Skip to Content

$1,299.99

16

5.0 based on 16 customer reviews

16
0
0
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

17 Customer Reviews

0

So far, it's just beautiful!

SEL24F18Z 17/11/2017 by Chloe1234 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Pricey but definitely worth it! It does everything for you. The depth of field is gorgeous! (But if you don't like a strong depth of field it might not be right for you) The F1.8 is just amazing for video in a low light environment. Makes all portraits sharp and clean so far, can't wait to test it on landscapes. For any constructive feedback: physically smaller would be grandly appreciated.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb lens

SEL24F18Z 30/07/2017 by Taijiallan (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only had this lens for a short time, but it is the best lens to match my new a6500 for all purpose shooting. Previously used on my Sony 5n and made a great leap in the quality of photos taken. Very clear in low light and easy to hold and carry though not pocketable as the 1650 power zoom I use while traveling.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent

SEL24F18Z 08/01/2017 by arijitbasu (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Outstanding clarity and contrast. Use it on my A 6300.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens although expensive

SEL24F18Z 26/08/2016 by Mal42 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens a few weeks ago to use with the a6000. I have owned the a6000 for a while but haven't used it much because I also have the A7R Mk2 which as a full frame camera has many advantages. However, my very first shoot with this lens has convinced me to make more use of the camera.I've attached two images to show its versatility...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Top quality lens

SEL24F18Z 28/06/2016 by Dashy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sel24f18z is a top quality lens it feels solid and well made. I take photos using the RAW setting and find photos taken with this lens come straight from the camera looking sharp and vibrant they need very little doing to them. Set the camera to JPG and you get the same sharp vibrant photos that show every detail without having to do anything to them. It's also an excellent lens for closeups of flowers etc, the subject is sharp with a nice out of focus background.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

0

Stunning, excellent street+ lens

SEL24F18Z 28/10/2015 by keefiman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Lens with an exceptional track record, so I don't really have to go into detail here. Sharp with beautiful colour rendition and sharpness. Check the results on reviews.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Super low-light lens

SEL24F18Z 17/04/2015 by leelive (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Super lens. No problems. Been a trusted companion to my a6000.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Best lens for the Alpha NEX Line.

SEL24F18Z 16/07/2014 by mikethomas (USA)

Love is an understatement. Yes, you can take great shots with more the much more affordable 50mm f/1.8. Sure. And I did for about a year. But it kept haunting me. The 24mm (35mm equivalent on APS/C) was just so much more of a walk around lens, but with Sonnar T• Coating, Zeiss sharpness and distortion free edges. You can always get closer, yes with the extra emphasis on your presence. But just be less weird, you know? Smile. Be a part of the moment. This lens makes portraits and macros and medium shots so enjoyable to be a part of. The colors are poppy, the contrast is better, and most important the sharpness is astounding. Yeah, though, there is that doubt with the a7 full frame lenses coming into play, but hey. That makes the APS/C even more affordable. The 24 MP promise is more than enough. Yeah I want full frame. But I feel confident with the affordability of this rig. Basically 2k price range gets you a complete set up. No bullish*t. No extras. And you don't have to worry about putting it on a drone. Just go, man. Go, go, go. But a UV filter on it and don't even think about it. It outperforms everything that costs three times as much and approaches a magical quality without spending all you got. That's worth $999 plus a sensor and body. I love this rig. It fits in my hand and I could shoot almost anything with it. If there was ever one lens fits anything this is it. I think they could make a system out of this that had not interchangeability at all. I still have my lens bumping 1.4 50mm. My 16mm pancake, my 50mm 1.8 OSS, and my 16-70 zoom. I'm not selling any of that stuff. But I'd rather move my feet than swap 80 percent of the time. No lie. This lens is the camera. I will never sell it, and it will be part of everything that is good about my craft from this point on.

25

8

0

Amazing IQ

SEL24F18Z 26/12/2013 by UserNex7 (USA)

I purchased this for my NEX 7 a year ago when there were no rebates. And it has stayed on the camera most of the time. Even when I do switch to a different lens, I cant wait to put this back. Compared to the other lenses I have used - 1855, 55210, 16F28 with Wide Angle this produces great color, is pretty sharp wide open and most importantly the images have character. They feel less electronic compared to the other lenses. Of course, there is a steep cost and the fact that A7R has been released and this lens covers only APS-C area will make me think twice about buying it today. However, I have had a great year shooting with this lens and can't wait to shoot more with the NEX 7.

