Skip to Content
31

4.0 based on 31 customer reviews

14
9
4
2
2
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great receiver, great sound.

STRDN860 03/06/2015 by FLskier (USA)

Setup was fairly easy, even though the material that came with the unit could have had more detail. I went to the on line manual but the link on Sony's site did not work. I'm sure that will be fixed. Just two disappointments which is my fault because I did not study the details in the ad. There is no switched AC receptical on the back of the unit. I used that for my powered subwoofer. Now I have to remember to turn the subwoofer on and off manually. Also, the fm receptical is a tiny circuit board type male plug instead of a coax plug. Hopefully, someone will come out with an adaptor. Of course with streaming music available, maybe fm is on the way out?? Other than that I really love this receiver. Another great Sony product.

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Multi-channel Stero only way to Chromecast =(

STR-DN860 07/09/2017 by Zigman82 (USA)

I love everyhtin about this Receiver EXCEPT it's chromecast built in ability. It only supports Multi-channel Stero which sounds extreamly poor and pathetic on satalite speaker setups that utilize a subwoofer.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

31 Customer Reviews

0

Multi-channel Stero only way to Chromecast =(

STR-DN860 07/09/2017 by Zigman82 (USA)

I love everyhtin about this Receiver EXCEPT it's chromecast built in ability. It only supports Multi-channel Stero which sounds extreamly poor and pathetic on satalite speaker setups that utilize a subwoofer.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Good Value AV Amplifiet

STR-DN860 28/08/2017 by Jeff61 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Pleased overall, but disappointed that the 860 will not support 10 bit images. Apart from that, good sound field and a reasonable control set, the 860 is a solid performer.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Still no sound in subwoofer

STR-DN860 22/06/2017 by HenrikB (USA)

The software has been updated recently. But there is still no sound in the subwoofer when the build-in casting funtion is used. Will there be a new update that solves the problem? When done, I give 5 stars *****

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

Terrible product quality!!

STRDN860 04/04/2017 by Jbonesless (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This receiver has performed ok with good sound clarity, however it only lasted a little over a month. The ARC does not work well at all, sometimes it syncs but most of the times it does not. Based on my experience with this product I would not recommend it. My assumption was when purchased this Receiver is that it would work well with my Sony TV...not...my old Yamaha receiver worked better.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Excellent except for Bluetooth

STRDN860 28/03/2017 by Remleym1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a great receiver in all respects except for the Bluetooth audio. It met all my requirements... it drives my 5.1 speakers (Bose) and also drives a pair of outdoor speakers. Perfect for when we have a party going on. The sound really is excellent and setup was very easy. The Bluetooth audio doesn't work very well though. I've tried the Sony with three different Bluetooth headphones and all have the same problems. The audio often gets out of sync with the video and sometimes the audio becomes choppy. Sometimes a complete system off and on will solve the problem but often it does not. Fix the Bluetooth audio and this would be a truly superb system.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fantasic sound

STR-DN860 31/01/2017 by Geldy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had a Sony Sony STR-DB940 for the past 25 years without any issues. This one has only replaced it due to no HDMI control on the old one. I am very pleased with it overall if i was to make a suggestion it would be to still have an LED or some sort of light to show it was in surround mode as the scrolling display cannot be seen unless you are looking close to the display. but overall great recommend it to anyone

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good into to home theatre audio

STRDN860 04/12/2016 by ckingphoto (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

This receiver is a basic model with a reasonable set of inputs and connections. Sony user interfaces are known for being clean and user friendly, this receiver is no exception. I have mine hooked up in a 5.0 configuration with the front channels bi-amped. I returned a Pioneer VSX1130k for this receiver... took a huge step down but I wanted something that was plug-and-play, and simpler. I have a few gripes about this receiver: 1) Analogue signals are not routed through HDMI output. 2) The true power output is not easy to find online, and no specs for 8 ohms advertised. Majority of consumers use 8 ohm speakers... Receiver is advertised as 150 W x 7 @ 6 ohms, 1 kHz, THD 0.9%... but at a full range it's actually 6ohms, 20-20kHz, 2ch driven which delivers 95 W + 95 W (0.09%). What is the actual 7-channel output from 20hz to 20khz at 8 ohms? So this is advertised as a 1050-watt receiver... It's probably in the range of a 500-watt receiver... Still good really. 3) I absolutely love listening to FLAC audio on pure direct mode from my USB. HOWEVER. Sony makes excellent walkmans and mp3 players. Why couldn't the built-in audio player have gapless playback, or allow choosing a new song without stopping playback on the receiver? This ties me into the final gripe... 4) The Songpal app is really handy and responsive, much better than the iControl app by pioneer... however. Why on earth does the app restart every single time you leave??? It's quite annoying when I'm fiddling with settings and every time the app exits all the way and I need to re-enter all the menus. Overall: The sound is O.K. Use Pure Direct mode only, the rest of the modes sound bad. HDMI inputs are few but adequate. Optical and COAX is handy. Component would have been nice, as well as analogue to digital would be nice. High-res audio is great, currently have a 128gb usb stick with music which is great. Spotify and Google Cast is great. Bluray movies and gaming on my ps4 sounds great. For an intro to home theatre sound, you will be happy. Previous Pioneer VSX1130k was a much higher grade amp so naturally it had more features and sounded better so not a fair comparison.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

