139

3.9 based on 139 customer reviews

71
31
10
8
19
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

So simple, even adults can use it.

BDP-S1700 29/10/2017 by Mr PEDANTIC (United Kingdom)

Very compact. DVD zone automatically switches. Blu-Ray switching by single button push. Remote control compact & easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Six days and One movie watched

BDPS1700 04/02/2017 by Phillimonster (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My husband purchased this product only six days ago and managed to watch one movie. After purchasing another 4 brand new movies we find the player has stopped working completely, failing to recognize even the BD we had originally watched. After updating the firmware, pouring through the customer support pages (243 posts) in total, we realize we purchased poor workmanship at best. My suggestion is steer clear of this product.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

4

0

139 Customer Reviews

0

Is just the size which fitted in easily

BDP-S1700 12/02/2018 by No Nickname I am aware of (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very pleased that I bought this product it is modern

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony brings it!

BDPS1700 06/02/2018 by Rapture85 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Works just as it should, Looks cool and also upscales dvd's and they look even better!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good unit.

BDPS1700 04/02/2018 by Patsfanrob (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just got it, and so far, it looks great. Easy to hook up. All I needed was an hdmi cable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

User friendly

BDPS1700 03/02/2018 by Highwayman 1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have used this unit for a month with no problems.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Neat Little Unit

BDP-S1700 29/01/2018 by Superfin (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to go with new Sony Bravia TV. Couldn't be more pleased. It is small and neat, sits in the cupboard under the TV and so easy to use. Replay quality is excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good product

BDPS1700 24/01/2018 by Lalotj (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I enjoy this product very much , good features, compact

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

stopped reading everything

BDP-S1700 19/01/2018 by DeathMasterG (Canada)

we bought this back in june after 3months started not reading some blue-rays now it refuses to ready anything its not engaging the disc or activating the lazers

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/01/2018

Hello DeathMasterG, we do apologize for the inconvenience. Kindly check the link below and follow the troubleshooting steps provided:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/30372
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/33679
Regards, _Bob

0

Not Happy.Keeps kicking me out not saving password

BDP-S1700 17/01/2018 by kimmmy (USA)

For some reason if I try to play stream for more than 2 movies .. it kicks me out and locks up and then I have to sign everything all over again, it doesn't keep my passwords or anything.. and I only had it since Christmas.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Default language French???

BDPS1700 16/01/2018 by donsnowbird (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I now have the DVD player working after a second trip to Best Buy and a visit to Sony's website. The player defaults to French instructions and the installation instructions are not at all clear!!! Best Buy had me waste an hour or so to "fix" my DVD Blue ray player. They also sold me the wrong connection (Ether net cable instead of HDMI cable). A DVD player should be user friendly and intuitive installation.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Sony Blu-ray player

BDPS1700 16/01/2018 by dreamweaver (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

received this as a gift....works great would recommend it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy to set up and use

BDPS1700 15/01/2018 by wpalcher7 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this Blu-ray player for my sister, who is intellectually challenged. It was simple to set up with her TV, and I was able to help her learn how to work it, which is saying a lot. Her new DVD of her old movie favorites played beautifully with great clarity. I can't testify to the Blu-ray projection because she doesn't yet have any Blu-ray discs, but if the DVD of old movies looks that good, I imagine a Blu-ray disc would be awesome.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great little device for the price.

BDPS1700 14/01/2018 by Baha (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

As soon as I got it, I set it up adapting it to my AV receiver. The biggest job was unplugging and disentangling all the wires from 3 units this player replaced. So far so good! It replaced a Sony DVD player that was still going strong after 10 years.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Works fine. Small size.

BDPS1700 13/01/2018 by Hoosierdaddy2 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like the compact size and great picture quality; also I like that when I insert a disk my Sony 850D TV automatically switches to the HDMI input of this device. Very easy to set up.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features and user friendly

BDPS1700 11/01/2018 by Trekker2 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this DVD player about 3 or 4 weeks ago and really liked it instantly. I really like the smart features they made my dumb T.V. a smart T.V.. Great little unit!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Terrible

BDPS1700 31/12/2017 by jay631 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had this blue ray player for about 8 months and it started to freeze. Did a Factory reset and still froze up. Wouldn't recommend Sony for Blue Ray players at alI. registered my product online, completed info with purchase date etc and they will not replace unless I have a SALES Receipt, which best buys ink receipts vanish and dry up with time. I have original packaging/box with registering it online.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Great Blu-ray

BDPS1700 28/12/2017 by Lena66 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I received this blu-ray as a Christmas gift. Works great easy to understand love it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good Value

BDPS1700 26/12/2017 by Austin BC (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good entry level Blu-Ray player. Small footprint is perfect for limited area we have. It was somewhat difficult to set up. I had to toggle several settings that were not obvious to get it to work finally. Hope it is reliable and lasts.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Optimal streaming features

BDPS1700 24/12/2017 by Missrose107 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Extreme simplicity and optimal streaming features. Enjoying extremely.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

IT does everthing I had hoped it wouild do

BDPS1700 13/12/2017 by Balonnie (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I enjoy using the player and it is easy to operate.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Mr C Barrett

BDPS1700 13/12/2017 by slowhands (USA)

Im so happy i bought a new blue ray / dvd player toady

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great picture

BDPS1700 11/12/2017 by Linda Jo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Can' t wait to watch a whole movie. Good picture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Would you make one even better ?

