Skip to Content
74

4.4 based on 74 customer reviews

41
25
5
1
2
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great Value

SEL55210 26/12/2013 by UserNex7 (USA)

I purchased this lens as a part of the A3000 bundle after reading the reviews here and in several sites. Over the holidays, I used the lens to take photos from Inspiration point on my NEX 7. Viewing them on my Mac, I was blown away. Images were extremely sharp, great color and the zoom was useful in capturing birds and the sunset. Considering the cost, this is a great purchase and I am very pleasantly surprised. It does need a lot of light and is not lightning fast to focus. But the photos were great throughout the zoom range. I would highly recommend this lens. It is a tremendous value for money.

13

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Works

SEL55210 15/07/2014 by Mudoch (USA)

THe lens works just great with the A6000, gets the shots as expected. I have just one disappointment, it sucks the life out of the Battery. With only a few shots, under 5, I loose as much as 20% of the Battery. I mostly manual adjust the lens and then let it auto focus once I've framed the shot. Not sure If this is normal or just how I use it.

11

1

74 Customer Reviews

0

Good but not the best!

SEL55210 09/07/2017 by Butcherboy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good compact lens, not the fastest and can be a bit hit or miss at long focal length with the clarity of the photos.Auto focus works fine and is light and very simple to use.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens for the money

SEL55210 23/06/2017 by Adturb (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recently replaced my ageing A55 with an A6300, but sadly my old A mount lenses are not directly compatible. While in the camera shop I was shown the 55-210 lens and had to have it. The pictures are crisp (to my eyes!) and better than those from my A55 with Sigma and Tamron zoom lenses. This lens is quite slim, not too bulky and isn't particularly heavy- so ideal when travelling!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great light weight lens

SEL55210 21/06/2017 by friatpaul (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens a couple of weeks ago and am very pleased with it. Produces very clear sharp images across the entire focal length. It is also light weight and very easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Super for safari

SEL55210 17/04/2017 by RosemaryS (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I took this to Kenya on a safari and have the most amazing shots of lion, cheetah, giraffe, elephant, rhino, warthogs and many more animals. So easy to use with great results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Value for money zoom branded telephoto lens

SEL55210 23/02/2017 by Old_wump (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Affordable compromise of branded telephoto zoom lens. Good finish. Smooth feel. Sharp enough for significant cropping with A4 prints. Light enough to carry in gadget bag "just in case" . This 55-210 has shorter reach, smaller max aperture & lower resolution than the 70-300 I would really like BUT a quarter of the price. My "go everywhere" lens is the Sony Zeiss 16-70 which sets a high bar which I don't expect to match with a budget lens. But pleased with this 55-210 lens. Branded choice of zoom telephoto is rather limited

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Product and excellent quality

SEL55210/B 18/02/2017 by Natandjaan (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Or profession photographer neighbor recommended this camera for our adventures as a good all around camera as we step up from point and shoot into the future of manual controls and post processing. We're really happy with the camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Easy to Use

SEL55210 26/01/2017 by stueeh49 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Recent purchase into the SONY alpha 6000 camera. So I wanted an easy to use lens - which this is. I am a newbie to this compact system camera concept, so I still am on a learning curve as to getting the best out of the lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quality Product

SEL55210 08/01/2017 by Eric 39 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have not yet had this lens long enough to thoroughly evaluate it but first impressions are all good, eg. build quality and image quality.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great for the price.

