Skip to Content
65

4.1 based on 65 customer reviews

37
13
6
5
4
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great Receiver

STR-DN1080 03/07/2017 by Mark g (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I Have had this receiver for over four weeks and it is fantastick. Set up was essey and once I had connected the speakers and all my inputs i.e. Sony 4K blu ray player, an old Sony DVD recorder, a PS4 and a Sky HD box I ran the auto callabration then sat back and just enjoyed the sound from this receiver. The soud is just great from any of the inputs. so far musicly i have only played CDs and they sound great too. I would highly recomend this receiver to anyone.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Disappointing

STRDN1080 07/10/2017 by Sad2017 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this when I purchased my Sony OLED TV & Sony Blu Ray player - with expectations that all would work well together. I found out two days ago that my issue with loss of picture with my TV was actually due to this particular receiver. One week after purchase (June 2017), I would have sound but no picture that required me to shut everything down and start fresh. Two weeks ago, I lost the picture completely - the expert installers I used paid a home visit and determined the receiver was malfunctioning. I am receiving the receiver with another manufacturer's receiver as soon as I can.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

65 Customer Reviews

0

Brought new life to old Mirage speakers... but...

STR-DN1080 14/12/2017 by jbolt247 (USA)

First after some tweaking the sound quality is excellent. It really has brought some new life to my old Mirage towers. Setup - Menus are a little slow to respond. But tolerable. My only real complaint is that I like to setup my receivers and leave it. For some reason this receiver is constantly defaulting to the Multi-Str setting. I prefer A.F.D. (which ironically is labeled as "preferred" on the screen), but every time I change the input or turn off / on it resets back to the Multi-Str setting. Very frustrating! Which is why I am giving it 4 stars. My only other complaint is the remote. It barely works half the time. I changed the batteries and no luck.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Disappointed

STRDN1080 13/12/2017 by independentid (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The second zone functionality only supports analogue inputs. Sony advertising indicated *any* content could be played in the second zone. This is a major FAIL for me. Given all of our content is digital, we expected this digital AMP not to be regressive.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great product

STRDN1080 12/12/2017 by MSG1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The receiver has a lot of options. Easy setup. Sounds good.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Complicated Installation

STRDN1080 12/12/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Requires hook up to a tv to see installation guidelines which should not be required to install

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Outstanding features, that actually work!

STRDN1080 11/12/2017 by Terry60 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I picked it up on Black Friday. It was easy to understand and setup, it took about an hour. So far all of the advertised features work very well, using the remote and onscreen instructions. I have a TV, 2 DVD's, Turntable, Wii, Bluetooth (with 2 iphones), 5 Speaker Surround Sound, 2 Outdoor Speakers, 1 Wireless Speaker and Two PC's connected and all work seamlessly.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great purchase

STRDN1080 11/12/2017 by Trawik (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with my purchase, great features and sound quality

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

nice

STRDN1080 09/12/2017 by daveflh (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

great sound hdr10 dolbe vision love it built in chromcast works ok

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Problem with buzzing sound

STRDN1080 07/12/2017 by bobcat169 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recently purchased this after reading many favorable reviews. It unfortunately has a very irritating buzzing sound coming from the amplifier that persists on and off whether connected to speakers or not. It unfortunately really takes away from the otherwise fantastic listening experience. Has made me miss my Onkyo.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

poor features

STR-DN1080 07/12/2017 by people you know (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

just ok the front panal lacks info you have to depend on your tv screen for most set up

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great AV amp

STR-DN1080 05/12/2017 by Redgibo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this in the summer after my Sony 1060 developed a fault. I tried the demon 2300 but found it too clinical a sound. The Sony gives a truly great tone and sound when watching Blu-ray, DVD or TV. Wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quality Receiver w/DSEE HX

STRDN1080 05/12/2017 by Soupy Sales (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Quality Receiver w/Hi Res Audio/Phantom Surround Back..