16

0

0

Excelent

SEL24F18Z 09/09/2013 by Tali (USA)

Excelent for indoors...

7

9

0

My favorite lens

SEL24F18Z 04/12/2012 by Asiafish (USA)

What can I say, this is my favorite lens. I am a semi-serious amateur photographer with a fairly extensive kit built around an A77. My A mount lenses cover about 99% of anything I would ever want to photograph, including specialized lenses for portraits (Minolta 85mm 1.4) and Macro (Minolta 100mm F2.8 Macro). What my A77 kit does not do well is travel light. I bought a NEX5n for casual use, but was dissappointed in the speed and characteristics of the kit lens, so the Zeiss 24mm was my first E mount lens purchase. What can I say, this is, quite possibly, the best lens I own. For general snap shots, street scenes, travel and group portraits it is the best lens of its type I've ever used, better even than the outstanding Sony 16-50mm F2.8 SSM I use on my A77. Colors somehow pop more, sharpness is perfect across the entire frame from F4, but even wide open 16X20 prints (I've made two) are gorgeous from corner to corner. This is an outstanding landscape lens but for its fairly narrow (full frame equivalent to 36mm) angle of view. I leave this on my NEX5n almost all of the time, and while I own and often will bring the 50mm 1.8 OSS on more casual expeditions, the Zeiss 24 is so good that I even use the NEX5n/Zeiss pair when I'm carrying my A77.

43

4

0

SEL24F18Z 03/10/2012 by AWS123 (USA)

7

106

0

Excellent lens especially for low light conditions

SEL24F18Z 01/09/2012 by Underwater (USA)

Great lens, makes low light pics possible w/o flash which would spoil the whole atmosphere. Fits in underwater housings designed for the more familiar 18-55mm zoom.

25

7

0

Excellent lens, perfect on NEX 7

SEL24F18Z 27/04/2012 by Captmatt (USA)

This is a wonderful lens, perfectly sized for Sony NEX 7. It lives up to it's Zeiss heritage showing great color, sharpness, bokeh and great handling. I know some complain of the size or cost, but show me another high speed 24 mm lens for APS cameras that is smaller or considerably cheaper. I think the lens cost is competitive with the competition, though camera prices in general have gotten quite high these past few years. Using proper technique and a good editing program like lightroom 3 or 4, this lens delivers outstanding results, probably best in class (yes, except for the $6,000 german lens). If you have high standards you won't be disappointed.

41

1

0

A Dream Lens

SEL24F18Z 19/03/2012 by Knute (USA)

Just a Wonderfrul Lens to Use , with Striking Images , and Matches the NEX Series Perfectly ! Great " Walk Around Lens " , and Low Light Images are Just Very Good ! Simple to Use , and Worth The Cost , in Just Plain Enjoyment to My Style of Photography ! R E Keay !

16

1

0

An AMAZING Lens, worth every penny...

SEL24F18Z 02/03/2012 by Katty (USA)

If you're like me, you'd tend to look around for images and video reviews on something before buying it, so... here is my Flickr link: http://flic.kr/ps/29QrRq *EVERYTHING in the Photostream was taken with the SONY NEX-5N and Carl Zeiss, 24mm f/1.8 Wide-Angle Prime Lens. :) Hope this helps!

35

3

0

A beautiful and well-made all-around lens

SEL24F18Z 01/02/2012 by Manusnake (Canada)

This lens is exactly what I've wanted. It's a 36mm equivalent, opens at 1.8. It's the perfect walk-around lens. Sharpness? Beautiful center at f1.8, beautiful everywhere at f2.8, perfect at f4. To get the same performance with Nikon, I,d have to pay twice the price to get the 35mm f/1.4 or 24 mm f/1.4. Both vein also A LOT heavier and bigger. The Zeiss has a lot of personality. Images are very deep, with beautiful separation between front and back focus. I really love the character of this lens. Colors are also vey nice, especially the reds. Is it pricey? Yes, compared to Sony other lens with are very affordable... In itself, it's a bargain!

49

4