Skip to Content
DT 50MM F1.8 SAM

Product Reviews

$174.99

44

4.6 based on 44 customer reviews

30
12
1
0
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

44 Customer Reviews

0

A sharp, smooth easy to use standard lens

SAL50F18 22/05/2017 by corb (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Extremely easy to use, smooth quiet movement giving very sharp clean images

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Brilliant F1.8 Lens

SAL50F18 21/03/2016 by woody71 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I Bought this earlier this Month & have found it a very clear & usable lens, it is a very clear fixed focus lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Light and sharp

SAL50F18 07/06/2015 by dsnine (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've been thinking of buying a prime lens for some time and decided to take the plunge. If you only own zoom lenses this lens will make you think about your photography it will make you get involved with your subject it will make you think about what you want it will stop you being lazy,it will make you bold .Its light it takes sharp images ,great depth of field ,great indoors in low light what more do you want from a lens .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Compact lens, good flexibility in low light.

SAL50F18 25/04/2015 by BenIOM (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Compact lens, good flexibility in low light. Easy to swap on/off camera body.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great lens for the price

SAL50F18 20/01/2015 by Young Man (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this lens as it was good value for money and it was a good introduction to portrait photography, I have only had it for about a month and I am very pleased with the results.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Rewiew of my new 50 mm Lens

SAL50F18 13/09/2014 by Peace Activist (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I found the Sony DT 50 mm F1.8 SAM Lens to be perfect for the work required of it. It is also well protected against miscellaneous damage with end covers and protectors. Nice, compact and delivers the results needed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good lens for the money

SAL50F18 20/05/2014 by JeffAZ (USA)

I bought this as an introductory Prime lens and so far it performs as I expected, a nice, basic 50mm lens with good speed.

0

0

0

Sony 50mm F1.8

SAL50F18 03/05/2014 by Sherwin (USA)

The lens is a bargain, and produces very sharp images, with the kind of de- focused backgrounds I want for portraiture...I could spend a lot more money for a lens with an incremental better quality image, but for my purposes I am very satisfied.

1

0

0

Excellent Lens

SAL50F18 18/02/2014 by RyanR (USA)

Probably one of the best bang-for-your-buck lenses out there. Its an incredibly versatile prime lens that takes very sharp images with the nice bokeh that everyone is looking for these days. This lens should be the first lens you buy after advancing from the kit lens that came with your camera. You will not be disappointed with this lens.

11

0

0

love this lens!

SAL50F18 09/10/2013 by pipelinemoe (Canada)

love it love the price love almost everything if it had a little more build quality ..such as metal mounting plate to the camera body it wouldn't seem so gimicky that said its a great lens at a great price and im very happy with it the focus motor seems a little noisey but most times i have it in manual hope this helps you make your mind up

11

0

0

As good as expected

SAL50F18 20/09/2013 by JavierH (Canada)

It works perfectly with my Alpha300. Nice shots. Excellent blurring effect when required. For the price, it is an excellent lens choice.

7

0

0

don't waste your time!

SAL50F18 12/09/2013 by Milton (USA)

Hello everyone, it is all my fault for buying cheep, this lens has a Red outline on the subjects, it gives a sheep look to the picture, this could work for some people if that is the look you are after. Best Wishes Milton

1

27

0

A good buy... BUT...

SAL50F18 13/07/2013 by elloimb (USA)

I bought this lens because I really wanted a portrait lens with a wide aperture, and I was very excited to get it. But upon buying it, I've noticed that pictures I've taken where my subject is in direct sunlight or is backlit, are subjected to EXTREME color fringing. The lens is great, and the fringing is easily corrected in Lightroom, but it is just a big let down that my images are fringing so badly. The lens takes semi-sharp images, and is great for what it is, but that color fringing is just such a huge deterring factor for recommending it to anyone else. Overall, it's an awesome prime lens. It has the ability to produce really shallow depth of field and works great in low light conditions. On the flip side though, the images aren't as sharp as they should be and color fringing is far too noticeable.

