Skip to Content
59

4.3 based on 59 customer reviews

33
16
7
1
2
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

It is OK for the money

SEL2470Z 10/03/2015 by Skyviz (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is an OK lens. I think the distortion is a little high and I don't like the focus by wire. It is pretty sharp and chromatic aberration is OK. I have so many Zeiss ZF lenses and this lens has a lot to live up to. Slightly disappointed it is not f2.8 even if the price is a lot more, but the OSS works well. I have the A7s and the A7ii and it works well with both

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Good but not awesome.

SEL2470Z 26/09/2014 by AlfredoG (USA)

The quality is good but nothing out of this world. Lots of distorsion at 24mm (because it is a wide angle). My review would have been higher if the price would have been lower.

6

0

59 Customer Reviews

0

Sony

SEL2470Z 13/11/2017 by Pedunki80 (United Kingdom)

I bought this product and haven't put it down it's the best purchase I made in a long time

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Just OK

SEL2470Z 01/10/2017  (USA)

Bought this to replace the 16-55mm kit lens. I'm disappointed with the relatively small improvement for the cost. For a Zeiss lens I expected much better IQ compared to the kit lens- it is a modest improvement but should be much sharper especially in the corners.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Ziess glass

SEL2470Z 28/09/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have wanted some Zeiss glass for a long while and have been very please not only by the quality of the image but also the great design, it feel good in the hand and has a very smooth action

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Do "good copies" really exist?

SEL2470Z 24/09/2017 by Rick DS (USA)

I've returned or resold 4 copies before giving up. I would buy another instantly if I thought it might be as good as some tested on DXO and other websites - even or close. The lens is small, well built, and with excellent IQ in the center of the field at most apertures. 3 copies we too soft at the edges and corners for printing large at both ends of the zoom at all apertures. The 4th copy was noticeably better only in that the edges sharpened up a little at f8-11 at wide and telex settings. All brands of 24-70mm f2.8 lenses are significantly sharper across the field at all apertures. The distortion level is another story that may be of greater concern to some. Hopefully a lens maker will come up with a small standard zoom that lives up to the abilities of the A7r/A7rII cameras like they have with primes.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Average Lens

SEL2470Z 29/07/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Expected this lens to be sharper. Am disappointed in the quality of the pictures I get from it. Paid a premium for a Zeiss badge!

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Versatile Standard Zoom Lens

SEL2470Z 22/07/2017 by ipollen (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is an ideal lens for travel photography as the focal lencth range of 24mm to 70mm will cover 80% of my needs. There are plenty of reviews out there complaining of poor image quality but I have not found this to be the case. I will say it is a little over priced but at present there are not many alternatives.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

A lens to go everywhere with.

SEL2470Z 03/07/2017 by anthony71571 (USA)

I bought this lens a couple of months ago to shoot a volleyball game out of a A6300. The results were great even under poor lighting. I did edit most of the pictures on Lightroom, but that's just more for artistic interpretation. Great lens and highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4

0

Awesome Lens

SEL2470Z 10/01/2017 by ac058 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was the very first lens I bought for my Sony A7r. I've been using it constantly for the past 2 years and I have to say it's one of my favorites. The new 24-70 G master might be better but, for the price you can't beat the sharpness you get with this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

2

0

Solidly Built

SEL2470Z 27/11/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as part of a light weight solution for my outdoor photography, I cover some miles and need high quality but at a lighter weight. This along with the A7ii body has more than achieved this. Initially this was for test shooting and site surveying, it has now become the main camera for the shoot saving me a lot of back ache! Each opportunity it gets it shines.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

2

0

THE LENS THAT MADE A6000 more AWESOME !!!!!!!

