Skip to Content
22

3.9 based on 22 customer reviews

9
8
1
1
3
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

The best single lens FE solution at this time.

SEL24240 22/03/2015 by ebookman (USA)

SONY FE 24-240mm f/3.5-6.3 on A7s The lens, appears to me, to be surprisingly sharp for a super zoom. I think I am going to stop reading graphs and charts. After several days out on the desert with this single lens I am really impressed with the convenience of framing shots quickly over a broad focal range. Many shots would be very difficult to obtain in the rough terrain without a backpack full of lenses and a lot of hiking time. I never go on the desert alone and I almost never go with fellow shooters who would be patient. You can make the shot and keep moving. It is also easier to protect a single camera and lens from wind, dust and rain. As to the images themselves, the SONY FE 24-240mm f/3.5-6.3 on A7s creates an amazing raw file with wonderful shadow detail. I keep forgetting that I am working with smaller images than my A7r. There is also an image quality that I can not describe. This lens likes this camera. Having said that, the lens is certainly not perfect. It has a very stiff zoom. Wide aperture enthusiasts need not inquire. It is a great landscape lens. If the lens performs as well on the A7r, a compact super wide along with this lens would (pardon the pun) cover the whole landscape in a small package.

31

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Wonderful Lens, Inferior Mount

SEL24240 16/04/2015 by ArtisticCreator (USA)

I was so excited to get this lens. It fit my needs perfectly. Unfortunately it didn't fit the camera perfectly. Basically the mount on the lens is made from an inferior material that hasn't been accurately machined or heat treated. (I'm an Aerospace Quality Manager and I know a little bit about this type of thing) There is an unacceptable amount of play in the locking mechanism. Using the telephoto ring causes the play to be very noticeable. And as you turn the ring back and forth over time, the locking pin pushes into the metal on the lens mount pushing metal up and widening the slot for the pin. In the one month I had it, that slot continued to widen. Yes I returned it. For this price, the mount must be hardened stainless that should be machined to a tighter tolerance and fit snugly. If they fix this problem I will buy it in the future. But I will take a close look before I do.

57

12

22 Customer Reviews

0

Very versatile

SEL24240 28/09/2017 by Mangerj (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sharp enough across the zoom range on both full frame and APSC.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very slow

SEL24240 11/07/2017 by Ashuuk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Compared to the cannon very slow very basic and not very easy

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

7

0

Good zoom range lens

SEL24240 03/07/2017 by Marcus67 (USA)

Excellent zoom range and very good picture quality. Not excellent, but very good. Build quality superb. The only minus "is big and heavy"...

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Way Better than Expected! I'm Very Impressed!

SEL24240 13/06/2017 by AFREEMAN (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was the first lens I bought for the A7RII when I switched over from Nikon June of 2016. I was amazed how sharp and how fast the focus was. It got even faster after the software was updated on the camera. I have seen some youtube reviews of this lens where they try and talk down it's abilities due to the fact it's not a 2.8 lens throughout the zoom like on the G Master zoom lens. Don't listen to this as this lens performs fantastically! Well worth every penny! You will use this on every trip you take where you don't want to keep swapping lenses! Also I shot in the rain, at night, holding an umbrella, at DisneyWorld during the fireworks at a 1/50th of a sec, 6400 ISO and the shots were excellent! Get this lens! (OK, it is a bit heavy but you won't miss the shot!)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Great All-Around Lens

SEL24240 26/05/2017  (USA)

After soaking my and frying my NEX-5, and selling my Nikon stuff, I decided that the a7 was the choice for me. A quick stint with the kit lens left me disappointed, a new lens was needed. The 24-240mm F3.5-6.3 OSS immediately caught my eye. I love the extreme versatility of the lens, and the 10x zoom makes it great at tackling all types of challenges. I use it form sports to astrophotography, and everything in between. The only downfall is the weight, but I only really notice it after a full day of shooting, so nothing that hinders the lens too much. It was my only lens for about 1.5 years, and even now, with two other lenses in my kit, it still likely spends the most time on my camera than any of the other two. If your looking for one lens to cover all bases, this it the one for you.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

