Skip to Content
122

4.3 based on 122 customer reviews

85
14
9
6
8
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Easily the BEST VALUE player for cost!!

ubpx800-b 13/03/2017 by SteveP421 (USA)

I replaced a Samsung UBD-K8500 with this player and there is no comparison. The build quality of this player is on an entirely different level. This player loads faster and runs MUCH quieter. PQ from this player is better as well as I have noticed more fine detail and highlights on UHD Blu-ray discs I have watched numerous times before on the Samsung but never noticed, the Sony made those differences noticeable immediately. I am not surprised as Sony has always made top notch players. All 4 of my standard Blu-ray players throughout the house are Sony's With some 6-7 years old. All work perfectly and are TANKS. I expect the same reliability from this new UHD player. Great job Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Solid

ubpx800-b 30/03/2017 by BaronMunchausen (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Mine seems a bit wonky, I'm hoping it isn't defective, but something tells me It is. The disc playback is amazing, but my smart features don't work, and sometimes it just poops out on me. When it works, it's phenomenal and certainly is worth the money. It just doesn't always do that.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

5

0

339 Customer Reviews

0

Great features, excellent picture quality

UBP-X800 17/01/2018 by Shane b (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I used to have an Xbox one s that I played my disks on but since purchasing my Sony 4K ultra had blu Ray player my Xbox has been put in the bedroom because the Sony is that good

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Stylish engineering

UBP-X800 17/01/2018 by Miketech (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Incredibly sleek and simple design yet it's weight tells you this is a solid piece of engineering. Once installed it sits there perfectly quiet with only a small green LED to indicate it is ready for action. The front flips down for the insertion of a disc and pops back up again when loaded maintaining the smooth design. So far the only Ultra BluRay I've tried is the copy of Spiderman that came in the box. I don't think this film is a good example of the media but the pictures were sharp and detailed. I will need to watch other Ultra BluRay films in order to fully appreciate it's capabilities. I have watched 4k Netflix programs from the X800 and considered the picture to be even better than when watching 4k Netflix direct from my Sony TV.. "ordinary" non 4k BluRay films are certainly clearer and more detailed in my opinion. A great piece of kit that I would definitely recommend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Blu ray player with lots of features

ubpx800-b 15/01/2018 by AudioGK (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The product came perfectly packaged and neatly secured to prevent transportation issues. Installation and set up was a breeze and I was able to play a blue ray disc within 30 minutes of opening the box. That said, there is no consistent description, logo, etc. about playback features. I bought this player because of its ability to play lossless audio and specially Dolby Atmos. I do not have a 4K TV but the HD TV I connected this device to shows awesome picture quality. It seems that because of not having a 4K, I cannot download Atmos movies, which is a bummer as my AVR can perfectly handle download 4K-Downmix 4K to full HD and send Atmos sound to my speakers. This is something that player already does if I try to play back a 4K movie with Dolby Atmos sound. No LCD display is kind of neat and kind of annoying at the same time I cannot see what's going on in case it freezes. At times, the player freezes when I switch Apps or when I switch from app to playback and vice versa and I have to restart the player. The update should occur in the background without user intervention.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

xcellent performance at a realistic price

UBP-X800 13/01/2018 by Widget22 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The chassis construction of this player is excellent. this gives a stable platform with good isolation, I am a hifi enthusiast and know that all devices need this as this is the foundation to excellent performance. Next the upscalling of DVD is very good and enhaances them greatly. Bluray playback is wonderful with vibrant imaging that pops out of the screen. The sound quality is exceptional. I have not tried a 4K disc yet but I can't waite. I have played the David Gilmore Pompei concert DVD and SACD all I can say is wow. Functionality is sim,ple and clear and all this for a bargin price against it's competitors such as Cambridge Audio and Panasonic machines. Well worth considering if you are in the market for a top notch 4K Bluray player.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

5

0

Very good

UBP-X800 13/01/2018 by Bob 60 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Works well with other Sony items and loads discs up very quick, good range of apps

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

6

0

Did like it but...Freezing issues.

