Skip to Content
111

3.9 based on 111 customer reviews

58
23
7
8
15
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

So simple, even adults can use it.

BDP-S1700 29/10/2017 by Mr PEDANTIC (United Kingdom)

Very compact. DVD zone automatically switches. Blu-Ray switching by single button push. Remote control compact & easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Six days and One movie watched

BDPS1700 04/02/2017 by Phillimonster (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My husband purchased this product only six days ago and managed to watch one movie. After purchasing another 4 brand new movies we find the player has stopped working completely, failing to recognize even the BD we had originally watched. After updating the firmware, pouring through the customer support pages (243 posts) in total, we realize we purchased poor workmanship at best. My suggestion is steer clear of this product.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

4

0

111 Customer Reviews

0

Connection Problems after 1 Year

BDP-S1700 19/11/2017 by KRKR (USA)

We received this as a Christmas present and it worked for almost a year. Recently it has been losing connection to online services. Everyday we have to reconnect to the router (even though it's on a wired connection). Some days we even need to reset the connection when we get home from work as well.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Piece of Garbage

BDPS1700 17/11/2017 by Unhappy501 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought 45 days ago, now it will not turn on, eject disc, lay disc, or anything else. It has a green light on, so it has power, but has become a paper weight. DO NOT BUY!

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

More than I bargained for

BDP-S1700 14/11/2017 by A J C (United Kingdom)

I bought this recently and found there is more to it than I realised a great bargain. Very pleased with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy connectivity

BDPS1700 12/11/2017 by Reece470 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was given this as a Birthday gift, I love the easy of installation and the easy of setting it up on a home network

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Difficulty trying to get movies to appear

BDPS1700 02/11/2017 by Pat the Brat (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

You need more explicit instructions on getting the feature to operate using both remotes : the tv and the blue ray player. Don't forget we all aren't experts on getting this to operate like you.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Loved it until it stopped connecting to internet

BDPS1700 29/10/2017 by Karkar78 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It worked for 2 months, now it won’t connect to internet. Worthless. Don’t buy this.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

So simple, even adults can use it.

BDP-S1700 29/10/2017 by Mr PEDANTIC (United Kingdom)

Very compact. DVD zone automatically switches. Blu-Ray switching by single button push. Remote control compact & easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

clear and concise

BDP-S1700 28/10/2017 by yramaseret (United Kingdom)

I bought this because I bought a DVD blu ray in error and it was a good reason to update. We love it.

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sad bad advertisement

BDPS1700 20/10/2017 by revericmg1 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this machine 2 days ago for only one thing, on the box, it says stream Amazon Prime, in which it is not included in the app and cannot be downloaded. Maybe Sonny doesn't know that Amazon streaming is available in Canada, especially that I have 3 Roku, any many DVD Players and recorders.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/10/2017

Hi revericmg1,
Our apologies for the inconvenience that this may have caused. This unit has built-in apps such as Netflix, YouTube, Hulu Plus, Pandora, Amazon Instant Video. This player is not capable of downloading the application.
You can enjoy this streaming application by connecting the Blu-ray player to the internet via LAN connection. For more information, kindly check the specification from this link.https://docs.sony.com/release//specs/BDPS1700_mksp.pdf
Regards, -Jay

0

wifi adapter

BDP-S1700 17/10/2017 by lisamariesoho (USA)

the wifi adapter i have forthis to connect to the wifi wont work with the dvd player.... help its for my salon and i cant connect a cord!

0

0

0

great basic blu - ray player

BDPS1700 08/10/2017 by zubes (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this player a mounth a go. It is greatbasic blu - ray player. It has more options then I will use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Universal Remote

BDP-S1700 07/10/2017 by Coli83 (USA)

not a review just a question. someone gave this device to me, but it didn't come with a remote. What universal remote will you all recommend purchasing to pair with this device.

0

0

0

wonder about reliability

BDPS1700 02/10/2017 by guyfffffff (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just bought this and it seems to work fine. All I wanted it for was to play video disks. Sony seemed to be a bit fussy about the location of the plug-in power module because of excessive heat. Also the unit vibrates quite a bit, enough so that it is audible. Don't know if this is normal, time will tell.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

sad

BDPS1700 24/09/2017 by missy123 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

i bought this product on 9/24/17 and am quite disapointed to ind out i couldn't connect it wireless

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Shuts off for no reason!

BDP-S1700 28/08/2017 by Coopera17 (USA)

Bought this blu-ray player and it's been glitching and having issues the past couple months. Definitely would not recommend this product to anyone, very frustrating.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

Easy set up and use

BDPS1700 25/08/2017 by Guest2 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm a bit of a technical geek, its setup was simple ,use is simple

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Excellent value

BDPS1700 24/08/2017 by Chef Pizza (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent value for the price . Works great! Only problem is remote is a little small for old eyes.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

perfect for me

BDPS1700 24/08/2017 by gayle27 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this dvd player about a month ago,this sony smart dvd player is the perfect size , small, compact, and plays dvd perfectly,I don't own and blu ray, but the regular dvd's played perfectly!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Died on the shelf.

