Skip to Content
22

3.9 based on 22 customer reviews

11
4
2
3
2
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

One for all lense

SEL18200LE 11/09/2015 by Phantom 43 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have been using for a couple of months now on my Nex 6 and A6000 and find I hardly ever need to remove it . Great travel lense.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Mediocre on a6000

SEL18200LE 03/06/2015 by OsoTejano (USA)

Tried this lens on my a6000 and returned it because it was a bit too soft especially on the outer quarter of the frame at all focal lengths. Stopping it down to around f11 helped some. The only focal lengths that were really decent were from about were from about 80-110mm. Also autofocus was very slow between 150 to 200mm(5 to 10 seconds in good light at f11) not really worth the premium price that Sony is selling it for.

8

0

22 Customer Reviews

0

Excellent all rounder

SEL18200LE 17/07/2017 by SPJ58 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this lens as my walk about lens on a SONY A6300 and have been really pleased with it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great for low light

SEL18200LE 03/07/2017 by Kinrose (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was expereincing problems taking photographs inside my local churches. This lens was recommended to me. It is teamed with a Sony a6500, both together make it a little heavier to carry than I was used to but I am using it without a tripod on most occasions and get a clear shot.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

great lens

SEL18200LE 28/05/2017 by patsyc6 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a fantastic " do it all " lens, it is on my Sony A600 all the time, 18mm good for indoors and 200mm great for capturing wild animals, far off sport ect. Its a good size on the A600 and not heavy

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Lens mount defect

SEL18200LE 09/05/2017 by Diogenes69 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens for travel. I specifically had planned to use it on a cruise in Australia and New Zealand. In the months before the trip I used it nearly on a daily basis. Initially it worked well and appeared to be an excellent travel lens. One problem surfaced with the lens mount during my trip. I noticed that the lens, when mounted on my a6000 (and also on my a6300) moves when I hold it and apply gentle pressure to rotate it clockwise and counterclockwise. During my trip I did not actually notice any problems with my photos. So I still use the lens and am planning to continue to do so, but am frankly hesitant to use it for future photo excursions. This problem appears to be a manufacturing-Quality Control issue and frankly raises concerns about what else may go wrong in the future. Just for perspective, I found no lens mount problems with my other Sony lenses.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Lens

SEL18200LE 25/01/2017 by Pellzy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This offers a great focal range negating the need for me to be constantly changing lenses when I'm out and about. Compact and light weight makes it a perfect travel telephoto that performs just as well as a landscape lens. Excellent auto-focus also.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

So far so good

SEL18200LE 26/12/2016 by Jo28 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

An early Christmas present, I love it, sharp pictures in all ranges, no more changing lenses every other shot.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Sony - E 18–200mm F3.5–6.3 OSS LE

SEL18200LE 25/01/2016 by PJYD (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a while ago now for my A6000. I like a flexible walkabout lens and this suits me well, rather than carrying several lenses. The results have been splendid. I am happy to say I can also use it on my new A7R Mk II, but as cropped images not full frame. For the A7 I have an SEL24-240 FF as well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Nice design!

SEL18200LE 30/10/2015 by Yeti (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Recently moved back from Alpha 7 to the Alpha 6000, which I had previously owned, so, although I had a couple of the original NEX E-mount lenses I needed a good, wide focal length range lens for my travel photography. I had never liked the look of the original 18-200 lens, although I knew that this particular lens was a good performer. However, the more recent "LE" version was a "better looker", also slightly lighter so I opted for this lens - and I've not been disapointed!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

2

0

One for all lense

SEL18200LE 11/09/2015 by Phantom 43 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have been using for a couple of months now on my Nex 6 and A6000 and find I hardly ever need to remove it . Great travel lense.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

0

0

Mediocre on a6000

SEL18200LE 03/06/2015 by OsoTejano (USA)

Tried this lens on my a6000 and returned it because it was a bit too soft especially on the outer quarter of the frame at all focal lengths. Stopping it down to around f11 helped some. The only focal lengths that were really decent were from about were from about 80-110mm. Also autofocus was very slow between 150 to 200mm(5 to 10 seconds in good light at f11) not really worth the premium price that Sony is selling it for.

8

0

0

Good glass, poor build

SEL18200LE 29/04/2015 by lampmaker (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with the lens quality not with design or build. The sun hood received a light knock cracking it's retaining ring. It is only 1mm thick by 11mm to hold the leverage of any pressure on the lens hood.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

4

0

Great lens. A true all rounder

SEL18200LE 27/04/2015 by Philegl (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really enjoying using this lens with A6000 Barrel is a little tight but this stops lens creep Captures great colour and detail

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Poor quality

SEL18200LE 29/12/2014 by JaneB (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Poor quality, cheap build. Nikon similar lens far outstrips Sony lens in my opinion.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

3

22

0

Great partner for the A6000

SEL18200LE 03/10/2014 by Sunbeam2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to save carrying two lenses when travelling. It was really good for a trip to the Goodwood Revival covering the close up details of classic racing cars and then the flypast of the Memorial Flight.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Exacellent travel lens

SEL18200LE 12/09/2014 by PhotographyAmateur (USA)

I have used this lens on an NEX-7 body for almost a year. It is an ideal all-purpose lens for a traveler who prefers to carry a single lens to cover most shooting situations. In my opinion, carrying a lens bag with multiple lenses negates the advantage of traveling with a small mirrorless camera. Image quality is surprisingly good for a zoom lens with an 11x zoom factor. I use this lens for outdoor daytime photography of mostly stationary subjects (predominantly cityscapes and landscapes), and have not noticed the slow focusing described in other reviews; the lens I have used acquires sharp focus quickly. I cannot address its performance for action photography.

