Skip to Content
28–75MM F2.8 SAM

Product Reviews

$1,049.99

11

4.4 based on 11 customer reviews

6
4
0
1
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

11 Customer Reviews

0

Best ever on top of market...

SAL2875 15/10/2015 by Mo T (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Happy to got it, 4 everyday shuts. simple lens with full features and frame.. easy to Cary.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

sonu 28-75 lens

SAL2875 27/09/2014 by leslie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

had it about a week good lens would recommend to buy

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

A Good Product

SAL2875 30/01/2014  (USA)

I got this lens as a promotion for the purchase of a Sony A99. I am new to FF photography and didn't know what I was really getting, although for the price it should be a decent lens. Well as it turns out it is a very decent lens. According to all the lens reviews it doesn't get a very high grade, but they are wrong. Listening to the experts, I decided to upgrade to a Zeiss 24-70mm lens, which gets substantially better reviews. I have extensively tested the real world image quality between these lenses. The Zeiss does have better contrast images but the difference in image quality is so close as to be almost be non-existent. At 28mm this lens is quite often sharper than the Zeiss at 24mm. A mid and high focal lengths the Zeiss is generally but not always slightly, slightly better. The Zeiss is a tank compared this lens. It feels like I have a cinder block around my neck. I sent the Zeiss back and now only use this lens. The more I use this lens the better I like it. If you buy the Zeiss 24-70mm you'll sometimes get slightly better image quality and sometimes you will get poorer image quality, if you blow them up and view side by side. If you like having a tank around your neck and have lots of money buy the Zeiss otherwise this lens is twice the bargain. A side note: my 20 year old $85 Minolta 50mm f/1/7, quite often get better pictures than either lens at 50mm, go figure.

17

1

0

Lens Review

SAL2875 11/09/2013 by StoryTeller911 (USA)

I got this lens with my new Sony NEX VG 900 it was way over priced and the quality of this lens is not very good. I would have rather got a different lens with my camera.

4

22

0

Best lens for the price!!!

SAL2875 27/02/2013 by dolbhy1 (USA)

I bought a99 and this lens back in December and got the camera in 2 days. According to the shipping date i was suppose to get the lens on Dec 18, then it changed to Dec 28th. Finally i got my lens Feb 23rd, yes talk about luck.....I am an amateur and this is my first ever camera and lens combination. So far i am impressed with the picture quality. The built quality is average, has the old SAM focusing motor, but i don't mind it because for the price i paid, this lens is amazing. Plus Sony took off $200 from the bill for the long delay.

3

11

0

Outstanding

SAL2875 07/07/2012 by VBBob (USA)

I've used this since 2010 with my alpha 850 and they are a fantastic match. I don't need another lens for most shooting. Match this with a longer reach telephoto zoom and you've got all the lenses you need. Great with close-up work and it is so fast (coupled with the camera) that I seldom need to pull out a flash. Highly recommended.

18

0

0

Great APSC walk around lense for the price

SAL2875 08/01/2012 by Willypat (USA)

I am using the sony a55 for taking photos and for video. This lense has great build quality, rugged, takes great photos with clean clarity and contrast and for video i have used this one predominately for a documentary and with the sony a55 it works nice. The only real issue is that if there is fading light and in some night time shots and video, the lense will absolutely hunt in and out of frame, have tons of noise, and drain your battery pretty quick from the hunting. I do portrait, landscape, and artistic shots, but i do know its limits. This lense will also definately make you abetter photographer since you will have to pay attention in getting to know the setting for certain shots and when it works best. FOr instance, if I am doing a portrait shot then switch to a prime or macro, but if you want a lense that you can use for walking around inside and out with more than minimal light, this lense rocks and makes things much easier than all the switching around of lenses and at a price that is affordable. So if you are not a pro and are watching your coin, go ahead and dream of the zeiss 24 to 70 but save the money and use this one and I promise you willbe more than happy.

19

3

0

Excellent for full frame

SAL2875 22/11/2011 by bbecker010 (USA)

I've bought this lens together with the A850 since I didn't have a zoom in this range for full frame and the CZ24-70 was out of my budget. The lens performs great in a variety of situations. Due to it's f2.8, it can be used even in low light situations. I use mine mostly for landscape photos with great sharpness and general image quality. Can only recommend.

18

0

0

Good walk around lens for A900

SAL2875 05/05/2011 by Prad (USA)

This is a good walk around lens for A900. I was debating between CZ 24 70, this lens and Tam 28 75. Finally settled on this one because: 1. Zeiss is only marginally better than this one and I thought the cost difference does not justify it. 2. Tamron version of this lens does not have SAM motor. Although SAM is inferior to SSM and some say that SAM is not better than screw driven AF, I went with this lens because it will AF with any E mount camcorder or camera coupled with appropriate adapter. Overall, image quality from this lens is very good and constant aperture makes it more versatile. Con: Wish it is less pricey.

29

0

0

comfortable to deal with Sony

SAL2875 28/06/2010 by Rabaan (USA)

It is my first time to deal Sony online .. but I always deal with their stores around the world .. this product is great and the price was good .. I will be a regular customer with Sony for ever

12

23

0

A very awesome lens!

SAL2875 15/03/2010 by Archman (USA)

Having owned my a350 for a couple of years, it was time for me to move up to killer glass. After owning the SAL70200G for one month, I realized I needed a comparable shorter zoom so bought the SAL2875. I've only had this SAL2875 for two months but have taken 500-600 shots with it and it hasn't let me down yet. It focuses incredibly fast and is sharp from f32 to f2.8 even in low light situations. The Minolta color and bokeh are beautiful. This is now my main lens. I don't even think about the cost of the lens, it's worth every penny for a great lens I'll have for the rest of my life. Being on SocialSecurity, my cost issue is that I now have to save up for an extra camera body, verticle grip, and batteries so I can keep both lenses mounted at all times.

78

5