Skip to Content
36

4.8 based on 36 customer reviews

31
4
0
1
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

36 Customer Reviews

0

Great clarity for the money

SEL35F28Z 23/10/2017 by RedPea (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not the fastest but still very sharp. Made for a very compact high grade camera to take on vacation.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens for the A6500.

SEL35F28Z 07/09/2017 by Sowellraider (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this lens when I purchased my A6000. Works great on the crop sensor. Almost I repeat almost a 50mm lens with the crop. But it's not. But almost. Looks great is very small. Great travel lens. Now I've upgraded to the A6500 and wow even better photos. Love this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great prime lens very sharp

SEL35F28Z 18/04/2017 by Cast a giant shadow (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had this lens only for 2 weeks but I was immediately impressed by the quality of images it produces - it's very satisfying to use. In addition, it is a small lens so, when mounted on my Sony A7r, it's no bigger than a lot of micro four thirds kit but with full frame and high resolution.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Always wanted this lens

SEL35F28Z 07/04/2017 by MarkyM333 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

As I am sure many owners know,when I purchased my A7R 3 years ago, this and the 55mm were the initial 2 lens releases. I got the 55mm first and it was/is a fantastic gem of a lens.Was not really impressed with the 2.8 aperture on this 35mm and thought I would hold out for a f2 or 1.4. These have come out but are HUGE (especially the latter one of course). And I kept seeing plenty of happy reviews about this lens so after 3 years decided to bit the bullet. Should not have worried. It is a beautifully small lens that fits the ethos of the compact A7R perfectly. It focuses silently and quickly but does not always lock on as quickly as my other lenses (hence the missing star). Surprisingly sharp also, and bokeh is ok at 2.8. It is so light and small you can carry the A7R and lens in a not very large coat pocket!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Great in low light

SEL35F28Z 06/04/2017 by MPount (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Been using this lens a few weeks now, and attached to my A7Rii is super fast in AF, and superb in low light conditions in an auditorium where I can't use flash, this lens gives me pin sharp images that I need.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Product

SEL35F28Z 04/10/2016 by Sibs21 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fantastic quality lens, offering stunning picture quality. Great for travelling compared to the larger lenses often provided alongside. A little expensive so do shop around for the best possible price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

35mm Zeiss Sonnar 35mm

SEL35F28Z 18/08/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really happy with the quality of this lens, although I'm disappointed because it the lens is not supported by my A7's

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Really good, must have lens.

SEL35F28Z 25/07/2016 by keefiman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is an older lens now but represents excellent VFM. Of course there are better wider portions around but the quality & size of this optic remain impressive. Whether in a A7 or Nex (52mm) it is small, light and delivers amazing results.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Very sharp lens

SEL35F28Z 10/10/2015 by Dr Paddy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A great all round F2.8 lens for street photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Fantastic 1st lens

SEL35F28Z 24/09/2015 by Mack1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this lens as first to go to lens - coming from a traditional video camera and being new to this type of camera for video I wanted to start with the basics. The 35mm prime allowed me to concentrate on the fundamental principles without being distracted. This lens is so small and light it was nice to use with the A7S, the autofocus when used was surprisingly quick and sharp. I can see me having this in my bag always.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

35mm 2,8 fe

SEL35F28Z 14/09/2015 by bob m (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Small size and big on quallity. Does not seem to come with a lens hood but is recessed behind a lens cover.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Very very sharp lens

SEL35F28Z 04/09/2015 by will77 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love this lens, small, light and very sharp. This was my first FE lens purchase to go with my A7S and I love what it can do. Sharp corner to corner even at wide apertures, colours come out true. I thought about the 35mm f1.4 but the weight, size and image quality of this one makes it a no brainer. Good for portraits, cityscapes and travel.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

0

0

Wonderful sharp lightweight fantastic lens

SEL35F28Z 27/02/2015 by NevilleW (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my favourite lens always on my A7. It's very light but high quality, sharp great colour and fast focus. Great value for money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Small is beautiful

SEL35F28Z 05/02/2015 by Sydney2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

On the A7R this is small, fits in my pocket. Sharp as a razor, beautiful natural colour. The lens copes so well with 36 MP.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

