Skip to Content
26

4.8 based on 26 customer reviews

21
5
0
0
0
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

26 Customer Reviews

0

Great quality and durability

SEL1635Z 01/09/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the very first lens I bought for my Sony A7Rii about a year an a half ago. It is robust and really well made, the quality is flawless, it has a little bit of distortion at 16mm but it isn't terrible. I love this lens and would recommend for any serious photographer.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens

SEL1635Z 26/08/2017 by Razzz16 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love it! Very sharp, no aberration at all ! I love the focal length

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent full frame lens vario-tessera

SEL1635Z 02/08/2017 by Daddy g (United Kingdom)

Great lens for my new Sony E frame camera that I have Olympic had just over a week

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Switching over from Nikon

SEL1635Z 01/07/2017 by D18UNK (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had the Sony A7R11 for around a month. Decided to move over from Nikon as a press photographer I thought long and hard before I took the plunge. I purchased the 16.35 and 70-200 f4 lens . I must say I am pleased with the results and the operation and menu settings. Will be adding the 24-70 f2.8 soon. Not yet tried it for the football so the Nikon gear is still around for the time being.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Reliable, Love this lens.

SEL1635Z 20/06/2017 by javinef (USA)

I've had this lens for over a year now and I absolutely love it. It even works for portraits. Incredibly versatile and reliable. I wish I would have bought the F2.8 because I shoot a lot of event photography at night but I really recommend this lens to anyone.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A reliable and robust traveling friend

SEL1635Z 21/02/2017 by domblack (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this lens about a year now and I am very impressed, I am not a pixel peeper exactly, but it appears tone sharp at any settings, it is relatively compact an whit IS I don't really need the extra expense and weight of faster glass.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Landscape Lens

SEL1635Z 19/12/2016 by Petedox (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this lens just two weeks, so have not had a great chance to use it yet. However early test shots show that it has the Zeiss contrast and colour rendition that puts it in a league of it's own. This is my second Zeiss lens, this time I went for the 16-35 rather than the 24-70 as I have a Sony A6000 (APS-C format) and thought this would also be a pretty decent wide angle even on the smaller sensor.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Sony / Zeiss Lens

SEL1635Z 07/12/2016 by ekroy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Another good Sony lens to add to my arsenal. This one bought for tavelling to fit my A7R2 abd A6300.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

great lens

SEL1635Z 16/10/2016 by J Brad (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens 2 months ago as i was going on vacation to NYC, i was not disappointed with its performance, the pictures were exultant quality all hand held with difficult lighting.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Superb lens if you are lucky to get a good copy!

SEL1635Z 07/05/2016 by Caris21 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have tried 5 copies of this lens in total - 2 were decentered - always soft on one side in all focal lengths, 2 had soft corners until stopped down to f11, my final copy is still not perfect but the best of the bunch. The wide end 16-24mm is superb even wide open but from 26-35mm things get progressively worse with 35mm being virtually unusable until f14. This is not what I would expect form an expensive lens with a Zeiss logo. The stress associated with securing a good copy is really too much - Sony must do something to eliminate the sample variations - the production QC is below standard expected at this level. My experience has really put me off from buying another expensive Sony FF lens. The built quality is superb but it's not that important if the optics are below par! I would still recommend this lens but only if you get a good copy, otherwise you would be better off using a 3rd party manual wide-angle zoom with an adapter.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

11

0

Perfect focal length for landscapes

SEL1635Z 21/12/2015 by JohnR52 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens has joined my selection of Sony lenses. Being s recent convert from Canon L series glass I am quality conscious and can say this lens meets and exceeds my expectations . Great partner to the 55 MM and 85 MM Batis

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great lens for a7R

SEL1635Z 08/12/2015 by Mickpic (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Initial impressions are excellent build quality and ideal for landscapes. Very sharp and at 18mm the horizon appeared dead straight with just the preset basic lens correction in Lightroom. It's also nice that the front ring doesn't move when you focus, which is handy if you've lined up a graduated filter.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

A great wide angle lens

SEL1635Z 11/09/2015 by Billphoto (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Recently purchased this lens to complete my FE lens collection. As a simple amateur I think the quality is superb, and the field of view excellent. It is sharp and produces with my A7 and A7s excellent images. Would recommend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent wide angle zoom

SEL1635Z 09/09/2015 by Pauld77 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great lens. Build quality is excellent. Feels great on the A7 body. Optically first class. The OSS will be of great help in low light situations.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

