Skip to Content
21

4.4 based on 21 customer reviews

12
8
0
0
1
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

21 Customer Reviews

0

Great kit lens!

SEL2870 12/11/2017 by Nikonman2u (United Kingdom)

I was not sure about the photographic quality of this lens when I bought it, however having used it it is a great all round lens which I recommend.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good range but sould be 24mm at wide end.

SEL2870 06/10/2017 by jimmy637 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I find this lens is a poor kit lens that does not match the sensors ability to capture the contrast and sharpness. Probably a 50 or 35 mm prime would be more up to the task. I have found that the lens flaring is a problem in bright sun light as well as the colours are very washed out. I have manged to get some fine family activity photos but the lens can not be relied on and I find i need a back up camera available, some times even the cell phone.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/10/2017

Hi jimmy637, We regret to hear that this product failed to meet your expectations, and we appreciate that you took the time to share your honest feedback. Your comment will not go unseen and will be directed to the proper department for future improvement of our products.

0

Great Beginner Lens

SEL2870 03/10/2017 by Tommytreehunnit (USA)

This lens comes as a kit lens when you purchase the Alpha A7. For a starter lens the image quality it is pretty good. It makes for a good general purpose lens and has a decent zoom. The autofocus is very quick and very quiet. For the price, the overall quality of the lens is excellent. Just what you expect to see from Sony. Although the value is very good, I would not have bought this lens if it was not included with my camera. My main issue with this lens is the aperture. With only a maximum of F3.5, I felt limited almost immediately. For my shooting preference, I would like to see this lense with maybe an F2.8 or F2. Don’t be discouraged by this, though. It is still a very well rounded lens. Good to learn on. I would recommend it to anyone that has just gotten into photography with a Sony E-Mount body.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent value and performance.

SEL2870 20/04/2017 by EricW (USA)

Surprisingly like the 24-70mm it is “Dust and moisture-resistant design”. Nice touch for a value lens. The lens barely extends at all during its full zoom sweep. Not internal zoom technically, but as close as you could get. Small and light. Silent focus. Fast focusing, especially in good light as is expected. OSS, or Image Stabilization. In their value offering. This combined with the last few bullets lets you know that high content value Sony lenses were possible. Versatile. With its humble aperture specs there is no mind blowing bokeh, nor sliver thin depth of field to be found here, but that is it. It can muster acceptable isolation under the right conditions but is excels at nearly anything else that falls within its focal range.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Love my camera

SEL2870 20/03/2017 by clinton808 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Longtime Nikon shooter, but not anymore. Just love the optics.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Better match for A7II than A7r

SEL2870 01/01/2017 by silkystrings (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Works very well on my A7II. Very sharp centre performance. Great general everyday lens. Works even better on an APS-C camera, brilliant on my old NEX5N but of course you loose the wide angle 28mm because of the crop factor. Worth considering if you can find a good price.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Nice Lens

SEL2870 24/08/2016 by Flycatcher50 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens 12 days ago, And I a very pleased with it, It's well made, quite sharp, light and east to carry around, I can recommend it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Brilliant optical quality, sturdy build quality

SEL2870 07/07/2016 by Marcusrg66 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought as an upgrade from apsc and also to have a lighter walk around giving superb image quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

The Sony FE 28-70mm F3.5-5.6 A Most Excellent Lens

SEL2870 08/02/2016 by Giggy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Probably the best cheap Kit zoom in the standard short zoom lens kit class, very good value for money, the best thing about this lens is optically very sharp, almost silent, the zoom control feels very positive with a classy feel resistance grip, but above all it takes very good pictures and stable videos, It is very light if you don’t want to carry around too much weight. I would recommend this lens over all the other full frame camera standard kit lenses.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Great Kit Lens

SEL2870 11/10/2015 by nico2002 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens can as part of the A7ii kit and I'am surprised how how good it is especially when stepped down a little, its ideal as a walk around lens so I will be keeping and using on a regular basis.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

17

0

0

A very good performer

SEL2870 25/07/2015 by mrNewt (USA)

Personally I enjoy using this kit lens - out there, in real life, away from charts and all that, the IQ is actually very good for a kit lens and performs very well on the a7m2 and a6000.

11

0

0

Great value for money

SEL2870 11/07/2015 by steveinlondon (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to go with my new Alpha 7 Mk II. It is a step up from usual kit lenses, being solidly built with a good finish, yet remaining compact and relatively light. It is silent & quick in operation, and produces bright, sharp photos. There is bit of vignetting at the 28mm end of the zoom, but nothing really noticeable.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

1

0

Surprising good for a kit lens

SEL2870 07/07/2015 by AAG1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Image quality is very good for a kit lens although it is a little slow thereby limiting low light usage without pushing ISO up.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Suprising Performance.

SEL2870 04/06/2015 by TCGC (USA)

Man, kit lenses have come a far way. I've been pleasantly surprised by the sharpness and overall contrast this lens provides. No issues shooting it wide open, however limited the aperature is in low light. If you can't take compelling pics with this lens, then...well....it's not the lens. Nice and light too. Every 7 series owner should have this in their bag. Just no reason not too. Very happy with mine and I have quite a bit of Zeiss to compare it to. It's every bit as good within it's range. First time I can say I don't mind using the "kit" lens on a day out.

18

3

0

fe28-70mm lens

SEL2870 10/04/2015 by Dr Do (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very nice lens and a good match with the Sony camera

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Walkabout lens

SEL2870 19/02/2015 by Xweini (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good quality, well balanced with A7. This is the one I keep attached to the camera as a go anywhere lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Sony FE 28-70mm

SEL2870 19/01/2015 by Philegl (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fantastic lens, great weight and feel. Good build quality

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great lens!

SEL2870 06/11/2014 by SandyW (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this lens with a new Sony A7. It's great and I have acquired some super images, both landscapes and portraits. Can't see why some people knock it as a "mere kit lens".

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

2

0

Great Lens

SEL2870 23/10/2014 by 1blacksheep2 (USA)

This is a perfect lens for anyone who can make do with a limited number of lenses. It has a very useful zoom range and great clarity. It's a little bulky, but no worse than most mid range zooms. If it weren't for the fact that I have other lenses that span above and below the zoom range of this one it would be my go-to lens.

12

6

0

I needed an autofocus lens.

SEL2870 27/09/2014 by oldwithgrandkid (USA)

I knew I wanted an Alpha7 camera and I had no Sony lenses. This lens was within reach when bought along with the Camera. I have no bad things to say about this lens. I like the close focusing ability and the pictures I have taken with it are satisfactory as far as I am concerned.

17

4

0

Nice, Reasonably-Priced Full-Frame Lens

SEL2870 27/09/2014 by AZSkyman (USA)

Perfectly balances my a7r, very sharp and good contrast, and nice on-lens controls. A very good value for a first full-frame lens.

16

10