Skip to Content
12

4.2 based on 12 customer reviews

7
3
0
1
1
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

4k HDMI

STRDN1070 02/08/2017 by Edddie (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The good DMI on my 4K TV is exceptional. I was shocked at the improvement in the picture. IMO there should be no improvement just going thru receiver but it is so much better than my Roku 4 direct or BR or cable box that I unplugged all the direct TV HDMI cords The bad FM JST-PH 2 pin connector is impossible to get and wire your own FM stuff. I had to go the EB china to get the male connector. It is small and nice design but if I was not tec savy I would never had found a way to use the FM. Parts Sony please provide a complete parts break down and sell every part or at least every cosmetic plastic part. I scratched my frount black top plastic panel and need a new one.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Music Center App Sucks!!!

STR-DN1070 26/07/2017 by Ricky100 (USA)

I love the receiver, sound quality, but the app is absolutely terrible. I bought this particular device for its multi-room and streaming features. Use my phone to control from outside on deck and the App function always jumps back to "main" speakers everytime phone goes to standby. Also, as I walk away from house the music cuts out. Trying to keep multi-room and streaming functioning consistently is near impossible. Sorry I bought this product (because of the app).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

12 Customer Reviews

0

LOTA POWER

STRDN1070 06/11/2017 by allenS (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

AWSOME......................................................................................................................................

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

4k HDMI

STRDN1070 02/08/2017 by Edddie (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The good DMI on my 4K TV is exceptional. I was shocked at the improvement in the picture. IMO there should be no improvement just going thru receiver but it is so much better than my Roku 4 direct or BR or cable box that I unplugged all the direct TV HDMI cords The bad FM JST-PH 2 pin connector is impossible to get and wire your own FM stuff. I had to go the EB china to get the male connector. It is small and nice design but if I was not tec savy I would never had found a way to use the FM. Parts Sony please provide a complete parts break down and sell every part or at least every cosmetic plastic part. I scratched my frount black top plastic panel and need a new one.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Music Center App Sucks!!!

STR-DN1070 26/07/2017 by Ricky100 (USA)

I love the receiver, sound quality, but the app is absolutely terrible. I bought this particular device for its multi-room and streaming features. Use my phone to control from outside on deck and the App function always jumps back to "main" speakers everytime phone goes to standby. Also, as I walk away from house the music cuts out. Trying to keep multi-room and streaming functioning consistently is near impossible. Sorry I bought this product (because of the app).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Slow and unreliable

STRDN1070 08/07/2017 by suhum (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

- On Screen Interface is slow - Bluetooth connection is unreliable, become invisible over time - Updates over internet (ethernet cable) is not going through - Factory reset is never ending - takes 3 days and still continues

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Amazing sound and integration features

STRDN1070 11/01/2017 by TigerBikeDC (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Audio quality, power and flexible connectivity. App and cast ready.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

4

0

Bluetooth transmitter!!!!

STRDN1070 06/01/2017 by HollyEH47 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

So much I love, particularly with my new 4k TV- but the eady pairing with my Beats wireless headset was the best!!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

8

0

Where's the connection for my turntable!!!

STRDN1070 19/12/2016 by kennnnnnnnnnnnn (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It sounds great! But now I will have to decide to return or purchase an amp for my turntable!!!!!!

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

8

11

0

Great receiver

STRDN1070 16/12/2016 by keddy71 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a nice unit with lots of features and great sound. The documentation for use could be a little better. It may be difficult for someone who is new to using this type of equipment to familiarize themselves with the operation of the receiver. Setup was very easy.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

10

4

0

Current Day Capabilites!!!

STRDN1070 14/12/2016 by ockie72 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am impressed with my Sony STR DN1070 A/V Receiver. I am an entry level audiophile enthusiast who previously owned a Nakamichi RE-1, 2 Channel Stereo, and until now I was incapable of experiencing 5.1 or greater Home Theater sound. The Sony STR DN1070 is a well welcomed upgrade. I was worried about it sounding too loud in my limited space apartment but with the auto-calibration mic setup the receiver aptly set reasonable sound levels for all my speakers and my environment. The countless features and settings to choose from I believe it will be another decade of listening and now watching movies and games before I consider the latest and greatest in sound before purchasing what's new on the market.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

13

4

0

Better Sound From Flat Screen TV

STRDN1070 11/12/2016 by NBxx (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

So far, so good. Need time to adjust the receiver to my likes so I am exploring what it offers. Fairly simple to setup unit with speakers, TV, and DVD player. Getting the best out of it takes time. One dislike is the size of the print on the controls at the front of the unit. You must get out the microscope to read them because of size, light print and location. Be prepared to squat to read.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

5

6

0

Easy to install

STRDN1070 27/11/2016 by Sparky1931 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just bought it today to replace a 7.1 unit that was 10 years old that died. Figuring out where the wires holked up was a challenge since the new 7.2 unit likes HDMI cables and the old unit used S-Video, component and HDMI cables.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

13

5

0

Easy to setup!

STRDN1070 22/10/2016 by Keith D (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as a replacement to my STR-DE985. Previous unit sounded great and was functioning fine. Just had no HDMI connections. Once I hooked up this receiver I was blown away how much better it sounded. My test DVD was the first Iron Man movie with the bomb explosions in the beginning. It rocked the whole apartment! I am sure the neighbors won't be happy. :)

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

18