UBP-X800 12/01/2018 by bikergal (USA)

So I bought this player to go along with my new Sony 4K tv. This player keeps freezing on me. In the middle of a movie the screen freezes. None of buttons on remote or player work. Only way to fix issue is to unplug from wall and re-plug back in. Very annoying. Others reviews have stated this same issue. I expect more from Sony. I am returning for an exchange. Hoping the next one works better. When it works has a very nice picture but when it doesn't very frustrating.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

7

0

East set-up

UBPX800/CA 12/01/2018 by AAMR (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

The pictures produced by this unit are amazing. Netflix works great through this unit.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Every thing that i want in a 4K bd player

UBP-X800 12/01/2018 by Catlin (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this about 3weeks ago and the picture is fantastic also it does Dolby atmos that is excellent a it is so quick to load

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

6

0

Great Player

UBPX800 12/01/2018 by Nukwar (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Well built. Solid construction. Not flimsy at all. Loads media(DVD/Blu ray) and online media fast. Picture quality is great. Price point is great. Easy setup. Connects easy through HDMI. Does have a dedicated Audio HDMI, Digital out and LAN terminal.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

6

0

Im super happy with this

ubpx800-b 11/01/2018 by redman051970 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I used to watch my movies on my PS 4 thinking it was good. Then I bought this and goodness the difference is incredible. Not even in the same stratosphere. Now im looking to buy a real high def audio system from Sony and my entertainment system will be complete. Sony Bravia 4k, 4k dvd player, PS 4, and now going for audio at a reasonably price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

10

0

Great... when it works

ubpx800-b 11/01/2018 by jamielc627 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is an awesome blu ray player when it actually decides to work. One week after setting it up, it randomly froze and restarted during playback. We assumed it was the disc and tried another only to have the same issue. Tech support was called, system was reset, and it worked great for a few months. Then the problem happened again. Except this time instead of it powering itself down, the only way to turn it off was to unplug. It has been sent in for warranty replacement and we are awaiting our second unit. I hope we have better luck with this one because its way to expensive of a device to not have full usage of it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

10

0

Great when it works keeps freezing

UBP-X800 11/01/2018 by Drcoho (Canada)

Player frezzes. Power button will not turn off unit. It’s like a frozen pc that needs reboot. No true power button. Power button only puts unit in to stand by so only way to reboot is to unplug power cord from wall. If power cord unplugged from player it wouldn’t be so hard to unplug. It’s in a very extensive home theatre cabinet on shelf and AC power is up in behind multiple other HDMI cables and a theatre pc. Denon has a two stage button stand by and true off. Its a real hassle and if we keep unplugging as usual, with electronics, one day it probably won’t reboot. If it had a two stage power button it would only take 1 second to turn on and off , if it had a removable power cord it would only take 1 minute as it is it takes about 20 min each time. If someone has a solution please help. Update is current as of December 2017. It would be best if it did not freeze

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Top Quality

UBP-X800 09/01/2018 by Tortoiseken (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Quality That’s what you get with this player Picture quality is astonishing sound superb build quality can’t fault it if you’re after 4k hdr player this is the one and the price what can I sat thank you sony

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

10

0

No Home Screen

UBP-X800 08/01/2018 by Jroc (Canada)

I purchased this 2 weeks ago and I have used it twice. The few times I turned it on it would take several minutes for anything to happen but eventually I would get the home screen. Tried it today and nothing, just a black screen. I have unplugged from power for over an hour and tried again but no luck. It will play 4K movie fine but nothing else works.

