Skip to Content
E 16MM F2.8

Product Reviews

$324.99

16

3.4 based on 16 customer reviews

4
5
3
2
2
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great compliment to NEX camera

SEL16F28 20/07/2010 by pulseHEAD (USA)

The best things about this lens are that it's small and light. The NEX cameras basically feel the same whether this lens is on the camera or there's no lens on the camera - which is great, because it's no secret that size and weight are pretty important with a system like this. That being said, this lens has some (noticeable) distortion that is unlike other wide angle lenses. It seems that this is in the RAW format as well, so it might be that some software correction is being applied in the camera, or the lens construction is a bit different than other wide-angle lenses. However, given the size and price, you really can't expect top shelf quality. The center is acceptably sharp - corners are not terribly sharp. Once I figured out the limitations of the lens, I found that I could get great results when working within its constraints. Overall, I'd recommend this lens, but I'm hoping that a comparably sized fast (f/2 or better) lens in the 24mm to 32mm range (36 to 48mm eq) comes out soon.

36

4

Most Helpful Critical
0

Very Poor Quality

SEL16F28 14/07/2013 by Roc889 (USA)

This 16mm was the first lens I purchased together with my NEX-5 about 14 months ago and was always a disappointment, a great focal length that fails to deliver on sharpness. The optimum aperture for sharpness turns out to be 6.3 or 7.1 and is still not great, which is a shame because Sony has created a great camera and an outstanding sensor in the NEX series. Otherwise settle for sharpness in the center but blurry or soft detail at the edge of the frame. And even at those apertures it's barely acceptable. Lots of chromatic aberration and color fringing that, yes, can be cleaned up in Lightroom or Adobe Camera Raw. I wound up getting the 18-55mm which I’ve used for about 9 months and turns in a much better performance at f8, both at center and edge of the frame. If you are into wide-angle lenses you may want to look into the Sony E 10-18mm.

29

1

16 Customer Reviews

0

Quite compact and great price

SEL16F28 04/06/2017 by Philcam (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got this lens to use on a gimbal. It's smaller than the kit lens with a wider aperture.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony SEL 16F28 and SELP1650

SEL16F28 28/05/2015 by sonyfan_sometimes (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sony SEL 16F28 and SELP1650 The design of the lens is such that if you put the Camera with lens down the focus ring on the end of the lens actually touches the surface. put it down a little hard and the focus ring bends and flattens, and the lens is not usable any more. so far I have had 3 of the SELP1650 lens all with the same focus ring squash problem, this is not a camera and lens you can put on your shoulder and use every day. excellent photo quality , not a very usable package, could not recommend it. probably best to buy a different Sony product

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

20

0

Dissapointing

SEL16F28 07/08/2013 by aggregate (Canada)

This lens is only good for shooting in bright light, or on a tripod, or for landscape photography. In all other conditions, images are never sharp enough, or outright ruined. Images taken with SEL1855 are ALWAYS sharper. So I rarely use this lens now, and consider money spent on it wasted.

21

4

0

Very Poor Quality

SEL16F28 14/07/2013 by Roc889 (USA)

This 16mm was the first lens I purchased together with my NEX-5 about 14 months ago and was always a disappointment, a great focal length that fails to deliver on sharpness. The optimum aperture for sharpness turns out to be 6.3 or 7.1 and is still not great, which is a shame because Sony has created a great camera and an outstanding sensor in the NEX series. Otherwise settle for sharpness in the center but blurry or soft detail at the edge of the frame. And even at those apertures it's barely acceptable. Lots of chromatic aberration and color fringing that, yes, can be cleaned up in Lightroom or Adobe Camera Raw. I wound up getting the 18-55mm which I’ve used for about 9 months and turns in a much better performance at f8, both at center and edge of the frame. If you are into wide-angle lenses you may want to look into the Sony E 10-18mm.

29

1

0

Great travel lens

SEL16F28 27/11/2012 by LEK2 (USA)

Overall a bargain and my default lens while traveling. Fine for exterior architecture, and good for interiors when paired with the Ultra Wide Converter (VCL-ECU1). This is the lens I used the most during a three week tour in England this summer.

15

3

0

Excellent Purchase SEL16f28

SEL16F28 21/10/2012 by CTPro (USA)

I use this lens on my FS100 Super 35mm. It is very sharp, with no CA and no noticeable distortion. The auto-focus is super quick, and low-light performance is excellent. I have also used this lens with macro diopter converter lenses with excellent results using manual focus. Works absolutely brillinantly with the VCL-ECU1 wide angle conversion lens as well.

