Skip to Content
11

4.6 based on 11 customer reviews

9
1
0
1
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Highest quality lens I have ever owned!

SAL50F14Z 22/08/2013 by Pawpaw (USA)

Read all the reviews but in the end the Sony charts said it all. This lens is very well built, fast, high contrast (even at 1.4) and extremely sharp. You would have to enlarge your pics beyond 20x30 to even start finding weaknesses. One review stated you would only use 1.4 in must to low light situations, wrong. Depth of field only problem wide open and still I have already shot some of my most favorite pics on this lens at 1.4. I spend most of the time in the F2-3.2 area. Bokeh very smooth. F4 and up this lens gets insanely sharp. I know most are not 100% onboard with price; at least I didn't drop $11,000 on the newest Leica 50. Just saying this lens delivers on price/performance. I do not work in the photography field, just someone who likes good equipment. I had one printed on metallic paper - off the chart sharp 16x20. The A99 and Zeiss lens out performs my medium format from the late 80's.

14

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Not impressed

SAL50F14Z 10/07/2014 by JuniperLaurel (USA)

I purchased this after using the 85 1.4 Zeiss for a year and a half and being absolutely in love with that lens. But I needed something that would allow me to work within slightly more confined spaces - and people seemed to love the 50 1.4, so I ordered it in March. I have not been impressed. Yes, the auto focus is super fast (and much, much quieter than the 85), but it is also really quick to move out of focus (which is frustrating). My main issue with this lens, though, is the color quality. Images are slightly off-toned and a tad greenish. The colors with the 85 are phenomenal - and the cost cast with the 50 is slight, really, but when I am selling my work, it needs to be perfect, and so far I haven't truly loved any images I've taken with the 50 (and I've probably shot 8-10k with it so far). I typically keep the 50 on one camera body and the 85 on another (and another lens on a third). When I go to edit, I find I am discarding almost every single shot I get from my 50 (and I've rotated it to various bodies - all the a99 - so it is not a camera issue). Maybe I was sent a dud lens - but how do I know? Pictures often appear a bit soft also with this lens. I wish I had purchased another lens instead - and I should have sent this lens back the day I got it! Oh and people keep griping about the bad lens hood. It really is bad - what a piece of junk. I can't believe Sony would put that on a lens at this price. I feel like a lot of things were cheaped down with this lens, and it is making me start to rethink my very strong affiliation with Sony cameras. I am very, very disappointed in this lens. I really wanted to love it (or hey, at least like it!) but I just do not enjoy using it at all.

4

1

11 Customer Reviews

0

My Go To Lens For Landscape and City Scape Shots

SAL50F14Z 01/06/2017 by Bobby Lens (USA)

This is my go to lens for landscape and city scape shots. This lens is extremely sharp without chromatic aberrations or ghosting. Due to this lens being able to open up as wide as f/1.4, this lens work great in low light and produces creamy soft background blur with phenomenal bokeh. Now I would love Sony to manufacture a 35mm f/1.4 Carl Zeiss Sony lens or G master for the A-mount. Please G-master for A-mount!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

High quality professional lens

SAL50F14Z 12/10/2015  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The images produced by the lens is tack sharp as expected from a Zeiss lens. The lens produces a beautiful creamy bokeh. Its therefore an excellent portrait lens. It low light performance at F1.4 was even better than I thought it will be. I was able to take good photographs with the light only from a TV at an ISO setting of 400 and above. The build quality is excellent. The addition of dust and weather sealing is an added bonus. The lens focuses very quickly. Focusing is almost silent due to the SSM motor.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

5

0

Can't go wrong...

SAL50F14Z 19/04/2015 by DanOrtego (USA)

While some have said this is too expensive for a 50mm I'm fairly confident this comes from those that don’t own one. Granted, I too was skeptical until I received it. I started with the usual quick pics around the home so it didn’t get a real workout until my last trip to Italy. It quickly became my lens cap favorite for 75-percent of my shooting. My ZA-135 very seldom got used due in part to its weight. This lens combined with my ZA-24 handled most everything. It’s very good in terms of focus, build, and clarity and I can’t imagine anyone being disappointed. I’ve noticed some comments about softness but I haven’t experienced that, so perhaps I got lucky or the combination of my A900 and technique is the reason. Okay, like most ZA lenses, this too has the cooler color rendition over the older Minolta counterparts, but its other attributes more than make up for it. I did add a Heliopan 72mm Digital UV/IR filter combined with a Heliopan wide rubber-duck style lens hood. This combo was absolutely perfect for my needs, especially around waterfront villages in Italy.

0

0

0

Precise & Versatile with typical Zeiss Quality

SAL50F14Z 10/01/2015 by ManicManc (United Kingdom)

Outstanding build & image quality, this spends much of its time on my A99. As a pro commercial photographer the weather sealing is a welcomed addition too. This is a premium, quality piece of glass with a price tag to match - However, as i have found with all my other Zeiss lenses, its a price tag worth paying for. For me however there are 2 flaws: Firstly, is the supplied plastic lens hood!? - All the the other Alpha mount Zeiss lenses have high quality metal lens hoods, which not only carry that Zeiss quality to the finest detail, but also means they are more durable. Secondly, and although this may seem trivial, there is no leather pouch with the lens, like like is supplied with the other 5 Zeiss and Sony G lenses?? When paying top prices, its these little details that make the difference.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

You get what you paid for.

