Skip to Content
FE 50MM F1.8

Product Reviews

$299.99

10

3.8 based on 10 customer reviews

5
1
2
1
1
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great value.

SEL50F18F 20/04/2017 by EricW (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Older tech focus motor is a bit noisy and a tad sluggish compared to some of Sony's speedier lenses, but it is not that bad in either regard. But... Sharp on center. Great bokeh. Thin DOF. Great colors. Exactly what I expect from a nifty fifty.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Meh

SEL50F18F 03/06/2017  (USA)

I wish I could say it's alright for the price, but I can't even say that because every single lens they produce is way over market value and this is no exception. Focus speed is abysmal, incredibly noisy motor. Image quality is whatever... nothing to write home about. Bottom line I'd rather adapt a 50mm ef that cost me less than half the price of this one... much better image quality and focuses faster, even adapted.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

10 Customer Reviews

0

Latest firmware update is awfull

SEL50F18F 03/09/2017 by kaseopea (USA)

Hi! I have updated firmware for this lens to version 3 and faced with really slow autofocus. It's not usable anymore - it's slow and not accurate. Tested on my A7 body and NEX-6 cropped body. Is it possible to downgrade lens firmware update to ver.2 ? Any suggestions?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

sharp, lightweight & inexpessive...

SEL50F18F 23/08/2017 by jvdc (USA)

this is a good all around lens for the value... it's sharp at 1.8 comparable to other 50mm. lightweight cuase it's made of high quality plastic material; don't drop it; but it hunts most of the time...good for hunters. I use this in my A7ii.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Good standard lens

SEL50F18F 08/07/2017 by Humfan1943 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A good lightweight general purpose lens at a reasonable price.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good value

SEL50F18F 04/07/2017 by 3aspect (USA)

Mid distance shots this camera shines. Landscape is a bit weaker as images tend to moire a bit at edges & fringe overall a great first lens investment!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Unable to use phase detection autofocus on AF-S

SEL50F18F 21/06/2017 by CS12 (USA)

I am unable to use phase detection autofocus on AF-S on A7ii even when updated to FW 4.00 Body/FW 03 Lens. The lens focuses using contrast detection on AF-S. It can use phase detection autofocus on AF-C, but the microadjustments in focus burn through the battery very fast.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Meh

SEL50F18F 03/06/2017  (USA)

I wish I could say it's alright for the price, but I can't even say that because every single lens they produce is way over market value and this is no exception. Focus speed is abysmal, incredibly noisy motor. Image quality is whatever... nothing to write home about. Bottom line I'd rather adapt a 50mm ef that cost me less than half the price of this one... much better image quality and focuses faster, even adapted.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Great for Portraits

SEL50F18F 13/05/2017 by JRH3945 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had the 55mm 1.8 Zeiss Lens and for the price point of that lens I was able to get two other lens with one being the 50mm 1.8 FE by Sony. I really could not tell a difference between the two unless under microscopic examination and that was with aberration and even then I was hard pressed to tell a difference. Otherwise, I recommend the 50mm for the price point.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Great value.

SEL50F18F 20/04/2017 by EricW (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Older tech focus motor is a bit noisy and a tad sluggish compared to some of Sony's speedier lenses, but it is not that bad in either regard. But... Sharp on center. Great bokeh. Thin DOF. Great colors. Exactly what I expect from a nifty fifty.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Amazingly sharp lens.

SEL50F18F 12/03/2017 by GrafxArt (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this lens a couple of weeks ago and the results from it are brilliant.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Nice quality but a bit beyond my expectation

SEL50F18F 14/05/2016 by Jazz123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

"Alright" product but the speed of focusing is slow and make quite loud noise.I'm not satisfied with its image quality. Acceptable prime lens with this price.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

32

53