10

0

0

Excellent versatile lens

SEL24240 24/05/2017 by Dashy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A heavy lens with a good solid feel, I use it with my Sony a6500 camera. Slightly heavier than I would have liked but worth it for getting close to the subject. You can also take reasonable wide shots without changing the lens. So far I have not used a tripod with the lens and find the photos straight from the camera need very little sharpening if any. Glad Paul at UK Digital recommended I buy it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

All in one

SEL24240 29/03/2017 by Garethwmj (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just got too tired carrying three or four lenses around to get that one shot. Truth is it took too long to fit the correct lens to my camera then the moment had gone and a truck load of dust and stuff ready to invade the optics. Sure the lens is big and perhaps too heavy but lighter than my previous set up. The lens is sharp from portrait to landscapes. A better than expected solution.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

Solid Lens ideal when travelling light

SEL24240 20/03/2017 by Alfie1942 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only had the lens a few weeks and have not really put it to the test. However I am sure it will fulfil the role I bought it for - maximum versatility when travelling and really only want to carry camera body and one lens, as I shall when in Italy in May. The good feature are that it is full frame - hard to find in "travel" lenses. The consequence is a relatively restricted (10x!) zoom range and size and weight.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

8

0

SONY 24-240MM LENS

SEL24240 15/01/2017 by Bogeybuster (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love the quality of this lens and it's construction. The only reason I did not award 5 stars was because it erred a bit on the heavy side but that can be a good thing meaning it is well constructed. It covers a wide range from 24-240mm which is basically all I need for what I do.However if I am shooting a very special occasion then I would put on my Zeiss 55mm f1/8 lens where the quality is just outstanding although it is limited to what you can photograph.The 24-240 gives me all the range I need with more than acceptable results. I would definitely recommend this lens.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

8

2

0

Very Poor

SEL24240 10/10/2016 by Wee Malky (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Kept the lens over a weekend and sent it back to the supplier probably the worst lens I have ever had. Sad really thought this was my answer to a great travel lens on reflection the varying reports on line were correct some were good others bad I might have had a bad copy who knows. I have a great variety of Sony lenses both E-& FE mount and could not be happier with them we really need a good travel lens like a 18/24 to 105mm Sony are sadly lacking in this range and you cannot rely on Sigma to cover what you don't have.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

34

0

Mostly good but not completely

SEL24240 13/05/2016 by Nilacop (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Zoom ring very stiff to turn. Slight radial movementioned between lens and camera body when zooming in and out.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

8

0

Useful range

SEL24240 19/09/2015 by MicroPete (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this for the A7r ii, for the price its a good lens, I didn't want lots of lenses to carry and this fits nicely.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

11

3

0

Fantastic Travel Kit

SEL24240 02/08/2015 by georgemeow (USA)

This is a fantastic lens for travel! It's silent, quick, and reliable. This lens is very sharp for photographing objects from the size of a grapefruit to a statue. If you're going for tons of detail and challenging situations (low light, complicated contrast) you may want to stick with your primes... but you know that already. If you're looking for a single lens to take day-time photos of a hike or tour a city, this is perfect.

18

2

0

Versatile

SEL24240 14/07/2015 by Bigboytwin (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only just bought it and so far have not used it apart from in the garden so cannot give a review.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

47

0

Flimsy mount

SEL24240 09/07/2015 by Mikefocalpoint (USA)

This is a great all-rounder lens - no doubt. But that is downplayed by the flimsy mounting system that shakes, rattles and disconnects the electronics. Had turn off and on once in every half hour to reconnect the electronics between the camera and lens. Decided to return the lens.

26

11

0

Disappointing image quality

SEL24240 07/07/2015 by AAG1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

While I wasn't expecting prime quality from this lens I was expecting it to at least be on a par with similar superzoom I've used with other systems. While not terrible the image quality is not great and the slowness of the lens at longer focal lengths means in anything other than bright light you have to use high ISO settings which further compromises image quality.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

12

23

0

Nice Glass

SEL24240 17/06/2015 by GHUT (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a lens that stands alone when you consider zoom range, weight, and sharpness. It's maximum aperture leaves a bit to be desired, but, If you combine it with the Sony Alpha 7S - this is a combo that can go anywhere and shoot in any - and I mean ANY situation. This is a perfect example of a modern, well designed, high tech piece of gear.

10

0

0

Fair all-purpose lens for good light.