0

Sony 35mm f2.8 Full Frame Lens (SEL35F28Z)

SEL35F28Z 26/01/2015 by Yeti (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have always had a 35mm fixed focal length lens in my camera bag and soon after up-grading to the Sony Alpha 7, which came with the 28-70 "kit" zoom lens, I purchased the Sony/Zeiss 35mm. Having looked at various revues of the lens on-line the first thing that surprised me was how small and light the lens was, even with the supplied lens hood fitted. That fact was brilliant for me as I had moved from the big, bulky and heavy full frame Nikon system to the Sony Alpha system solely because of the big savings in size and weight the Alpha system offered. To date I have taken about 250 shots with the lens and can report that these all have excellent sharpness and resolution.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

1

0

Super sharp lens

SEL35F28Z 17/11/2014 by Salkire (USA)

I love this lens! It's incredibly sharp and lightweight.

9

0

0

Sonnar T* FE 35mm F2.8 ZA IS SHARP

SEL35F28Z 09/11/2014 by Martcycling (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very light sharp lens. Just what I wanted for fell walking.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

My main squeeze.

SEL35F28Z 20/10/2014 by Trip (USA)

I use this lens with my A7s, and it's my first autofocusing lens. In fact, it's my first lens that does anything automatically for that matter. I put my 'old school' pride aside and committed myself to learning my new camera and new lens. Truth be told, I love it. While yes there's a certain satisfaction with dialing in everything manually, you know what's more satisfying? Getting the shot. This lens is great and surprisingly versatile. I thought I might get frustrated with 2.8, hoping for something faster, but then forgot that the A7s makes up for it with it's performance at high ISO's, so it's sort of a moot point. Also, the size of the lens is PERFECT for the camera, so I wouldn't compromise the size for an extra stop of light. It's really a great lens, I would recommend it to anyone looking for a 35mm lens.

11

0

0

Superb lens

SEL35F28Z 07/10/2014 by Pedrin (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had this lens a few weeks now , on my A7s. As an all round general use lens it is fantastic. It is permanantley fixed to the camera , small size and light weight make it the perfect travel camera / lens combo. The images from this lens are pin sharp. Slightly expensive perhaps but well worth every penny , excellent results and great build quality does in fact deliver good value in my opinion. Could be slightly faster perhaps but that would increase size and weight, It is perfect for me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Lovely little lens.

SEL35F28Z 28/09/2014 by Kiku (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great lens, very sharp, very small. Won't let me use Steady Shot when mounted on my A7s. "Not available with this lens" message when trying to activate Steady Shot, which is puzzling since this is an OSS lens!!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Excellent and a must have in your photography bag!

SEL35F28Z 27/09/2014 by Mendocino (USA)

Zeiss quality, light, sharp, small, priced about right, and native to your A7R system; what else could you ask for!!!

4

0

0

Great focal length for landscape, and very sharp

SEL35F28Z 27/09/2014 by johnrsims43 (USA)

Really, you cannot go wrong. Small and light really complements the A7R camera. This is my "hiking/landscape" lens, when I want to carry the least amount of weight. Fast enough for good depth of field shots. As mentioned in the title. very sharp.

7

1

0

sharp, fast focusing, broad dynamic range

SEL35F28Z 26/09/2014 by Hobbyist (USA)

I sold my Canon gear with three L lenses to go lightweight. This SEL35f28ZA is four oz. I find I get more out of using this one prime than I did from Canon's 24-70mm. I like the tiny hood. I probably would have bought the SEL55F18ZA if I were to do it again, but I'm excited about the FE 90mm macro just announced for next years release. While there are camera combinations that are also excellent the Sony mirrorless fits the bill for me.

8

1

0

Great Lens

SEL35F28Z 26/09/2014 by YGBSM (USA)

Extremely sharp and very nice bokeh. A bit of vignetting at some settings. This lens makes for a fantastic compact walk-around package together with Sony's A7 series cameras. Recommended without reservation.

8

0

0

Excellent lens

SEL35F28Z 26/09/2014 by jstevphoto (USA)

The days of big, super heavy prime lenses are finally over. This little 35, attached to my Sony A7R is just great. And it is tiny and weighs almost nothing. Great walk around lens and the f2.8 gives me good Bokeh when I want it. Can't say enough good things about this little lens.

