Skip to Content
E 10-18MM F4 OSS

Product Reviews

$929.99

24

4.7 based on 24 customer reviews

21
2
0
0
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

24 Customer Reviews

0

unbelievable LENS

SEL1018 14/11/2017 by easyeric (USA)

not a pro, shoot as a hobby. the lens fits in my pocket and is easily accessible. i use my camera more because of this lens. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Landscape and street photography

SEL1018 07/10/2017 by highlightimages (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Sony E 10-18/4 is a high quality lens intended to capture sweeping vistas on Sony APSC mirrorless cameras. I have used this lens on NEX7, A6000, A6300 and also on a full-frame A7R2. The lens is superbly sharp if stopped to f5.6 or f8.0, which is a usual setting for landscape images. Sharpness at f4.0 is good for all but the 10mm setting, which may be a bit restrictive in some circumstances. Distortion is quite big at the extreme ends of the zoom range (particularly at 10mm) so if the lens is used for architectural shots a middle range of the zoom would be the most appropriate unless one shoots in JPG (which corrects for the distortion) or is prepared to correct RAW images in post processing. On the three newer cameras A6000, A6300 and A7R2 chromatic aberration is not significant and rarely needs correcting in post-processing. By contrast, on the older NEX7 camera images taken at 10mm zoom setting have a strong magenta cast, which is difficult to remove in post processing. An easy way round the limitation of this camera-lens combination is to convert images taken at 10-12mm setting to BW. If the images need to be in colour than brightening and de-saturating magenta channel goes a long way to correcting the image.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great wide angle lens for Sony A6500

SEL1018 28/06/2017 by lalitjee (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sharp and quick to focus a perfect match for Sony A6500 camera.the size of the lens is ideal for sony 6000 series cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good Lens

SEL1018 22/06/2017 by Plamothe (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very Nice lens and make good pictures. The lens is light weight and small good for travel

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Lens!!

SEL1018 19/03/2017 by Jenks (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've only had it a week or so but i really love it. quality build, solid lens. a nice addition to my 6300.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good wide angle lens

SEL1018 05/03/2017 by Bigboytwin (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought about a month ago and it suits me very well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens for my A600

SEL1018 11/10/2016 by Hopbackman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Used this for trips to London sites and taken some stunning shots. Lens is sharp enough to produce good crops.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4

0

Stopped working after an hour. New one on the way.

SEL1018 06/09/2016 by prophotoguy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The three pictures that I took with it looked great, but it had a very loud aperture motor when it arrived and after those three photos, it stopped focusing and the camera stopped recognising it. Sent for a warranty repair - it wasn't repairable, so a new one is being posted to me. It took over 2 weeks for it to be posted though, so I'm very unimpressed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

6

0

Great Sony lens

SEL1018 13/07/2016 by StruanW (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this lens to fly on the A6300 and a Argo gimbal. Great piece of kit and work well in auto-focus mode. It's light and very sharp.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Features

SEL1018 01/07/2016 by Wee Malky (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this for my A6000 and have been amazed at the clarity it produces and with the added benefits that it also fits my A7 11 win win situation .the first night of using it my photo was taken by the Herald newspaper in Scotland the very next day as the photo of the day and I was very pleased with that this is a lens that I would highly recommend

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

32

0

0

Excellent images

SEL1018 24/04/2016 by Stoneylad (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only had this lens one week and so far really impressed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Unbelivable on A7rII

SEL1018 29/02/2016 by UnSean (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Between 11mm and 17mm this lens is supurb on full frame and of course APS-C

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Great landscape lens!

SEL1018 24/11/2015 by Yeti (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have downsized from the Alpha 7 back to an Alpha 6000. I found the 7 to be a great camera but the lenses required for full frame sensors diminished the appeal of full frame so it was back to the smaller sensor 6000. I still had a NEX3 (converted to infrared) + a couple of NEX lenses so all I needed to complete my current collection was a decent wide angle lens, which would be used principally for landscape work. I considered a 12mm Samyang prime before finding a lot of very positive reviews of Sony's 10-18 zoom. The funds were available so I went for it and I certainly haven't been disappointed. The lens is a lot more compact than I first thought and so far it's been firmly fixed to the 6000. This is indeed a very good lens!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