SEL2470Z 15/11/2016 by dexdor (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens brings out more detail..with the a6000 for me it's well balanced.. even when I need to use digital zoom pics are acceptable .hard to add photos to this review.. as the files are tooo big ...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

0

Lens

SEL2470Z 11/08/2016 by A Rainy Night in England (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good to use although it would be nice if maximum aperture was f2.8.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

7

0

Great Lens

SEL2470Z 11/08/2016 by Jacquib (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens before going to India for a wedding...the lens performed great and the photos were precise, sharp with beautiful colours. Focus is easy and precise..love this lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

2

0

Good for the money

SEL2470Z 02/05/2016 by keefiman (United Kingdom)

It's a delight to own, as a light weight moderately priced walk around travel zoom. Not as sharp as expected but good colour rendering. Not bothered about bokeh myself, but it can deliver in the right conditions. uf you want an 'ace' 24-70 go for the G.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

Lens for Sony a7RII

SEL2470Z 02/04/2016 by Malky6 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens at the Photography show just over 1 week ago. Recommended by retailer. It has so far proved to be a great buy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Best lens ever purchased

SEL2470Z 03/02/2016 by Cacey (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens to complement my new camera, a Sony A7r ii. It was important that I produced great photos the first time I used my new camera and wow, was I pleased. Amazing quality fron a great Sony pairing and I know I will get endless endless enjoyment from this lens through its great build and top top quality. Do yourself a huge favour and purchase one as soon as you can you will not regret it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

7

0

Great walk about lens

SEL2470Z 11/01/2016 by chasby (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I use primes most of the time but as a reliable no luggage, no nonsense lens with great glass this more than does the job.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great standard zoom lens for full frame

SEL2470Z 16/09/2015 by Pauld77 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recently upgraded to Sony full frame. This lens is beautifully balanced on the A7 body. It is smooth to operate and gives beautifully sharp images.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

1

0

Super sharp

SEL2470Z 11/09/2015 by fboleto (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am a new Sony user, coming from a canon world, I must say this lens is super sharp and versatile from macro to portraits.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

The best of the best

SEL2470Z 11/09/2015 by Ray Bilcliff (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my first Zeiss lens and I have to say is it is quality. I know you have to pay more, but it is worth every penny you will spend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

fits the bill

SEL2470Z 06/07/2015 by warwick72 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having upgraded an A6000 + sony 16-70 f4 zeiss for an A7ii and the sony 24-70 f4 zeiss and having read numerous reviews beforehand, I was slightly concerned as to whether the 24-70 would at least equal the 16-70 in performance. But I should not have been concerned for the 24-70 surpasses my expectations and is the perfect companion for the A7ii.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

It's just OK

SEL2470Z 23/04/2015  (USA)

I love this focal range but not this lens. I'm shooting at ISO's of 500 and 800 and I'm still getting noisy images, way more noise than I feel one should get at these ISO's. At this price I'm disappointed with it overall as it is not nearly as sharp as my ancient Nikkor 28-70 f/2.8 D lens which I bought used two years ago at $200 less than what this one cost. It just doesn't perform nor give me the Image Quality I desire and at this price I feel that it should offer better. It could have something to do the a6000 I'm using the lens on too. If you hold the lens in one hand and the grab camera with the other just as you when shooting, you can feel a slight give back and forth between the lens and the camera. At least once or twice during shoot I've done the camera drops the aperture setting as if there is no lens connected any longer and a slight turn between the two as mentioned above bring the lens back to life on the camera. I've also heard the squealing near 70mm today as if it was stuck in a rut trying to focus. I zoomed moved the focal ring all the way to 70 and the squealing continued, so I moved the focal ring back towards 24 and it stopped thankfully. So yes I seem to have an issue with the lens and or the camera I own which is why I give this lens the rating I do but I've also read numerous review about this lens and not praised as a top performer at all so until a better one is released this is what you'll have to accept, well I hope that you won't have the issues I'm having.

4

24

0

Not a fantastic zoom lens by Zeiss as I expected.

