Skip to Content
FE 24-70 mm F2.8 GM

Product Reviews

$2,899.99

32

4.5 based on 32 customer reviews

25
3
0
2
2
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Outstanding

SEL2470GM 21/06/2016 by keefiman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Being in transition from Nikon to Sony; I was hoping to use the Commlite adaptor on my 24-70E f2.8 VR as it is an amazing lens. However, the adaptor proved next to useless, particularly as the recent upgrade excluded E lines!! So my 24-70 was sold as soon as I could obtain the GM. It is as good as and even better in certain ways. Where as the E had a 'thin' Leica style rendering; the GM has more contrast and depth, i.e.3D. It has a solid build, and does add considerable weight to the A7. Not as large or heavy as the Nikkon E. I don't use the AF freeze button as I back button focus, which makes a lot of the AF modes redundant. If your budget can stretch a bit this lens will cover a large chunk of your needs, with pleasure and style!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

47

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Severe flare issues

SEL2470GM 10/11/2017 by Nzmumt (USA)

I am using this lens with my A7rii. In the long exposure it has severe flares that ruins the shot. I have 16 -35 zeiss f4 ı had no flare in the same conditions. This lens is such a disappointment

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

33 Customer Reviews

0

Worthwhile Upgrade

SEL2470GM 17/11/2017 by hmy7k (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this lens a few weeks ago to go with my A7rii camera as an upgrade from the 24-70mm F4 lens. I wish I had purchased it earlier. Whilst it is noticeably bigger and heavier its worth it for the extra sharpness and lens performance. I also like the focus hold button on the side.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Disappointed

SEL2470GM 14/11/2017  (USA)

I bought this lens 3 weeks. After my second use, my camera couldn’t detect my lens. As I have tourist waranty, I have to send lens to fix. You should replace me the new one instead of fixing mine. It seem like I got a refubish lens at this new price. This is unacceptable error for lens at this price

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

Lovely lens

SEL2470GM 14/11/2017 by CalvinD (United Kingdom)

Ive had lens about 2 weeks so very early to truly review. However I'm very pleased so far. I love the starburst effect possible with this lens and it's crispness/clarity. Only downside is it is heavy. It is a go-to lens so use it alot but would struggle if I only used a strap rather than a chest harness. However, it did replace the F4 and a Batis 80mm for travelling so is marginally lighter overall and takes less space in my backpack. Attached photo was an experiment of starburst, taken at f18.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Severe flare issues

SEL2470GM 10/11/2017 by Nzmumt (USA)

I am using this lens with my A7rii. In the long exposure it has severe flares that ruins the shot. I have 16 -35 zeiss f4 ı had no flare in the same conditions. This lens is such a disappointment

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Just awesome!

SEL2470GM 10/10/2017 by AndyDMC (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this in the summer, couldn't be happier! Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Outstanding Pro Performance

SEL2470GM 15/09/2017 by Action Photography (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great complement to my A7rII. Bright, sharp and clear. Auto focus is extremely accurate,locked right on the little bird without any searching.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Minor quibbles - Overall very good

SEL2470GM 03/09/2017 by MNPNW (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The optical performance of this lens is very good. I've used two copies, one a rental and the other purchased. Lens hood attachment not as robust as the Canon. Mounting on body is stiff on my new version. Zoom ring movement (force needed to zoom) varies a lot in the two I've used.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Prime performance with zoom

SEL2470GM 25/08/2017 by J Mad (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

this lens is heavy and expensive but if you demand excellent sharpness and image quality, this lens is a must have Sony E zoom. Works equally well on my a7ii and a6500 but with obviously different effective crop and t-stop. It's my primary go-to lens for most situations now.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Useless lens for useless camera

SEL2470GM 22/08/2017  (Canada)

I didnt waste my money on this product but have handled it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
23/08/2017

Hi, MartinReid, You may find these links helpful in resolving the issue with your unit/s:
https://docs.sony.com/release//Manual_4576640021.pdf,
http://support.d-imaging.sony.co.jp/www/cscs/accessories/?area=us&lang=en&mdl=SEL2470GM.
If you still need assistance, you may send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com. Please include your product details, exact issue and reference number (if available). Regards, Vincent

0

Outstanding quality

SEL2470GM 21/08/2017 by Chris7W (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased the SEL2470GM about 2 months ago and used it for the first time on a holiday to Tenerife combined with the Sony A9 it gives outstanding images.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Beautiful design and performance.