SEL55210 06/12/2016 by robbiebee (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

from the a5000 kit lens, I needed something else to get closer, especially wildlife and landscape photography, the 210mm tele, was first option for me, from the kit lens. overall from 1st month, very impressed, opens a different set in pics I take, quality is excellent and the overall use of the lens, straightforward and ease of use. overall very pleased with the purchase.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not used much but has done quite well so far

SEL55210 11/11/2016 by stueyuey (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only taken this out a couple of times but I have managed to get some nice pictures, the autofocusing is not super reliable but when it does pick up the images are punchy and sharp. Good rendition of the light. Would be better with more controls on it eg focusing information on the ring.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

So far so GOOD

SEL55210 21/08/2016 by londonlad (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is very early days yet, but as Sony have asked for a review, i will give one. Good size, good weight, easy to use and value for money

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

3

0

Nice Zoom

SEL55210 13/06/2016 by Magpie2016 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this lens about two weeks ago after testing a borrowed one. It is better to use this lens on a tripod when using the maximum distance to avoid camera shake. It has a good range 55-210 and is very useful for portraits.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Lovely, small, light and great images

SEL55210 24/05/2016 by Sharon 71 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love this little camera. It is my first camera away from the DSLR. I love how compact and versatile it is. It takes a great picture two, with really high ISO ratings that actually look like they add texture to the image.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good zoom lens.

SEL55210 30/03/2016 by dane6492 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A good match with the a6000, in good light this lens can produce excellent results.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

1

0

Pretty good lens

SEL55210 25/01/2016 by 55bloke (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a nicely sized, reasonably light lens giving god to excellent results.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good Quality Zoom

SEL55210 18/01/2016 by AAG1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good quality images considering this is a low cost zoom. Not particularly compact but very lightweight.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Brilliant lens

SEL55210 06/01/2016 by Jaffo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Absolute excellent addition for my A5000 camera. Pictures are sharp and clear with great image stabilisation even at maximum zoom.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good zoom range in a lightweight/small body

SEL55210 11/10/2015 by sgfj (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good mild-to-long telephoto all-rounder although image can be a little soft at times. Focussing is noticably slower than the standard lens.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Perfect for me

SEL55210 04/10/2015 by Andy106 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Met the need for lightweight means of adding telephoto shots to my collection without reducing picture quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good compact tele zoom

SEL55210 11/09/2015 by Peter John (United Kingdom)

Bought this for my A7 as I could not afford the 70-200 lens. My A7 states on the lens mount that it is E fitting and so is the lens but the OSS does not work, so I now have a redundant lens. These A7 cameras are so good at higher ISO settings so why can't we have some less expensive smaller aperture lenses instead of all this expensive fast glass, my pension does not stretch to these.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Sony e55-210 mm f4.5-6.3 OSS

SEL55210 11/09/2015 by SteveOO7 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good lense got good photos. Focusing very easy to use, what else can I say.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Great photos

SEL55210 11/09/2015 by Owen70 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Need that extra zoom and very happy with the ease of use and the quality of the photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good Value

SEL55210 11/09/2015 by beauchiefs (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very Good value for price, easy to use, quick focussing

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

impressive results

SEL55210 31/08/2015 by Cloggie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this relatively small and light tele lens together with my Sony A5000 and it's standard 18-50mm lens. These 2 lenses cover the whole range I need. The results are impressive and better than my SLR camera/tele lenses photo's. Recently I took many photo's at an international hockey final and I managed to get sharp pictures from one end of the pitch to the other. Recommended!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

A versatile all-rounder

SEL55210 29/07/2015 by Luigi_03 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens to complement my NEX 5N on a trip to the Middle East. I was very pleased with the results I achieved then; the lens is very sharp over its entire range, and the telephoto range is well suited to the Aps-c sensor. But the lens is if anything an even better match to the A6000, in which the sophisticated focusing system and higher resolution brings out the optical quality of the lens and makes effective use of the OSS system. Light in weight, easy to carry and easy to track a moving target, this lens is a versatile all-rounder, for landscapes, sports, and wildlife, at a very affordable price..