9

1

0

Love This Lens

SEL16F28 16/03/2012 by AnnabellaS (USA)

I love my new NEX7 camera - it is the best I have ever had. I like the zoom lens that comes with the camera but it is big and often I just don't need the zoom. So I got this smaller lens and really like it. I think it takes great pictures. I also love the fact that the camera has a viewfinder and that it automatically switches around to macro, regular, backlit, etc., etc. - my other latest Sony camera has such features but you have to manually switch them around. So far I have not had any distortion that others have mentioned with this smaller lens.

22

7

0

Good for landscapes

SEL16F28 03/12/2011 by BillWill (USA)

This is a decent and inexpensive lens for landscapes and other wide-angle photos, but it's not a particularly good compact lens for everyday use. I'd really appreciate a quality compact lens for my 5N, but this is not a good general purpose lens. I hope Sony comes out with a lens similar to the "pancake" Panasonic Lumix G 20mm F1.7. My decision about which camera to purchase was a close call between a micro four thirds camera and the NEX, but I opted for the 5N because it offers better image quality, but the other offered more lenses and choice. If / when Sony comes out with a good general purpose, compact lens it will have a very respectable lens selection.

67

3

0

Can it be sharper?

SEL16F28 08/10/2011 by Photospeaker (USA)

I excitedly moved to the NEX from micro four thirds and ordered the 5N with this pancake lens. I thought this lens would be like the Lumix pancake lens but it does not compare well in sharpness and color definition. Sony, please make this a better lens!

63

6

0

Good lens for the price

SEL16F28 05/01/2011 by YaHoO87 (USA)

This is a good lens for scenery and landscape, and for the price, its a good bargain, but as for macro, its a no go obviously because its a wide angle.

29

13

0

Great multi-use lens

SEL16F28 04/12/2010 by jadgl968 (USA)

Good day to day lens because its small so it fits in your pocket, but if you are taking a group shot, someone on the edge might get distorted.

24

3

0

DARK PANORAMAS! WARNING!

SEL16F28 01/11/2010 by splurtana (USA)

I have no idea why this lens is very dark on indoor panaramic shots, thought this would be good for real estate photography, even when i adjust the f stop, its totally dark, others have complained online, but i dont see answers or dont know why.. its totally not useable in panarama mode unless its brightly lit.. a shame..

24

13

0

Awesome lens

SEL16F28 22/07/2010 by holsteincowboy (USA)

Very happy with the images i captured with this lens attached to my Nex 5 .Tack sharp images Beautiful colours Highly recommended

21

5

0

Great pancake lens.

SEL16F28 21/07/2010 by S10V8 (USA)

Great wide fast lens. I attach this to my NEX-5 and slide it in my pants pocket and go. I can always have it with me. The focus ring is by far the smoothest I have ever felt, I wish all my lenses had it. Sony has done a fantastic job with the A mount lenses. It's a very wide lens and ALL lenses have some distortion and fringing, the wider the more apparent it is, it is not a problem on this lens unless you are some nerdy pixel peeper. 99.999% of photographers will have no problem with this lens, the 0.001% who have a problem with this lens just have problems in general.

37

13

0

Great compliment to NEX camera

SEL16F28 20/07/2010 by pulseHEAD (USA)

The best things about this lens are that it's small and light. The NEX cameras basically feel the same whether this lens is on the camera or there's no lens on the camera - which is great, because it's no secret that size and weight are pretty important with a system like this. That being said, this lens has some (noticeable) distortion that is unlike other wide angle lenses. It seems that this is in the RAW format as well, so it might be that some software correction is being applied in the camera, or the lens construction is a bit different than other wide-angle lenses. However, given the size and price, you really can't expect top shelf quality. The center is acceptably sharp - corners are not terribly sharp. Once I figured out the limitations of the lens, I found that I could get great results when working within its constraints. Overall, I'd recommend this lens, but I'm hoping that a comparably sized fast (f/2 or better) lens in the 24mm to 32mm range (36 to 48mm eq) comes out soon.

36

4

0

Can't Recommend the 16mm

SEL16F28 15/07/2010 by Tomel (USA)

I can't recommend this lens. I couldn't achieve proper focus with either auto or manual focus modes. Also some of the worst purple fringing I have ever seen. Unfortunately, I had to return it. Will wait to see what others say before trying it again.

36

17