Skip to Content
47

4.4 based on 47 customer reviews

29
13
2
2
1
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

47 Customer Reviews

0

Everything I wanted at a good price

STRDH770 17/10/2017 by Julian62 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just installed it last night. As easy as my previous Sony models, with more features. I use as the center of my entertainment system (TV, cable, phono, DVD).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great receiver for backyard entertaining!

STRDH770 09/10/2017 by CA_Brant (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I needed a high powered receiver with Bluetooth connectivity to power the outdoor speakers in my backyard and this receiver really is perfect. It easily syncs to the families smart phones to stream music and the power really drives our speakers well. Plus if we do movie night outside we can use this to have great 2.1 sound outdoors. I would definitely buy this receiver again.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Audio cuts out

STR-DH770 04/10/2017 by pepsi24 (USA)

Let me first say, I have always been all about SONY..... but this receiver, the audio cuts in and out constantly on anything that is playing on TV. There are a ton of other reviews of the same thing and people trying all kinds of different thing to fix it. I wrote them today, and this is the response I got: Thank you for contacting Sony Video and Sound Support. Based on the information you provided, we understand that the audio is going out. This might be an inconvenience. Please perform the below troubleshooting steps: Please disconnect the Receiver from power socket and then wait for 60 seconds. Re-connect the device to power socket without any surge or power extension. Note: Try connecting the Receiver to another power outlet (if possible). Please access the below link and follow the instructions to reset the Receiver: REALLY? This might be an inconvenience??? Duh! But, for some reason this does not happen (for a day so far) if you play shows on your DVR. It can last for 5 seconds to a full minute of silence (but the video is playing). I have 2 new HDMI cords that I bought because of this, but that didn't work (another waste of money). I just wonder why this is a KNOWN ISSUE with sony and they have not done anything about it....... just do a search on google and you will find a ton of articles and message boards about this issue. Very very poor instructions also...... it just shows you how to hook it up, nothing about setting.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great so far

STRDH770 02/10/2017 by prairieguy (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Will know more when 4k content becomes more accessible. Easy setup, calibration picked up that my subwoofer wasn't putting out any sound. Enough power for my large living room. Bravia Sync worked well with my new Bravia 4k TV. No optical or Toslink cords required (arc to arc) via HDMI cable.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great product

STRDH770 30/09/2017 by RexC (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I test drive Oynko, Pioneer and Kenwood receivers and found that despite many reviews regarding the above receivers, all models of Sony have more punch from the subwoofer and better sound from the speakers. Why pay more and get less when you can buy a Sony and get more bang from the buck.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice look

STRDH770 23/09/2017 by Tpeteaz (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased today and have not yet had time to complete the surround sound set-up.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Performance is outstanding.

STRDH770 22/09/2017 by ronald1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a little over a month ago and it has exceeded my expectations!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great receiver

STRDH770 20/09/2017 by ratpak216 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was a replacement of a previous Sony receiver that had finally failed after 8 years. The features were similar to the previous model and was easy to setup and configure. I buy Sony for quality and reliability.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy setup

STRDH770 19/09/2017 by AOWENS (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The easy setup function is great. The mic is really accurate and gets the system sounding great

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Traditional Sony Reliability

STRDH770 18/09/2017 by dcrockett26 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very easy set-up, operation and excellent sound quality. Very happy I bought this model.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Stellar deal, great bang for the buck!

STRDH770 11/09/2017 by phobish (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am so happy I switched out my outdated receiver with this new Sony receiver. The HDMI inputs consolidating allowed me to get rid of my rocketfish HDMI switcher, and the convenience of the inputs going into my receiver make my life so much easier. Sounds great, no complaints at all. Looks great, too!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Easy set up - speakers connected easily - menu is

STRDH770 04/09/2017 by Stormbringer or Bobber (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sirs, I haven't had this new a v receiver long enough to say much about it, but it replaces a STR-DG720, and that receiver was an excellent product. I'm hoping this new model will be just as good.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound for money

STRDH770 02/09/2017 by hpapa4 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this for my living room and am very happy with the sound and dynamics.

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

This product has so many great features.

STRDH770 27/08/2017 by Jim S (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product because it is not just a great receiver, but it's theater material.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A LITTLE INTIMIDATING

STRDH770 10/08/2017 by EGGGIE (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

A LITTLE INTIMIDATING TO GET IT ALL SET... BUT ONCE I DID WHAT A GREAT PIECE OF EQUIPMENT....

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great product highly recommend easy to sit up

STRDH770 17/07/2017 by Big red (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great product highly recommended it easy to sit up lots of great features

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing receiver

STR-DH770 16/07/2017 by Bruiser (USA)

I have 2 of these receivers. 1 in the living room and 1 in the motorhome. I couldn't be happier with them. Had them for about a year now and never any issues.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony Reciver

STRDH770 07/07/2017 by mahal1inak (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this 1 week ago and it sounds great. Make my surround sound sound better than most theaters. Love it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Hard to beat the performance for the price.

