Skip to Content
E 30MM F3.5 MACRO

Product Reviews

$324.99

19

4.7 based on 19 customer reviews

14
4
1
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

economic wonder

SEL30M35 03/05/2015 by warwick72 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having recently moved from a heavyweight major brand to a lightweight Sony mirrorless camera, I have purchased the Sony E30mm F3.5 macro intending to see how good the macro facility was, as I have done quite a bit of such work in the past. The macro is very good (see the attached crop of a bee) but also the general usage is excellent. It is now my attached lens for walkabouts because the clarity and resolution appear to at least equal to my other walkabout Sony Zeiss zoom which does not have the macro function. The only snag I have experienced is the nearness required for animated subjects which usually ends up with a blank subject (but not always..!)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

18

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

30mm Macro win NEX-7

SEL30M35 08/04/2012 by ReporterPorter (USA)

I’ve used a Canon 100mm macro lens and the Sony 50mm macro lens for many photos; this lens does not have the image quality of either of those two lenses. The borders are particularly soft on my NEX-7. And yet, I’ve used and enjoyed this lens plenty in the last month. It’s the overall package of the lens and camera that make for a winning combination. The 30mm lens allows for exceptionally close focusing, while the NEX-7 lets one get down low to the ground for photos of spring wild flowers and such. The new perspectives afforded by the small package size has been somewhat of a revelation for me. If Sony ever improves the image quality of the 30mm lens to the quality of my other macro lenses then this lens would be worth more than 5 stars.

32

15

19 Customer Reviews

0

Love this macro

SEL30M35 17/09/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Haven't had a true macro before, and some are saying this is to short to be considered a true macro but it focuses so close that even at this short 30 mm (35mm equivalent to 45mm with APS-C sensor in my a6000) I can see pollen grains, so whats the issue! Fabulous resolution! Haven't worried about edge to edge but getting great stuff with florals and insects

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great macro lens

SEL30M35 05/09/2017  (USA)

I've been using this lens for ca. 2 years already, mostly underwater. The pictures are extremely sharp and I actually adore it. I really like the focal distance - 30 mm, thus I'm not also able to make nice pictures of small critters, but also film some average size animals.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great macro lens that doubles as a standard

SEL30M35 19/07/2017 by SteveB1959 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had this over a year and it's brilliant for all types of close up or landscape with my a6000.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

This is a good lens

SEL30M35 19/07/2017 by Nyoongen7 (USA)

This is original file Im just try to use this lens to hunting

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent lens for the price

SEL30M35 21/06/2017 by luke72 (USA)

I am just an amateur when it comes to photography, but I have really enjoyed using this lens for closeups of flowers, insects, etc. I love just how close I can get and still get a great looking picture. On the flip side, I've even used this lens for portraits with great results. The photos I've included are some of my favorites as a beginner. Only the first two photos have had some minor enhancing done in editing. The others are JPEGs straight from the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Great value but not a perfect macro

SEL30M35 06/06/2017 by Krav (USA)

Pros: Affordable Sharp center Good as an allrounder Cons: Too wide for a macro (limits use to non moving subjects) Soft corners Ugly appearance

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Good value macro

SEL30M35 18/07/2016 by deegee2006 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

First tests suggest it does a good job at a realistic price. Works well with the A6000

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Nice little macro lens

SEL30M35 20/09/2015 by Norbee (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's an affordable yet quality built macro lens, perfect for close up pics and videos. Using it with Sony A7S I'm happy with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Value for money

SEL30M35 14/07/2015 by DavidH6269 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for my daughter a month ago and she is so pleased, it is great value for money. The lens takes amazing, crisp photos. After you have taken a photo, when you zoom in the picture is just as crisp as when you were zoomed out. It is worth the money, she is so pleased with the lens.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Light weight