0

0

0

Great Product

UBP-X800 07/01/2018 by Dean G (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Best Player currently available, in terms of both picture and sound

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

8

0

great features

ubpx800-b 06/01/2018 by no thanks you (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

just got was easy to add to home theater set and Harmony remote

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

7

0

EXCELLENT 4K bluray player

ubpx800-b 06/01/2018 by Gljin40517 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have owned several Sony bluray players over the years,including my first bluray player,a Sony BDP-S300 in 2008,which still works perfectly.However,after upgrading to a 4K television,I wanted a player that could play the new 4k discs..I chose this model,as it has most of the features of the hgher priced X1000 model,sans the front panel display..I am VERY happy with the features of this machine and the sound and picture it produces are nothing short of AMAZING!Excellent build quality as well!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

7

0

Sony rules

ubpx800-b 06/01/2018  (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Was waiting for Sony to release a 4K player with a suite of features, wow what a beauty the UPB-X800. Played everything without any hassle. Watched a movie on a DVD from 10 years ago, upscaling was great. Audio was an excellent experience. Thank you Sony for giving us Quality, as always.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

blue planet 2

UBP-X800 05/01/2018 by geoff67 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

great 4k player no dolby vision sony update please

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

8

0

Wonderful

ubpx800-b 04/01/2018 by Queltic Queen (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This little black box is beyond my wildest dreams! All I wanted was the ability to play my DVD's on my Panasonic flat-screen TV. I plugged in this Ultra-HD Blue-ray DVD player and it asks to find my Wifi. "Sure. Why not?" Then it asks if can "download the software update." Why a DVD player needs an update to its software is beyond me but, "Fine. Go ahead." Well the next thing I know my flat screen is a smart TV with all sorts of streaming apps on it! Woo-hoo! It's Christmas for me!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

9

0

Very Adaptible to various digital formats.

ubpx800-b 30/12/2017 by Mountain Man (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Two weeks of heavy use and all is well. Did experience a problem one of our basic DVD disks as it was hanging up on the track.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

5

0

Amazing

UBP-X800 30/12/2017 by Gwynney (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recently purchased Sony’s 55XE9305 and decided it was only right to hook it up with a decent 4K blu-ray player. After doing a little research I decided on Sony’s UBP-X800, and I have to say I’m not disappointed at all! I have only purchased one 4K movie so far which was Hacksaw Ridge and I couldn’t believe the quality of the picture! Absolutely amazing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

5

0

Great player

UBP-X800 30/12/2017 by jayee (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only had machine for few weeks, but very pleased with picture and sound ; great buidld quality too . :)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

3

0

Lots of features

ubpx800-b 30/12/2017 by Seahawks12 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Blown away by the number of features this machine has for the price. Picture is incredible and easy to use. I only rated 4 stars due to no display on the front of the machine itself. But that is really it. I was going to try the Samsung 9500 but decided this was the machine for me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Great Universal player with one exception

UBP-X800 29/12/2017 by Advanced user (USA)

I am very impressed with the build quality, loading speed, picture quality, and sound quality of the X800. Super nice Universal player that is one of the very few current models on the market that can play SACD and DVD-Audio in addition to BluRay, DVD, and CD. The X800 is quite a bargain since it compares well to the Oppo 203 in many ways for less than half the price. My rating would have been 5 stars except for one very puzzling decision Sony made within the operating system of the X800. I am primarily a 2 channel audiophile but also use my system occasionally to watch movies with my projector. When watching movies, I connect the X800 to my surround processor via HDMI, and sometimes also use the X800's HDMI output to listen to SACDs in their native DSD format through my HT system . But, when listening to music with the X800, I primarily use the X800's S/PDIF (coax) output (i.e. using the X800 as an audio transport) to feed my 2 channel hi-end DAC's S/PDIF input. Herein lies the one major disappointment with the X800: when playing SACDs with the X800 feeding my DAC via the S/PDIF coax output, the X800 requires me to go into the setup menu and change the "Digital Audio Output" setting to PCM in order to get any signal output from the X800's coax output to my DAC. Problem is, this also automatically changes the HDMI output to PCM, so if I then wish to listen to SACDs in their native DSD format through my processor via HDMI, I have to go back into the setup menu and reset the "Digital Audio Output" setting to "Auto". Each time the menu is accessed it requires play be stopped and the disc ejected to access the X800's setup menu. This is a major inconvenience and completely unnecessary!! Sony really needs to release a firmware fix for the X800 ASAP whereby DSD is converted to PCM automatically when fed to the S/PDIF coax output while still allowing the DSD signal to be output via the HDMI output without the need for changing settings in the player's setup menu. Other than that this is a very impressive piece of gear and a huge bargain at its price point. Highly recommended!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