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic,exelent

STR-DN1080 03/12/2017 by Relvina (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The component are mostly 20 years old and are still reliable up to now I love your product to much and I cann’t compare with other products.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent AV Receiver

STR-DN1080 25/11/2017 by WizPip (United Kingdom)

Outputting to two screens was definitely the surprise bonus of this product for me - being able to hook it up to a monitor and a projector (which isn't always on) is a real bonus. 6 HDMI inputs allow connection to all manner of devices - though not all of these have their own button on the remote. Moving between system menus is slower than your smartphone but are acceptable. Output quality can be difficult to judge because your experience will be largely dependent on your screens and speakers, but both video and audio on my setup are exceptional. The unit plays from WiFi and Bluetooth though these options have to be switched to before use - there's no auto stream detection. A companion smartphone app exists to replicate remote control functionality, though it would be nice if this control was also extended to Windows / MacOS - in my case the receiver is hooked up to a PC and it's a shame that to adjust the volume I have to open an app on another device. The unit puts out a fair amount of heat, even when it's not doing much - but overall build quality is solid and excellent value for money.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Plug N Play

STRDN1080 23/11/2017 by Nunican (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just bought it and hooked it in my system. Love it so far and am exploring all of the options.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

SONY AVR STR-DN1080

STRDN1080 18/11/2017 by Dan DZ (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just got it ... Still working on proper set up ... But so far - so good. 5.1 Surround Sound works great ... Need to setup Zone 2 and ceiling speakers. But all is working fine

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

0

0

0

Not switching between other devices

STR-DN1080 13/11/2017 by Siggi23 (USA)

Bought the receiver 2 weeks ago. Switching between Blue Ray , Apple TV and Sat box did not work most of the time. E.g. when switching from Sat box to Apple TV, the receiver went straight back to the Sat box.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Excellent sound, shame about the Interface

STR-DN1080 10/11/2017 by MalAdroit (United Kingdom)

The STR1080 was a present from my wife and it sounds amazing! Even with our small speakers it sounds so realistic its sometimes hard to know if its the soundtrack or the real world. That said there are a number of reasons why I wouldn't recommend this to others: 1) the User interface is simple, but so slow! 12 seconds to show a menu is a joke 2) Only 1 of the 4 custom presents is available from the remote .... which would be fine if the menus weren't so slow! 3) The FM aerial is a joke! With the location of the receiver we can pick up Radio 1 & 2 in stereo & thats it, if I listened to the radio a lot this would be a show stopper. 4) The Equaliser is very basic, others in the same price range have far better facilities for tailoring the sound. 5) The on screen info display is stupidly basic - it shows the device connected & thats it, nothing about the sound filed being used or anything else - super poor Sony, why bother having a display button on the remote at all ? I have considered sending the unit back, but the question that I always come back to is - will others, in the same price range, sound as good .... ultimately one gets an AVR for the sound quality & that it has to be said is the one thing that the 1080 delivers on .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Sony checked all the boxes with this amplifier

STRDN1080 07/11/2017 by Rago 1988 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

This receiver amplifier is brilliant in quality, features and price. Well done Sony

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

missing 110 switch outlet

STR-DN1080 05/11/2017 by edwhid (USA)

Overall i am happy with this unit however the big missing feature is the inability to have 110 switched outlet to connect my powered active sub woofer Now my sub woofer needs to on all the time . I have been unable to connect a remote to the power that can be programed to the Sony remote Hey sony why did you remove the outlet can you help ?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

6

1

0

Sound great

STRDN1080 04/11/2017 by Gav1 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

This receiver was easy to set up and sounds great and looks great too. The calibration feature is easy to use and makes the sound where I sit fantastic.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

SONY MULTI CHANNEL AV RECEIVER

STRDN1080 31/10/2017 by Linda Kay (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

After replacing my Harmon/Kardon with my new Sony Receiver ....my speakers have sounded better than years ago. It was time to replace the old one and now I have great music and sound from this Sony Receiver. GREAT AV RECEIVER that SONY makes. I am in awe!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Works well

STRDN1080 29/10/2017 by geosony1080 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

It was easy too set up with a few minor exceptions. The bluetooth appears to not work with Android. Sound quality is excellent and connection and set-up was a breeze.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good that I brought it

STRDN1080 29/10/2017 by Rony W (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just brought it 2 days, and it so far so good and prices ok

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

plenty of HDMI jacks

STRDN1080 27/10/2017 by Bill 1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

just bought it my wireless headphones will not work with it for some stupid reason

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Wonderful

STR-DN1080 26/10/2017 by kp47 (United Kingdom)

Bought this to replace my 12 year old Sony Av Receiver. Mighty impressed with the sound (particularly surround sound for TV), extensive features, auto calibration of the speakers,and so easy to set up and use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony Receiver