1

0

Good Wide Angle Lens

SEL1635Z 16/06/2015 by chriscamera (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only had this lens for a month, so my experience is short. The lens was bought a I needed and wide angle lens particularly for interior and architectural photography, but also would use it for landscapes. The lens performed well with my A7R, acquiring good autofocus with good dynamic range and colours. When photographic interiors which were very close there was considerable distortion of the verticals, but this is to be excepted and can be corrected in Photoshop. The lens performed well in landscape with no visible distortions. In both genre the photos were pin sharp. The build is exceptional in is feel and look, with smooth control rings. Although I normally use a tripod, the stabilisation appeared to work well when I used hand held, with no noticeable movement blur, even at high resolution.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Truly Excellent Lens

SEL1635Z 07/06/2015 by CandidCondor45 (USA)

I have used this lens starting in December 2014. It is very sharp and the colors are very pleasing. The 16 mm setting allowed to take really nice photos at Machu Picchu and the lakes in the California Sierras. The photos are crisp from foreground to background. The entire range of focal lengths produce excellent photos. It works well with the Sony A7R.

8

5

0

The must-have lens for social photography

SEL1635Z 06/05/2015 by edurocha (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent image quality, and a perfect focal range for any occasion where people will gather. Zeiss glass will never disappoint you. Paired to my Sony A7II camera, it focuses in a snap, and I never miss a shot.

7

0

0

GREAT LENS, GREAT GLASS, GREAT VALUE

SEL1635Z 16/04/2015 by EchoAux3 (USA)

I have used this lens for landscape and closeup photos. Closeup very narrow/shallow depth @f/4 and great bokeh is an added greatness. For landscape great clarity out far and in close manual focus out to 3/4 way very easy on the A7s with aperture selection f/4-22 for great depth clarity.

10

9

0

impressed!

SEL1635Z 22/03/2015 by JayH (USA)

I was skeptical if this lens would produce the goods on the A7R, it does!!!!

7

2

0

Nice to have a lens like this in an FE mount.

SEL1635Z 25/01/2015 by MarkyM333 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have just returned from holiday so have taken around 1000 frames so far. Always wanted this wide angle zoom length. Although heavier than the 24-70mm it still balances nicely on my A7r. Internet reviews seem to suggest its strongest at 16mm and f4 which appears to be true. You would think that stopping down to f5-11 would sharpen things up nicely but the reverse seems to be true. This together with the 55mm is a good combination. Still deciding whether to get the 70-200mm FE lens. (The 55mm is stunningly sharp so any other lens never seems quite as good!)

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

My new best friend.

SEL1635Z 21/01/2015 by photon (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The picture quality is excellent, it's sharp, has well saturated colours, and good contrast. Classic design, good functionality. Robust build quality, beautifully engineered.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very good but too early to fully endorse

SEL1635Z 15/01/2015  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only had this lens for a few weeks so it is too early to pass a comment that is based upon experience. However this is a superb lens and fills a gap at wide angle so together with the 24-70 lens I have a very complete package

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens

SEL1635Z 06/01/2015 by Bigboytwin (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only used it a couple of times. Results are very good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Lens

SEL1635Z 21/11/2014 by LensGuru (USA)

Great contrast and color, typical of a Zeiss lens. What amazes me is how sharp this lens is at corners, even in the extreme wide angle end (16mm). The distortion is superbly well controlled too. The sharpness in the corner indicates that the lens is inherently free of severe distortions, because the interpolation performed to correct the distortion often loses resolution in doing so. Goes to show how much quality optic this lens really is! Highly recommended.

27

1

0

Just Released in the USA

SEL1635Z 21/11/2014 by AndyV (USA)

Superb .... Just purchased this lens on 11/20/14 Took it for ride this morning. Shot some landscape in Raw (A7r) Very impressive resolution and color accuracy A must have for Landscape users Love the F4 at all zoom levels. Not too heavy either .

22

8

0

Great lens but expensive

SEL1635Z 21/10/2014 by JianXiangPhotography (USA)

This is a very nice lens, I can give 9.5 out of 10 for the image quality of this lens, except for one little obvious defect: 90 percent of the area is very sharp except the very edge area has a bit of blur. There are also some distortion on the four corner too, but it's a ultra wide angle lens, and that cannot be avoid. I love this lens' exterior look and its build quality. The price is a bit high compare to sel2470z, probably the devaluation of Canadian dollars played some effect on pricing.

18

21