Skip to Content
14

4.9 based on 14 customer reviews

12
2
0
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

14 Customer Reviews

0

Fixed focal length detail...

SEL35F14Z 11/11/2017 by Mal360 (United Kingdom)

I've only owned this lens for a couple of weeks and was keen to test out both its landscape capability and its ability to capture a close up when the lighting and texture asked you to take that shot. The in hand balance of the A7r2 with this lens attached is also impressive...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

WOW - SONY FE 35MM F1.4 ZA Distagon

SEL35F14Z 12/09/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The FE 35mm F1.4 ZA is an outstanding lens, I would rate them the best portrait lens and is perfect for Weddings & Low-light. If you're thinking of buying this Lens, you should. Yes it is very expensive, but you're going to end up having outstanding images.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

S. Africa and Zimbabwe bound!

SEL35F14Z 01/09/2017 by AshvEd (USA)

I purchased this in late July for low light game drives in Kruger National Park. All my "at home" testing has been superb.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

My instagram game is at a all time high

SEL35F14Z 27/05/2017 by calcaliente (USA)

I bought this camera about 2 weeks ago. And all the pictures I post on my Instagram i get amazing comments and people asking if i used my phone. I lie and say its the iPhone because i don't want people to know. @calcaliente

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

10

0

This lens is permanently glued to my camera

SEL35F14Z 16/12/2016 by LifeDezigned (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I couldn't be happier with this lens and the color rendering. It's sharp throughout and performs quickly and quietly.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

My workhorse!

SEL35F14Z 12/09/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've been using the lens since the day I bought it and can't get it off my camera. Its just too perfect! The declick feature is just so convenient if I want to shoot videos. The lens is so sharp and the bokeh on this one is on unreal.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

A great lens

SEL35F14Z 19/03/2016 by BAzzFreeman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The 35mm FE format is great for group shots, street and just general photography. Evey one should have at least one of this length in their bag.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

BIG LENS with BIG QUALITY

SEL35F14Z 11/09/2015 by Chris_lyle21 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens a few weeks ago for adding to my Landscape Photography kit, but also to take good quality images of my on the way baby and partner. I feel that this lens would be a good addition to fill the gap between my Sony Alpha Mount 20f2.8 and 50f1.7 lenses. Yeah the lens is big, but the Image Quality that I have already seen from this lens is amazing. When I first got it I walked around with the on the lens adjustable Aperture rotated to F1.4 and noticed quickly how precise the focusing was (I was getting blurry pictures at first!) However after a bit of playing and magnifying via the evf this was no longer an Issue and managed to get some cracking shots. I, like many people were toying with the idea of this lens or the new Zeiss Loxia 35mm F2 manual focus. Although the Loxia would be similar IQ and a lot smaller and discreet, It never had the f1.4. I have never owned an f1.4 lens and wanted this from day one. The autofocus for me, was never really important, as I don't usually use this for Landscapes, I prefer to use manual, but it is there If I ever wanted it. I'll be honest, after a few hours of carrying the camera and lens, I wonder if the Loxia would have been a better choice, but then I get the images home and I see the quality, so I am also happy with the 35f14.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

23

3

0

Top lens for a7R camera

SEL35F14Z 18/07/2015 by 7Rtist (USA)

Can’t add anything new than what others have said about the incredible sharpness and bokeh of this lens. Best lens I own so far. My comment will rather be around the weight of the lens. It is definitely heavier than the Zeiss 55mm f1.8, but it is lighter than the Sigma 18-35 f1.8 Art lens, which is another very good lens that I own for another camera system and which has almost the same size in length and diameter (10.8 oz for the Zeiss against 28.6 oz for the Sigma). If you carry your camera and lens in a messenger bag as I do, the weight of the combo will not be an issue. So don’t be frightened by the weight of this lens, it is not as bad as you may read.

8

0

0

The Best 35mm glass out there!

SEL35F14Z 28/06/2015 by Pinoyflayv (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got this lens last month, and now I want to permanently mount it on my A7s. Since the day I mounted this, my 55mm 1.8 is collecting dust. Just love the character it renders. One standout is, when fully wide open this lens is tack sharp. It easily isolates your subject, which gives you that pop. I mainly use this lens as my everyday lens. From capturing landscapes to photographing my kids. If you could only own one lens, this is it! Built like a tank and it is weather proofed. I would highly recommend this glass!

14

6

0

Fantastic lens

SEL35F14Z 25/05/2015 by Gangforever (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

If you are shooting photos with the A7 platform, this lens is a must have for your kit. Yes it's pricy, and yes it is a bit large and heavy, and yes it looks so cool, but it's performance as a prime lens is remarkable. Colors just pop, corners are as clear as the center even at f1.4, and that's why you buy a fast piece of glass like this. The bokah is smoother than Dary Queen soft ice cream and only Superman can hear the AF drive motor. It is my go to lens in my kit, the IQ can't be beat.

26

7

0

Great Images, but too big and heavy for me.

SEL35F14Z 08/05/2015 by suttus (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Does produce great images, but it is too large and heavy to use as an everday lens. Compared to the Sony Zeiss 55 f1.8 it's not a order of magnitude different in terms of image quality and for the price I couldnt justify keeping the lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

3

10

0

Early days

SEL35F14Z 03/05/2015 by A Rainy Night in England (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not yet had an opportunity to use the lens on a day out. Otherwise, looks promising.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

21

0

Super shallow depth of field

SEL35F14Z 19/04/2015 by infynity (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is an excellent all round lens with wafer thin depth of field at f1.4. It is sturdy and quite large but not out of place on my a7s. The focussing time is good but not as quick as some mf3 lenses I have used. Never the less, the shots this 35mm can produce are extremely impressive and certainly the best I've seen from the native emount Sony lenses. I have read some reviews suggesting issues with right side blur at f1.4 but I have not experienced this.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

16

0