STRDN1080 25/10/2017 by stg44 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

we replaced a yamaha receiver that started failing 2-3 years after purchase. We shifted to Sony to compliment our Blueray DVD player that has been awesome. We're glad we switched. Setup was very easy, and it sounds great!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sounds great, but struggling with HDR

STR-DN1080 21/10/2017 by Lardboy (United Kingdom)

The sound is excellent for the price. Set up atmos and this is excellent. Struggled to maintain xbox1s and ps pro HDR settings. Loses picture in enhanced hdmi video setting and have to go to simple mode. This is annoying and needs addressing with the new xbox1x release. Need both sound and audio to function 100%, and then this receiver would get 5 stars.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Despite the great magazine reviews this is poor

STR-DN1080 15/10/2017 by Anomander (United Kingdom)

Bought a new STR -DN1080 from Sevenoaks to partner a LG OLED55B7V. Set up (despite the painfully slow loading Home menu) everything ok but HDMI-ARC does not work. Sevenoaks Sony rep is unhelpful. Prove that it is the Sony amp by testing with a Yamaha soundbar. Then video output from the amp fails too. Now on my second amp but HDMI-ARC still does not work, and neither does this amp accept volume control commands via the LG (the last one did with exactly the same software and settings). Sevenoaks sending an installation engineer, but there are no settings left to try. Sony support has been non existent. Will be swapping for a Denon if not solved by end of next week.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

7

2

0

Not great

STRDN1080 14/10/2017 by Wpgryan (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this 3 months ago and had a bunch of problems. The Chromecast is very clunky and doesn't work great. Ive had problems with the HDMI output not sending out video. And the most recent cherry on top is the unit was extremely slow to respond to directions from the remote control. I am trying to do a factory reset and it will not reset.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
16/10/2017

Hi Wpgryan, we are sorry for the inconvenience. With regards to the issue you have encountered, please refer to the link below to isolate the issues.
http://helpguide.sony.net/ha/strdn108/v1/en/index.html

If the issue persists, you get in touch with one of our product specialists to further assist you.
https://esupport.sony.com/CA/p/select-system.pl

Regards.,
-Erin

0

Just love it !!!

STRDN1080 10/10/2017 by Sickone (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have had System for a few months. Configured for Atmos. So the phantom rear smears are s joy. I have owned a number of amps. This is far and away the best thing I have seen.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

New A/V Receiver

STRDN1080 10/10/2017 by kmiller (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this receiver to drive some in ceiling speakers for a media centre in the basement. Pleased with the ease of setup, and sound quality. Still working through a couple things (like having audio come back to the receiver from the TV), but overall, an excellent product!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Superb sound quality

STR-DN1080 09/10/2017 by Spliff38 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Best av amp I have ever purchased . I have always had Yamaha amps before, but don't have made a gem with us

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Disappointing

STRDN1080 07/10/2017 by Sad2017 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this when I purchased my Sony OLED TV & Sony Blu Ray player - with expectations that all would work well together. I found out two days ago that my issue with loss of picture with my TV was actually due to this particular receiver. One week after purchase (June 2017), I would have sound but no picture that required me to shut everything down and start fresh. Two weeks ago, I lost the picture completely - the expert installers I used paid a home visit and determined the receiver was malfunctioning. I am receiving the receiver with another manufacturer's receiver as soon as I can.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Great receiver

STRDN1080 07/10/2017 by Bolducm (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought a new OLED TV for Christmas and the receiver I had did not auto-switch to 4K. When I saw the overwhelmingly positive reviews for this new receiver on various sites I decided that this was the replacement I was going to get and I was not disappointed. Easy setup, elegant design and more importantly, crisp clean sound even at low voulumes.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The AV to rule them all

STR-DN1080 02/10/2017 by MitchieG (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Eventually found the Sony STR-DN1080 after weeks of reading and watching the pre order videos. I can tell you now that I was not disappointed. Could not wait to get the 1080 up and running which is, as with all Sony AV receivers a simple task. I married the unit to the magnificent UBP-X800 UltraHD Blu-Ray player and the sublime KD-55XE9005 and it's the perfect threesome. Using the D.C.A.C function to calibrate the speakers is very easy and accurate, I was sat watching Planet Earth 2 in stunning HDR within half an hour. If you are thinking of purchasing a new AV receiver you will not get better than the Sony STR-DN1080 which definitely punches well above it's weight.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Lots of HDMI ports