SAL50F14Z 28/07/2014 by Thkpic1 (USA)

I own this lens...and it hasn't let me down whatsoever. The build is fantastic and the images are razor sharp. I also own the 135mm 1.8 Zeiss as well. Now, in terms of contrast it comes up in spades. Its also virtually silent to focus from a mechanical perspective. Lastly, the bokeh is very pleasing as I find it smooth and distinct from other 50's that tend to share the same bland quality. Two gripes I have. Focusing distance is too long....I wish it were shorter. For portrait work this is not a problem however. For meddling around it sometimes is. Lastly, the hood is a pure insult at this price point. It should be metal. However, truth be told the optic is so far recessed in the lens you rarely need it. I've compared numerous shots to the much touted Sigma 50mm 1.4 ART. It may be sharper wide open, but I in no way find the bokeh or contrast as pleasing. It's use of more elements and a greater number of groups (more corrections) presents a trade off. You get that sharpness on the cheap at the expense of these previously mentioned qualities. Pick what you value....but to my eyes I'd gladly choose the Zeiss all day. Thats even before mentioning the build quality, better AF and weather sealing. You get what you pay for. By the way, stick this on an a7r and stop down a bit and your in medium format territory. Absolutely amazing.

7

0

0

.Excellently crafted piece of glass and metal.

SAL50F14Z 15/07/2014 by PerfectSilhouette (USA)

I purchased this lens from my local camera store and it was magnificent. Noticed it available on ebay, returned that one and won the auction. Same pristine quality as the brand new lens. Took many sample shots with both and impressed with the quality and out of focus rendering to the background. Images were quite punchy, sharp and retained great colors. Build is exceptional as well as focusing speed and quietness. I own the 85 and 135 as well and this compliments the other two while creating a perfect trio. Purchase and fall in love, otherwise miss out and wish you had.

3

1

0

Not impressed

SAL50F14Z 10/07/2014 by JuniperLaurel (USA)

I purchased this after using the 85 1.4 Zeiss for a year and a half and being absolutely in love with that lens. But I needed something that would allow me to work within slightly more confined spaces - and people seemed to love the 50 1.4, so I ordered it in March. I have not been impressed. Yes, the auto focus is super fast (and much, much quieter than the 85), but it is also really quick to move out of focus (which is frustrating). My main issue with this lens, though, is the color quality. Images are slightly off-toned and a tad greenish. The colors with the 85 are phenomenal - and the cost cast with the 50 is slight, really, but when I am selling my work, it needs to be perfect, and so far I haven't truly loved any images I've taken with the 50 (and I've probably shot 8-10k with it so far). I typically keep the 50 on one camera body and the 85 on another (and another lens on a third). When I go to edit, I find I am discarding almost every single shot I get from my 50 (and I've rotated it to various bodies - all the a99 - so it is not a camera issue). Maybe I was sent a dud lens - but how do I know? Pictures often appear a bit soft also with this lens. I wish I had purchased another lens instead - and I should have sent this lens back the day I got it! Oh and people keep griping about the bad lens hood. It really is bad - what a piece of junk. I can't believe Sony would put that on a lens at this price. I feel like a lot of things were cheaped down with this lens, and it is making me start to rethink my very strong affiliation with Sony cameras. I am very, very disappointed in this lens. I really wanted to love it (or hey, at least like it!) but I just do not enjoy using it at all.

4

1

0

Two lenses; HUGE Difference

SAL50F14Z 03/10/2013 by SLUF1354 (USA)

Having had the SAL50F14 since the beginning, it to me was firmly seated in my general photography lens kit. I must confess that I am enamored of every Zeiss lens I have, and was looking forward to the release of the SAL50F14Z since it was first announced. With its arrival, I put it to work at once, and am pleased to say it is all I've come to expect and more. Yes, it is more weight than the non-Zeiss lens, but it is easily forgotten when shooting. The focus seems faster with less hunting with busy compositions. The true value comes to you when the images are presented for critical editing. Transitions between similar tones is sharp yet still pleasing, and relatively large prints display a sort of 'you are there' quality. And playing with the depth of field is quite rewarding as well. Not much more to say than a line I've used in other reviews: "You are getting what you've paid for."

13

1

0

Highest quality lens I have ever owned!

SAL50F14Z 22/08/2013 by Pawpaw (USA)

Read all the reviews but in the end the Sony charts said it all. This lens is very well built, fast, high contrast (even at 1.4) and extremely sharp. You would have to enlarge your pics beyond 20x30 to even start finding weaknesses. One review stated you would only use 1.4 in must to low light situations, wrong. Depth of field only problem wide open and still I have already shot some of my most favorite pics on this lens at 1.4. I spend most of the time in the F2-3.2 area. Bokeh very smooth. F4 and up this lens gets insanely sharp. I know most are not 100% onboard with price; at least I didn't drop $11,000 on the newest Leica 50. Just saying this lens delivers on price/performance. I do not work in the photography field, just someone who likes good equipment. I had one printed on metallic paper - off the chart sharp 16x20. The A99 and Zeiss lens out performs my medium format from the late 80's.

14

0

0

Excellent

SAL50F14Z 21/08/2013 by robertgreatrixphotography (Canada)

You buy this lens because you want quality and it delivers. Sharpness is incredible. Solid build with a focus hold button on the lens make it a worthwhile investment.

11

0

0

So waiting for this one

SAL50F14Z 01/03/2013 by seralim (USA)

cant wait to try in on hands, would be my first fixed length lens, except fish eye

3

88