3

5

0

Works well with 4K content

ubpx800-b 29/12/2017 by Bobler (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I really like this DVD player, except it did not have an optical digital out port, just a coax digital out. Rest of my equipment has optical. Have to buy another cable!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

4

0

4K BLU-RAY PLAYER

ubpx800-b 28/12/2017 by MRRICK (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Could not be more pleased with the quality of product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Great value player

UBP-X800 28/12/2017 by Non dom (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy set up and easy to use. Big improvement in the quality of the picture when playing dvd's.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Decent product

ubpx800-b 26/12/2017 by Huckleberry (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just purchased this blu Ray DVD player and using it for first time. Seems a decent product. Software upgrade was bothersome as needed to download unto a USB but other that...seems like a nice product.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

2

0

Excellent Blu ray player

UBP-X800 26/12/2017 by rkunreal93 (USA)

I got this for Christmas one of the if not the best Blu ray players I have ever owed plays every did you can think of video and audio quality is superb. Only downside plug feels a bit cheep for premium product and no Dolby Vision support yet.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Impossible to use

ubpx800-b 26/12/2017 by memosoto (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought a week ago and can not use netflix or any other app, as forum members write all over.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

1

2

0

Great product....has all the right features

ubpx800-b 26/12/2017 by Mikey13 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Ultra HD....4K..plays all the movies...Very high definition

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Xbp-800

ubpx800-b 25/12/2017 by Jeff9821 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got this as a Christmas gift. This unit is heavy very well constructed . All the great features 4k . High resolution audio . Great vault.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Blue-Ray Player

ubpx800-b 25/12/2017 by eckiesz1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this Blue-Ray player with a new Sony TV and absolutely love it. It is very simple to use and the picture and wuality is unbelievable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great machine!

ubpx800-b 23/12/2017 by Happy Camper (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just purchased this and I definitely made the right decision. Easy setup, awesome features, very well pleased!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great 4K player

UBP-X800 22/12/2017 by EcoBoris (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Can't believe how good this player is at this price. Picture is gorgeous & even HD blu rays show a nice upscaled improvement.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

0

Solid Performance - A Winner!

ubpx800-b 21/12/2017 by Bill333 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really happy with the all-around quality of this 4K-BluRay player.......sound and video are top notch. It also upgrades the video quality of Blu-Ray discs and plays all the old DVDs plus any DVD-R discs you may have. The sound quality of music CDs is also phenomenal. Perhaps you really got it to play 4K movies, well, you won't be sorry. Just sit back and enjoy high quality video and audio (provided you have a receiver).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

0

4k Beauty!!!!

ubpx800-b 21/12/2017 by Raydog (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had a xbox one s as my 4k blu ray player and it was great! I got the sony UBPX800 and I couldn't believe how much better the picture was on the sony!! Literally almost night and day!! The colors jump off the screen if you have a HDR tv just amazing!! Also makes your blu ray movies look almost 4k!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Excellent player

ubpx800-b 21/12/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this Sony 4k Ultra HD Blu-ray player and it has an excellent features. Didn't regret on buying this player.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

ultra hd blu-ray player

ubpx800-b 20/12/2017 by Potee (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only 2 weeks old but all options I have used work great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Great picture, horrible reliability

UBP-X800 20/12/2017 by Long time buyer (USA)

This is my second player as the first was returned for the same reason. Blu-ray player randomly freezes during playback. Each disc we play, we pray that it doesn’t freeze. With how big Sony is and the products that they have, it is surprising that the technology or software on a player like this is so poor. I have to unplug the power each time as the player stops responding. Definitely need a firmware update to fix this.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

3

0

WOW!!

