Skip to Content
5.2CH AV RECEIVER

Product Reviews

$249.99

122

4.2 based on 122 customer reviews

63
34
17
4
4
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great Receiver!

STRDH550 31/12/2016 by dairyqueen79 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recently purchased this new receiver because my new PS4 Slim doesn't have optical. So I needed a receiver with HDMI inputs. This has 4 HDMI inputs and it really simplifies my entire set up! I couldn't be happier with it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Lacks HDCP 2.2 Support

STRDH550 30/03/2017 by Frejyasdaeg (USA)

The sound quality and ease of use are great, but the advertised 4K but lack of HDCP 2.2 support makes the Sony STR-DH550 hard to recommend. Spend a few more dollars and get a receiver that will allow you to watch your copyright protected 4K content without having to jerryrig the connection.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

122 Customer Reviews

0

Poor Serial Number description

STRDH550 10/12/2017 by CageyK (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Your registration form asks to look on the box to find the serial number. There are about 10 "numbers" on the box, none of which starts with S/N or says "Serial Number"! We have to guess at which one might be the correct one.....fix it....

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Excellent

STRDH550 10/12/2017 by Pmrjulio (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The cornerstone of my hometheater. I have my ps3, PS4 and digital projector connected to it for my 5.1 surround system

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

So far can only rate it high for Value

STRDH550 10/12/2017 by Lucky446 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The product is a great value. Just started to use the Receiver but I had to learn to use the TV to process and set certain functions. On older systems there were more buttons. Quick start should have Note: to turn on TV for all menu items for tuner especially if not using a smart TV.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great for price

STRDH550 10/12/2017 by Sham_god (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought yesterday.. so far so good easy connectivity.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

DH 550 receiver

STRDH550 23/11/2017 by Photonicmatt1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

there were a lot of options to select from the set it up. Instructions are pretty good but not the best and they have to be accessed online

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Bad instructions

STR-DH550 04/11/2017 by Big Bob (USA)

Had it a week and returned it, my issues could not be resolved

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

HDMI issues after 7 hours. Stops sending all HDMI.

STR-DH550 16/10/2017 by Tapp (Canada)

HDMI issues after 7 hours. Stops sending all HDMI signals to the HDMI out. I have to turn off the power to the unit unplug it and change what HDMI input to the tv it's plugged in to. Not happy with his unit. Still waiting to see if anything is going to be done about it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
17/10/2017

We regret to hear what happened and we are sorry for the bad experience this has caused you, Tapp. We can isolate the issue by following the guidelines from this link:

https://ca.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/40230

Best regards,
-Erin

0

Great Product!

STRDH550 06/10/2017 by Crabs (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My wife is a classical and opera fan. She said that the receiver's response was crisp, clear and very responsive at all audio frequencies. She appreciates the automatic equalizer feature making the use of CD, DVD and TV listening a joy.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Disappointed

STRDH550 05/10/2017 by Pergy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Disappointed that there was no owner's manual included that would provide basic information on how to work the remote control and the receiver.

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

No instructions

STR-DH550 02/10/2017 by Toooldfornew (USA)

BOught it to play records and listen to the radio. When try to autocalibrate,it says to hit enter. But there ls no enter on the remote nothing on the internet says what enter is, either.

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Great Value for the money

STRDH550 28/09/2017 by Old Marc (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This receiver works as advertised. It also seemed to improve my 4K Sony TV slightly, maybe 5%.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Easy to use and looks good

STRDH550 26/09/2017 by hondagary58 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Exactly what i was looking for in my price range. So far so good .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

More advanced then my first Sony receiver.

STRDH550 13/09/2017 by Tocham (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is a good product. Easy to setup and great sound.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy setup & use

STRDH550 05/09/2017 by HondaGary (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love my Sony receiver so far. Have used Sony products before and am very happy.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Good for the price!

