Skip to Content
50

4.5 based on 50 customer reviews

36
9
1
0
4
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Big Sound from a Compact Box

CFDS70BLK 22/06/2017 by Android512 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We received this Boombox yesterday and I immediately had to check it out. The sound quality is incredible for such a compact design. We currently have a Sony ZS-H10CP, which delivers awesome sound quality but is bulky and at 20" wide and over 7 pounds, is heavy for my wife to carry (she is 5'0" and 100 lbs.) to the outdoor pool exercise classes she teaches (I have attached a picture). This new model is absolutely PERFECT for her. I was amazed at the quality of the highs and the fullness of the lows when the Mega Bass feature is on. Great Job Sony!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

High Pitched Mechanical Hum - CD Player

CFDS70BLK 25/09/2017 by MsM2 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was looking for a mid-range, priced Boombox to play Books on CD and cassette tape as well (haven't tried to cassette yet). I wasn't expecting a symphony hall experience, but also didn't expect to hear a persistent, high pitched, mechanical whirring sound while the CD was in motion. This sound can be heard utilizing the CD player with the volume all the way down as well, and as such, with the volume up, distracts and impedes the listening experience. Contacted customer service and was advised it needs to be sent back for repair. I've only used the radio and CD portion of the unit for three days. Not sure if I want to go through the hassle of returning a brand new unit for receipt of a re-conditioned unit (per warranty) perhaps to experience the same results. I like the small, portability so I can move the unit from office to kitchen easily, like the sleep mode too! Just can't stand the high pitched mechanical whirring noise as the CD rotates, thus the reason for low rating. Disappointed to say the least.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

50 Customer Reviews

0

Nice little unit!

CFDS70BLK 20/11/2017 by 2nahead (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Compact, good features (including cassettes for dinosaurs like me,) as well as CD's. Great sound for a small price!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

CFD-S70

CFDS70BLK 12/11/2017 by Chowlee (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm very satisfied with the product and it is very reliable.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

At last a simple player for all my needs.

CFD-S70 24/10/2017 by Cecilia49 (United Kingdom)

I bought this boombox 2 weeks ago and am delighted that I do not have to wrestle with overcomplicated instructions. Thoroughly enjoying being able to listen to my old cassettes again. Well done Sony.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Good sound

CFD-S70 28/09/2017 by Emo frank (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only criticism is that the rewind button and play buttons are confusing.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

High Pitched Mechanical Hum - CD Player

CFDS70BLK 25/09/2017 by MsM2 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was looking for a mid-range, priced Boombox to play Books on CD and cassette tape as well (haven't tried to cassette yet). I wasn't expecting a symphony hall experience, but also didn't expect to hear a persistent, high pitched, mechanical whirring sound while the CD was in motion. This sound can be heard utilizing the CD player with the volume all the way down as well, and as such, with the volume up, distracts and impedes the listening experience. Contacted customer service and was advised it needs to be sent back for repair. I've only used the radio and CD portion of the unit for three days. Not sure if I want to go through the hassle of returning a brand new unit for receipt of a re-conditioned unit (per warranty) perhaps to experience the same results. I like the small, portability so I can move the unit from office to kitchen easily, like the sleep mode too! Just can't stand the high pitched mechanical whirring noise as the CD rotates, thus the reason for low rating. Disappointed to say the least.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Convenient size

CFDS70BLK 24/09/2017 by Junkbox (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am happy with the product. The sound quallity is good.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony CFD-S70

CFD-S70 21/09/2017 by don3 (USA)

CD player doesn't work. Says - no CD. Tried recommended fixes. Otherwise, radio, cassette and sound is good.

0

0

0

Product failed on September 15th, 2017

CFDS70BLK 20/09/2017 by babrammer (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am disappointed in the product that it stopped taking the CD.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

SOUND

CFDS70BLK 17/09/2017 by FERKOND16 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

GREAT RADIO FOR PRICE. SOUND QUALITY. EXECCELANT MEGA SPEAKERS.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great product

CFDS70BLK 08/09/2017 by babydoll44 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

very happy with my purchase alt hough to record i still need another product to record from the air that doesnt make me happy but the radio works in my trailer i am happy with that.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

boombox

CFDS70BLK 07/09/2017 by Ikwaverly (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It has all the features that I wanted. Nice sound quality for this small unit!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

CD Player stopped working

CFD-S70 06/09/2017 by lindsay20128 (USA)

Purchased the boombox on July 16 and the radio, cassette and cd all worked very well until today (7 weeks after purchase). The cd player died after one song and now gives an error message of "no cd".