BDPS1700 24/08/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I liked the player just fine until it died during a thunder storm, in spite of the fact that it was plugged into a surge protector. Player would not power off nor eject the disk tray leaving me with a high tech paper weight and a disk lost in the player. Won't recommend it nor buy another.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

Blu-ray Player

BDPS1700 09/08/2017 by Jenn157 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with the features of this player it is easy to use and easy to connect up to our home system. No problem.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great picture and features

BDP-S1700 09/08/2017 by Joejoegun (USA)

Just purchased this Blue Ray/DVD Player and so far exceptional quality...hope it continues to operate this awesome!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

no more home menu

BDP-S1700 08/08/2017 by JJBel (USA)

no more home menu and not possible to reset the device. Impossible to have any technical information even on the sony website

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Died in a power surge

BDPS1700 01/08/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this less than a month ago and after a power outage the player would neither power off or open the disc tray, thus trapping a blue ray disc inside. The player is basically useless.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great product

BDP-S1700 31/07/2017 by Cloughy 23 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Couldn't live without it now ..easy to set up and use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony - Blu-ray Disc™ Player

BDPS1700 22/07/2017 by Nick1945 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great. Easy as heck to hook-up and play. Just a HDMI to HDMI; that's all there is to it. (-;

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Not sure about this product

BDPS1700 13/07/2017 by Skeptic1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my second unit. I just received it today as a new unit because my first one didn't work right

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

ok

BDPS1700 13/07/2017 by mommom (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Replaced combo VCR/DVD player. Wish it had hdmi cable included.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

I love this product.

BDPS1700 12/07/2017 by Joie (USA)

I love my new blueray player. It got good picture quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great features

BDPS1700 08/07/2017 by law3 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

i dont have to owen a computer to get live internet tv movies music great pitchures/sound/shop.its HDMI/BD LIVE AND Java powered. so i beleave its alive enough for me.thank you sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fool me once, shame on you; fool me twice....

BDP-S1700 06/07/2017 by nelsonts (USA)

Lucky that I bought the protection plan, which I rarely do. After about 2 months it the first one quit working. The power light stays, on but nothing operates and no signal to the TV. The second one lasted two weeks and did the same thing. It does show a Sony Blu-ray screen on the TV, but nothing else works. Not sure if I get another return, or if I even feel like going through the trouble. Never had problems like this with a Sony product. Look good? Just click and you're done. Thanks

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Easy to operate

BDPS1700 05/07/2017 by Rocking Robin (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This blue ray player is easy to operate and hookup to the tv or monitor.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Dissatisfied

BDP-S1700 01/07/2017 by RandyN (USA)

Bought this thinking it was wireless. Packaging label is deceptive. Says things like., Steam, Game Streaming nowhere does it say I need to be wired to my router. Sorry Sony. Taking it back and buying from a different company.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Love it!! Bought another one from Amazon...

BDPS1700 28/06/2017 by wish (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this dvd player because it does it all - Blu-Ray, regular and cd. Love it!!! Bought another one to register right after this one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Horrible

BDP-S1700 25/06/2017 by SoSuperG (USA)

We bought this after Christmas and it stopped working a couple of months later. It turns off randomly, the favorites options disappear and reappear every other time you use it, it refuses to leave the blue ray title screen, and we often have to reset the entire player to do anything. I'm really upset that we wasted money on this.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Set Up Issues

BDPS1700 20/06/2017 by enon (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am unable figure out how to access my Netflix account via this unit. The installation process is complicated and esoteric. I can only give the following ratings because I am frustrated.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Great And Compact.

BDP-S1700 19/06/2017 by jsrfender (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A great little machine that takes up only half the space of my old player.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Disappointed

BDPS1700 14/06/2017 by Larry1941 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this player with the idea that a number of apps and other streaming services would be accessible, however, the instructions for setup indicate that this player is not capable of this.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Compact and quality

BDP-S1700 12/06/2017 by Griggser (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really happy with this player. Nice small size, easy to set up with simple controls

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

excellent

BDP-S1700 02/06/2017 by ruffyin (United Kingdom)

excellent player, simple to set up and operate from TV controller

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice and simple to use

BDPS1700 15/05/2017 by Ricochet (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my first Blue-ray player. It works extremely well as a player. Unfortunately can't use the network features because I don't have a modem. My neighbor lets me use his wireless for access. Otherwise I'm impressed with the small footprint and the quality of the picture and sound.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great review

BDPS1700 11/05/2017 by Terri47 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I received this item almost a month ago for my 10 years anniversary gift for work and I have really enjoy this product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

size to fit

BDPS1700 30/04/2017 by camperrog368 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to fit in my . new camper,2017 Jayco flight, which only came with standard DVD. Most of our DVD's Blue-Ray. It works great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

OK Features

BDPS1700 26/04/2017 by Kay14 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Tried to use the Blu-ray and Disc would not play. Does not work on all Blu-ray discs.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great Features

BDPS1700 22/04/2017 by Tanya50 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love the fact that you can use your flash drive on the player. Everything else is a plus.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0