SEL2470GM 29/07/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Optical, mechanical and electrical perfection all in one lens!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Too expensive compare to its IQ

SEL2470GM 17/07/2017 by Sunshine7913 (USA)

Dont buy this just because of optical quality. It has soft edge sharpness while 16-35 provide a center to edge fine sharpness.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

9

0

Best all around lens !

SEL2470GM 10/07/2017 by DinoBat (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The best lens I've had for my Sony a7R II. I'll be taking this lens on my travels.

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great for Inde Filmmakers

SEL2470GM 09/07/2017 by Director D (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I changed from Canon to Sony and i don't regret it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

My Favorite lens - Incredible Bokah and Sharpness

SEL2470GM 05/07/2017 by Kojo (USA)

This lens have an Incredible Bokah and Sharpness. I had a photo shoot this past weekend and this lens never disappointed me. I was really impressed. If you are looking for Standard zoom with incredible image quality then this is for you. Great for portraits, landscapes and street photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Phenomenal quality

SEL2470GM 04/07/2017  (USA)

Switched to Sony a7 with kit lens from a Canon 5Dmark II with the 24-70 f/2.8 L, wasn't too excited with images at first then bought Zeiss 24-70 f/4 much improvement but..... With my Canon I loved most photos I took but wanted to stay mirrorless, sold the a7 went to a7rii with 24-70 f/2.8 GM. Shooting mostly 100 ISO trying to stay under 400 ISO, photography has gone from fun to ridiculous. More of my photos are not just good but phenomenal with this set up. Focusing is so quick and precise I fell like I didn't do much to get that crip look I long to see. I'm holding on to the f/4 as it is half the weight but cannot seem to take the f/2.8GM off as I love it so much. Heavy? Yes! But what I get out of it is so amazing the weight is the result of the glass that I am growing to love and don't seem to mind at all. Cost is only one factor as quality is but should be weighed more than cost and if you love the art of that second of time you just froze, then cost doesn't sting as much as the love of the frozen images you capture forever.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Excellent must-have lens with Sony a7 and a9

SEL2470GM 20/06/2017 by Greg20 (USA)

I recently bought a Sony a7R II and this lens for stills. I made the right choice. Both the sharpness and resolution is excellent. I just hope that Sony will make a real video camera compatible with these lenses like Canon does with the C300 or C500. That would make these lenses even more valuable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Amazing sharpness

SEL2470GM 17/06/2017 by Captain V (USA)

I was 24-70mm nikkor users until I saw Sony 24-70 Gm. The incredible binary Sony R M2 and 24-70 GM. This is the last point sharp and bokeh.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

It's like Magic!

SEL2470GM 16/06/2017 by AFREEMAN (USA)

I had put off getting the larger G Master lenses as they were larger and heavier and more expensive. I was perfectly happy with the prime lenses I had and the 24-240 is also excellent! But curiosity and great reviews online, as well as the fact I went years with the 28-300 Nikkor lens before going with the far more excellent Nikkor 24-70. So being used to that range a month ago I got the 24-70 G Master and wow! The weight doesn't bother me as it is lighter than the Nikkor version, and of course the A7RII is way lighter than the D4 I was using. So, to make a long story short this lens performs like a champ! The 2.8 still gives you great bokeh, and the 24-70 range covers all you need for portrait, pin-up, fashion shoots, and more!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Excellent LENS

SEL2470GM 14/06/2017 by veteran_with_a_camera (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens changed the photography game. If you have a Sony Alpha series than you need to get this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Lens