SEL2470Z 20/04/2015 by Lingham (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this lens some months ago and had used it several times and formed an opinion that it is not an exceptional quality lens as I expected from Zeiss.Good enough for candid photography.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

6

0

Questionable to purchase

SEL2470Z 13/04/2015 by FergusM (USA)

This lens can really disappoint with it's surprising lack of sharpness... misses expectations for the price!

2

9

0

Great crisp lens.

SEL2470Z 29/03/2015 by Muddly (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I always think there isn't much to say about a lens. But this does the job and works brilliantly with my A7 II.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

STUNNING LENS...

SEL2470Z 16/03/2015 by John Batten (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This excellent lens lives on my a7ii. The combined weight of ±1,000gms puts no strain on my neck. Results on my 30" Apple Cinema Screen at full size are pin sharp. The attached snaps were nearly all grabbed on a dull morning within 200yds or so of Nelson's Column in London

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

1

0

It is OK for the money

SEL2470Z 10/03/2015 by Skyviz (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is an OK lens. I think the distortion is a little high and I don't like the focus by wire. It is pretty sharp and chromatic aberration is OK. I have so many Zeiss ZF lenses and this lens has a lot to live up to. Slightly disappointed it is not f2.8 even if the price is a lot more, but the OSS works well. I have the A7s and the A7ii and it works well with both

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Everyday Lens

SEL2470Z 09/03/2015 by simonog (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this with the camera rather than the lower specification 28-70 mm kit lens. This lens is an excellent everyday lens for amateur usage. Crisp, clear, stable.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Happy with it, really good results

SEL2470Z 10/02/2015 by BarneyB (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a few weeks ago with my new A7 II. I have sent back the first copy because the sides on 24mm were really bad. This second copy is better, but it is still far from perfect. I have tested it and over 30mm everything is super sharp, and even at 24mm stopped down is useable. So I decided to keep it, because I will get the 16-35 as well, and that will cover the weak 24mm part. So apart from this it is a really good lens, really sharp and lots of detail. I recommend it! And if you are a street/portrait/family photographer, you won't even notice this problem, it will be a perfect lens. I like the colours it produces, and the built is really high quality as well.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

A Great lens for a great camera!

SEL2470Z 01/02/2015 by jeremiahgelles (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Sony A7 is a wonderful little camera that avoids the hassle of lugging around a DSLR. This lens gives the camera a nice versatility and, because it is a Sony-Zeiss, is of the finest quality. Unless you are a professional photographer, you won't stop using this camera except for occasions such as wildlife shooting that require special equipment.

1

1

0

Ideal Lens for A7S

SEL2470Z 17/01/2015 by palaoa (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

In general I prefer single focal length lenase, like the 35mm f2.8 Sony/Zeiss E mount lens that I used on A7R earlier today of a whale leaping out of the water. It was a very long way away, but the high resolution of A7R made this image possible. The 2nd image is cropped from the 1st; the inset image is from the 2nd. On A7S which is the high-iso champion, but with 1/3 the resolution of A7R, this 24-70 mm Sony/Zeiss zom lens is ideal because the "cropping" can be done in camera.

4

5

0

Best lens for a7

SEL2470Z 09/01/2015 by Lopusnak (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the a7s and this lens is sharp and just great. Highly recommend it. Light weight and just is perfect fit for the a7 series. Love it.

3

2

0

NOT enthusiast grade glass!

SEL2470Z 02/01/2015 by TJer (USA)

I'd hoped for a better experience from this lens than I had ... Had to return the first iteration and try several others in store to find one that didn't have: excessive vignetting, overall image softness across the range and especially in the corners between 24-35mm. In addition, when I found a lens that seemed to be a better representation I still had to tune the lens in camera when I got home to eliminate excessive back focus (which may be the cause of so many of the lenses looking "soft" while trying to find an acceptable lens)! This lens is "hit or miss". Be prepared to accept a mediocre version and then having to do some tuning in camera to get it where it should be out of the box. Now I can enjoy the lens but this is frankly an unacceptable experience for a product with this cost and coming from a company like Sony while wearing the Zeiss badge. I'd also considered the 28-70mm kit lens in the beginning but unfortunately had heard that it is much, much worse (typical kit lens performance!).

