Skip to Content
29

4.7 based on 29 customer reviews

24
3
1
1
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Pricey but a keeper

SEL1670Z 13/06/2014 by RalphNY (USA)

I've been waiting for a better quality daily lens for my NEX 7 to replace my kit and this one pretty much it. The lens is solidly built, light and good looking. Performance wise, very clear , fast and performs well on low lights. I was little bit hesitant because of the price but got it anyway. I brought it on my travel to Europe and so far have been satisfied with the results. My NEX 7 now has a perfect partner. I also have 35mm F1.8 Prime lens in addition to the standard kit.

40

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Mixed results

SEL1670Z 27/08/2017 by Micha2 (United Kingdom)

This is an expensive lens with many pretensions. It doesn't live up to them. There are mechanical problems in that the zoom ring is sticky in use but still slides out when carrying the camera. The stated zoom range is 16 to 70 mm but it isn't possible to use the 16 mm setting due to poor edge definition. This puts the range at 24 - 70 mm. This edge definition situation is not what would be expected from Carl Zeiss and puts the lens on a par with cheaper alternatives. I have now used it for around 1500 - 2000 images.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

5

0

29 Customer Reviews

0

The best lens

SEL1670Z 09/10/2017  (Canada)

I bought this len three months ago, and I am very satisfied with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Mixed results

SEL1670Z 27/08/2017 by Micha2 (United Kingdom)

This is an expensive lens with many pretensions. It doesn't live up to them. There are mechanical problems in that the zoom ring is sticky in use but still slides out when carrying the camera. The stated zoom range is 16 to 70 mm but it isn't possible to use the 16 mm setting due to poor edge definition. This puts the range at 24 - 70 mm. This edge definition situation is not what would be expected from Carl Zeiss and puts the lens on a par with cheaper alternatives. I have now used it for around 1500 - 2000 images.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

5

0

0

Light and easy to use

SEL1670Z 23/07/2017 by Nonick (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought from the Sony Centre in Carlisle where I received excellent customer service and advice on the use of this lens. I have now had the lens for three weeks and I am very pleased with the sharpness of the photographs and the fast focusing of the lens. Although it is not a macro lens it does produce excellent close up pictures

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Good all round lens

SEL1670Z 19/07/2017 by Morphy9 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had this a few weeks now and it takes Sharp photos and I use it as my "walk Around" lens. All was ready to take a shot. Just wish it had Power Zoom with in the price of this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Sony Vario-Tessar 16-70mm F4 Zoom lens

SEL1670Z 03/06/2017 by Chrispen4 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only had this lens about 2 weeks but the pictures I have taken are so sharply focussed - almost unbelievable!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Good quality, good range

SEL1670Z 24/05/2017 by Fiftysixa (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent lens, build quality good, crippling price the only negative

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Disappointed in image quality

SEL1670Z 17/03/2017 by richmat (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was quite surprised that the lens/camera configuration does not take a crisp sharp picture while outdoors with the camera (Sony a6500) set on program mode. Indoor is also grainy as the ISO adds light to the image.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

8

0

Nice lens

SEL1670Z 03/11/2016 by Jeremyg (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this with a A6300 to replace a large DSLR that didn't shoot video. Since I was intending to use it more for video than stills the smoothness of the zoom was important but I found it was pretty graunchy, also the lens suffered from shocking chromatic aberration, and this from a lens with Zeiss glass? Surely not! After a couple of weeks I thought this simply can't be right and took it back to the dealer - who swapped it out immediately and cheerfully. The replacement has a silky smooth zoom and I have seen no aberration since, though I haven't been forensic about it yet! The fact that f4.0 is available throughout the zoom range is great for video, not massively fast for stills work and sometimes I would like to be able to get a shallower depth of field, but as a first lens for the camera I find it a very good compromise. (I use my previous camera's 35mm/f1.8 for critical fast or shallow images on an adapter mount). It is light, the zoom doesn't slide about when pointing the camera down (my previous camera's zoom did). I happily recommend it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

3

0

Great Lens

SEL1670Z 13/10/2016 by Greg NW Indiana (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I use this lens on a A6000. This has become my go to lens with this camera. This produces images that are sharp at all levels from 16 mm to 70 mm. I am quite pleased with the quality. However, I feel that the color quality is significantly improved from the lens that came with the camera. The colors are so vivid.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

A serious lens!

SEL1670Z 05/09/2016 by pmacnight (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Nice heft to it, feels like a serious piece of equipment. Beautiful Zeiss colors. No problem with center focus. This lens was factory inspected for those of you Leary of this lens because of bad center focus reports as I was.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Fantastic sharp and fast lens

SEL1670Z 18/04/2016 by TerminalUnit (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brought this on the advice of my dad and glad I did, it is a fantastic sharp and fast lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Early days but the lens is proving top notch

SEL1670Z 29/10/2015 by Scouser38 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only had the Sony 16-70 for a few weeks, having made the move to the CSC platform recently. The lens has proved to be on par with my L series Canon glass it seems as sharp and is extremely quick focusing with no hunting. I'd certainly recommend this as an essential piece of glass to have on your A6000.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

3

0

Super nice lens

SEL1670Z 03/06/2015 by OsoTejano (USA)

Using this on my a6000 and am very satisfied with performance of this lens. Very good image quality across the full focal range. This lens is on my camera most of the time and works great in most situations.