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Simple, inexpensive and effective

SEL55210 01/07/2015 by aldridgewatcher (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens is almost a necessity for anyone with a Sony a6000. It is easy to use, works seamlessly with the camera's many facilities and gives good results. I was particularly pleased to be able to use it to photograph a tawny owl in my garden in poor evening light.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Does what it says on the box

SEL55210 30/06/2015 by Photician (United Kingdom)

I have tested this lens by taking a variety of subjects the most challenging being motor sport and found in all instances a good performance. I found it well balanced with the Alpha 6000 body

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Very pleasing results

SEL55210 28/06/2015 by CnickVuz (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

There are lots of reviews which delve into the minutiae of this lens' optical properties. For me, the results achieved are most important and the lens has not disappointed. The quality cannot be faulted and it is really easy to use. The only small point I would raise is that, at the price, Sony could at least include a basic pouch to protect the lens when not in use!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Perfect Starting Telephoto

SEL55210 17/06/2015 by Wilds (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Ideal for working alongside a standard 16-50/18-55mm, it is slower, to be expected with a longer focal length, ideal for price! Really good lens for the money

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great features at a reasonable cost.

SEL55210 16/06/2015 by robander (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

As a second lens for my a6000, it meets all of my requirements at a reasonable cost with better than expected quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Small, but effective

SEL55210 15/06/2015 by grandkids6 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had it a month now with my Sony a6000. Good clear optics, light weight and great for seabird photography where you can approach along cliff tops and get good safe shots without disturbing the birds.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Quality

SEL55210 09/06/2015 by Gajitguy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this product around a month ago because I was looking for a lens which would give that bit of extra length when zooming in on a particular subject. I currently have the 18-55mm lens and this additional lens rounds out my needs for this camera. The quality of the lens is excellent, it is light in weight (great match for the camera), and the images it produces are sharp. The overall weight of the camera and lens makes it a ideal choice for taking on holiday. I would highly recommend this product to anyone looking to step up their current camera gear to the next level.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

good features

SEL55210 06/06/2015 by no nick nams (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

New to this product and I am not sufficiently qualified to post a review on it, may be in another months time.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4

0

Worth the money

SEL55210 30/05/2015 by pipo47 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A good lens for the price, shame it does not come with a pouch.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

E 55 - 210 mm

SEL55210 04/05/2015 by mick c t (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this lens a month ago as going to a wedding and wanted to do some candid photography as well as the usual shots that everybody takes. Only used outside in the sunshine and got some great shots and the image stabilisation helped with the long focal length.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best budget Zoom lens

SEL55210/B 04/05/2015 by sttadas (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sharp enough for this kind of budget lens. Does not perform well in low light but on sunny day or well lit studio or set, it's perfect.

5

0

0

An Excellent Telephoto Lens

SEL55210/B 03/05/2015 by OldManInNC (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

When I bought my alpha-6000 Sony Camera, I wanted a telephoto to extend my reach. After lugging around big DSLR telephotos for years, this one is a dream since it's light and small while delivering excellent pictures. I appreciate the vibration control since I'm older and not as steady as I used to be. Zooming is easy, and auto-focus is quick and accurate. It's wonderful that these mirrorless camera have accessories that allow so much of DSLR functionality.

9

0

0

Good value Zoom

SEL55210 05/04/2015 by Dunxs1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Well it's not the most expensive lens , so you get what you pay for. a little soft and lacking in contrast and definition. No where near the quality of a Zeiss .

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

3

0

In real world use

SEL55210 24/03/2015 by Lyn001 (United Kingdom)

Had this lens for a while, its a bit of a mixed bag. Image quality is fair to good when used carefully, but you should be warned this is not a sports lens, focusing is far too slow. Trying to take shots of the dog playing resulted in a 100% failure rate, similarly moving boats in bright sunshine in Spain took a few moments to lock on. On the other had, static images, views and distant objects are rendered well, with a fair amount of detail and low distortion. I would recommend this lens as a general purpose, light telephoto for general use.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

3

0

Good range for kit

SEL55210/B 04/02/2015 by URBNLGND (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

For what this lens is, at the price point it as it, it is an excellent lens. Clear glass and fast enough for beginners. Knowing what your alpha camera can do will help in low light situations more than just summing it up to not being a very fast lens. This is the point of photography. Do wish I could get Sony rewards for this and the a6000 I spent good $ on though...come on Sony.

