitch? I expected a lot more from Sony. This is stupid.

16

13

0

Not All Install Guides Are Created Equal

PSLX300USB 18/10/2009  (USA)

I spent hours trying to get the audio to play through the computer speakers. It all boiled down to incorrect information in the "install guide" of all things. The default playblack device on the software has the incorrect setting listed for the audio tab. I'll never get those 5 hours back....

16

7

0

Enjoying Wiping The Dust Off My Records

PSLX300USB 30/06/2009 by Yessongs72 (USA)

Finally after reading instructions the turntable and software does everything I need recording. As for the review that you cannot listen to the record while recording all that is needed is "check the monitoring box and presto...sound!"

32

3

0

There is a serial number

PSLX300USB 15/01/2009 by Ryan92212394 (USA)

One of the people below me says there is no serial number but the fact of the matter is that there is it is right on the back of the turntable.

25

2

0

Good turntable but...

PSLX300USB 06/01/2009 by johnboy911 (USA)

The software that comes with this is great for a lot of audio tasks, unfortunately, ripping vinyl albums is not one of them. I downloaded the free Audacity software which makes ripping vinyl albums a lot easier. Plus you can listen to the LP while your record.

50

3

0

no serial number

PSLX300USB 02/01/2009 by terrible (USA)

can't use it because you need a serial number for the software which is included. However, no serial number was included. i suppose they want you to go and buy the software.

7

34

0

SONY PS-LX300USB

PSLX300USB 21/12/2008  (USA)

EXCELLENT CONVERSION OR RECORDS TO MP3, A MUST BUY FOR MUSIC LOVERS - IT'S A SONY.

18

20