Skip to Content
DT 35MM F1.8 SAM

Product Reviews

$274.99

15

4.5 based on 15 customer reviews

9
5
1
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

15 Customer Reviews

0

Great little lens

SAL35F18 08/10/2016 by SnapperAl (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just what I hoped it would be. Light weight and gives excellent image quality without any noticeable distortion. Only downside is that the camera mount is plastic rather than the traditional metal but for the price of it, it's well worth it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Small and light

SAL35F18 31/08/2016 by PBoy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Compact and lightweight this lens is great quality at an affordable price. Used on a A68 results are excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

average lens but good price

SAL35F18 29/10/2015 by ghun1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just like the standard zoom that had come with my old A200, the focus ring of the 35F18 SAM rattles. Its not broken, but it is so loose it looks like it is. Focussing speed is fair and it is a little noisy compared to modern more expensive lenses. For the price however, its good value.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Taken some cracking shots with this lense

SAL35F18 09/07/2015 by nicknicks (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just treated myself to a a77ii to move on from point and shoot. Got this as a first lense and found it really easy to use. Haven't explored half of what the camera can do but I am sure this lense will rise to the task and be a staple in my collection.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great when you need a shallow depth of field

SAL35F18 06/07/2015 by Trooperm11 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had this lens a couple of years now....use in once-in-a-while, but when I do it's because I really need it's features. Fast, clear, great shallow depth of field and light. Often use it in urban shoots. Also like it because, not being a zoom, it makes you move your feet, which is good to get a better picture. And finally it's not expensive.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great DT Lens

SAL35F18 10/09/2014 by OutdoorPhotog (USA)

This is great lens for $200. It's tack sharp and great in low light. The build is decent for this price level but the upside of that is, it's ultra light. This is a great normal prime for the DT camera.

0

0

0

Wide angle?

SAL35F18 04/05/2014 by Augwolf (USA)

Let me start out by saying that I returned this item. I am absolutely a Sony man all the way. I was looking for a lens that was wide angle and fixed. While I could get low light shots, that was great. But I wanted a wide angle lens and this is not, in my opinion, a wide-angle lens. So this is not a bad review by any means. I love Sony and would never give them a bad review unless they deserved it… But they never have

4

18

0

Worth every penny

SAL35F18 22/02/2014 by queennola (USA)

I decided to purchase the lense after I read good reviews and I was amazed especially in low loght . I used it in dark and it was like a daytime.The price is in mid range not expensive nor cheap.If you like to take pictures @ night that is the right lense. I use it with sony slt a57.

3

0

0

Plastic Fantastic

SAL35F18 18/09/2012 by Kaito (USA)

This is a very good lens for the price. Sony's higher end version sells for $1500, and doesn't offer 7 times the performance. Physically, this is a small lens that's made of plastic. The mount is plastic and that may be a turn-off to enthusiasts. This makes it super light weight. As for image quality, it's not so great at f/1.8 because of the soft corners and minor light fall off around the edges. But once you stop down to f/2.8, it's heaven. Great overall sharpness there and no light fall off at all.. That's still plenty good for low-light situations. My Tamron 28-75mm f/2.8 needs to stop down to f/4 to match this lens. Distortion is minimal. The AF motor makes a fair amount of noise. It's not bothersome at all, but it's obviously not good for video. Focus speed is good. It doesn't work on Full Frame, but that's a good thing because this would probably be horrible on a FF camera. If you're using a Full Frame camera, you probably wouldn't be looking at a $200 lens.

29

2

0

Fantastic images at low cost (comparatively)

SAL35F18 01/09/2012 by cptab (USA)

I purchased this lens for my a35 camera after it was recommended that I add a fixed focus prime lens in my bag. I read a number of reviews and I'm extremely happy with my choice. The level of performance is fantastic. Hand held pictures remained clear in low light and the bokeh is awesome (the pics I posted don't do it justice). I highly recommend this lens. Note, I'm not sure whether a 35mm combined w/ a camera with an aps sensor is the equivalent of a traditional 50mm film lens, but I chose this lens over the 50mm despite many people saying that 50mm are almost mandatory. In any event, I love this lens.

19

1

0

Excellent buy

SAL35F18 27/04/2012 by tastrong61 (USA)

Purchased this lens for some low light live performance work and it is excellent! Also had the chance to go shoot some landscape and nature and produced some fo the sharpest images I have yet to capture. Great lens for the money. Like someone else mentioned, if you don't have the bucks for the 35mm f1.4 G lens, this is definitely worth the asking price. One star deducted for not fitting full frame sensor.

11

1

0

Amazing Little Lens

SAL35F18 29/01/2012 by Successful (Canada)

This little lens can produce fantastic images (in terms of sharpness, CA, light fall off, bokeh, etc); all despite of its very affordable price. That said, it's made of plastic and feels rather cheap and fragile in your hands, but if you think about its retail price... it's really not that bad, and definitely worth every penny when you see the images it can produce! I only wish there was a window for the scale, but those only appear on higher priced lenses. Being a prime lens, the sharpness in its images are fantastic and if you don't need the SSM, definitely save yourself over a grand and buy this lens instead of the G series 35mm.

25

0

0

First Prime

SAL35F18 11/06/2011 by Babon (USA)

This is a good lens from sony and its price also reasonable that's why every one can try this prime for great portrait picture

13

4

0

The best of the "Easy Choice" Primes

SAL35F18 26/01/2011 by dcisive (USA)

On balance I have to say that regardless of the fact the lens is of plastic construction and mount, it is the highest level of performance between ALL of the affordable primes, which includes the 50mm f1.8 and 85mm f2.8. it is more appropriate on a cropped sensor providing the 50mm perspective and still does wonderful portraits while allowing for some indoor and outdoor use as well. It is darn sharp wide open already in the center, but stop it down and it will reward with a sharp frame altogether. Nice and light, I can even manually focus easily on a A55 with this lens. Easily worth it's price.

31

0

0

Great bang for the buck

SAL35F18 11/01/2011 by SoCalEngineer (USA)

Sony put in the stuff that counts (good optics and a fast aperture) and kept the cost down by using plastic construction and a not-silent SAM focus motor. The good optics provide very sharp photographs, the f1.8 aperture lets you blur the background (bokeh) which isolates your subject. Consider this lens if you're on a budget and looking for a fixed focal length lens for portraits.

23

0