STR-DH770 28/06/2017 by Uncle Toybox (Canada)

After pushing my 4ohm speakers for almost a decade, I retired my old STR-DN610 when it developed a buzz (to be expected when pushing low impedance speakers). From what I can tell, Sony doesn't make a receiver that supports low impedance speakers but I like how they work the integration with the TV so I bought this to carry me through for another 7 to 10 years. Enough about the background... on to the new amp and why I'm only giving it 4 stars. For the most part, the amp is intuitive and provides good sound quality for the price. Right there, it meets the needs of what I want and I will continue to use it. There are two areas that bug me though. The first is the Bluetooth compatibility. I was excited to see the A2DP support listed for the amp and looked forward to listening to some music through my Bluetooth headphones in the morning before the rest of the family wakes up. Unfortunately, the Bluetooth is only designed to pair with phones which is a feature I really don't care about. When I did test pairing with my phone, the sound drops three or four times per song. If this had been a main selling point for me I would be very upset. The second thing that bugs me is the custom labels for different inputs. I have a CD player, record player, XBox One, and cassette player all hooked up. With my old DN610, it was easy to replace the input titles with whatever I felt like to make it easy to identify when scrolling through the inputs. With this, I can apply a label as desired but that label only appears after I've selected the input using the original label. This isn't very helpful so I have to remember what item I've plugged into each of the inputs. I've looked at the competition in this price range and none of them provide the basic integration with my TV and sound quality that I want so I'll stick with this. We'll see what is on the market when I finally burn this receiver out running low impedance speakers.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Very Happy

STRDH770 26/06/2017 by Porcolethos (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got a fantastic deal on this little fella, and I might kick myself later for not getting a unit that has Atmos, but right now I'm just tickled by the ability to put all my surround sound speakers to work after replacing an older Sony receiver that just refused to die but was sadly too antiquated. The speaker sync feature is the most amazingly easy things EVER to bring about such beautiful sound. I love the BlueTooth feature too. I've rediscovered my home stereo and theatre for this upgrade. It's actually rewarding to be a Sony loyalist. This receiver and my Xperia Z3 talk to each other like old friends. My divorce stereo (y'know, the leftovers you got from the split?) of 9 years ago has finally been replaced! Woot! I still love Sony. I'm so pleased.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

A great buy

STRDH770 07/05/2017 by ernietsg (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just bought my new receiver yesterday evening and set up this afternoon. It's up and running now and it sounds and looks great with everything I needed and wanted, plus a couple of extra things that I didn't even know existed and I think that I get those extra things up and running I think that I will like them too. My old AV lasted me 10 years and it was great but that unit cost me nearly 4 times more than this one and this one does so much more and is much easier to use . . . I am very happy with this purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Awesome Receiver for the Money!

STRDH770 15/04/2017 by Digger02 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my third Sony Home Theater Receiver and I love this one just like i did the others. The set-up was easy and the auto setup for the surround speakers worked great. It sounds awesome when watching movies on my 4K Blu-Ray Player...just like being in the movie theater.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Issues already

STRDH770 13/04/2017 by Bwalk (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this receiver from Best Buy. Looking for something basic to connect to TV with a few speakers and wanted something with bluetooth to be able to play music from our phones. Bluetooth has been spotty after a month of use. The receiver will connect immediately through my phone but does not play right away. The receiver says its connected but no music comes out. I have to do a little dance that includes turning off bluetooth on phone, then turn off the receiver, then turn on bluetooth on phone, play music through phone, then turn on the receiver again....this is not how bluetooth is supposed to work. You turn it on and it should work! VERY DISAPPOINTED! Now the HDMI TV Out ARC has stopped working. When I plug everything into the TV directly, there are no issues. Running everything through the receiver I get no signal input on TV. Again very disappointed and very frustrated. The two basic features that this receiver should do have stopped working within the first 4 months!

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

2

3

0

Great Preformance

STRDH770 29/03/2017 by Offroad (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only have had it for 3 days, still playing with the settings. So far I have no complaints, works great for my home theater.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Nice A/v receiver

STRDH770 28/03/2017 by swampmaster (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very nice unit. My only complaint so far is that it does not play well with my Logitech Harmony remote. When switching from one device to another (dvd player to TV or tape deck) it switches to the selected device for a few seconds then goes back to the previously selected device. really annoying having to use 2 remotes. other than that it works very well. lots of nice features.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

passive subwoofer wont work

STRDH770 23/03/2017 by bw32 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

this is my second one and still cant get any output for the subwoofer. Very discouraged

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

8

0

Great product for the price!

STRDH770 30/01/2017 by Andy43 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This new receiver is many years advanced over the Sony model it replaced with several great features The only feature I wish it had would be the ability to take a HDMI Dolby Pro Logic surround sound signal and pull out just the two-channel stereo signal without surround. We like to use the 5 channel speakers in MULTI-ST fashion but can't do that with a HDMI Pro Logic signal. It only works with a TV channel that is not capable of surround sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Love SongPal and ease of use

STRDH770 22/01/2017 by Tonell (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great Receiver. The SongPal App helps go from Cable to DVD to Iphone Music very quickly and easily. Very easy to set up and the speaker balance mic is awesome. Love it... Great Sony product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great so far...