STRDH550 04/09/2017 by Jaywills (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I needed a receiver for the bedroom. I do miss not having the ability to control it via Wi-Fi.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great features

STRDH550 25/08/2017 by Home Boy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I think I am really going to like this product. I have to admit the very first thing on the instruction was confusing. It needs to show from the cable box.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Right connections

STRDH550 24/08/2017 by Zzzx (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought a few months back, easy set up worked 1st time. Wish it had of been Bluetooth ready

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

could have benn easier with instructions

STRDH550 05/08/2017 by pinman 300 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

hard to set up hard to follow set up instructions

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Good for the price, big flaw DTS HD

STR-DH550 19/07/2017 by Mario G (USA)

Had this for a few months had to set up as PCM because DTS HD and DTS sound so muffle or compress, compare to Dolby Digital 5.1 or DOLBY TRUE HD those last 2 sound fenomal the other makes me want to burn the unit

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

GREAT! Once you get it set up!

STRDH550 15/07/2017 by Cornishgal01 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Took all day to set up because we are not tech savvy. The manual is on line, so you have to have a PC or an ipad or something to read the manual. The product set up instructions that come with the receiver are good for the initial connections, but if you have a DVD, CD player, Internet TV etc we need a bit more than generic help. The online manual and info is VERY limited. NOT GOOD. We are now 6 hours post start to finish, and very happy with the sound quality, and the radio etc. ( Plus it's happy hour now.... :) Have the iphone music going, and it sounds great! Would say it is a very good buy, but SONY needs to improve their overall instructions. We have an OLD SONY TV and a SONY Blue Ray DVD player, and we had the same issue. They have poor instructions. We wanted to avoid having to hire the Geek squad. So far, so good. Very happy with the sound for those audiophiles out there.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Good Receiver

STRDH550 08/07/2017 by wayne57 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I expected a more complete owner's manual. I had to get most of the information online. I was surprised how large the cabinet was.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Nothing to Write Home About

STRDH550 04/07/2017 by auschet1940 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have only had this receiver setup for 3 days, so it's hard to make a judgment on its performance. Having a real owners/operators manual with real instructions would be of immense help. On previously owned JVC receiver, I could adjust all the speakers individually, with output level, bass and treble ; on this product I cannot. Found that the bass can be adjusted. This lack of adjustment would have been a deal breaker had I known. Took a while to set it up because of the lack of explicit instructions and the receivers capabilities. Perhaps it will get better as I get used to it. Have many Sony products and have been satisfied with them. I replaced my old receiver because I had connection problems with it after the cable company changed my box. New HDMI connections on the Sony corrected that.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

wonderful

STRDH550 30/06/2017 by rmic (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just bought unit and so easy to set up. Sound is great through our speakers and only need to use one remote for turning on/off our TV which is linked to the receiver instead of the 3 to 4 remotes we used to need to operate our old Harmon Karmon receiver. Love it so far.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony great as usual!

STRDH550 29/06/2017 by Mr clean (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I upgraded my system and believe me I thought long and hard before giving up my old Sony a/v receiver because I love it so much. But time marches on and technology passed her bye after 12 years. I chose this model and am pleased that the sound quality and 4K pass thru works perfectly. Happy with Sony and loving it even more.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to set up

STRDH550 15/05/2017 by Moe59 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this few days ago And set up was a Breaze I replace my Onkoyo receiver Will never buy Onkoyo again Problems with audio and the dts chip

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound great price.

STRDH550 08/05/2017 by Steven 1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this reciver about a month ago and I just love how easy it was to hook up I like the different sound fields I can switch between I just wish there was a balance between the two subwoofers that's why I purchased a 5. 2 channel in stead of useing a y adapter Sony needs to Develope that like being able to balanceing the front and rear speakers.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Price was right for my need.