UBP-X800 19/12/2017 by Phipsy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Unbelievable picture and sound. good with Bluray as well

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Solid Player

ubpx800-b 18/12/2017 by Alpino (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent image and sound. if people says something about image or sound issues is just plain bad configuration. Loved, it weights a ton does not feel cheap at all. Which apps could be easier to manager or more options to download (always Netflix ready but there are other streamers out there)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Extremely difficult to set up

ubpx800-b 17/12/2017 by X128 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The image is good and internet connectivity works. Setting up the unit to communicate over the HDMI interface to the TV was extremely difficult and time consuming. When finally done, it works fine.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

1

5

0

Excellent UHD player at great value

ubpx800-b 17/12/2017 by Svin (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent product from Sony. Picture quality easily equals much more expensive players and audio is a great plus. Really nice sound.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great picture quality and sound

ubpx800-b 16/12/2017 by Tyerick2424 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just got a chance to hook it up to our new Sony 4K UHD TV great quality picture and sound

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Plug and Play

ubpx800-b 16/12/2017 by Odiejuan (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Works flawlessly, but I wish it supported Dolby Vision too along with the supported Dolby Atmos. Otherwise its a great product

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Excellent all round player

UBP-X800 12/12/2017 by Deanoscooterboy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fantastic picture and sound quality. Excellent CD player. Bit of a puzzle sorting it out to playback Blu ray Audio and DVD audio discs with DTS surround when connected up with a digital coax but got there in the end. Would have preferred a display on the front.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great Player that is missing Dolby Vision

UBP-X800 11/12/2017 by EarlyAdopter17 (USA)

I bought this unit assuming that firmware updates would bring Dolby Vision. It is now December 2017 and no update.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Absolutely amazing picure & sound

UBPX800/CA 11/12/2017 by SonyGuy46 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Absolutely amazing picure & sound quality. The best match for any Sony 4K TV.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

sony x800 uhd player

UBP-X800 11/12/2017 by johnx1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

product only worked for around 30 minutes, picture kept going blank on my 4k tv, so sent product back for a refund

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

1

7

0

good features

ubpx800-b 10/12/2017 by Short Rod (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

my neighbor have a machine just like it, when I saw his I really like the way it preformed, so I bought one

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

0

Quality of the player

ubpx800-b 10/12/2017 by PNguyen (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this one in 9/24/2017, design is good , the picture quality is not really good even playing with a 4K blu-ray disc.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Great dvd player with great features.

ubpx800-b 09/12/2017 by Don K (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This dvd player gives an excellent quality picture with some really nice features. Glad I made this purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

sony 4k hd blu-ray player

ubpx800-b 08/12/2017 by bochan (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

i'm glad i bought sony instead of samsung player play all type of dvd disk

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

0

Great performance

ubpx800-b 08/12/2017 by Rob 314 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought 2 days ago and I am very satisfied .This product is wonderful

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Excellent product that I got at a great price

UBPX800/CA 06/12/2017 by Corvid (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

The X800 is highly recommended by a number of review sites (as of Nov 2017, when I purchased it). I've used it for a month and am very pleased with its performance and design.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great quality sound and picture

UBP-X800 05/12/2017 by Vet60 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Needed an HDR, Dolby Atmos player to replace my previous 4k player. Easy to set up and use. Great sound and picture for the money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

5

0

Great UHD player Problematic apps

UBP-X800 05/12/2017 by Chipahoy (USA)

Bought player almost a year ago, plays great, other than very slow start up and stupid requirement that you have to select player on app menu to open? Now I'm having a bigger problem of player freezing up when viewing apps, necessitating unplugging unit, reconnecting to power to unfreeze screen. Very aggravating...