STRDH770 21/01/2017 by McGyver 1963 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Missing the microphone, but c/s is sending one asap @no charge..even without the set up mic, it sounds fantastic ! Bluetooth works great as well.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound and easy to set-up

STRDH770 15/01/2017 by jonride17 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love the 7.1 sound! Being able to tailor the sound to what I am listening to is great. The receiver recognizing the type of input also helps to improve the quality. Hooking up the cable, playstation and blu-ray player was quick and easy. The system determines the distance each speaker and subwoofer is from the listener to optimize the sound quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Wow

STRDH770 02/01/2017 by DPouget (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have a 14' x 24' movie room and this receiver just fills this place with sound from every direction!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Integrated Features Work with Sony Tv, Blue-Ray...

STRDH770 29/12/2016 by catholicfocus (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to connect, pre-sets on the remote control also make it easy to choose the most popular sound configurations.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great equipment.

STRDH770 27/12/2016 by dmrc (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Everything fine, The only thing I don't like is that you are not able to adjust the treble and bass, to do that you need to select a preset equalization, for the rest I recommend it to everyone.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Fantastic!

STRDH770 20/12/2016 by Grandpaw (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace another Sony and this one is twice as better.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

GREAT FEATURES

STRDH770 13/12/2016  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought my as a receiver for all my other Sony equipment.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Good buy

STRDH770 07/12/2016 by Generational Wheatfall (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recently bought a Sony 7.2 receiver from Best Buy. For the money, It is loaded with lots of features. I connected 5 Yamaha in-ceiling speakers to it and so far it sounds great. It does everything that I require of it. I will soon connect it to my TV for the true test.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Easy to setup

STRDH770 29/11/2016 by T Tide (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

When I knew the dimension of STR-DH770 at Sony Web site, Dimensions (W x H x D) 19.53 x 8.31 x 15.59 in (as of Nov.2016), I was surprised why it is so large. I thought it would not fit into any of the selves in my rack because of its height. Then, I was relieved to find its dimension from the manual: 430mm x 156mm x 329.4mm (17 in x 6 1/4 in x 13 in), which can be snugly fit into the rack. (They make such a mistake even as 6.14 for 6 1/4.) Some customers consider products not only by functionality but also the products' size. I have used older Sony A/V Receiver for many years, but it lacks recent features, especially HDMI connectivity. I expect that this DH770 will be used for many years to come. I buy Sony products since they are really reliable. Please maintain quality and usability.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Love it so far!

STRDH770 28/11/2016 by torquehound (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only had this new receiver for a few days but so far it is great. Simple and clean interface and sound. I bought this receiver and a full new complement of Polk speakers to replace a sound bar setup. Huge evolution from the one I had some years ago.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

great update AV receiver

STRDH770 27/11/2016 by johnVV (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

i bought this unit for update to 7.1 channel from my old 5.1 same brand. and its a good update has a better sound quality, bluetooth, hdmi inputs,true 4k quality. i like the results of it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

3

0

Sounds good, setup was a pain

STRDH770 24/11/2016 by AzWillie (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The unit does have lots of connection options: I used the HDMI ARC for the receiver to TV, the Front A for the floor speakers and the Front High for the front wall speakers. The "Easy Setup" was far from easy. was hooking this receiver up to a new 4K LG TV and 2 Polk T-50 floor speakers and 2 T-15 bookshelf speakers (as high speakers). Not sure if all the setup issues were receiver related of if the TV caused some of them. Never was able to compete the calibration process, kept getting a message that the "high speakers" could not be heard even though I could hear them and they DO work, never allowed me to select "both A & B speakers" on the unit display screen. Getting the receiver and TV both on the same "page" in the correct order took a numbers of tries

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

4

0

Nice upgrade

STRDH770 23/11/2016 by RCO1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just bought this and set it up. Everything went VERY easy. The picture and sound are great (even with old, cheap speakers).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Needs more

STRDH770 03/11/2016 by Mpersicojr (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is he third Sony receiver I've purchased. I love Sony and will always purchase them. The receiver has great sound. But I am used to a blue light coming on when I'm receiving Dolby digital sound. This receiver there is no indication you are receiving it so you don't know the quality of it. Am I getting anolog or digital? Also the manual is a bit lacking.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

4

6

0

Great value

STRDH770 14/10/2016 by Travelzalot (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Currently using the 5.1 option. So far it's been more than expected. All features are easy to use and setup is a breeze.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Amazing Sound

STRDH770 14/10/2016 by mkschrag93 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My husband got this as a replacement for one we bought on a few years ago. We both immediately noticed how much better the music sounded! The only thing that I do not like is how long it takes to scan through the radio stations. Not a big deal, just a pain.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Not the best nor the worst.

STRDH770 04/10/2016 by sdgen285 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Product is difficult to use. Video setting takes a few tries each time before working.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

4

0

Value for money

STRDH770 04/09/2016 by SamBFrisco (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like it, value gor money. Had a little issue figuring out the subwoofer connectivity

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Great quality for the money spent

STRDH770 02/09/2016 by MousenNoodle (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the ease of set up and features over more expensive units! Feel the cost was a real value when comparing units! Had an Onkyo before which got so hot so this one is much cooler running

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0