STRDN1080 02/10/2017 by BrianC (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My first unit was DoA, but second one works fine. The setup screens are the best I've seen on any comparable AV receiver. If you need lots of input ports, then this is the receiver for you. I wish the remote was programmable.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Unbelievable sound

STRDN1080 01/10/2017 by Handy Smurf (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I needed to replace a failing Yamaha receiver and as always did a fair bit of research online and the Sony STRDN1080 kept showing up as one of the top receivers on multiple review sites. So far I have been very happy with the purchase. Easy to setup, excellent sound quality, and a really good user interface to control what you want to do. Add this to an excellent price and you can't go wrong. Highly recommend!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Powerful pro-formance

STR-DN1080 01/10/2017 by TonyD1972 (USA)

This component has redefined what great sound quality is truly like for my home theater. The differences are outstanding and the price point was well within my means. This is the richest sounding and most affordable product Sony has put out yet.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

I'm very happy with this product

STRDN1080 25/09/2017 by robbon (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm pleased with this product the sound quality is exceptional.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very powerful receiver!

STRDN1080 20/09/2017 by Louhenry (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sound is amazing, but difficult to use the automated speaker settings. I did it manually with tone control and it works great, after several hours of tinkering.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Great amp

STR-DN1080 18/09/2017 by iblock (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to replace my previous DN860 which I had no complaints about. Just simply wanted atmos and HDR pass through. This amp is Everything I need. Detailed and controlled sound and atmos gives a full room filling effect. Can't complain. Nice user interface. The only thing I would find useful is to be able to isolate sound to individual speakers at a time so I could fine tune the equaliser. Not sure any amp does that though.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great receiver

STR-DN1080 13/09/2017 by MiteBe (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this receiver to replace an older Sony model (STR-DA3600ES) as I needed more inputs and wanted Dolby Atmos. The modern interface makes this a doddle to set up on the network and calibrate the surround sound settings. It also makes it very easy for non-technical people to operate day to day. The sound quality (to my ears at least) seems quite transparent and extremely powerful. The major downside (for me) is the inability to play WMA lossless over the network. It plays FLAC files no problem, but not WMA lossless. This is most disappointing as for one reason or another most of my older CD library was ripped using WMA lossless. In summary this is a great receiver and I'm very happy with the upgrade. I've listed Pros and Cons below. Even though there are more negatives than pluses they are mostly minor (to me) but may be more important to others. Pros Easy to set up Modern, easy to use graphical interface Sounds great with lots of power 4K with HDCP2.2 on every port Cons Cannot play lossless WMA over network Streaming menu's lack functionality and are slow No blue LED to indicate multi-channel decoding Remote is not backlit Bit of lag between pressing the "Home" button and the menu appearing Volume knob feels a bit plasticky

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

Product features and performance

STRDN1080 12/09/2017 by babbleman (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I replaced a 9 year old Sony STR-DG820. This product's features and performance represents great value for the price for my home theater. The HDMI integration is flawless, the revised setup to represent the actual home theater configuration and the calibration program are easy to use and provide a refined setup.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Big Bang for Little Money

STRDN1080 09/09/2017 by RandyU55 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this receiver a couple months ago to replace an Onkyo that failed after four years. I am happy I chose the one I did. Setup is very easy if you want to use the automatic setup and let the receiver make the choices for you. It does a pretty good job of it and selects options that make the Sony work better. However I had a 7.1 Onkyo and wanted to switch to a 5.1.2 setup to use Atmos. That required that I use the automatic setup and then go back and make some changes to the automatic defaults as they were better suited to 7.1 in terms of how it syncs the sound levels from each speaker. Atmos's advantage is that it uses high speakers (ceiling mounts) to direct a portion of the sound down to the listener from above. If you don't have high speakers you can get Atmos speaker that bounce the sound up to the ceiling and then down to the listener. the automatic setup really assumes you are using the Atmos speakers and sets sound delays for syncing the sound to account for the longer time for the sound to bounce to the ceiling and then back. This causes some funny sounds if you use ceiling speakers and have a higher ceiling. Let me be clear that there is nothing wrong with the way Sony set its defaults as most listeners do not have ceiling speaks and will use Atmos speakers rather than go to the extra cost of buying and installing ceiling speakers. Once I had the corrections in and plugged in the blue-ray version of "Gravity" it was fantastic. Sound was quite accurate and you could pick up details that I never knew existed in the tracks. Excellent AVR.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Finally, a receiver that just works

STRDN1080 08/09/2017 by biggstuu (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The GUI was a great help in completing setup. I'm amazed at how easy it was to configure. Since my TV, BDP, and game systems are all Sony, everything just works. Great product design and synchronization. I'm pleased as punch!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent sound

STRDN1080 08/09/2017 by JR48 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been using this receiver for about four weeks and it has wonderful sound. The surround decoder does an excellent job at selecting the best sound for my room and sound source.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Plenty of great new features and a few let-downs.