STRDH550 08/05/2017 by Mugwamp (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had SONY products before and they have always serve me well. So it was easy for me once I seen the SONY products. Talked with the sales person and made my decision.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Not fully compatible with Bravia

STRDH550 06/05/2017 by dlzc (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent capabilities, but does not power on with the Sony Bravia remote for the UBP-X800. Why does the "TV VOL" button not get handled by the Receiver?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

MEDIA ROOM HUB EXTRAORDINAIRE

STRDH550 03/05/2017 by RESORTJOCKEY (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I DESIGNED MY MEDIA ROOM INSTALLATION AROUND THIS WORKHORSE TECHNOLOGICAL MARVEL WITH ABILITY TO OPTIMIZE AUDIO SIGNAL RESPONSE TO ACTUAL ACOUSTICS OF THE AREA OF INSTALLATION FOR AN AWESOME SOUND WITH SURROUND AND ALL KICK BUTT BASS,MIDRANGE, HIGH FREQUENCY, WITH DYNAMIC REFLEX SPEAKER RESPONSE OUT OF THIS FREAKING GALAXY. P.S. I USED MY AND MY FAMILIES HAND ME DOWN SPEAKERS, UNMATCHED IN IMPEDANCE OR SIGNAL RESPONSE , ANOTHER SONY MIRACLE WORKER, BEAM ME UP.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easiest Set-Up, Yet

STRDH550 18/04/2017 by Chuck2 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have never had such an easy set-up for any other equipment than this one. Would have liked a simple instruction manual explaining all of the many features of this machine.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easiest Set-Up Ever

STRDH550 13/04/2017 by LJAA (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Using this receiver to power an older Bose Acoustamax and it was a piece of cake to set up. Hooked up the speakers, put the microphone in the center of the room and Whalla! Great job Sony!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony STR-DH550

STRDH550 07/04/2017 by WaltK (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this system this week and could not be happier. The sound is superb, the price was very good and I have never been let down by a Sony product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good Unit

STRDH550 06/04/2017 by pattiz (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had this only a few days, but so far, so good. It was pretty easy to hook up to our DISH box and Sony 4K TV. Unable to get sound on Netflix and Amazon until I added a digital optical cable, but all is well, now. Used our VERY old surround sound speakers, and sound is good for our use. Simply a one room use, so no big window rattling sound necessary. Very good unit, for the money.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

AV Receiver in FL

STRDH550 01/04/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Works well in connection with two DHMI connected components

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Lacks HDCP 2.2 Support

STRDH550 30/03/2017 by Frejyasdaeg (USA)

The sound quality and ease of use are great, but the advertised 4K but lack of HDCP 2.2 support makes the Sony STR-DH550 hard to recommend. Spend a few more dollars and get a receiver that will allow you to watch your copyright protected 4K content without having to jerryrig the connection.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Power, Flexibility, Value

STRDH550 17/03/2017 by Beetle42 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This receiver is almost ideal for hooking up AV for a small apartment space. It controls a bunch of recent and legacy equipment, including a TV, a Blu-Ray player, a CD changer, an audio cassette player, and a turntable for LPs. (I might even hook up my trusty old Betamax, just for looks.) It works great with legacy speakers and subwoofer.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Well enginered receiver

STRDH550 10/03/2017 by ethree (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

adequate receiver, I need the operators manuel to configure the unit. Please send I will pay

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

I just ste this up a few day ago

STRDH550 05/03/2017 by JonJon12 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

So far so good, great sound easy to set up, What really like about this AV Receiver is the optimizer microphone

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Poor documentation

STRDH550 01/03/2017 by RVtraveler48 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was replacing a 14 year old Sony receiver that finally called it quits. There is virtually NO documentation as to how to set this thing up - the "on screen" menu is NOT available through the Monitor Out (RCA) jack, ONLY the HDMI jack. I was eventually, with tech support on the phone, able to set it up to where I can use it as I did the old one (audio only - sources switched through the television). I think it's time for SONY to review the materials sent with their products to prevent frustration, having to call for support (I was a television engineer for 40 years and this threw me).