11

2

0

Incredible

SAL50F18 06/02/2013 by Ttom (USA)

This lens is fantastic. The photos are sharp, and it's fast so you can easily capture those shots in lower light. A no brainer, this should be one of the first lenses you add to your collection.

12

0

0

one lens to rule them all

SAL50F18 27/03/2012 by pr4n4y (USA)

this is the only lens I ever use. I use it for landscape, portraits, even macro (hah!). throw away the kit lens and buy this, worth every penny.

25

2

0

The best bet for the buck!

SAL50F18 18/12/2011 by aloykatos (USA)

I can get really great quality pictures with this fantastic lens. The sharpness is exceptional. And the price is as low as it can get. The only problem is the build quality, there is too much plastic but it's excepted when you see the price point. The autofocus moter is a little noisy but you can live with it.

22

0

0

Great lens

SAL50F18 30/10/2011 by willdirosa98 (USA)

I got this lens about 1 month ago and I love it, it's great for bokeh in portraits and for night time shooting. It's a must have lens, I had the 18-55mm and 75-300mm lenses but niether were good for night time shooting so I needed a prime lens like this. I recomend to buy this lens :)

23

0

0

not a telephoto lens

SAL50F18 09/08/2011 by tulip (Canada)

Sony advertizes this as a telephoto lens, but it is a fixed focus lens. is this characteristic of other sony advertising claims?

8

124

0

Good Prime Lens

SAL50F18 11/07/2011 by Adhitya (USA)

Great prime lens for aps-c camera, nice bokeh and very sharp at f/2.2. But the AF motor is so noisy, build quality so poor.

12

2

0

I love it!!!!!

SAL50F18 26/05/2011 by shutterbugmarkland (USA)

My lens arrived yesterday and immediately I started taking photos. My best subject was my dog, Seanluke. I love the speed and I prefer B&W, so I set my camera to ISO 100 and my photos came out fantastic!! I have the first A100 model and I had to adjust my settings, but thats fine. This lens has captured what I am looking for in a photo. Real time and softness in the background. It reminds me when I worked in the dark room. I miss film and this lens come just a close in a digital format. I love it!

10

2

0

Awesome portraits

SAL50F18 17/05/2011 by adam1134 (USA)

For only $150, this is a great lens. The focus area is extremely narrow so you can et some great affect. Highly recommend.

21

0

0

EXCELLENT LENS FOR THE PRICE

SAL50F18 17/05/2011 by BabyJizay (USA)

I am an amateur but when I use this lens on my A33 people always think the photos are professional. I have the 18-55 and the 70-300, and the image quality does not compare. I love this lens!!

11

0

0

Excellent Lens, Excellent Price!

SAL50F18 11/05/2011 by Juice5115 (USA)

Awesome lens for portrait photography. I haven't had the chance to play with it a ton yet but so far I love what I've seen!

1

1

0

Great lens, for a great price

SAL50F18 17/04/2011 by ooqa (USA)

I’ve had this lens for about a year now and everything has been great so far, it allows you to take macros with amazing bokeh just as well razor sharp landscapes. The price is great, the only problem for me so far is been that the focus ring is a little small and to close to the edge of the lens and sometimes I get my finger onto the filter and then I have to clean it again, just be careful with that, specially with the Zeiss filters which are extremely hard to clean.

4

1

0

Great lens for the money

SAL50F18 21/03/2011 by JATL (USA)

Great overall lens! Must have for your lens collection. It's cheap price and sharp pictures make it a great value. This lens has no zoom on it, which may take some getting used to.

4

1

0

Great Lens

SAL50F18 18/02/2011 by bobfromguam (USA)

Its a great lens to have at all times, makes for the most candid moment pictures and works very very well in low light situations.Pulls great detail, and is so inexpensive why would you not have it.

5

0

0

Best for face pictures

SAL50F18 15/02/2011 by HoustonPhotograph (USA)

If you want to take pictures of your kids or wife or friends, you need this Product

6

1

0

Terminology issues...

