Skip to Content
13

4.2 based on 13 customer reviews

5
7
0
1
0
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Good Lens But Not GREAT

SAL55300 08/05/2013 by Mark1328 (USA)

First I am hardly an expert right now but more a "prosumer" this lens for the price is a great deal. The pictures are sharp and clear and the 55-300mm gives great options with 1 lens. My only complaint is the "hunting" when using AF in anything past 200mm. So if I know shooting far away I immediately switch to MF since most likely lens will "hunt" for something to focus on and second you get what you want it hunts to something again. Even for the picture for this review I was in full auto and tried AF but had trouble staying on the bird house with nothing around it so ended up in manual. But for the price I am not going to complain about this lens.

38

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Money better spent elsewhere

SAL55300 20/07/2013 by cekay1 (Canada)

This lens is cheap and feels and performs like one too. When focus is achieved it is sharp and images are good. However, it is slow to focus and noisy, performance in poor light is terrible - Sony sell this as a SAM lens - it does not perform like one - I really don't know what other peoples expectations are. I bought a Minolta lens a few days before - 28-105mm f3.5-4.5 - the performance in a totally different league - fast, near silent auto-focus, amazing image quality - the lens was approx 20 years old and was not a "G" lens. If you can get this Sony lens cheaply, then it is worth consideration, otherwise save your money for a better option. I do wish Sony would improve this lens - and look at at their whole lens line-up and take note what their competitors are doing. I do not wish to be negative, but this is my experience with this lens - and I have used a lot of equipment.

25

14

13 Customer Reviews

0

A very good lens,at an affordable price.

SAL55300 13/02/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am so far impressed with this lens. Image quality, flare control, contrast are all very good on this lens. It feels well made and balances well on the camera. It is early days yet, with this lens. However, initial impressions are very good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use

SAL55300 05/04/2016 by Luckydi (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Used it on a sunny afternoon at a nature reserve taking close ups of birds

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great deal.

SAL55300 10/08/2015 by Rosalitro (USA)

Sincerely I prefer use it on manual, is not that difficult and focus what I really want it. Try to buy a 18-250 and the price escalate too much.

0

0

0

DT 55-300mm F4.5-5.6 SAM Zoom Lens

SAL55300 17/04/2015 by PittsfieldDoug (USA)

I would not recommend this to a 'beginner' .. however a Photog on a budget would find it useful and satisfying. ..Cons: 1. Front lens turns while focusing, not useful for filters. 2. Hunts a LOT particularly in low light. 3. No 'instant tuning' .. Easy 'focus peaking' would help a lot. 4. 'Barrel Lock' only works in fully retracted position. 5. No 'Macro capability' ..Pros: 1. Picture Quality is excellent (for price point) 2. Easy to use in 'Manual Focus' Mode .. has on lens MF/AF switch sufficient damping for quick positive focus. Generally Speaking I've been able to improve most shots by manual tuning. 3. Has 'Lock' to prevent lens creep while carrying. 4. Metal Mount, solid and secure. 5. Very LOW CA in high contrast situations really amazing at this price point. 6. Good PQ across the range. 7. 55-300mm range .. Decent close focus (4-5') throughout the focal length range. 8. Nice looking, great feel and handling is very good. 9. Superb Lens Hood. 10. Very hard to beat at this Price point .. A shooter who knows his or her camera will benefit more than a total newbie.

4

1

0

excellent lens very quiet

SAL55300 13/04/2015 by MadCheekyFella (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this lens to replace a faulty zoom lens item. the lens has the quality feel of a sony product. its easy to use, has a great zoom range and produces some outstanding photo's. the lens is quick to focus and quiet whilst it does so.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Fantastic value for money

SAL55300 20/01/2015 by Cecil (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this lens for a month and have been out taking photo's more than I have before. Brilliant lens for wildlife.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good value deal

SAL55300 12/08/2014 by em68 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as a bundle deal with an A65 SLT so the price was an absolute bargain. The lens is very sharp and pretty light for the focal length. It would be better if the lens did not rotate when focusing but I understand this is the price you pay for the low cost. I was thinking of buying it at the normal price and I recommend it if you do not mind adjusting ND filters.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Big fan

SAL55300 18/10/2013 by roymondus (USA)

Excellent image quality, which is the most important to me - great sharpness. I haven't experienced any frustration with the autofocus, though I can see it isn't the quickest. Overall, I'm very pleased with this lens and for the price, would heartily recommend it for the fantastic telephoto range, compact size, and IQ.

23

0

0

Money better spent elsewhere

SAL55300 20/07/2013 by cekay1 (Canada)

This lens is cheap and feels and performs like one too. When focus is achieved it is sharp and images are good. However, it is slow to focus and noisy, performance in poor light is terrible - Sony sell this as a SAM lens - it does not perform like one - I really don't know what other peoples expectations are. I bought a Minolta lens a few days before - 28-105mm f3.5-4.5 - the performance in a totally different league - fast, near silent auto-focus, amazing image quality - the lens was approx 20 years old and was not a "G" lens. If you can get this Sony lens cheaply, then it is worth consideration, otherwise save your money for a better option. I do wish Sony would improve this lens - and look at at their whole lens line-up and take note what their competitors are doing. I do not wish to be negative, but this is my experience with this lens - and I have used a lot of equipment.

25

14

0

Good Lens But Not GREAT

SAL55300 08/05/2013 by Mark1328 (USA)

First I am hardly an expert right now but more a "prosumer" this lens for the price is a great deal. The pictures are sharp and clear and the 55-300mm gives great options with 1 lens. My only complaint is the "hunting" when using AF in anything past 200mm. So if I know shooting far away I immediately switch to MF since most likely lens will "hunt" for something to focus on and second you get what you want it hunts to something again. Even for the picture for this review I was in full auto and tried AF but had trouble staying on the bird house with nothing around it so ended up in manual. But for the price I am not going to complain about this lens.

38

0

0

I love this lens

SAL55300 07/05/2013 by Arminkh (Canada)

This is a great lens for outdoors. I'm not a professional but the image quality is clearly superior to my 18-55 lens that came with my A35. This lens is very fast and a great tool for capturing wild life. I took this photo with my A35 using this lens

27

2

0

SAL 55-300

SAL55300 15/01/2013  (USA)

Super lens.

7

13

0

Well worth it.

SAL55300 12/10/2012 by abedi (USA)

Superb image quality. Very fast outdoors. Rich color tones.

26

8