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Great Sounding

STRDH550 19/02/2017 by Steve2150 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this the other day and just purchased another one, replacing a receiver that costs 6x as much. Has less features but the sound is top rate.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Ease of use, great features

STRDH550 16/02/2017 by CDawg (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was a GREAT Christmas present, I had a Sony model that was similar but 13 years older and many watts lower... This reciever rocks!!!!! But I would still have to say that older Sony receiver I had still had juice left in it.. Great products!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

awesome sound

STRDH550 11/02/2017 by Lou II (USA)

I recently picked up some reference series surround sound speakers and my old receiver wasn't cutting it after a little research I picked up this Sony hooked it up ran the auto speaker set up and WOW I am very impressed. What impressive sound. My old unit ran at high 50's to 60 to get kinda loud this shakes my house at 42 on the volume setting. Clean full wall shaking sound. LOVE IT. Very impressive . I highly recommend this unit. I also like the HDMI hook ups and I like to use banana plugs on my speaker wire and all the speaker connections are compatable a big plus for me

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Nontech17

STRDH550 31/01/2017 by annie42 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just what we were looking for-works great for what we wanted

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

I like it

STRDH550 28/01/2017 by McDaddy2 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it but I'm still learning all features on it and it's hand's on.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

Replacement for Home theater receiver

STRDH550 25/01/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sound is very good. The set-up was a bit challenging as the manual was cumbersome to extract information from. You are required to yo yo back and forth from the table of contents to the specific information you need. You have to keep track of the page number if you want to revisit. You cannot read the manual from beginning to end- wierd. The "hints" in the downloaded 246 page manual were very helpful and also the troubleshooting section. The Ipod, Ipad, Iphone music can easily be played as well as PlayStation 4, the Infocus projector TV.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Unexpected Surprise

STRDH550 16/01/2017 by Geo761 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this receiver as a quick, cheap replacement while I was waiting to get one fixed. I was surprise by the sound and features on this receiver for the price. What started as a temp receiver has turned to a upgrade.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Has what I need

STRDH550 14/01/2017 by flick44_11 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to set up my older components. Purchased this to replace 30 year old amp.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

I am pleased with it

STRDH550 12/01/2017 by softball12 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

happy with it if this is too short then i guess if i have nothing more to say about the receiver. i cannot make things up as i go along just to make it longer

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

BASIC VALUE TECH

STRDH550 12/01/2017 by desert tek (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Replaced previous Sony tuner with this upgrade- Simple basic & good value-

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

good sound quality, ok feature set

STRDH550 07/01/2017 by sigepspam (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

had the right amount of HDMI/RCA ports, but there are 2 huge fails for a product in the year 2017. 1. The headphone jack is the 1970's-style huge 6.3mm jack, not the commonly used 3.5mm jack. 2. No 3.5mm headphone audio-input jack - so I cannot play music from my cell phone through the receiver. :(

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great Receiver!

STRDH550 31/12/2016 by dairyqueen79 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recently purchased this new receiver because my new PS4 Slim doesn't have optical. So I needed a receiver with HDMI inputs. This has 4 HDMI inputs and it really simplifies my entire set up! I couldn't be happier with it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Lacking Directions

STRDH550 31/12/2016 by Jeff10 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The wiring setup was easy, but the direstions for setting up where a little hard for me to follow.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Sounds great,worksgreat with samrt tv & ps4

STRDH550 27/12/2016 by Dobliu (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Work great and fast sounds great with my ps4 and smart tv

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Missing items

STRDH550 27/12/2016 by Tbone85 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this today. There's no manual, and the setup microphone is missing. The store is a 20 minute drive, and I am ticked. With all the space available due to the lack of inputs, the speaker terminals should be spaced out further to make connection easier.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

4

1

0

Very Awesom

STRDH550 26/12/2016 by ndmcq6 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We just moved into a prewired home but had no receiver. This unit powers all speakers on all devices wonderfully.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good Looking and Easy Setup

STRDH550 24/12/2016 by drblalock (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this for a personal Christmas and had it set up and blasting out Christmas music in less than an hour. Great sound and very easy setup.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great price

STRDH550 22/12/2016 by Rudolphriv (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I my reciever 3 weeks ago , i notice they have great sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

GREAT PRODUCT

STRDH550 16/12/2016 by BIGHALL (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I BROUGHT THIS PRODUCT EIGHT DAYS AGO. SONY PRODUCTS ALWAYS GIVE YOU GOOD QUALITY SOUND.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

great features

STRDH550 15/12/2016 by dave 007 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

easy to operate.handles all my equipment.great sound,looks good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

For the price it works good

STRDH550 12/12/2016 by coyote1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Operationally, it is a good unit Hooking up the speaker wires, it you do not have plug on them is a real pain. Trying to locate the serial number on the box is a guess.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

0

Love the quality. Good value for your money.