SEL24240 25/05/2015 by Logan1949 (USA)

The good --- Wide range 24mm to 240mm, 10x. Extends out with firm zoom ring. Extended lens will move back under pressure from the front. I cannot judge the effectiveness of the Optical Steady Shot in the lens because I have an A7ii with Steadyshot in the camera itself (which works great unless you have it on a tripod in a vibrating car). The limitations --- f/3.5 at 24mm, f/6.3 at 240mm maximum aperture restricts your ability to get more light in dim settings requiring a higher ISO which may result in more noise. Minimum focus-able distance with zoom is about a yard/meter so macro close-ups are not an option, The bad --- Occasionally, The locking mechanism between the lens and camera clicks loose when twisting the zoom; disconnecting the autofocus, f-stop, and the shutter itself, requiring the camera to be turned off and back on to reconnect it. On average, this has happened to me about once per 1-2 hours of use. Very annoying. I would only recommend this to a friend after they fix the loose mount issue.

29

1

0

Sony Travel Zoom FE Lens 24-240

SEL24240 25/04/2015 by Procul (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought for Travels (Holidays, Days out, etc) to replace the kit lens 28-70. Although a little bulkier and heavier, it does give me the wide aspect and zoom capabilities I have missed on holidays. I had to replace my carry case as the lens is longer than the kit one, a new skylight filter (72mm), upgrade the Gorillapod for the extra weight, and upgrade the cameras firmware for the lens. Easy enough to use on zoom and focus, I often use either auto or manual aperture (custom settings). The lens hood is very handy for the bright outdoors. Photos so far appear to be bright colours, stable aspect and good overall quality. No problems on shake or blur, and I am pleased with the lens performance in various lighting conditions. So I am happy with the purchase to date.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

18

2

0

Wonderful Lens, Inferior Mount

SEL24240 16/04/2015 by ArtisticCreator (USA)

I was so excited to get this lens. It fit my needs perfectly. Unfortunately it didn't fit the camera perfectly. Basically the mount on the lens is made from an inferior material that hasn't been accurately machined or heat treated. (I'm an Aerospace Quality Manager and I know a little bit about this type of thing) There is an unacceptable amount of play in the locking mechanism. Using the telephoto ring causes the play to be very noticeable. And as you turn the ring back and forth over time, the locking pin pushes into the metal on the lens mount pushing metal up and widening the slot for the pin. In the one month I had it, that slot continued to widen. Yes I returned it. For this price, the mount must be hardened stainless that should be machined to a tighter tolerance and fit snugly. If they fix this problem I will buy it in the future. But I will take a close look before I do.

57

12

0

ONE great versatile lens for the A7-R

SEL24240 08/04/2015 by HomePlanetImages (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens hasn't been off my camera since I received it. Why would it be? It's sharp at every focal length. It does vignette at 24mm, but it's very slight. The lens is heavier than I thought it would be, which just means it's a lot of glass. "Optical steady shot" seems to be working fine, whether or not the camera is on a tripod. So it's not fancy. No bells, no whistles, just a good all-purpose lens, which is what I've been waiting for.

17

0

0

The best single lens FE solution at this time.

SEL24240 22/03/2015 by ebookman (USA)

SONY FE 24-240mm f/3.5-6.3 on A7s The lens, appears to me, to be surprisingly sharp for a super zoom. I think I am going to stop reading graphs and charts. After several days out on the desert with this single lens I am really impressed with the convenience of framing shots quickly over a broad focal range. Many shots would be very difficult to obtain in the rough terrain without a backpack full of lenses and a lot of hiking time. I never go on the desert alone and I almost never go with fellow shooters who would be patient. You can make the shot and keep moving. It is also easier to protect a single camera and lens from wind, dust and rain. As to the images themselves, the SONY FE 24-240mm f/3.5-6.3 on A7s creates an amazing raw file with wonderful shadow detail. I keep forgetting that I am working with smaller images than my A7r. There is also an image quality that I can not describe. This lens likes this camera. Having said that, the lens is certainly not perfect. It has a very stiff zoom. Wide aperture enthusiasts need not inquire. It is a great landscape lens. If the lens performs as well on the A7r, a compact super wide along with this lens would (pardon the pun) cover the whole landscape in a small package.

31

0