SEL30M35 15/06/2015 by grandkids6 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have been using the lens for almost two weeks mainly for botanical close ups. Brilliant. Works so well with my Sony a6000. The best macro lens I have ever used.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

economic wonder

SEL30M35 03/05/2015 by warwick72 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having recently moved from a heavyweight major brand to a lightweight Sony mirrorless camera, I have purchased the Sony E30mm F3.5 macro intending to see how good the macro facility was, as I have done quite a bit of such work in the past. The macro is very good (see the attached crop of a bee) but also the general usage is excellent. It is now my attached lens for walkabouts because the clarity and resolution appear to at least equal to my other walkabout Sony Zeiss zoom which does not have the macro function. The only snag I have experienced is the nearness required for animated subjects which usually ends up with a blank subject (but not always..!)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

18

0

0

Great thing, nice to use

SEL30M35 12/09/2014 by Dalia G (United Kingdom)

It's a great macro lens. Great quality of photos, it's also sharp. I'm happy that it's also quite small, so doesn't make any problems often carrying it with me. The only drawback that I know is slow autofocus. And often when I want to focus on something rather small it doesn't get it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

13

0

0

Great Camera for Aspiring Photographers

SEL30M35 14/12/2013 by TheMortallyWounded (USA)

I purchased the Alpha A3000 on a whim, after having looked at it for some time and imagining the possibilities. I've been hoping to find an inexpensive camera to do some long-exposure photography, and this baby has impressed me immensely. It may not be a high-end Nikon or Canon, but the quality of the photos is very impressive and I think the final product will rival most professionals. With that in mind, this is NOT a professional camera. You may be able to attach it to some very, very nice lenses, but it is still a high-quality entry level unit. The features are kept to a minimum but it has some interesting creative options, stuff that you can do better with the right software on your PC. For me though, it's all I could want in a camera for now.

4

21

0

The next level

SEL30M35 12/09/2013 by Teamdeez (USA)

I always wanted a macro lens and had tried out reverse rings in the past. The experience with this lens blows them away and is totally worth it... Does well as a prime portrait too. I use this with the NEX 3n

13

1

0

30mm Macro win NEX-7

SEL30M35 08/04/2012 by ReporterPorter (USA)

I’ve used a Canon 100mm macro lens and the Sony 50mm macro lens for many photos; this lens does not have the image quality of either of those two lenses. The borders are particularly soft on my NEX-7. And yet, I’ve used and enjoyed this lens plenty in the last month. It’s the overall package of the lens and camera that make for a winning combination. The 30mm lens allows for exceptionally close focusing, while the NEX-7 lets one get down low to the ground for photos of spring wild flowers and such. The new perspectives afforded by the small package size has been somewhat of a revelation for me. If Sony ever improves the image quality of the 30mm lens to the quality of my other macro lenses then this lens would be worth more than 5 stars.

32

15

0

A macro Lens I love

SEL30M35 27/02/2012  (USA)

There isn't a moment I love using this lens :) I took a picture of this fern in the process of unrolling. This is a macro lens you can't pass up with the nex-5n :) - Armando

23

7

0

Swell

SEL30M35 25/02/2012 by DalekSec (USA)

I really enjoy this lens, I have been using it on my VG10 to take head-shots and the results are stunning. The images come out nice and are easily editable in photoshop if I want to remove/change the background or touch-up the subjects.

6

1

0

SEL30M35 19/11/2011 by mikofish (USA)

No noise when focusing, completely silent. Front doesn’t extend when focusing as in the Sony 100mm macro, it keeps its original length. This makes it easy to "fit or use" in underwater housings. The image I uploaded shows the results when used in landscape photography.

41

3

0

Makes my NEX even better

SEL30M35 05/11/2011 by photokid (USA)

All I have to say it amazing. I love this lens. I'm not a pro photographer by any stretch. I don't know much about f stops and all that jazz but I do know that this lens and my NEX-3 were born for each other. I bought the nex because I wanted to take my photography to the next level it does that better than expected. Then add this lens and we have amazingness. The lens produces crisp photos that are stunning. I love macro photography, and it works great with flowers and nature. The lens itself not only looks great but feels great. The metal used is a little more shiny, and lighter than the 18-55 mm lens that I bought with the camera. it also has more of a, light and almost hollow feeling . Over all if you like simple macro photography and own a NEX camera, then this lens needs to be in your colection.

71

3