STRDN1080 27/08/2017 by BobE2350 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recently purchased the 7.2 Channel Sony Home Theater AV Receiver model STR-DN1080 as an upgrade to my 5-year old STR-DN1050. My old receiver worked great but I wanted the new features that the new model came with and made the purchase recently. I've been a Sony customer for a long time because I have come to expect great quality from Sony products and haven't been let down. My new receiver is a another example of a great Sony product but unfortunately it has a few shortcomings that prevent me from giving this product 5 stars! The system interface can be very sluggish responding to changes from one input to another. This was not a problem with my last two Sony receivers and for this to occur in an otherwise fine product should not happen. This issue was pointed out in a recent review of the product in Sound and Vision magazine so it is not an isolated problem with my unit but apparently with all of them. Secondly, I have a fairly sizable Hi-Res library on a NAS unit that I like to listen to throughout my home. The Network Music Interface on the doesn't have the ability to play any Genre of my stored music. I'm stuck playing an album or an artist or all tracks on my NAS. I would love to be able to select "R&B" and not get a list of all of my "R&B" albums. I know what they are, that's why I want to listen to them! Overall I'm happy with my new receiver, I just don't think it deserves 5 stars.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Great receiver packed amazing sound and features

STR-DN1080 20/08/2017 by Bilbob2002 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this reciever last week and have to say it's amazing it connected to my 4k Sony TV with ease and my first impressions where fantastic. The arc return is great and changes inputs automatically to suit. The sound is punchy and deep the highs and lows are crisp and I'm suitably impressed. All of my devices where easily connected and found it easy and convenient to cast music from my phone or laptop. The sideview app for Android is Fantastic too saves digging around for the remote. I have yet to add extra speakers for the dolby atmos function but if this is anything like the rest of the features I will be happy. 10/10 Sony well done.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Punchy, detailed & more revealed from my speakers

STR-DN1080 14/08/2017 by dkingdom (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this amp a month ago as a significant upgrade from a Denon AVRX-2200W. It certainly was what I was hoping for in terms of sound, much more punch and detail revealed from a Tannoy 5.1 setup that I've had for 4 years. The nicely designed interface is a little slow to react to input but I'm very pleased overall. The only fly in the ointment for me was SONY PROTECTOR mode. This would quite randomly shut it down without any changes in speaker or cabling setup. The only solution was to pull the plug and hope it's happier when you power cycle. This can happen after a whole evening of watching a movie and then the following morning, it's temporarily dead? It's happening less so now but I have no idea as to why, it seems almost organic. I just think it's too sensitive as I never suffered these issues with the Denon. Hasn't stopped me liking or keeping the amp thought as the sound difference is substantial, just

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

0

Surprisingly Good Sound

STRDN1080 10/08/2017 by dbarnesid (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this unit yesterday and was pleasantly surprised by the sound quality. I was replacing a Marantz/Rotel separates system that has been fantastic. But the 15-year-old Marantz just didn't have the newer audio formats. This Sony actually sounds better than my Marantz and THX Rotel. Caution: I also have a Sony 4K TV and a Sony sound bar. (The TV sound is stunningly bad without the sound bar. I mean world class bad.) Trying to get the TV, sound bar, and a Sony blu-ray to play well together is a time-consuming and frustrating experience. I have to use FOUR remote controls. Really? All four units are Sony. Why not ONE remote?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

sad

STR-DN1080 28/07/2017 by biff42 (USA)

in todays world its sad that they only have 1 optical imput when i have 3 pieces of equipment that i could hookup with fiber optic i replaced a receiver from 2000 that had 1 optical imput and one from 2005 with 2 optical imputs

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

25

0

Extra Zone a plus, not found on similar priced rec

STR-DN1080 27/07/2017 by WBSTosa (USA)

