65

4.4 based on 65 customer reviews

43
14
3
1
4
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

An excellent compact design

CFD-S70 25/07/2017 by Malcolm S (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this primarily as a radio to replace my previous ageing Sony 'Boombox' ( I did not know that it was called a 'Boombox'!) The radio is a lot smaller than my previous radio which surprised me. My only complaint so far is that with the controls and the body of the radio all being in black, it is sometimes difficult to see which button I am pressing. I presume that with use I will get used to their position.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

High Pitched Mechanical Hum - CD Player

CFDS70BLK 25/09/2017 by MsM2 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was looking for a mid-range, priced Boombox to play Books on CD and cassette tape as well (haven't tried to cassette yet). I wasn't expecting a symphony hall experience, but also didn't expect to hear a persistent, high pitched, mechanical whirring sound while the CD was in motion. This sound can be heard utilizing the CD player with the volume all the way down as well, and as such, with the volume up, distracts and impedes the listening experience. Contacted customer service and was advised it needs to be sent back for repair. I've only used the radio and CD portion of the unit for three days. Not sure if I want to go through the hassle of returning a brand new unit for receipt of a re-conditioned unit (per warranty) perhaps to experience the same results. I like the small, portability so I can move the unit from office to kitchen easily, like the sleep mode too! Just can't stand the high pitched mechanical whirring noise as the CD rotates, thus the reason for low rating. Disappointed to say the least.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

65 Customer Reviews

0

Operations of this product

CFDS70BLK 15/02/2018 by Docgord (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

very poor sound quality considering it's a Sony as compared to other products of similar size

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
16/02/2018

Hi Docgord,

We regret to hear that this boombox failed to meet your expectations. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback.

Regards,
Zac

0

Very Satisfied

CFD-S70 09/02/2018 by frankbbb (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I surveyed the market and found this model which meets all my needs. I'm glad I did as it is neat and smart with good performance and is easy to use at a reasonable price.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good quality for the money

CFDS70BLK 01/02/2018 by Mateos (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the 3rd unit of this model I have bought--one for my Mom, one for school (I'm an educator) & one for home. There aren't a lot of models of this type of portable stereo anymore, but this is the best of the bunch at a very competitive cost. It's all digital, which is great for listening to radio & my wife likes that you can program up to 9 preset channels, so you don't have to toggle up & down to stations all the time. The CD & cassette work well (I'm still old school) & it has a good bottom end. The only thing I don't like about the sound is it's a little "boxey", not as clear as other brands & a bit muddy in the mid range. I wish I could control the EQ a little bit, other than to turn the Mega Bass on & off (I prefer it on for more bass). My wife also likes that it's compact & doesn't take much space on the kitchen table.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy to use

CFD-S70 31/01/2018 by revchris (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am really pleased with this. For the money it is amzing. Also very light to carry around

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good features

CFD-S70 23/01/2018 by Jimi73 (USA)

The only gripe I have with this unit is that the laser eye quit working after only 2 years of normal everyday use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

It took alot of finding the MP3 player

CFD-S70 21/01/2018 by Marty A (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent sound the cds play very well lt was reasonably priced

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent machine

CFD-S70 14/01/2018 by Pip1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was given this as my Xmas present and I'm really pleased with it as it does everything I require - old enough to still have cassette tapes!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Boombox

CFDS70BLK 12/01/2018 by Bluejay1 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I looked at reviews, after seeing this item. It is a great size to have, nice button layout, and beautiful sound. Also use CD's and Cassettes a lot. We have many of them. Very well made product. We are very happy with it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Generally good performer

CFD-S70 21/12/2017 by Sony Jim (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Requested by my mother to replace an earlier Sony model after many years of service, this is her third model and the first with which she has found some minor, but annoying niggles. CD and Cassette player function well, although the radio sound quality is not as good as on her previous models. The main issue is the poor control buttons, as in black on black with no thoughtful relief by use of white or colour highlights. Generally a good performer, but room for future improvement.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Sony CFD-S70 CD/Cassette Boombox with Radio

CFDS70BLK 19/12/2017  (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

great boombox, i can play CDs, record and play my mixtapes

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A good cheap and simple CD/Cassette/Radio

CFD-S70 12/12/2017 by als2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for my Mother, as it has simple functionality and can be moved from room to room easily.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0