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

4

0

Sony UBP X800

ubpx800-b 03/12/2017 by eNJFL82 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to install, works great, Sony never fails in their engineering of products - great job and customer focus.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

4

0

Quality and performance

UBP-X800 03/12/2017 by Blu6 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having read a lot if great reviews about this player I finally bought it to play 4K on my OLED tv. It met all expectations, including the ability to listen to the audio output through Bluetooth headphones. Picture and sound quality is superb.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

4

0

Great UHD 4K Blu-ray Player

UBP-X800 03/12/2017 by PIPlan51 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to set up and use. All forms of input catered for with great picture and sound.The 4K picture is top of the range with great upscaling on blu-ray discs. Quiet working and quick response times when loading.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

4

0

Great Unit! Excellent Picture

ubpx800-b 03/12/2017 by ArmandoS1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Definitely enjoying the experience with the 4K upscaling. Everything looks like a movie even with an old tv model that I have it set up with. The colors are definitely more vivid. The only draw back from making this a perfect unit would be if the there was a key pad on the remote to type a lot faster other then that it’s a great unit.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

4

0

Great picture and sound.

ubpx800-b 03/12/2017 by Barbershop (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this a month ago . And I'm very pleased. Will recommend Sony too all my friends and family.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Great 4K Blu-Ray Player

ubpx800-b 03/12/2017 by Jim247 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Enjoyed the HDR on several titles. Found up-scaling not advisable when playing DVDs. I am using this with an AVR and Sony XBR850D 4K television. Excellent picture quality and stability. Just holding the unit and noticing the weight tells me this device has a rigid build.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Nice player great features

UBPX800 02/12/2017 by amays63 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this player for about 3 weeks and I am happy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Great Unit

UBPX800 02/12/2017 by dreneau1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this unit about a month ago and I am very pleased with it. I just wish it would play .APE files like the manual says it would.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Love the easy set up menu

ubpx800-b 01/12/2017 by Ricky63 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just got it and got it set up and, Wow beautiful 4k Picture and Theater Sound! I Love it and for the price you can't beat it. LG has nothing on this one, It even looks beautiful in my entertainment center. Thank You Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Worth waiting for!

UBP-X800 30/11/2017 by bill57tuxedo (USA)

I bought my UX-800 two days ago and I will admit it was worth waiting the four months I'd been wanting it. It is a replacement for the lightweight Blu-ray Streaming player that you also have in the line. Mine was acting extremely goofy to the point I almost threw it against the wall. (It is that light!) So I started figuring out how I was going to be able to swing a new Blu-ray in just 18 months! When you introduced the ES model (very heavy) that was the inspiration I needed. Then I got a break Thanksgiving weekend and bought mine for a very reasonable amount. I got it home and the first thing I did was (wait for it) crack the manual to read it thoroughly! Once I did that, I cleared space under the Bravia (nine years and still going strong) and unplugged the cracker box Blu-ray! I then plugged everything in and I am surprised it is an actual cord and NOT a wall wart! I ran set up on it and was running in roughly four minutes. The first thing I hit it with was the Flinstones episode from Season Three called "The Twitch." The animation looked absolutely smashing. Full o life and really good color. After dinner I loaded up my copy of This Is Cinema from Flicker Alley. I have to admit I have never seen this look as spectacular as it did in its first run in this player. Even my 8 year old (first generation) deck that crapped out in 2015 made it look somewhat grainy. But no, this deck made this film look breathtaking (almost as good as the old three-panel projection itself)! The roller coaster scene made me jump a foot (and it's supposed to!) So I once again have a really great Blu-Ray deck that will serve for years and make my film library look spectacular. Not even VHS could do that! Thanks for restoring my faith in SONY equipment!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

0

Great picture and awesome sound quality!

ubpx800-b 29/11/2017 by Pitbullpdub (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this last week to replace an older unit, and am blown away! The picture in 4K is astonishing! The sound quality is beyond awesome! The overall experience of getting drawn into the film being watched is as if you are experiencing it in real life. This is the best unit available at all costs. I highly recommend the UBP800!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3