Just purchased this receiver to replace an older Sony model. I like the 2nd zone to play music on speakers n another room. Similar to A-B speakers option on older Sony. Disappointed you can't play CD player trough 2nd Zone speakers? Not sure why they limit this ability? Also unit is very warm, almost hot to the touch, even in standby mode for several hours.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

9

0

Sony 7.2 HEC

STRDN1080 20/07/2017 by Kizippy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just purchased this a week ago, 1st time using Sony other than PS4 and I think that I have made an excellent purchase. Love this Home entertainment center

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

A Well Featured Receiver with Great Sound Quality

STR-DN1080 09/07/2017 by startroops (Canada)

I upgraded to this new receiver to take advantage of its network capabilities and audio performance. The setup was simple and immediately I was connected to my home network. Audio performance is quite an improvement over my old receiver, and music immediately came to life when I am casting lossless music with TIDAL. The system (I am using 5.1) also performs well while watching movies! This is a highly recommended product to everyone. The only issue I encountered was that the receiver could not connect to the internet or network one night. After resetting the router and waited for a few hours, the connectivity was restored.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great Receiver

STR-DN1080 03/07/2017 by Mark g (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I Have had this receiver for over four weeks and it is fantastick. Set up was essey and once I had connected the speakers and all my inputs i.e. Sony 4K blu ray player, an old Sony DVD recorder, a PS4 and a Sky HD box I ran the auto callabration then sat back and just enjoyed the sound from this receiver. The soud is just great from any of the inputs. so far musicly i have only played CDs and they sound great too. I would highly recomend this receiver to anyone.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

big improvement

STRDN1080 02/07/2017 by Anthony A (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very functional with my other sony products (TV, PS3, PS4) pretty easy to set up. Only issue I have come across is that you can't change sound fields without going to home. Wish there was a button on my remote to cycle through the sound fields like on my old sony receiver remote.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

So frustrating!

STR-DN1080 29/06/2017  (USA)

I just got this receiver today and have spent the last 12 hours trying unsuccessfully to get this thing to work with my LG OLED65G6P, Xbox One S, and PS4 Pro. The Xbox will ONLY change to 4K resolution when I bypass this receiver. When I try changing from 1080p to 4K while plugged in to the receiver, it gives a "no signal" to my tv and the "hdmi" on the front display just flashes on and off sporadically. I've used multiple cables (all certified premium) and updated the firmware on everything with no luck. If Sony can't fix this I have literally no use for this as my last receiver did 1080p just fine.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

7

11

0

Very happy

STR-DN1080 26/06/2017 by Nard dog (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent sound quality for mid-range product, very happy with this

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

8

6

0

Great AMP

STR-DN1080 25/06/2017 by Michael12 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this for Dolby Atmos,very pleased i did great sounding Amp,can highly recommend this Amp.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

1

0

NEW Sony a/v receiver syncs better with my Sony TV

STRDN1080 15/06/2017 by LAKEFORKLADY (USA)

As usual, Sony doesn't know how to write an instruction manual. Trial and Error is the norm with their electronics...But, it seems to sync with my Sony 4k TV better than the O***** brand did. No constant flipping back and forth between tv speakers and external speakers, which is why I bought it. An adapter is needed to connect my coax fm antenna to coax input on receiver that requires an RCA plug. I use a TV antenna In my attic to draw in FM stations as far as 50 or so miles away. Can’t get any reception for any FM channel without it. Well, turns out the COAX doesn’t work as an antenna for FM tuner. The plug provided for measly FM antenna is broken and antenna provided doesn’t fit. So, half of the functionality is missing. Anyone with a Sony TV needs to only use Sony receiver for Bravia sync. Sony has always been too proprietary. But, I think the Sony picture is superior to other brands, so I put up with it. 2 stars (ok for Bravio sync, but nothing else) and NOT recommend for anyone else to buy.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

18

0

Great design, great sound.

STR-DN1080 03/06/2017 by jimsunn (Canada)

Awesome unit, crisp clear and full. A great choice at this price point. Not complicated I design but carries all the features a high end receiver needs.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Mediocre sound, lousy remote.