6

0

0

Good for travel

SEL18200LE 22/07/2014 by Juanito21 (USA)

I bought this lens to go with a new A6000--a downsize from a full sized DSLR because we were going on a biking trip. The zoom range of this lens is great for casual travel. Although I'd like a faster lens, don't know that I'd want the added weight. I found the autofocus to be somewhat slow many times. For casual travel photos this is fine, but not too good for trying to catch action. I do not know whether the slowness is caused by the lens or the camera, though.

7

0

0

Terribly slow, inaccurate focusing.

SEL18200LE 23/03/2014 by DrAJM (USA)

I bought a set of the NEX 6 and this lens. The camera was great, and focused great with the kit lens, but with this telephoto, it was terrible. It was slow, and at anything over 100mm, it would overshoot or undershoot and lock on out of focus. Totally useless. I returned both, and Sony sent me a new camera and new lens. They were the same. It was not a fluke-the product is terrible. I returned them also. I was really bummed because I really wanted that camera. At least Sony customer service is great.

10

5

0

150-200mm bad

SEL18200LE 02/10/2013 by Ffranky74 (USA)

for in the 150-200mm lens 18-200LE will not be the focus and blur image

6

19

0

Not a good performer

SEL18200LE 27/11/2012 by Arf2 (USA)

Was able to use this lens at the same time as the original version for instant comparison under identical conditions. At 200 mounted on a CF Gitzo with RRS B60 Head, the image did not look sharp while focusing. Image file not sharp either. Tried the same with the original and was able to obtain a sharp image in the EVF and file. Stopping down did not seem to make much difference with the LE version but the original was marginally better (still good wide open) Acquiring focus was impossible at times but the old version would. This was under dark conditions. Overall the zoom was stiff and not pleasant to use. For the slight increase in width and two ounce difference would go with the original version. Its a very good performer. Regards al

27

7

0

Quality Glass

SEL18200LE 04/11/2012 by Steelhead (USA)

This is a great versatile lens with excellent image quality. It has a quality solid feel to it. It should not be expected to serve in low light conditions. That is a job for faster prime lenses. Out of the box, the zoom appears somewhat stiff but that goes away with use or by simply exercising it. There is no lens creep,... NONE. Yes, if you hang it on a strap, then hike or bike it may move but, well... Don't do that... not without using the lock anyhow. * The first image "mid zoom" was shot in subdued light at 54mm (79mm/35mm), f/9, .8s, 8sNDF, with a 200 ISO. A tripod was used with the long (almost one second) exposure. * The second image "full zoom" was shot in full sunlight fully extended at 200mm (300mm/35mm), f/6.3, 1/400, with a 100 ISO. This image was taken hand held. It was also cropped a bit tighter. As you can see from the second image, the Optical SteadyShot (OSS) functions well. However, as with any zoom of this range, in low or severely indirectly lighting conditions either a mono or tri pod is advised. This is an excellent lens for the money. Don't leave home without it,.. but supplement it with at least one fast prime.

39

2

0

2000 photos later...

SEL18200LE 26/09/2012 by RRRK (USA)

Initially, before purchase, I was confused with reviews I had read else in the Net. My perfect zoom lens would be 50-320mm, but there is no such available... Because the time was running out, I decided to buy this (SEL18200LE) lens and give it a try during my trip to Yellowstone. I was nicely surprised by the quality of the build. Everything feels nice and solid out of the box. Zoom and focus rings have appropriate resistance, the lens is on heavier side, but I find it very useful, especially while using tripod - it is well balanced for me. All rubber covered contact surfaces give nice "quality feel". Very useful feature of this lens is a lock switch, which comes handy during transportation. I have noticed that the lens tends to extend slowly while un-locked and hiking in the wild, but I do not find it annoying due to aforementioned lock feature. Of note - I have not yet encountered the situation when while shooting "straight down" the lens extends by itself, which was reported in some YouTube videos. After shooting couple thousand images I can say this lens is great. All the images came very crisp, naturally colored and nicely saturated. This lens has fast AF, performs well in low light conditions, gives nice bookeh when used in portrait situations and in my opinion it is great "everyday" lens #if you don't mind it's weight#. Overall: Good job Sony!

38

2

0

18-200 is really useful range, IQ is acceptable.

SEL18200LE 10/07/2012  (USA)

My own Nex lens ranking is like this. 1. Zeiss 24mm 2. 50mm F1.8 3. 30mm F3.5 4. 18-200 LE 5. 18-55 Bundle I like fixed range lenses because IQ is very reliable and low maximum aperture is make a great blur for portrait. Always want crispy crispy and crispy photo. First time, I used this lens at night with high ISO. Results are not good for the price. I just disappointed. I used tamron, sigma's superzoom lenses before. I got a similar feeling from this lens. Next day, I tried to use this sunny day with F7 to F11 and fixed 100 ISO. I just surprised with my photos. It looks totally different lens. Color is very stable, and easy to use zoom. Focus is absolutely fast. I know superzoom is built for outdoor photo. I think I will not have a chance to use my 18-55 lens again. 18-200 is a way expensive but I think it worth.

73

8