Skip to Content
E 35MM F1.8 OSS

Product Reviews

$529.99

17

4.6 based on 17 customer reviews

11
5
1
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

17 Customer Reviews

0

Small - Simple and Effective

SEL35F18 01/11/2017 by MorganUK (United Kingdom)

Only a dabbler in photography but having this 35mm lens on a crop body sensor camera gives me a 1:1 with what I see. I did think of the 50mm Prime but as an indoor / general walk about lens this 35mm is small enough and gives great detail. Using it indoors is superb as it offers more than the 50mm for my needs.Works well with the A6500

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best native prime

SEL35F18 06/06/2017 by Krav (USA)

Pros: Small & light Easy to use focal length Excellent image quality Great in low light No distortion Fast focusing & start-up Cons: May hunt for focus if the area is too dim (low contrast), but that's probably the camera's fault (A6000)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Crisp and clear lens!

SEL35F18 13/10/2016 by Antgermer (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to take pictures at my niece quince few months ago. Got really great pics of the event and was a great complement to my a6000!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Great photos from a small body

SEL35F18 05/09/2016 by A S Ranjan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Pros, Small lens with OSS, big enough aperture, nice bokeh, sharp photos when subject are near. Cons. I wish it was 30mm, also wish it was sharper when subject are further away, slightly high price. But, still the best lens I have and I will surely recommend.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Great fast focus

SEL35F18 17/04/2016 by No Nick (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really pleased with the product. Its 52mm equivalent on 35mm film camera has taken be back to my original Olympus with 50mm lens, and I am enjoying moving my feet to get great shots! Fast focus and lots of light in the lens is great

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

The most used prime lens in my set

SEL35F18 01/09/2015  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I really appreciate the compact design and solid build of this lens. Its combo with an a5000 can easily fit into a jacket pocket. The image quality is great overall. SEL35f18 features remarkable sharpness and clarity. The only negative about it are noticeable axial chromatic aberrations which are visible at maximum aperture as green edges around high-contrast objects behind the focus point and magenta edges in front of it. Most of the time you won't notice this on portraits, but you should keep this in mind when shooting wide open under bright light. P.S. to sony.co.uk team: please note that the MTF charts on this page http://www.sony.co.uk/electronics/camera-lenses/sel35f18 belong to the SELP1650 power zoom, not the 35mm prime.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

3

0

Excellent Definition

SEL35F18 21/06/2015  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens is a bit of a luxury. I was able to justify it when my SELP1560 was mugged and I needed a lens in Japan. It gets rave reviews and I am not disappointed. I have added one photo chosen at random that shows the results hand held at f1.8 and 1/60sec.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

20

0

0

Just what I wanted

SEL35F18 03/06/2015 by 2808drp (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted a sharp lens with a similar view to the natural eye which was small and light but gave a sharp image. This one meets all requirements, it's a great lens for those dark places and when you want to be unatrusive.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

3

0

Great for portrait work

SEL35F18 24/11/2014 by el gringo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Recent convert to E mount with the twin lens a6000 kit (16-50 and 55-210 lenses) these can take good quality images, but the 35mm f1.8 really nails it for sharpness and low light work. Would ideally like to see a shorter design however it's not a big problem..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

This lens is GLUED on to my a6000

SEL35F18 28/10/2014 by andrew714oc (USA)

Awesome lens and a huge upgrade from the standard 16-50mm kit lens that comes with the a6000. Being a prime you can't zoom in but the amount of light this thing is able to get fr that wide f1.8 aperture is insane! Again, comparing this to the kit lens, it's like night and day. Kit at 35mm is f5.6 vs f1.8. That alone is a huge difference. Very sharp as well, great color rendition and looks and feels great - doesn't matter parts of it are plastic, it's good quality. Also with the optical steady shot (OSS), this thing is the real deal. It is pretty pricey, specially comparing it to the 50mm f1.8 prime (which is just as amazing) but as I understand it, the 35mm is more complex with more glass elements which is harder to make etc. I think it's worth the money. I thought about off brands which are half the price, but you lose the OSS and it's not as fast and bright. So overall great lens, go buy one for your a6000 or any NEX camera and see the difference/improvements! If you have any questions for me just comment on my review and I'll try to get back to you. ps attached is a sample pic that were taken with my a6000, shot in FINE jpeg mode and was not post processed.

60

2

0

If you only buy one lens make sure its this one!

SEL35F18 01/09/2014 by mifn21 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this along with an A6000, and am very impressed with the build quality as well as the images. AF is very quick, and OSS is a major bonus. The bokeh at 1.8 is pretty creamy too

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

This is a worthy lens

SEL35F18 03/05/2014 by TerryMcKenna (USA)

Now that I have a zoom kit lens, zoom telephoto and wide angle, I started to consider prime lenses. I tried this one (and the 50mm Sony lens). The f1.8 is useful. And the limit to one focal length is helpful in that it forces me to frame shot. The quality is excellent. And yes, I am aware of off brand 30mm lenses for half the price. Still, I am enjoying this one.

12

2

0

Great lens, but questionably spendy

SEL35F18 16/09/2013 by Village3602 (USA)

I bought this lens based on the reviews, and it is no doubt one of the best lenses I've ever owned. Very sharp and has an almost ideal focal length for the NEX. The autofocus is a little slow in lower light, and I'm more dependent on continuous AF than other lenses. While the lens is generally amazing, I think it is only marginally better than other lenses that cost much less, including the Sigma 30 (though it doesn't have OSS). In my opinion, it is not as good as the SEL 50 1.8, which costs less as well. Granted, the 35mm focal length has a different "look", but you have to question the price difference compared to the 50. In all, it is the essential prime for the NEX (IMO) and it stays attached to my NEX 6 almost all of the time, which says something.

32

2

0

Clear , Crisp and alright!

SEL35F18 29/07/2013 by RalphNJ (USA)

Got this lens last April 2013 and so impressed with the quality of the pictures I had taken. Lens was so quick to focus and shots were so crisp. Low -light shots for indoors is now less of a problem.

19

1

0

High price, average performance.

SEL35F18 23/01/2013 by randyh360 (USA)

This lens is just average. The Sigma 30mm is sharper at f2.8, and at nearly a third the price it's a much better value. If you can do without the extra stop and image stabilization, skip this one until the price comes down (if it ever does). Additionally, I think the color of the lens is ugly. It's somewhat shiny so it doesn't really match the matte finish of any of the black NEX bodies. You end up with a shiny black lens, silver lens mount, and a matte black body. Ugly. And if you have a camera body that isn't black it just looks ridiculous. Why did they start making lenses that only come in black while still releasing different color bodies with a silver lens mount? It doesn't make any sense at all.

27

86

0

with VG-20

SEL35F18 11/10/2012 by serhat (USA)

can i use this lens with my vg20? vg20 is not on the compatible cameras list

3

154

0

correction of title / description

SEL35F18 12/09/2012 by Snappur (USA)

The editor made a mistake. This is a 35mm lens. With a so-called crop factor of 1.51 it may be compared to a 52.5mm lens on a full-frame camera, but nevertheless this is a 35mm lens.

32

71