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

EXCELLENT FEATURES

CFDS70BLK 31/08/2017 by ZORNI (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very pleased with this BOOM BOX. THE SOUND IS BEAUTIFULL.IT IS EASY TO OPERATE,VERY LIGHTWEIGHT AND EASY TO CARRY.DURING POWER OUTIGES BATTERIES HELP TO OPERATE THE RADIO WEATHER CHANNEL AND NEWS.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

CD Player doesn't work within 2 months

CFDS70BLK 29/08/2017 by Meriadoc (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased early July this year, and now, in the end of August, the CD player portion of the player does not work anymore. Every CD returns a No CD error message. Hopefully other people have better quality boomboxes.

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Big product in a little package

CFDS70BLK 29/08/2017 by PrairieChick (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've only had this a week so my review may not be as thorough if it was six months down the road, but I purchased this in order to replace my old large boombox that was 16 years old. Plus I wanted to purchase an mp3 player that I could plug into it. It's so small I find I have a lot more room on the shelf than I did before. There are so many features to play different kinds of media. The only thing I would like to have seen is the buttons to be more easily readable. However, once you know what button is attached to what function you have it made.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

easy to use

CFDS70BLK 25/08/2017 by pabatcascades (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm 62 yrs old and wi-fi is new to me to use but the directions with this are simple and easy for me to comprehend, Good price also, great to take fishing or just hanging out.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent replacement

CFD-S70 25/08/2017 by Rosie39 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have recently bought this Sony product as a replacement for a radio/CD/Cassette player I had for years. At this moment I am pleased with the product. Sound is good and it is relative easy to use. I have not quite mastered the radio system for storing channels but I put that down to age not the product. Comes with a How to Use book.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Know it will be very good!

CFDS70BLK 08/08/2017 by Bill44 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this product today and bought it even though it was higher priced than others but know the company name and am sure it will be exactly what I want!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

CD/Cassette Boom Box with Radio

CFDS70BLK 26/07/2017 by Marie197 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very pleased with this product. The sound is very good. It is easy to operate the different functions.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/07/2017

Hi Marie197, we are glad to hear that the unit meet your expectation. We highly appreciate you taking your time to share your feedback with us and thank you for choosing SONY! Best regards, -Erin

0

An excellent compact design

CFD-S70 25/07/2017 by Malcolm S (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this primarily as a radio to replace my previous ageing Sony 'Boombox' ( I did not know that it was called a 'Boombox'!) The radio is a lot smaller than my previous radio which surprised me. My only complaint so far is that with the controls and the body of the radio all being in black, it is sometimes difficult to see which button I am pressing. I presume that with use I will get used to their position.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Great value and easy to use

CFD-S70 18/07/2017 by Slhanham (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a great little sound system for the price. Bought it for mum who uses it cordless from room to room and in the garden to play her cds and she loves it. The bass boost works wonders on the sound, so it's not so tinny as its competitors.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Big Sound from a Compact Box

CFDS70BLK 22/06/2017 by Android512 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We received this Boombox yesterday and I immediately had to check it out. The sound quality is incredible for such a compact design. We currently have a Sony ZS-H10CP, which delivers awesome sound quality but is bulky and at 20" wide and over 7 pounds, is heavy for my wife to carry (she is 5'0" and 100 lbs.) to the outdoor pool exercise classes she teaches (I have attached a picture). This new model is absolutely PERFECT for her. I was amazed at the quality of the highs and the fullness of the lows when the Mega Bass feature is on. Great Job Sony!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

sony boombox

CFDS70BLK 16/06/2017 by groove (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

i just got this and am very happy so far, happy to listen to old cassette tapes from years ago I am very unhappy with your review procedures. I don't have a nickname and when I type in Jen, first of all you tell me it is too short, then I add an n and you tell me that it is already in use. I don't know why a nickname is important.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

4

0

Compact and useful multitasker

CFD-S70 06/06/2017 by Grand Ted (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Nice piece of kit, compact size , easy to use, great sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0