SAL50F18 30/10/2010 by nospaces (USA)

Come on, Sony - you guys are a powerhouse in the electronics industry, but you can't provide an accurate product description?!? This lens IS a TELEPHOTO on DT, and IT IS NOT A ZOOM LENS! I owned this lens, provides great bokeh, mechanics are good but plasticky, but that's ok, it's not like you'll be shooting it on a Nikon F5 or something...

7

7

0

ITS OK LENS FOR THE MONEY

SAL50F18 06/10/2010  (USA)

This lens is ok, but a bit of a money waste, its really useless with the set zoom of 50mm, its not close enough in some cases and its too close in other cases.. if it had atleast a zoom of 18-50mm with f/1.8 then it would be well worth the money. plus the lens it self looks unprofessional and cheesy looking..

1

51

0

1.4 vs 1.8....Chose to keep the 1.8

SAL50F18 27/09/2010 by NARA (USA)

Very impressed...for the money you can't lose. I wanted to compare the 1.4 vs the 1.8 because I couldn't choose...so I bought both...took shots with low light, also bokeh shots. I honestly didnt' see a difference...I attached some test shots...I returned the 1.4 without hesitation...and kept the 1.8. If you want better build qualtiy and maybe a little little bit faster shutter speed in lowlight..then go for the 1.4, but save money and get the 1.4 because its ALMOST the same minus the build quality and a few hardly noticable diff.

21

2

0

Love it so far!

SAL50F18 01/07/2010 by Melanie80 (USA)

I bought this last week and love it. Love the sharpness and that it works great in low light.

4

0

0

Good lens for the price

SAL50F18 17/06/2010 by pulseHEAD (USA)

This lens is exactly what you'd expect. It performs well, especially given the price. Images generally come out pretty well. Limited depth of field definitely adds a nice touch to many issues. The build quality is not the best, but as the cheapest lens in the Sony lineup, I think that's expected. Autofocus is generally accurate and is acceptably quick. The only thing that I would say is that the 50mm f/1.4 lens is a significant step up in build and image quality, especially at the larger apertures - so if you have the extra money to spend, I'd recommend the more expensive lens. Still, at the low price of $150, this is going to provide a very large step up in image quality from the kit zoom.

7

1

0

amazing lens from sony

SAL50F18 20/05/2010 by Vineet (USA)

This lens is a pure value for money and it delivers amazing picture quality for such a decent price. With aperture of 1.8 it is an absolute beauty for portrait photography.

4

0

0

Amazing!

SAL50F18 11/05/2010 by Ngumeister (USA)

for the past 3 months I had been on the tip of the iceberg deciding whether or not I wanted to purchase this glass. Once I saw it go on sale, I suppose it wouldn't hurt to try it out! I have to admit I am impressed. I have been using a 18-200mm zoom lens for all my shots, becuase I thought it'd make a great all around lens. It is, but this lens completely blows image quality comparison out of the water. with the examples I have, I rarely ever see myself changing lens anytime soon. I've been using this lens with a bounce flash and takes the pictures to a new level. I have had no regrets with this purchase and I recommend it to anyone who take pictures of people mainly

8

0

0

New SAM lenses are really a step up!!

SAL50F18 10/05/2010 by Kenneth2890 (USA)

This lens really is an exceptional lens! I bought it while it was on sale this past month and the 1st day I got it I used it for an event I had that evening as a primary lens. I certainly was thrilled by the crisp quality of this lens. For the price you would think it wasn't a good piece of glass but for the price, you're getting a powerful lens that's very crisp and precise. The wide aperture is wonderful for low light situations and certainly is a lens you should have in your bag!! This lens is a must and to have a couple of older lenses before Sony came out with the SAM motor lenses, I can see they've done their homework and produced lenses that are near Carl Zeiss quality and G lens quality!! Thanks Sony for listening to your consumers requests!!

10

1

0

Great lens for the price!

