Skip to Content
15

4.3 based on 15 customer reviews

8
5
1
1
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Good Macro Lens For The Price

SAL30M28 28/01/2011 by jadgl968 (USA)

This is a very good little lens! The Images come out sharp and you don't really need a tripod for every macro shot that you take. The build quality is on the low side, as it does feel a bit plasticy and cheap, but I don't have any fears of breaking it. Plus it's practically a steal when you look at the price.

21

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

High quality with some reservations

SAL30M28 17/06/2010 by pulseHEAD (USA)

For macros, this lens provides great image quality. You do a lot of shots handheld, due to the very short 30mm length. However, this lens will mostly need to be used for stationary object macro shots, as the close distance will scare almost any living thing away. The SAM seems to work OK, but does not seem to be much faster than the original screw drive mechanism. Surely it will provide advantages with the new NEX line of cameras. The build quality is not as great as some of the other lenses in the lineup, but it is only $200 - which makes it a great deal for the money, but *ONLY* if you are using it for macro shots and photos at close distances. Autofocus becomes very (and consistently) inaccurate beyond 6 feet, which is the major (perhaps only) reason that I would not recommend this lens.

31

3

15 Customer Reviews

0

Sony F2 28mm macro lens

SAL30M28 14/07/2017 by ArthurIOW (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fairly light easy to use great Sony quality slight edge distortion but colour transmition fab

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A wonderful lens.

SAL30M28 24/06/2015 by Geoffs (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The lens has fully met my expectations and I am very pleased that I purchased it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Deeply disappointing.

SAL30M28 03/06/2014 by RupertR (United Kingdom)

Only been on my A77 about four times and the focussing mechanism failed to work. so at the moment it ia a paperweight at best. Just have to find time to send it to be repaired as I believe it is out of warranty.

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

18

0

Great all-around lens!

SAL30M28 05/05/2013 by Tokokono (USA)

I had been in the market for a macro lens when I found this little beauty. For such a low price, I was blown away by the quality of the images it was giving me. I've used it for everything from portraits to landscapes to macro. It's rarely been taken off my camera since I've gotten it! If you're looking for a flexible lens but don't have the money to spend on one, this is your best choice... if you can stand a noisy AF.

14

0

0

In the market for a good macro lense

SAL30M28 01/03/2013 by Lynndi227 (USA)

I am looking for a good macro lens that I can also use as a prime lens. I read a lot of reviews on this particular lens, and they're mostly all great reviews. I know that with this lens you can get as close as about 4 inches to your subject, but what is the maximum focal length? How far away can I get from my subject and still get a crisp, clear photo? Thanks.

2

19

0

pretty good

SAL30M28 07/07/2012 by qwert123 (USA)

I am a beginner in macro photography so dont know a lot, but i think this lens is very good to learn more about macro. i took some photos with it, they came out pretty cool.

20

1

0

Great buy

SAL30M28 18/05/2012 by gnica87 (USA)

I bought this yesterday, I simply love it. Using it, attached with the LA-EA1 adapter and NEX-7. Love love love it.

9

3

0

Great starter macro lens

SAL30M28 26/02/2012  (USA)

Replaced a stolen lens with the same, great value, super photos

19

1

0

Great Little Lens

SAL30M28 16/06/2011 by HobbyPhotog (USA)

I have had the lens for almost a month. It is a great lens for the price. I would spend $100-$200 more for this lens. I would highly recommend this lens for all levels of photographers. I use it on my SLT A55 camera. I bought this so that I could have a lens that would get me as close to a 50MM lens on a full frame camera. It gets the job done and does it very well.

25

2

0

30mm f/2.8 Macro Lens

SAL30M28 04/02/2011 by longterm (USA)

Very good addition to the DSLRA330L. Just about the right weight to make it easy to use.

4

5

0

Good Macro Lens For The Price

SAL30M28 28/01/2011 by jadgl968 (USA)

This is a very good little lens! The Images come out sharp and you don't really need a tripod for every macro shot that you take. The build quality is on the low side, as it does feel a bit plasticy and cheap, but I don't have any fears of breaking it. Plus it's practically a steal when you look at the price.

21

0

0

Great Lens for the Price

SAL30M28 12/10/2010 by tswells817 (USA)

I've had this lens for almost a year and I love it. It takes very good photos for the price and is surprisingly durable. It has been wet and been exposed to sand and has not been affected. My favorite thing to shoot with macro lenses are flowers and this lens has not failed me. This lens is a great starter Macro lens and is good to learn Macro photography on. However, the focusing beyond 6' is a little sketchy and the SAM seems to be a little slower than I'd like. The durability of this lens is great given it's made of plastic. All in all I would definitely recommend this lens to someone who's new to DSLR photography or someone who isn't ready to buy a higher-priced Macro lens.

26

2

0

SAL30M28 15/09/2010 by harry2cold (USA)

I think this lens is great! It's a perfect companion to my 18-55 and 75-300 lenses, especially when you want to get in EXTREMELY close to the subject. I could focus on something closer than I thought I could with this lens. It has a great bokeh effect as well. I have no complaints at all about this product, however, it is plastic, but I'm sure it's very durable. Metal or plastic, I'd still take care of my accessories and lenses well. I'd recommend this lens to ANYONE who is starting out doing macro photography, or even portraits, and it's great for the price!

24

3

0

High quality with some reservations

SAL30M28 17/06/2010 by pulseHEAD (USA)

For macros, this lens provides great image quality. You do a lot of shots handheld, due to the very short 30mm length. However, this lens will mostly need to be used for stationary object macro shots, as the close distance will scare almost any living thing away. The SAM seems to work OK, but does not seem to be much faster than the original screw drive mechanism. Surely it will provide advantages with the new NEX line of cameras. The build quality is not as great as some of the other lenses in the lineup, but it is only $200 - which makes it a great deal for the money, but *ONLY* if you are using it for macro shots and photos at close distances. Autofocus becomes very (and consistently) inaccurate beyond 6 feet, which is the major (perhaps only) reason that I would not recommend this lens.

31

3

0

a fantastic addition to the lineup

SAL30M28 31/12/2009 by DewmanFu (USA)

I've only had this for a short while but it's rapidly becoming my 'go to' lens. With a view the equivalent of 45mm , its a great walk around lens with the added bonus of being a macro. I don't have to switch lenses to get close, its got great color and sharpness. For the price its fantastic!

52

4