SEL2470GM 29/05/2017 by MicroPete (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

2nd one I have owned sold 1st when moved to another camera, now returned to Sony and love this lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

It's worth the money

SEL2470GM 16/05/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm a prime guy normally, but I got tired of missing shots because I had the wrong focal length lens mounted. This is a very sharp lens. I've not compared it to my Zeiss Loxia 21mm, which is very sharp. But from the images I have taken....I am very happy. At 24mm it is at its very best. For me it's an ideal keep on the camera most of the day lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Nice glass

SEL2470GM 30/04/2017 by Farfield (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Mixed with the a7rii it's an unbeatable combination

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Amazing Lens

SEL2470GM 06/04/2017 by sterlinw814 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've shot with Canon, Nikon, Tamron and Sigma lenses and cameras. This is by far my favorite lens combined with my A7II. Bokeh is excellent. Focus is fast and very sharp.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Great lens worth every penny

SEL2470GM 08/03/2017 by Highdigi (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a few weeks ago and so far very pleased with the images I have taken. Early days as yet but if the results keep coming as they have this lens is worth every penny

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great 24-70mm f2.8 GM lens

SEL2470GM 07/03/2017 by BooBear (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens is extremely sharp and easy to use. It's on my camera 90% of the time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Exceptional Picture Quality

SEL2470GM 04/02/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this 2 weeks ago and the difference over my previous lens is stunning. If you can afford the high cost of the GM lens, I highly recommend it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

Great Main Lens

SEL2470GM 10/01/2017 by chriscamera (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens to fill the gap between the 16-35mm wide angle and the 70-200mm telephoto. I had envisaged that it would be permanently on my A7R2, and this has proved correct, as it is an ideal focal length for general use. The f2.8 allows use in darker shots as well as adding an excellent bokeh when required. The photos taken with it live up to the good reviews from various sites, with sharp images throughout the frame, with no noticeable fall off on the edges or corners. With a narrow UV filter attached I have not experienced any vignette. Auto focus is excellent and fast. Manual handling of the lens adjustment rings is firm without being difficult. I like the lock which stops lens creep. If I have a criticism it is the weight, I changed to Sony full frame from Canon to cut down on the pack weight I seem to have to carry with me, particularly when flying. This lens is heavy and big, but it performs well and is well made and constructed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

1

0

Excellent lens great picture and very sharp

SEL2470GM 13/10/2016 by BOY GED (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent lens i keep it on my camera all the time good for landscapes and portraits quick focus and very sharp images.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

0

0

Increasing number of high quality lenses

SEL2470GM 01/09/2016 by GPS7 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent much needed pro spec 24-70mm lens for the Sony E system. Look forward to more high quality lenses from Sony in the future. Especially a long telephoto and a 16-35mm.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

0

0

Super sharp

SEL2470GM 05/08/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the FE 24-70 f2.8 GM about 2 months ago and have not been disappointed. Super fast focusing om my A7RII and so very sharp. It is heavy though.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

19

1

0

Outstanding

SEL2470GM 21/06/2016 by keefiman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Being in transition from Nikon to Sony; I was hoping to use the Commlite adaptor on my 24-70E f2.8 VR as it is an amazing lens. However, the adaptor proved next to useless, particularly as the recent upgrade excluded E lines!! So my 24-70 was sold as soon as I could obtain the GM. It is as good as and even better in certain ways. Where as the E had a 'thin' Leica style rendering; the GM has more contrast and depth, i.e.3D. It has a solid build, and does add considerable weight to the A7. Not as large or heavy as the Nikkon E. I don't use the AF freeze button as I back button focus, which makes a lot of the AF modes redundant. If your budget can stretch a bit this lens will cover a large chunk of your needs, with pleasure and style!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

47

0

0

24/70 f2.8 first class,fast focus ,

SEL2470GM 26/04/2016 by Kentweddingpix (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

As wedding photographers image quality is paramount and this lenses delivers, sharp images with smooth full off at f2.8, fast focus on our a7r ll's

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

37

30