12

2

0

Great lens, wish it was an F2

SEL2470Z 30/12/2014 by Easttexasonyuser (USA)

Title says it all. I just wish it was faster.

3

8

0

Excellent, sharp

SEL2470Z 28/12/2014 by Mayie (USA)

This lens is sharp in most of its focal lengths. Suffers a bit of edge distortion towards 24mm. Otherwise its the go to lens for most of my photos.

9

1

0

Exceptionally Nice Piece of Glass

SEL2470Z 28/12/2014 by bearmusic (USA)

We've just switched from full-frame Canon gear to the Sony a7r, and part of the reason why, aside from general compactness, is these wonderful Zeiss T* lenses. I'm a retired professional photographer, and I can't stand mediocre glass. This lens has exceeded my expectations.

7

1

0

Great lens

SEL2470Z 27/12/2014 by JeffL (USA)

This lens is a great all purpose walk around lens. This is not a prime lens so don't expect the specs you would get with a prime. I use this on my a7 and it's great, lightweight package. Did two weeks in the Pacific Northwest and came back with 1800 images. Overall I'm very pleased with this somewhat overpriced zoom.

0

2

0

Worst Lens Ever

SEL2470Z 27/12/2014 by SilverLake1970 (USA)

Looking for a lens so slow you will constantly have to tell your friends to "stop moving" and then qualify "be even more still than that" once they have frozen in place? This lens is for you. Looking for a lens that warps your image slightly in all the wrong places, making all your subjects look 4-15 pounds heavier when all the way at 24? This lens is for you! Do you get a thrill spending too much money on a lens that will be the sole cause of you switching back to Canon? This lens is for you!!!! Highly recommend for international trips to make you so frustrated with your image you contemplate throwing it off of a ferry in Croatia. Also great to regift it to your sister in law once the Sony store won't take it back because you were out of the country during the 30 day return window.

3

27

0

Fantastic lens extremely sharp.

SEL2470Z 19/12/2014 by Bigboytwin (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens few weeks ago and am well pleased with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

architectural photography lens for serious amateur

SEL2470Z 18/11/2014 by architectKD (USA)

Just got back from a trip abroad using the lens to photograph buildings and cityscapes from details to indoor and outdoor views - very, very pleased with the results.

2

1

0

Versital fe lens for A7/A7R/A7S

SEL2470Z 15/11/2014 by Robert5017 (USA)

The FE 24-70 is versatile. But for a lens with an f/4.0, this lens was expensive. I needed a single lens for my new A7R. The FE 24-70 has lens stabilization. (Sony calls the feature "Optical Steady Shot.") I wish the body was stabilized, like my Olympus E-M1, E-M5, and E-5. Perhaps the rumored Sony "Pro" mirrorless FF, which may be released in 2015, will have in-body stabilization. I shoot Olympus m4/3 and 4/3 so I have no native lenses for the Sony A7R which I could mount with an adapter. I've ordered the Zeiss 55mm FE f/1.8 and I look forward to shooting with the 55mm. I also look forward to more fast Sony FE primes in 2015. In the A7R menu, you can turn on the APS-C feature and the 24-70 is magnified 1.5x. This ads to the versatility of the FE 24-70.

6

1

0

Very happy

SEL2470Z 20/10/2014 by asammygjoint (USA)

I use this with my a6000 and despite it being an APS-C with a full frame lens, the pictures look great. This is my first lens and I'm really happy I got it. It's now my kit lens on my a6000 and I'm looking at the 70-200 Zeiss. I'd easily recommend this to anyone with an e-mount camera.

3

4

0

In love with this lens!