10

0

0

Awesome!

SEL35F28Z 28/08/2014 by Malc2020 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this beautiful lens first to pair with my Sony Alpha 7 but followed it later with the Zeiss 24-70 zoom. So, I have two lenses so far to compare. Of these the 35mm is lovely and my favourite. It is light, easy to use, minimalist and very sharp. More than that though is the overall 'look' of the images. I don't regret my purchase. By the way, the 24-70 is great too, if a little heavy as an every day carry round lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great lens

SEL35F28Z 07/08/2014 by macca (United Kingdom)

I have been using this lens for a few months now, in the main for landscapes. The image quality is excellent , sharp and very clear. Some of the images have been printed at 450*650 with no loss of quality. Brilliant.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Superb Quality Lens

SEL35F28Z 02/06/2014 by Countryman (United Kingdom)

This lens is capable of resolving maximum detail from Sony's full frame A7R camera. Sharp across the frame at most apertures, and with a F2.8 maximum aperture offers excellent out of focus detail when needed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

aperture wide open!

SEL35F28Z 04/05/2014 by shooter317 (USA)

This item is one of the best lenses I purchased! Get it.

8

12

0

Excellent resolution and contrast

SEL35F28Z 04/05/2014  (USA)

Very sharp and contrasty, good color. Vignetting is stronger than I was hopping for, bokeh is a tad nervous. Overall a great leans for the A7/A7R thanks to its tiny size and minimal weight.

14

0

0

Very Fine lens

SEL35F28Z 03/05/2014 by 820tr (USA)

The Zeiss brand is worth it. Using it on an alpha7R -- a great combination. Little if any post processing sharpening is needed.

6

2

0

Sonnar T* FE 35mm F2.8 ZA

SEL35F28Z 03/05/2014 by Redd (USA)

The Sonnar T* FE 35mm F2.8 ZA is a prime lenses that is fast, sharp, and provides excellent quality from to edge. Out of all the lenses and different cameras that I've used to the past, I have to say right now 35mm is the best I've seen. I have to say my favorite settings are f2.8, 5.6, and 9. Now I just ordered the Sonnar T* FE 55mm F1.8 ZA, and I will let you know after I spent some time with it, how the two compare side-by-side. I'm thinking that the 35mm be still my personal favorite out of the two.

18

0

0

Awesome

SEL35F28Z 09/03/2014 by EDPhotography (USA)

This is one of the best lenses I've ever had! It shoots clear and crisp footage as well as great photos.

5

8

0

Great image quality in a small package

SEL35F28Z 15/12/2013 by photocolor (USA)

I am using the lens with my a7r. It provides very high image quality even wide open at f2.8, with optimum sharpness around f4 to f/5.6. The lens does the 36mp camera justice unlike many lenses I tried on a 36mp DSLR (another maker) I used to have. My criteria is finely detailed landscapes being reviewed at 100% pixel-peeping on my 25" monitor. The lens is excellent not just in sharpness but in overall tonal rendition (color and contrast). The bokeh is usually good, esp. at f/2.8. The lens provides a very pleasing overall effect - sharp but smooth and natural looking. Being able to get this level of image quality in such a small lens is astounding to me. The build quality seems very good to me - metal plus high quality plastics (not all plastics are created equal). Not only does the lens work well with autofocus but it is a pleasure to manually focus it as well. I can get exact focus very easily and consistently (which I cannot say of the experience I've had with even the best lenses, AF or manual only, on DSLRs).

50

6

0

Very fine lens

SEL35F28Z 13/12/2013 by lucky89 (USA)

This is an excellent lens. It is light but in no way poorly constructed. Has quite a precision feel. The images with the A7r body are spot on: crisp, sharp, no distortion. Makes a delightful combination. AF is fine.

18

4

0

Build feels cheap

SEL35F28Z 05/12/2013 by racing (USA)

I received my 35mm f/2.8 today, I am rather disappointed in the build quality of this lens. It is VERY light.. which can be useful but also ..to me.. gives me a sense of plastic.. The lens uses a 49mm filter thread and I do beleive that the threads are indeed plastic.. For $800.00 I feel the lens could be better built...sorry Sony

45

101