0

0

Great Lens

SEL1018 29/08/2015 by Blighted (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens on the recommendation of a friend and I am so glad I did. I am not into all of the technical figures, just the results. The photos taken with this lens are brilliant - nice and sharp, good contrast and great colours. It is so good, that the lens is now always on my camera (A6000).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

0

0

an excellent lens

SEL1018 13/05/2015 by warwick72 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having used a high quality major brand in the past with similar range, I was well pleased with this lens as to size, weight, quality and results. The attached photo has been lightly cropped top and bottom

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

26

0

0

A great wideangle lens

SEL1018 21/04/2015 by Cymraeg (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A great addition to the kit lens. If you want to take great landscapes, this lens is perfect. Also suitable for general photography. Images are very sharp.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Sony E 10-18mm

SEL1018 11/02/2015 by Bill1745 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Probably the best lens I have ever bought, increadibly sharp, silent and quick auto focus

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Super quality wide zoom

SEL1018 06/02/2015 by jeep123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this last year for my NEX-7 and it is rarely off the camera. Sharp to the edge of the frame at all focal lengths. It also covers the full frame of my Sony A7R between 14-16mm, best at 15mm which is a great bonus

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Sony 10-18 lens, bought as a wide angle option for

SEL1018 08/10/2014 by johnnyfb (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this a while ago for landscapes/groups, have found it works very well at f8-f11, being sharp across the frame. The camera (when in jpeg mode) applies correction so distortion is well managed, if , like me you tend to shoot raw then best to use the raw+jpeg option as a reference. The lens is well built and a pleasure to use, however it is on the expensive side for what it is, hence only 4 stars

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Excellent Wide Angle Lens

SEL1018 16/09/2014 by Red Devil (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this lens 2 weeks ago to use on my Sony Nex 7 camera. Went to London and took excellent photo's of Tower of London, Buckingham Palace. Lens is all I could ask for .It is light, well built and sharp. A great addition to my Sony range of lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

I wish I bought it sooner

SEL1018 16/07/2014 by dazngad (USA)

What a wonderful lens. Amazing focol length. Great stabilitzation. Great color. Beuatiful results. Anyone with a Nex must buy try this lens to know what they are missing. This is a gem. It is worth the money for the results. I was going to wait for a wide angle prime a bit longer. I am glad I didn't. This does it all.

25

0

0

A joy to use

SEL1018 09/06/2014 by Ranfurly2001 (United Kingdom)

My son convinced me to try using a wide angle lens more and I have become totally converted. For interiors and architectural structures, of course, it is incomparable. However, for landscapes it gives a real feel of the place and a 'memorable' perspective. However, wide angle 'macro' studies also become possible and fun. This E10-18mm zoom lens behaves brilliantly; rapid focus and no hunting whatsoever (unlike the Zeiss Touit 12mm), decent bokeh when you want it, no evident vignetting and good focus throughout the image at small apertures. Importantly, it allows you to generate first class pictures. It feels very well made and has been a real pleasure to use with my Nex-7. If I could change anything it would be to have an f2 version, but that is just being fussy. I have been really very pleased indeed with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

Excellent lens - a MUST have!!

SEL1018 23/04/2013 by GregoryDIvanov (USA)

I have this lens for about 2 weeks, so I am still all excited about using it. Have had the opportunity to take landscape pictures in deserts and very narrow spaces. Overall performance - great colors, very fast focus, very little distortion, almost no "fish-eye effect", very light (lighter than same A-mount lens for Alfa cameras). Great option for ultra wide panoramic pictures, self portraits (using go-pro poles), portraits and action photos!! A must have for NEX5n and NEX7!! The only bad thing about this lens (besides the price!) are the moving zoom parts (10-18) - makes it very difficult to clean in deserts and tough environment... I would strongly suggest the next version of this lens without moving parts!! Check the photo attached for more details (not photoshoped)

99

7

0

SuperWide!!

SEL1018 07/02/2013 by JayT (USA)

As far as the E-Mount system goes, there aren't a lot of options for wide angle lenses. The SEL1018 however fixes that problem by going Super Wide. Although with a focal length of 10mm on an APS-C Sensor makes it actually 15mm on a Full Frame camera, it is still wider than any other E-Mount lens out to date. The only thing that I would say needs to be improved on is the f/4. Idealy I would like it to go a little lower, like around f/2.8. The size of the lens is actually a positive trait, in that it makes it easy to handle.

105

4