12

8

0

Excellent lens which covers a lot of bases

SEL1670Z 31/05/2015 by Silverscreen (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this because I wanted the low light capability throughout the zoom range and also because of the very positive reviews I'd read online about it. I've had it a couple of weeks and shot landscapes and portraits so far - I'm delighted with the sharpness and quality of the images. It offers wide angle and a decent zoom for walkabout purposes.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

A great all round lens...

SEL1670Z 20/05/2015 by roryo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent picture quality and compact. Perfect for when you only want to carry the camera and one universal lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

A very good match to the Nex-7.

SEL1670Z 29/03/2015  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had a clear objective when I bought this lens. I wanted to achieve a lighter compact camera with a performance similar to my full frame SLR. I think I have done that. I am very impressed with the results. It is very sharp, enabling heavy cropping if required . overall it requires less adjustment in light room & gives very good colour rendering. It is also helpful to me that it covers the same range as my canon EF 24-105L f4 & its much lighter to carry about ! . Altogether a brilliant lens if rather expensive

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

4

0

Great walkaround lens

SEL1670Z 21/01/2015 by Akihabara168 (USA)

This Zeiss lens is a great walkaround lens and as a replacement for the kit lens. While a bit pricey, the improvement in image quality as compared to the kit lens (SEL1650 for my NEX6) is leaps and bounds. A f2.8 aperture would make this lens even better, but then the lens may end up too big and heavy to be useful as a walkaround lens.

21

4

0

Fantastic Lense

SEL1670Z 16/01/2015 by Cast a giant shadow (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens about a month ago and it is now my main lens for my A6000. The quality of the images is excellent making full use of the A6000's 24mp and the images are sharp - The build quality is great too. I highly recommend this lens to anyone with a Sony Nex, A6000 or A5000.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

18

1

0

Fab!

SEL1670Z 05/01/2015 by Hnetting (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fab lens which is as fantastic as the reviewers say. Is expensive it worth it for one really good lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

2

1

0

Very sharp lens

SEL1670Z 22/12/2014 by birdieee (USA)

Tested this lens on a6000. The pics are very sharp.

27

11

0

Take Everywhere Lens

SEL1670Z 05/12/2014  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Been using for a couple of months now and delighted with the overall image quality and functionality of this lens. Bigger and heavier than the Sony kit zoom lens, but attached to such a small light weight camera as the A6000, this is hardly an issue. I have a few prime lenses too, but short of macro facility... this lens gives me pretty much all I need for day to day travel photography... even used in studio for portraiture and product shots and the results were crisp with excellent colour clarity when processed through Lightroom as raw file. The native jpegs are fabulous too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

0

0

Sony Zeiss 16-70

SEL1670Z 08/11/2014 by johnnyfb (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought a while ago as a replacement for the 16-50 kit lens, which although compact is a bit "soft" for more high quality use. The Zeiss lens is amazingly sharp and the colour transmission is excellent, clearly very pleased with this lens so far, obviously this is an expensive lens but you do get what you pay for.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

Cracking little lens

SEL1670Z 04/11/2014 by keefiman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

you'll read a lot on the web about this lens. Lots photoistas waxing about soft corners etc. We'll I've been a Olympus & Contax user in the past and a Nikon user for 30 years and this is a great lens! If you have an 'a' series Sony with an E mount you must have a Zeiss lens - and this is the most versatile one in a VERY limited range.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

0

0

Sharp lens

SEL1670Z 09/10/2014 by Pauld77 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had this lens for about a year. It has a useful zoom range and it is sharp even at maximum aperture. Definitely worth the money.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

First thoughts on Sony 16-70mm e-mount lens

SEL1670Z 05/08/2014  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Whilst it is early days, I am very pleased with the images I have taken with this lens on my Sony 6000. The sharpness, clarity and colour output appears to be significantly better than the kit lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

0

Great lens but heavy

SEL1670Z 16/07/2014 by cormudgeon (USA)

A really great lens living up to the Zeiss tradition. My only niggle about this lens is its weight. But, then again the weight is a result of how well made the lens is. Zoom and focus are tight, no lens creep

18

6

0

Great lens

SEL1670Z 23/06/2014 by Ruadhan (United Kingdom)

Finding this lens a great companion to my a6000, it hardly comes off the camera! Crisp sharp photos with a solid sturdy build.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Pricey but a keeper

SEL1670Z 13/06/2014 by RalphNY (USA)

I've been waiting for a better quality daily lens for my NEX 7 to replace my kit and this one pretty much it. The lens is solidly built, light and good looking. Performance wise, very clear , fast and performs well on low lights. I was little bit hesitant because of the price but got it anyway. I brought it on my travel to Europe and so far have been satisfied with the results. My NEX 7 now has a perfect partner. I also have 35mm F1.8 Prime lens in addition to the standard kit.

40

0

0

Brings out the full potential of the NEX7

SEL1670Z 03/11/2013 by DeanInCO (USA)

I searched high and low this year for a great lens for my NEX 7 that I have had since it was released. And this is truly one fantastic lens. It truly brings out the full potential of the NEX7, making it a fantastic travel camera. I pop iy in my bag with my iPad and macbook Pro and I am good to go without having to lug a ton of gear around. I own a Nikon D800, D7100, Fuji X100s, and my iPhone, and I have more fun with this lens and this camera combo than any of the others. The only drawback I have seen so far is autofocus in AF-C mode. At times the camera hunts and focus is slow. Otherwise no complaints whatsoever. It is truly great fun to shoot with this combo.

50

6