SAL50F18 12/02/2010  (USA)

This lens focuses quick and provides consistently sharp images! The only issue that I have is the build quality, but for $150, what do you expect?

8

0

0

Amazing value

SAL50F18 30/01/2010 by Blackriver (USA)

The 50mm f/1.8 has become a standard lens for all camera manufactures. The Sony holds it's own and arguably, if you believe several reviews I've read, surpasses most if not all of them including Canon and Nikon's. The one knock on the Sony vs. the others was the price $149 vs $115 for the Canon and $135 for the Nikon. I see now that Sony has it on sale for $124 making it an even better deal. I didn't believe it at first when I read that the Sony was superior to the Canon and Nikon in almost every category accept build. Now after shooting with this lens for 3-4 weeks I believe the reviews. This lens is very sharp and the auto focus is very fast and accurate with this lens attached to my A330. The build is not such an important matter to me since I don't find myself in harsh or rugged shooting situations. This for me is a nice still life or portrait lens and it does well as both. I uploaded both a still life shot and a candid portrait as my examples each of which was shot at standard room lighting without a flash. My one small grip is the focal length itself. Since this is a DT lens intended for APS-C sensor cameras the focal length (a 75mm equivalent to a 35mm or full size sensor) is a bit long. In other words for a DT lens something like a 40mm would have been nice but since there is no such thing this is the closest I could come. The 75mm (35mm equivalent) does make it a great focal length for portrait shots however when using a cropped sensor camera. The lens is so nice Sony practically made it the best reason to not buy the more expensive 50mm f1.4 The only reasons I could think of to possibly spend the extra money are if you do shoot in harsh situations and need the extra build quality or if your using a full frame camera. In short, practically a must have lens especially at the price.

19

0

0

Great Addition at a great price.

SAL50F18 22/01/2010 by despondentother (USA)

Immediately loved this lens the first time I used it. Have been using it ever since and just recently used it at a wedding in low light situations and it performs great!!!

4

1

0

Loving this so far

SAL50F18 31/12/2009 by psyclopps (USA)

Had this for a day and am loving it so far. The low light performance is a godsend coming from the 18-70 kit that I had before. Did not see any low light examples in the other reviews so I posted some quick examples of my car at night. The lens is very sharp at most ranges. Kind of soft details at 1.8f but this is expected for a fast lens. For the price this lens is an amazing value!

9

0

0

Outstanding value and quality

SAL50F18 29/12/2009 by DewmanFu (USA)

I recently got this lens and I have to say it is rapidly becoming one of my favorites. The color rendition is superb and its tack sharp. For the money it's hard to beat. My only quibble and it's a small one is I'd still prefer a metal lens mount, but this lens does feel solid. It's light but that does not have to mean "cheap". A home run for Sony

4

1

0

Wow

SAL50F18 26/11/2009 by Shikage (USA)

I just received my order for this lens and I have to say that it is spectacular. The photos are so crisp and clean, I love them. The only sort of confusing thing is the AF/MF on the actual lens itself. I cannot wait to get out and shoot some portraits with this bad boy!

2

0

0

Absolutely heavenly

SAL50F18 01/09/2009 by JustMe007 (USA)

I purchased this lenses about 1 month ago. I have just want to take it out every chance I get the quailty of the pictures brings a new depth to how you see everyday things!!!!

6

0

0

A Revelation

SAL50F18 31/07/2009 by LHardy (USA)

This is a great Lens ive had it on my A350 for an evening and already i know its going to up the ante in my photographic work! the depth of field is as shallow as youd ever need it and the speed gained from that big aperture is just amazing! never thought i'd use anything less than ISO800 indoors without flash! A must have lens for any APS-C Alpha owner.

15

0

0

Great Macro Lens

SAL50F18 05/07/2009 by MikeLorKev (USA)

I purchased this lens as soon as it came out last week at a Sony Style Store. The detail and clarity are impressive while the look and feel professional. I took the attached photos on my al300, ISO 100 set on macro. Just beautiful pictures of my garden.

21

1