Skip to Content
14

4.6 based on 14 customer reviews

8
6
0
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

14 Customer Reviews

0

nice quick lens solidly built.

SAL55200-2 06/05/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

came with a another shorter lens and an A57, whorks fine, very pleased with the quality. Not too big, solidly built, looks like it will last a lifetime

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Looking forward to trying it out

SAL55200-2 31/01/2015 by Willat 1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens in preparation for a forthcoming holiday. Although I have yet to try it in the field, I am impressed by the quality and operation of the lens. It enhances the capability of my Alpha 55 camera and looks good without being too bulky to carry around and is very easy to fit and change.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

great price

SAL55200-2 09/01/2015 by jo613 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brought for my partner as a crimbo prezzie. We have just had a baby boy so wanted to capture every moment.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Reasonable kit lens.

SAL55200-2 08/12/2014 by clarkieathome (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens came as a kit lens with my Alpha 58 SLT. It has useful range and is good for general photography. It is not the sharpest out there but it is not the most expensive. A good general zoom to have in the bag.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Excellent Product

SAL55200-2 13/09/2013 by AlanLuu (USA)

Easy to use

1

7

0

Good Lens

SAL55200-2 09/07/2013 by trentw1966 (USA)

This lens produces outstanding images with my A55 camera. However, zooming in and out is not very smooth. This should not be in a lens of otherwise high quality. Quality control slipped on this one.

2

5

0

Great lens for the price

SAL55200-2 19/06/2012 by Xenab (Canada)

Got this lens recently and I must say I love the results. Zooms in nicely, focuses pretty smooth, captures great colors. Couldn't be happier.

16

2

0

Excellent Value

SAL55200-2 04/06/2012 by Playswithrocks (USA)

I bought this to replace/augment an older minolta 100-300mm lens that was pretty soft. This has become my primary lens since I shoot mainly outdoors. I love that it's fast with the AF and produces nice crisp photos with good color. I rarely experience the AF "hunting" like some lenses do in lower light. There are times I wish I had a bit more reach with it, and when wanting to zoom in close I'm often unable to get as tight as I want since you have to be at least 3.5ft from your subject. Those are minor nits considering the capabilities and price of this lens. For the price, I couldn't be happier with this lens.

22

0

0

GREAT LENS.

SAL55200-2 31/05/2012 by yeper (USA)

Lens has great quality and versitility of zoom for open field shots and just about anything else. The autofocus is very quiet and therefore great for wildlife. You can't get a better lens for even twice the price. (The pics look much better than here.)

13

1

0

great value

SAL55200-2 02/04/2012 by deltadave44 (USA)

fantastic lens to add to your collection...easy to use and results are fantastic!...

10

0

0

Great Purchase and Great Lens!

SAL55200-2 17/02/2012 by Successful (Canada)

This is a great portable telephoto lens. The image quality is pretty solid; especially considering its pricepoint. It's a very reliable lens, there aren't very many cons. The optics aren't bad either, light fall off isn't too bad, bokeh isn't bad, and overall, the image quality isn't bad. For its pricepoint, there really is nothing to complain about. I absolutely recommend buying this if you want an ultra portable telephoto lens.

12

1

0

I love this lens

SAL55200-2 20/12/2011 by ChelseaDH (USA)

I received this lens with my new a55 as an early Christmas gift and I absolutely love it. I am an amateur photographer and I have a lot to learn, and so far, I feel like this is the perfect lens for me to learn with. I have been able to take a wide range of photos with this lens; including portraits, landscapes, flowers, action shots, and even food. Although you have to be rather far from a subject to get a good shot, and it doesn't always focus as quickly as I want it to (which is only sometimes frustrating when I'm taking pictures of my step kids who are constantly on the go) I would say this is a perfect lens for any beginner or a good day to day lens for anyone. Also, the photo quality on this site do not do these photo's justice because they actually came out to be much more vivid and pristine.

7

2

0

Lens hood does not lock into place

SAL55200-2 31/10/2011 by Isaac (USA)

It's a shame that the enjoyment of using the lens is interrupted every half hour when the lens hood falls off into the dirt. The provided lens hood doesn't lock into place, so simply walking around holding the camera is enough to loosen the lens hood until (surprisingly soon, and surprisingly often) it falls off the lens. So far I haven't figured out how to work-around this problem - because the front lens element turns when focusing, simply taping the lens hood onto the lens won't work. (Similarly, it's a little annoying that no lens-cap-strap is provided to attach the lens-cap to the body of the camera. A lens-cap-strap was provided with the simple DSC-H9 camera - why not with this kit zoom lens?).

19

2

0

Nice all around lense

SAL55200-2 08/10/2010 by GoBucs (USA)

Overall this is a great lense. I am just getting into the hobby and am very surprised of the photos I have been able to take with this lense. My father is a die hard Nikon person and he is impressed with the quality of photos I am producing with the 200mm on my A-330. For the price, buy it. You will not be upset. The included photos do not do it justice. They are actually much clearer and do not have the grainy fuzz you see here.

40

2