STRDH550 12/12/2016 by Satisfied Sony Customer (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought a few weeks ago. Great amp/receiver. Great sound, functional, easy. I did not want Bluetooth or WIFI. The speaker banana terminals were actually a pleasant surprise. I liked the speaker connection method, you can use banana jacks or just stripped speaker wire (allows for stripped speaker wires to be solidly "thumb screw style" connected). It is a trusty way to make a good speaker connection. On screen menu is white letters on black, simple and it works well. You can switch all your HDMI sources through this receiver (up to qty 4), makes things easy. Very satisfied.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

HIGH QUALITY 5 STAR

STRDH550 11/12/2016 by Restrada89 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

PERFECT EQUIPMENT FOR EXPLOITING THE SPEAKERS TO YOUR MAXIMUM POWER...!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Nice Sound

STRDH550 05/12/2016 by Zmanjr (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

There is no "Help Guide" included which describes the details of the unit and functional detail of choices for a selection on setting up the unit.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Sony AV Receiver

STRDH550 30/11/2016 by Madlop (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The product is very well put together and makes the sound crisp.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

I like the 550 it sounds great

STRDH550 27/11/2016 by Omegadeth1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I paired it up with my old Fisher speakers, and it sounds great. It was easy to set up and run a surround test .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fairly simple at a low price

STRDH550 27/11/2016 by john1946 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Rather limited features and inputs but also inexpensive. A good value if you only need a few inputs. Didn't come with a manual which would have been helpful but it can be downloaded from online for free. Purchased mostly for the HDMI inputs & output, something my much larger Yamaha unit doesn't have due to it's age. It's a basic but sufficient unit and works fine.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

No sound when switching to FM or AM tuner

STRDH550 20/11/2016  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

There is a defect when switching from Blue Ray or TV to FM or AM receiver. 90%of the times there is no sound and the selection of the preset channels is frozen. The only way to clear the condition is by removing and reconnecting the power cord. The condition persists when using the power off/on switch. Also there is no reset or clear function in the receiver menu. This is quite annoying and the only way to clear the problem is by removing power completely, then it starts working again for a while, but fails again after switching back and forth from TV , BD/DVD or VIDEO to FM or AM receiver.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Better than expected!!!!

STRDH550 17/11/2016 by JAYMAN 66 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Price was right,sound quality really surprised me right out of the box.Made minor adjustments but am very happy with ease of setup and great sound quality.Paying more for bells and whistles you never use is a waste.This is a quality basic unit at a great price point.Gives me all that i wanted,Fantastic sound quality!! period!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Cinema maison

STRDH550 16/11/2016 by Ticul (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not enought instruction with this product how too operate remote control

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

So Far Excellent

STRDH550 10/11/2016 by GreenPOND (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Ive only been using this receiver for 5 days. So far, the performance has been excellent.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Seems to be a quality product

STRDH550 29/10/2016 by KenJ (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm no "techno-wiz" but I can usually figure things out on my own. My only complaint with this product, Sony STR-DH550 5.2ch AV Receiver, is that the instructions were severely lacking. I don't really need a 50 page booklet with step by step directions, but this package came with very little to go on. C'mon Sony! Toss in a booklet huh? Maybe 10 or 15 pages?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Value for the price

STRDH550 26/09/2016 by fogi (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound quality, after you use it for awhile,very easy to use. Good fm tuner. If you use dcac then you should go to manual speaker setup and change front speaker to small if you have a subwoofer.By default dcac sets front speakers to large, even if you have small front speakers.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0