FM antenna

STR-DN860 24/11/2016 by OKinky1 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

System works great on all inputs and outputs. However, the cheap FM antenna that comes with it probably works fine if you are next to the FM transmitter, but not in the rural area where we live - next to useless. Also there is no AM antenna provision. The display on the front is very small, I can hardly read it, even with my glasses on

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Vary bad FM

STR-DN860 05/11/2016 by HDlittlelegs (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good unit for everything else but if you use FM it's crap

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

9

0

Excellent Sony product

STRDN860 10/10/2016 by techydave (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Replaced an older different brand receiver with this one, and what a difference. The whole system came alive with better overall sound. My old 15" Altec Lansing speakers really started showing what they were capable off with no need to add a sub-woofer. Sony products have always been good and the quality is certainly in this product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great value and Easy to Set up

STR-DN860 09/06/2016 by JeffA169 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product about a month ago and am very pleased with it. It might have been an advantage because I already owned a modern Sony tv but setting up the system was very easy; it did most of it for me

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Great sounding av amp

STR-DN860 27/05/2016 by Phil024 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only had this amp a matter of weeks but sound is brill.. wud defo recommend paired with a pair on tannoy speakers sounds great. Set up is easy and amp very easy to use...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good sound and Quality.

STR-DN860 10/04/2016 by D Cee (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have owned the A/V Receiver for about a month,and am very pleased with the performance. Easy set up. Turn on Sky Box and the receiver and TV start as well. Found a good price on the internet. Also downloaded the manuals before purchase which ensured I had prior knowledge. Thus was able to purchase the High Speed HMDI Cables (ARC) before Order arrived.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

plenty of bang for your bucks

STR-DN860 23/03/2016 by TrooperC1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the sony to replace a denon 1910 that had developed a fault. Cost a hundred pound less but sounds just as good in surround mode but it is with music the sony really shines compared to the denon. The smart features are great (wi-fi + blutooth) and easy to set up. In short this is a great AV amp especially if you also listen to music.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Big improvement over 15 year old Sony STR-DB940!

STR-DN860 08/03/2016 by James_ss (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's a fantastic amp let down by a few stupid issues: 1) Non standard FM connector. Why not coax for connection to FM aerial? 2) No gapless playback on USB media which means breaks in music playback when one track finishes and the next starts. 3) Remote control designed by team that can't have had any contact with amplifier designers. Amp has 4 custom presets but remote only has 3 buttons plus missing button for 'Video' input on remote. The amplifier comes so close to 5 stars.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

1

0

Superb sound and features

STR-DN860 20/02/2016 by Bosa608 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to replace an old 2400 which had all but died. Full of loads of amazing new features and superb sound. really pleased I stayed with Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great reciever

STR-DN860 13/11/2015 by GERWYN (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My third SONY reciever. I can't fault it. Sound and features.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Perfect!

STR-DN860 06/11/2015 by Tartan caber (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted to go Sony to replace my old Pioneer receiver and had certain size restrictions, this one fits the bill perfectly. I'm glad I chose it as it works a treat and matches up to the Bravia TV I've got. Setup was a doddle and the quality of sound is amazing. I've not yet tried using my iPhone/ipad with it, that's the next stage.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Amazing receiver in both stereo and surround!

STR-DN860 30/10/2015 by Lyno (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've used this product for a few months now and it does an great job with everything I throw at it! The sound quality is just crystal clear and the audio performance is unmatched at this price level. The SongPal app is a great feature that I use on my android phone and tablet to control the STR-DN860. I can control everything from the app including streaming FLAC from my NAS, switching source input, audio settings and more! Airplay, bluetooth and Google Cast support and very welcome, no matter where I am in the house, whatever device I'm using, I can just send the audio straight to the receiver. I would recommend this product to anyone that's thinking about buying a receiver, you won't be dissapointed!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Great Sound, Great features but poor integration

STR-DN860 04/10/2015 by Transistorfreak (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a smashing unit, sound wise and features wise, streaming music from itunes to the amp is great, sound quality is great even my wife noticed the difference over our old amp. My only disappointment is when used with a W8 series TV do I still have to mess around with two remote controls, through in a PS4 and you have even more fun, would love to see these product integrated so for example press TV button and both amp and TV turn on.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

2

3

0

Awesome!

