Skip to Content
2CH STEREO RECEIVER

Product Reviews

$149.99

37

4.4 based on 37 customer reviews

22
11
2
1
1
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Good for the Price

STRDH130 21/12/2012 by Vallagard (USA)

It's an entry level A/V receiver. You don't get much and it's only stereo. If someone was looking at setting up a stereo system i would recommend this. Again, It's very basic, but it gets the job done.

18

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

OK for the price

STRDH130 17/09/2013 by MusicDude (USA)

Bought this for my backyard/pool area. Reception very good for am/fm. Have it hooked up to kicker outdoor speakers, sounds good but lacks loundness bass. Love the iphone/pod plug in the back along with my xm radio. But still lacks that umph factor from the old time amps with the loundness button.

14

6

37 Customer Reviews

0

It's Okay; Not super!

STRDH130 14/12/2017 by jjw503 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It does not put out 200W. It keeps going into protection mode! My old Samsung was able to accommodate my four speakers.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Super Receiver

STRDH130 09/12/2017 by Loax (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love my STRDH130 super cool the only trouble is I cant delete the preset station from it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great so far

STRDH130 21/11/2017 by GlennF (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this a month ago. So far has been very good.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Mr.

STRDH130 21/11/2017 by Gpops (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Seems good so far. Has all the features I need.looks good too.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy set-up, decent sound for the prA

STRDH130 08/11/2017 by AuditMan (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I received the receiver about an hour ago, set it up and tested it. It is a basic unit so it was easy to set up and I was not expecting the same sound as my main stereo. The sound is nice for the price and since I'm using it in my garage, it is all I need; thus, the excellent ratings.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Impressive Component

STR-DH130 20/10/2017 by mycoldwar (USA)

I bought this receiver less than a month ago to replace my Yamaha that I have owned for over 20 years that was starting to show signs of deterioration. I came across this product and bought it immediately because it was just the right price and I know Sony is a brand I can trust. I am an avid record collector for 25 years and only purchase music on vinyl (CD if I have no choice) so I wanted a new component that would boost the quality of my audio. I have a Rega P3 turntable with a high quality cartridge and I have a Rega Fono Mini pre-amp that is definitely high quality at a modest price. The fact that I needed to buy this pre-amp specifically because it DOES NOT have one included like my previous receiver which is the best thing to happen since having this receiver and pre-amp the quality of the sound is incredible!! The bass and treble range from 0-10 and depending on which album I play I can easily adjust the high and low ends to sound exactly as I want and I crank the receiver to max and lose ZERO quality which is impressive! The bass is deep heavy and prominent and the treble is remarkable crisp and clear. I can't wait to complete my set up with some high fidelity speakers which now will probably be Sony as well. Bottom line this is an excellent product if you are looking to increase the quality of sound with your vinyl or equally good quality from CD's (vinyl is superior) this is a great product at a reasonable price. It has plenty of inputs for other components (cassette tapes/game system/television/) I am very happy and recommend this product for an entry level audiophile or a seasoned one like myself.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

as expected

STRDH130 26/09/2017 by you must be joking (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just wanted a receiver/tuner for a small living room. This is all I needed.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great for the price but need a clock

STRDH130 19/09/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had it for three weeks and it's great for me my age

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

DOES EXACTLY WHAT I NEED

STRDH130 18/09/2017 by DEADPOOL1962 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

GREAT PRODUCT WORKS GREAT AND I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS TO MY FRIENDS

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great improvement over previous receiver

STRDH130 25/08/2017 by DaveG703 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm thoroughly satisfied with this unit. Everything about it is better than the Yamaha equivalent it replaced upon the others early demise. I can actually read the labels for the controls, and they're all in a nice straight row across the front, except for the button to do the A-B speaker selection. Altho this unit was the same price as the Yamaha

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great stereo compoment

STRDH130 10/08/2017 by no nickname this time (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this stereo to replace my old Kenwood stereo.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony Reciever

STRDH130 13/05/2017 by Sabbath fan (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was just what I was looking for .Very happy with this stereo has plenty of hook ups for what I needed .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Simplicity and Wonderful Sound Quality

STRDH130/CA 14/03/2017 by DerbA009 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

A recent purchase - I like its easy to use features, definitely enjoy the crisp and clear sound quality and the input hookup options. Very reasonable price and great for my basic audio system needs.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Just am satisfied with this product

STRDH130 12/03/2017 by Crackerjack17 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I do not like the Volume turning off at a certain level and, this unit does not have as Bass as i am use to....

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

The right unit

STRDH130 12/02/2017 by Lawman1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the perfect unit for home use. It has exactly what you need and pay for. None of the features you'll never use but pay for. The power and sound are crystal clear. No static in reception on any station, AM or FM. I will buy another one shortly.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

performs as advertised-great

STRDH130 18/01/2017 by greatdad (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

the lack of a phono input is a shortcoming that my 20 year old Sony receiver didn't have and I miss. It's really important since vinyl is becoming so popular.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

0

30 years of Sony

STRDH130/CA 17/01/2017 by vernec (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

My ancient Sony Stereo Receiver died this week and I wanted to get another Sony as replacement: My Music - CD's and Vinyl Records. It was easy to hook up, except for my turn-table. That's when I found this unit has no provision for records. Luckily, I have a small battery-powered pre-amp which includes RIAA decoding. It works but the hum in the Right Speaker is hard to get rid of. May have to get a commercial pre-amp and invest in some shielded cables. Could not get any sound out of the head-phone jack, though the unit acknowledged head-phones were plugged in. Otherwise, it seems a fine unit for the money and the features are ample for my old brain. Not sure I could recommend it to someone who has a large vinyl collection.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent product

STRDH130 03/01/2017 by illops (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product just before the year end. Woks very well

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

str-d550

STRDH130 27/12/2016 by neglet (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

why so hard to find model etc .why does remote for tv shut it off??

