Skip to Content
9

4.1 based on 9 customer reviews

4
3
1
1
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great lens

SAL18552 15/06/2013 by Rnorton (USA)

Very well made lens for the money. Works very well and the images are crisp and clear. I am very happy with this lens in its over all use.

7

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

18-55 You get what you pay for.

SAL18552 26/04/2013 by jnull91 (USA)

I have to finish testing. There MUST be a sweet spot or two on this lens! Overall, it is soft. My Sony prime lenses 35, 50 , 85 are wonderful and were a great price. The 70-300 G is wonderful, but for a thousand, it should be. (It was a gift; can't spend that kind of money.) If I could afford Zeiss, I would buy that, but I can't. Love my Alpha a77 camera!

7

0

8 Customer Reviews

0

Perfect Camera for Starters or even professionals

SAL18552 11/01/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera two years ago, and I am loving it!. I am a full-time photographer and vlogger so I use this camera a lot and I never let me down, just this year I started thinking about buying different lenses, but untill now I've been using the standard lens and I love the quality of it. I defenitely recommend this product. I've added some pictures I made with this camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens let down by rubbish lens hood options

SAL18552 06/06/2016 by Philip65 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased a brand new Sony SLT A58 complete with this lens. After realising that the other lenses offered by sony as kit sets included a lens hood as standard I found that the lens itself is fine but to my dismay a decent ("flower" or shaped) reversible lens hood which fastens to the bayonet fitting provided on the lens is not available - even from Sony. Any proprietary shaped lens hoods screw onto the filter ring and hence rotate with the focusing ring - which is hopeless. My previous much cheaper (Fuji) Bridge camera had this as standard and was found to be very convenient in use ( per the photos below). In this respect only I expected better from Sony who as a manufacturer I have always respected

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A great quality kit lens doing a good job at tasks

SAL18552 28/03/2016 by Ash C (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This came with my A58 three lens pack, it is quick to focus and superior to the DT 18-70, and the DT 18-55 SAM I. The results are great with no noticeable low points. In times of low light it is inferior to my DT 50 prime lens but that is tone expected!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Much better than the mark 1

SAL18552 22/10/2014 by Nickname12 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this to replace an earlier version of the same lens (SAM 18-55) because the zoom used to stick and it could not be used for video. A basic design fault that was well known!! This one was soft due to condensation build up. After a couple of days it cleared and is now OK. It was supplied by Sony UK as a split from combined lens camera combo and mailed without any packaging, just a bit of bubble wrap. You need to do something about this. Good value for money though.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Nice lens but returned it

SAL18552 09/08/2014 by Fred_B (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it along with an A58 to use on my A55 (and was going to keep a long zoom on the A58 body), unfortunately my A55 suddenly stopped working, will not take photos although very occasionally it comes to life and shows the parameters display, shows focus points, but no shutter release and no view (just blank) through the evf/lcd. Sent the A58 and lenses back, if the A55 is an example of Sony quality I will stick with my Panasonic FZ200. From the one use I had of the SAM II lens it seemed a big improvement on the original 18-55 on my A55. I recently took early ill health retirement and the A58/A55 set up with the 18-55mm SAM II and a long zoom was going to be my long term kit because of limited finances, it has left me very dissapointed.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Quality Control Slipped On This One

SAL18552 09/07/2013 by trentw1966 (USA)

This lens produces outstanding images with my A55 camera. However, zooming in and out is not smooth at all. Matter of fact, it is choppy at best. This should not be in a lens of otherwise high quality. Quality control slipped on this one.

6

0

0

Great lens

SAL18552 15/06/2013 by Rnorton (USA)

Very well made lens for the money. Works very well and the images are crisp and clear. I am very happy with this lens in its over all use.

7

0

0

18-55 You get what you pay for.

SAL18552 26/04/2013 by jnull91 (USA)

I have to finish testing. There MUST be a sweet spot or two on this lens! Overall, it is soft. My Sony prime lenses 35, 50 , 85 are wonderful and were a great price. The 70-300 G is wonderful, but for a thousand, it should be. (It was a gift; can't spend that kind of money.) If I could afford Zeiss, I would buy that, but I can't. Love my Alpha a77 camera!

7

0