SEL2470Z 17/10/2014 by KrisKnight (USA)

I absolutely love this lens and the 7S camera I bought to go with it ;) I found magic when I went to shoot in Park City in the mountains using the in-camera apps.

5

4

0

The Perfect Lens for The A7/A7R

SEL2470Z 07/10/2014 by LarryW2EJ (USA)

This is the perfect all purpose lens for the high res A7 and the ultra high res A7R. I waited with the new camera (A7R) body and no lens, until this lens came out. It was worth the wait. I'm a pixel peeper and this lens does not disappoint. It's not too big or too heavy and it works so well. It has the constant f4 throughout its whole range, so if it doesn't seem all that fast at 24mm it does at 70mm. Great lens for most purposes.

5

2

0

Top Lens

SEL2470Z 02/10/2014 by photooutdoorsman (USA)

This is a workhorse of a lens for me until the wide angle 16-35 becomes available. It is sharp and preforms as good as it's big brother 24-70 f2.8 It is light and great for hiking and when coupled to the A7r it is a powerful tool in my camera bag. I did testing for sweet spot and the lens performed super at all focal lengths f/8 the best but 5.6 to 16 was also excellent with f4 and 22 useable. I have used the lens wide open on stars and the performance is phenomial.

12

1

0

Happy with the purchase, though it could have been

SEL2470Z 27/09/2014 by kitchu (USA)

Happy with the purchase, though it could have been better. Excellent performance for the size.The distortion at 24 mm is not easily correctible even with Adobe Lightroom

4

2

0

Nice Light 24-70mm Zoom Lens

SEL2470Z 26/09/2014 by signgrap (USA)

Very well made lens with a beautiful feel when zooming. Not quite as sharp as the 55mm lens. Compared to the f2.8 Canon and Nikon versions of the lens it is noticeably lighter and smaller which is expected since it is an f4 lens.

3

2

0

Good but not awesome.

SEL2470Z 26/09/2014 by AlfredoG (USA)

The quality is good but nothing out of this world. Lots of distorsion at 24mm (because it is a wide angle). My review would have been higher if the price would have been lower.

6

0

0

Great Lens for AR7

SEL2470Z 21/08/2014 by SudhaP (USA)

Solid, smooth and sharp. I have used mostly Zeiss lenses for over 4 decades. This lens compares with the best of them. Congratulations Sony!!

5

2

0

Sony - Vario-Tessar T* FE 24-70mm F4 ZA OSS

SEL2470Z 08/08/2014 by Just a barrow lad (United Kingdom)

Have had it now for 2 months and love the results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

V-T 24-70 ...............A-1

SEL2470Z 20/07/2014 by Bill1111111111111111 (USA)

My Vario-Tessar T FE 24-70mm F4 AZ OSS performed wonderfully as I played with my new "a-7" mirrorless camera system during a week in Jackson Hole, Wyoming, recently. Easy of handling, and pristine focus capabilities made for a cakewalk....... with more practice I will be able to push the envelope a bit.......many thanks for a superb product,.

10

1

0

Very good lens

SEL2470Z 17/07/2014 by RickyAlpha (USA)

I love the images from this lens, and the OSS is really great. I've hand-held down to 1/15sec at 70mm. I just wish: it costs less; it had lower f-stop. I love the zoom, but I'm beginning to wish I had the 55mm 1.8 prime instead (but it may be as well as). :-)

8

2

0

Nice Walkabout Lens

SEL2470Z 23/06/2014 by kensom (United Kingdom)

Easy to use but best on 'automatic' mode. Good colour rendition and pretty sharp throughout all apertures. Do not expect this lens to be as good as the 55mmF1.8 or 135mmF1.8 but it is very useful for those walkabout shots - which do not disappoint. Get one, I'm pleased I did!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good but expensive

SEL2470Z 03/06/2014 by SMary (United Kingdom)