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great sound

STRDH130 21/12/2016 by pthebes (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just brought this product-would save a lot of time and effort to have a notice on the box that an HDMI-HDMI cable would be required to set up the unit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

very functional

STRDH130 04/12/2016 by 123476 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

good basic unit.........................................

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Just right...

STRDH130/CA 16/11/2016 by looper23 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Product is just right for my needs. I don't need sophisticated gear anymore, it does everything I want it to do. Very good,basic piece of equipment.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Receiver

STRDH130/CA 10/11/2016 by PRNYMDFL (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just bought this item 11/10/2016 and it is excellent, and at a good price. Glad I purchased it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Replaced my12 year old Sony Receiver

STRDH130 16/08/2014 by Slim65 (USA)

There wasn't anything wrong with it except for the remote not working. We decided to replace it with the same updated model. N ow we have a second audio system and the new remote works with both. Its a great receiver.

4

0

0

SONY ALWAYS THE BEST

STRDH130 15/08/2014 by CLIFF74 (USA)

Nice to have wonderful music from great equipment. Planning my next purchase for upgrade of my system.

5

0

0

Versitile, Reliable and User-Friendly

STRDH130 12/08/2014 by romasa (USA)

I use this receiver to select and amplify audio input from my HD radio tuner, DVD player, computer, and TV. I send the selected audio to speakers in the same room and to a second receiver in a different room. Often I do this using the remote from bed in the dark. This SONY receiver facilitates all these tasks with only moderate effort on my part. The sound produced is smooth and strong. Editing the LED input name display allows me to quickly check the input source. The receiver remote can be set to control other SONY devices such as the DVD player. With all its capacities, the price of the receiver seems very reasonable.

12

0

0

Disappointed

STRDH130 16/07/2014 by RKLutz (USA)

While shopping for this receiver i specifically asked the sony sales person whether this receiver could decode and receive digital HD radio. He passed the question to tech support who confirmed it would. On receipt I found it does not. since I had an old HD converter (I wanted to get rid of the extra device) I kept the receiver. It does what it it does but I was misinformed by the tech and sales support. I should have returned it - my bad.

7

16

0

Great Product

STRDH130 07/05/2014 by chark01 (USA)

am/fm receiver works very well, and gives a good sound from the system.

5

3

0

It does what I wanted it to do!

STRDH130 05/05/2014 by dieseldog (USA)

I wanted a basic stereo to do nothing but play the radio and CDs on occasion. It does exactly what I want it to do. No frills!

10

4

0

Best sound system I've ever owned

STRDH130 05/05/2014 by sonyisbest (USA)

I've heard both my wonderful, resonant Sony and a Bose system in my house and to me Sony's sound is many, many times better than Bose's.

12

1

0

OK for the price

STRDH130 17/09/2013 by MusicDude (USA)

Bought this for my backyard/pool area. Reception very good for am/fm. Have it hooked up to kicker outdoor speakers, sounds good but lacks loundness bass. Love the iphone/pod plug in the back along with my xm radio. But still lacks that umph factor from the old time amps with the loundness button.

14

6

0

Big Bang for the Buck

STRDH130 23/05/2013 by TechsMex (USA)

Paired with nice speakers and enjoying brilliant quality. Amp can pack a punch and maintain fidelity over a broad spectrum. Vinyl through this amp puts a sentimental smile on my face. Using reference headphones and sound is superb. Also, it appears Sony did a fine job of selecting the proper capacitors to deliver the best quality possible in this price range. I might have considered a product with this power at twice the price.

23

1

0

Great low cost reciever

STRDH130 09/05/2013 by Bigpoppy (USA)

I puchased this unit to use on my covered patio. Its connected to 2 outdoor speakers for music around my pool. It's fantastic. Even the portable audio jack works well. I listen to Pandora radio with no problem.

14

0

0

Great Budget Hifi for All, including Audiophiles

STRDH130 25/01/2013 by DeanPrimera (USA)

Overall, this is a great hifi stereo receiver for what you pay. The sound is full, uncolored, faithful. You can't beat it. Unfortunately it does not have a built in phono pre amp like most older stereo receivers, but that is almost impossible to find from any manufacturer these days. The arguable upside to that one "drawback", is that you have plenty of line inputs to choose for your own external phono pre amp which you can upgrade to highest quality of pre amps, better than any stock pre amp ever offered in a receiver before. So that con can actually be a pro, deepening on how you vinyl lovers look at it. Anyway, great product all around! You'll love it.

36

2

0

know your product

STRDH130 28/12/2012  (USA)

If I knew the system would not be usable with my 400 disk player I would not have bought it. For the $ my other system is better and it is 20 yrs old.and not a snoy. This is the 1st time I have been diappointed with Sony products

10

21

0

Good for the Price

STRDH130 21/12/2012 by Vallagard (USA)

It's an entry level A/V receiver. You don't get much and it's only stereo. If someone was looking at setting up a stereo system i would recommend this. Again, It's very basic, but it gets the job done.

18

0

0

Excellent

STRDH130 10/09/2012 by h024 (USA)

It's very good! I am very pleased to get this receiver. Sound quality is excellent, simple and low price.

35

2