STR-DN860 24/09/2015 by Baz2450 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Replaced my 840 with this 860. Can't express how good this amp is.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Sounds impressive

STR-DN860 21/09/2015 by fxv300 (United Kingdom)

As a sound machine the DN-860 fulfills the task admirably. I've played a variety of audio and it plays all flawlessly. Flac via USB, Alac via itunes and everything my PC could throw at it. Well done SONY. The menu system takes a while to get used to but once you are comfortable with it, it does the job. Build use this is quite a solid unit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Good value cinema sound

STR-DN860 11/09/2015 by Chris4454x (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is easy to set up as the instructions are say to follow (which is a definite plus in my book). It is easy to use and it integrates nicely with my Sony TV. I find the sound quality is excellent and cannot see any reason to spend any more money than this for a receiver. Very good value for money. Thoroughly recommended.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

disapointing

STRDN860 03/08/2015 by GuyA (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’m enjoying many things about my STRDN860 AV unit. However, even though it supports WIFI. I wanted to be able to connect to internet sites (i.e. Netflix) to stream videos, but the product is not capable. That is very disappointing.

4

94

0

STRDN860 02/08/2015 by dmsbczsony (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

2

3

0

Nice Features

STRDN860 27/07/2015 by Remleym (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Has the features I need for my setup and it really does work pretty well. There have been a few issues with using Bluetooth headphones but I think I'm getting the hang of it. Sometimes the sound doesn't transfer to my headphones but I've figured out that a restart will usually solve the problem. I did have some problems getting my LG HBS730 headphones to reliably connect and I did submit a question to Sony via their support website but I never heard back from them. I figured it out on my own and I've switched to an Ausdom M06 headphone and it works quite well. I really like their iPhone app for controlling this receiver. It allows me to be out on my deck and turn on the receiver, select my outdoor speakers, and pick the music or radio I want to have playing. This is the main reason I bought this particular receiver and it works very well for that purpose.

8

3

0

better than pioneer

STRDN860 27/07/2015 by deerslayer (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

simple remote. sounds great with the klipsch speakers

12

1

0

Stereo receiver easy to use

STRDN860 12/07/2015 by Carr (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Sony 7.2 stereo receiver was easy to set up and configure. I especially appreciated the way the speaker wires could be attached easily. Works with Bluetooth or connected to CD or DVD player ( or iPod).

8

0

0

Great receiver, great sound.

STRDN860 03/06/2015 by FLskier (USA)

Setup was fairly easy, even though the material that came with the unit could have had more detail. I went to the on line manual but the link on Sony's site did not work. I'm sure that will be fixed. Just two disappointments which is my fault because I did not study the details in the ad. There is no switched AC receptical on the back of the unit. I used that for my powered subwoofer. Now I have to remember to turn the subwoofer on and off manually. Also, the fm receptical is a tiny circuit board type male plug instead of a coax plug. Hopefully, someone will come out with an adaptor. Of course with streaming music available, maybe fm is on the way out?? Other than that I really love this receiver. Another great Sony product.

10

0

0

Amazing amp... no manual, no companion apps

STRDN860 29/05/2015 by chrisray1985 (USA)

Amazing amp.. I would recommend only if you can figure things out without a manual. That being said, support is horrible.. It did not come with a manual.. Just a quick start guide and a few other non-helpful things. It took a long time for me to figure out which app to get so i can control it from my phone and I STILL don't know how to access media on my server through the network feature... why? because there is NO DOCUMENTATION!!! Massive fail Sony.. how hard is it to include a piece of paper that says go here to download xxx and go here for the manual.. All that being said its a wonderfully engineered amp.. and once somebody writes a manual for it I will change my review to 5 stars.. P.S. Sony did not even put the companion apps in the download section for the amp?? how hard is it to tell the web department to do this? fail.

13

24

0

Faulty?

STR-DN860 17/05/2015 by Chickenbait (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having arrived a little while ago, I have only just set it up it what will be my entertainment room. SO far I have been getting intermittent menu faults, where features of a menu and sometimes entire menus (such as Network and System, along with screen) just display not available or not in use. making it impossible for me to set up the system, join my network, worst of all when searching for a manual (as there are only basics supplied with it) There is noting in the support section, nor on the web. Hopefully just a bug that will be ironed out after an update, but so far I am very disappointed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

3

18