BDPS1700 05/12/2017 by Bay1996 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Well I got a wrong one but I know its cool to use.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Another nice Sony hardware product.

BDPS1700 05/12/2017 by kn8aw (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The player comes with many useful features, such as a Netflix button on the remote, a network connector, which I prefer to wireless and more internet selections than I could probably watch during my lifetime. It is very easy to use and I like the USB port up front. This player will play just about any motion picture format that I can throw at it, though most of my files are of the mp4, m4v and mkv variety. Overall, a very nice player.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

On bluray

BDPS1700 03/12/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it a month ago good products . I love sony products

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I like it

BDPS1700 30/11/2017 by Joie (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I needed a new one so I bought this one and I like it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Good value for your money.

BDPS1700 28/11/2017 by Nefertiti (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sony products are reliable and good value for your money

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Won't connect to the internet

BDP-S1700 27/11/2017 by Dick56473829 (USA)

Won't connect to the internet. I have tried everything. I have a different brand that works no problem

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

Excellent machine

BDPS1700 23/11/2017 by NMBob (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've used it several times & it has been excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Can’t play disc

BDP-S1700 22/11/2017 by Discapointed (USA)

Stop playing discs. No matter what disc is inserted a message comes up that says. Disc can’t be played. Check if is scratched or dirty.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Connection Problems after 1 Year

BDP-S1700 19/11/2017 by KRKR (USA)

We received this as a Christmas present and it worked for almost a year. Recently it has been losing connection to online services. Everyday we have to reconnect to the router (even though it's on a wired connection). Some days we even need to reset the connection when we get home from work as well.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Piece of Garbage

BDPS1700 17/11/2017 by Unhappy501 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought 45 days ago, now it will not turn on, eject disc, lay disc, or anything else. It has a green light on, so it has power, but has become a paper weight. DO NOT BUY!

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

More than I bargained for

BDP-S1700 14/11/2017 by A J C (United Kingdom)

I bought this recently and found there is more to it than I realised a great bargain. Very pleased with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Easy connectivity

BDPS1700 12/11/2017 by Reece470 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was given this as a Birthday gift, I love the easy of installation and the easy of setting it up on a home network

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Difficulty trying to get movies to appear

BDPS1700 02/11/2017 by Pat the Brat (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

You need more explicit instructions on getting the feature to operate using both remotes : the tv and the blue ray player. Don't forget we all aren't experts on getting this to operate like you.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Loved it until it stopped connecting to internet

BDPS1700 29/10/2017 by Karkar78 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It worked for 2 months, now it won’t connect to internet. Worthless. Don’t buy this.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

So simple, even adults can use it.

BDP-S1700 29/10/2017 by Mr PEDANTIC (United Kingdom)

Very compact. DVD zone automatically switches. Blu-Ray switching by single button push. Remote control compact & easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

clear and concise

BDP-S1700 28/10/2017 by yramaseret (United Kingdom)

I bought this because I bought a DVD blu ray in error and it was a good reason to update. We love it.

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sad bad advertisement

BDPS1700 20/10/2017 by revericmg1 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this machine 2 days ago for only one thing, on the box, it says stream Amazon Prime, in which it is not included in the app and cannot be downloaded. Maybe Sonny doesn't know that Amazon streaming is available in Canada, especially that I have 3 Roku, any many DVD Players and recorders.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/10/2017

Hi revericmg1,
Our apologies for the inconvenience that this may have caused. This unit has built-in apps such as Netflix, YouTube, Hulu Plus, Pandora, Amazon Instant Video. This player is not capable of downloading the application.
You can enjoy this streaming application by connecting the Blu-ray player to the internet via LAN connection. For more information, kindly check the specification from this link.https://docs.sony.com/release//specs/BDPS1700_mksp.pdf
Regards, -Jay

0

wifi adapter

BDP-S1700 17/10/2017 by lisamariesoho (USA)

the wifi adapter i have forthis to connect to the wifi wont work with the dvd player.... help its for my salon and i cant connect a cord!

0

0

0

great basic blu - ray player

BDPS1700 08/10/2017 by zubes (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this player a mounth a go. It is greatbasic blu - ray player. It has more options then I will use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Universal Remote

BDP-S1700 07/10/2017 by Coli83 (USA)

not a review just a question. someone gave this device to me, but it didn't come with a remote. What universal remote will you all recommend purchasing to pair with this device.

0

0

0

wonder about reliability

BDPS1700 02/10/2017 by guyfffffff (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just bought this and it seems to work fine. All I wanted it for was to play video disks. Sony seemed to be a bit fussy about the location of the plug-in power module because of excessive heat. Also the unit vibrates quite a bit, enough so that it is audible. Don't know if this is normal, time will tell.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

sad

BDPS1700 24/09/2017 by missy123 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

i bought this product on 9/24/17 and am quite disapointed to ind out i couldn't connect it wireless

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1