STR-DN1080 02/06/2017 by KevH (Canada)

Sony sound is an acquired taste. Sony sound engineers have attempted to enhance your movie and music listening by creating algorithms based on various venues. Alas, it doesn't always work for me. I usually end up with stereo or 3 ch. fronts by turning down the surround speakers. The specs will spout 6 hdmi inputs but look at the remote provided. You only get 4 actual dedicated go to input selections. TV and USB inputs are virtually useless as tv sound is also coming from the arc portion of the hdmi output. USB is limited to 32gb of FAT formatted sticks. And it has recognize the format, the contents, if any and displays files every time you access the USB input. Very very slow and cumbersome. Thus, rendering it, in my case, useless.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/06/2017

Hi KevH, we regret that the receiver failed your expectation. I will have your feedback forwarded to the relevant department as we always looking to make Sony better. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Regards, ~Erin

0

Good sound, but annoyinginly keeps changing fields

STR-DN1080 26/05/2017 by MoeJoe (USA)

I bought this with the sony x900e tv everytime i change the input or watch netflix it changes the sound field to multi stereo. It's really annoying to change it to AFD again and again

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

12

3

0

absolutely great!

STRDN1080 04/05/2017 by Evoixjohn (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

i had originally bought the str dn1070 at first,than found out on cnet that a new model was being release. the str dn1080 is superb to the 1070. both are great receivers no doubt.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

11

0

Great entry to Atmos

STRDN1080 30/04/2017 by rando (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Being somewhat of an entry level Atmos receiver, it performs really well. It produces clear sounds, was easy to calibrate and setup, easy to use, and the Phantom Surround feature surprisingly works. It’s not perfect, yet there’s very few negatives. It does get warmer than other receivers I’ve owned and the build quality is a bit flimsy. The menu, while easy to use, is a bit clunky. Atmos setup is limited to 5.1.2. Good: Clear sounds Atmos support Dual zone 6 HDMI in and 2 out Dual wifi Small size (when compared to their previous models) Phantom speaker makes it seem you have rear speakers or equally placed Google home HDR passthrough Bluetooth can be set to transmit for headphones or receive for mobile devices Bad: Can get a bit hot Top panel is flimsy and flexes Manual is lacking Can only do Atmos 5.1.2 Sony DN10xx series are good receivers. The DN1080 added some minor improvements, but the biggest one being the Atmos support and new “Phantom Surround” feature which simulates back speakers essentially turning your 5.1.2 setup to a 7.1.2 full surround. It has HDR passthrough and supposedly works with Google Home, but I don’t have a 4k tv and have an Amazon Echo so I was not able to test those features. The network features all work as intended with the streaming service is limited to just Spotify and Chromecast. Dual zone is nice to have especially if you want to pass video and audio to another tv in the house. Though, I’d rather not have the dual zone if it meant that they added support for 5.1.4 instead. Atmos is ideally meant for 4 top speakers. Setting up was straightforward. Sony have kept their simple UI and streamlined remote, but the UI is somewhat clunky and laggy at times. The auto calibration was a good place to start and can get the job done if you don’t want to fine tune anything manually. The calibration is done with a new stereo mic which supposedly produce better results. It actually gave me an error when I had the R and L on the mic reversed so at least it’s accurate enough to know that much. The calibration did a good job at judging distance and levels but it kept assigning my bookshelf speakers as large and the level of the subwoofer was way too high. I went back in and adjusted some setting manually and set it up as Atmos 5.1.2 with top middle speakers and assigned the phantom surrounds as rear speakers. Audio quality is great. I’m limited to only 2 Atmos movies, but what I heard was impressive. The sound was clear and bounced front to back and left to right. The phantom surround worked well enough. It’s not going to be the same as having actual speakers, but I definitely heard sounds as if they were behind me. With non Atmos media, setting the sound field to Dolby Digital or DTS Neutral can enhance the sound and fill the room more but it’s somewhat minor. There’s various calibration settings and sound fields options to mess with as well as speakers quality and placement so there’s a lot of factors at work, but based on what I have, I’m happy with the sound quality. Some issues I have are from the build quality and how hot this gets. While its size is the same as my old Sony STR-DH750, a small non network receiver, its build quality seemed to have worsen. The top panel felt flimsy and flexed, and mine came with a dent. It also heats up quite a bit. Enough that I probably wouldn’t keep it in a closed cabinet without ventilation. The manual is also lacking explanations of settings. It only covered basic installation and the front display. For in depth explanations you have to use their online guide. I think this is a very good receiver given the price point. Atmos media will hopefully be more available soon and this is a nice entry point. I like the sounds it can produce and the extra features are there for those that want it. It’d be nice if I could have set up a 5.1.4 Atmos experience but some Atmos is still better than none.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

35

4