Its a seller's market for the full frame E mount lenses - this is the only current choice if you want wider than 28mm, which as a landscape photographer I do! In general the lens performs well, but it does have a very large amount of in-camera correction which saps its resolution somewhat on the A7r. It makes a quite nice combination with the A7r and does manage to take really nice portrait shots. It has optical stabilisation which sets it apart from anything you can mount on the camera via an adapter.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent performance

SEL2470Z 02/06/2014 by nickj (United Kingdom)

Sharp images, easy to use. Reasonably compact a little heavy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent Lens

SEL2470Z 09/05/2014 by DBrown (USA)

I have to say I love this lens. After putting it through some tests I found it to be very sharp throughout the len's range. Reading some reviews about the focus speed being slow, I didn't have this issue...it seems as fast as any other F4 lens I have. Great everyday lens...tad on the heavy side but I'll take that any day over being cheaply built.

18

2

0

Great lens

SEL2470Z 04/05/2014 by Bruinista (USA)

Wonderful color rendition. Sharp lens. Small form factor fits very nicely with the a7.

14

2

0

General zoom for A7R

SEL2470Z 04/05/2014 by redgraves (USA)

Lens is a little larger and heavier than 55/1.8 but covers a nice range. Tests I did on sharpnes in the corners shows very good performance as does a number of independent tests not as good as the two primes (35, 55) but you won't notice this for 99% of your shots. It is an ideal walk around lens and fits nicely in a small camera case.

23

2

0

This new lense by Sony has potential

SEL2470Z 04/05/2014 by Redline (USA)

I like the lens but it is less sharp at 24mm than at 35mm to 70mm range. The image stabilization works well and reduces the need for a tripod. I hiked with the camera and lens on dusty trails for three days without any dust related issues. This is my normal lens on the Sony A7R. Overall I like the lens and hope there will be a software fix to correct 24mm soft focus issue.

21

1

0

It's a Zoom - what did you expect?

SEL2470Z 28/02/2014 by LeicaBossLovesSony (USA)

It's hard to describe how much I like the A7r - but one of the things that comes with it is that punishing 36MP sensor. I knew in my heart that a mid-level (but premium priced) zoom lens would not be perfect - but my hopes were high. Basically, it's an average peer to lenses like the Canon 24-105 f/4, 24-70 f/4, and Sony 16-50G. Shooting with the lens, a few things are very clear. First the BAD: 1) It is Not a bag of prime lenses. You will not see nearly the quality of the FE 35mm and 55mm lenses, or other system primes mounted via adapter 2) The distortion is extreme. The camera will try to correct this if you shoot JPG or process RAW in Sony software - but I use Adobe LR. The distortion is wild at 24mm and 70mm - you will see pixel smearing and lose field of view if you correct it. 3) The corners are very soft at 24mm - 28mm, no matter how you stop down. There is no way to improve that. If you resize down to 25-50% it looks a little better (as expected) 4) 70mm is not terribly sharp. Actually, you probably get about as much detail at 70mm as you would at 60mm or 55mm and cropping. This means, that you really have a very good 35-60mm zoom lens, and a kind of so-so 24-28mm and 60-70mm lens 5) Autofocus is rarely quite right - for critical focus I always have to use DMF to fine tune things The GOOD: 1) Center sharpness is great - and this is the part that matters most 2) The contrast and resulting colors are very good, almost Zeiss-like 3) The performance between 35mm and 55mm is excellent - like REALLY exxcellent, stop down just a little to get a very good sharpness across the frame 4) The optical stabilization is amazing. I'm shooting 50mm at 1/5sec with no problem. I'm loving it! Bottom line - this is a zoom lens. It's expensive, but fair considering the reasonable size. Don't expect miracles - it's a zoom lens. For what it is, it's an average and solid performer. I'm keeping it. If you don't need 24mm or aren't very particular, consider the kit lens. It's probably 70-80% as good and less than half the price.

126

7