5

0

0

quality product

SEL55210 29/01/2015 by tandu (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A beautifully made lens,suprisingly small and light for a 55-200 zoom but feels robust in use.Focus can be a tad slow in lower light,but is to be expected in view of the maximum apatures available.Purchased a couple of weeks ago for my travel A6000 I still have to explore its full potential. (My primary kit Nikon F)

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

8

0

Great value

SEL55210 27/01/2015 by fowlup (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to use with my a6000 camera. I think that it is a great value lens to add a lot of range when bought as an addition to the 16-50 kit lens and the size is also very convenient compared to alternatives with similar range. I am sure that a professional photographer could tell the difference between this and some of the much bigger and much more expensive alternatives, but for me, as someone with a lot still to learn, this is an excellent product for an accessable price. I have found the picture quality to be very good, even when hand-held and at the end of the zoom range. If i had one reason to wish for improvements it would be in the speed of the auto-focus in certain situations. Mostly it works very fast but sometimes it seems to struggle to find the right focus point for 2-3 seconds. Overall, this is an excellent lens for the purpose and should especially suit people who have a budget to consider ratehr than the highest level enthusiast/professional.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Must have lens

SEL55210 12/01/2015 by Daz mc (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought a new csc camera with a 50mm lens. This 55-210mm lens is great for close shots and has a good zoom for bringing scenery much closer. I have taken some great photos with this lens it a must have for anyone.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good all round telephoto lens

SEL55210 06/01/2015 by Bigboytwin (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as a replacement for an earlier one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

a wolf in sheeps clothing

SEL55210 29/12/2014 by Jakabo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had this lens long enough to test it. I'm amazed, it's like no other kit lens I have owned. It's performance outsrips it's cost. I'm an enthusiast not a professional, for me the cost of a professional lens is not worth the extra money. This lens reinforces my opinon, it's not far behind lenses costing many times more.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

high quality tele-photo pictures for areasonable

SEL55210 29/12/2014 by JDO1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great close up pictures of wild life and scenery in Namibia

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Get the extra distance

SEL55210 29/12/2014 by Shepo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got this just befor Christmas had great time using it to get close up shots

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Perfect complement to a standard lens

SEL55210 28/12/2014 by smithy_sid (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens is really light and easy to carry around. The optical quality is better than I expected, even wide open. Once stopped down a stop, it is excellent. The optical stabilisation really does work, and is more useful on this lens than on my shorter 16-50 EPZ. I'm glad I waited and got a black one to match my black NEX-6, and it looks very smart on the camera. Negatives? Well, I'd love it if had a wider aperture, but that would add to the size/weight/price. Also, the lens hood can't be reversed and stored on the lens.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

This camera will make you go wow!

SEL55210 17/12/2014 by darrenbuttoniow (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love this mirror-less camera - No 1 choice! The lens referenced came as part of a kit I purchased. I already had a mirrorless camera from when they first appeared on the scene and loved the mobility of them as a keen photographer. This new upgrade for me has meant that my mobile work flow is so efficient that I am almost considering getting rid of my DSLR and replacing all my glass with Sony e-mount lens. The ease of use, mobility and quality of the Sony A6000 converted me to the Sony brand after one small excursion with this unit. Every subsequent outing confirms that my buying decision was right.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Great Value for Money

SEL55210 14/12/2014 by Cast a giant shadow (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought my 55-210mm aboutb4 weeks ago and I've used it quite a bit since then. The results are sharp and provide great contrast. While not a fast lens, it does offer great value for money.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

tele lens

SEL55210 09/12/2014 by rb1904 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good price, good pictures, good design, good service, good buy

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Easy to get good results..

SEL55210 03/11/2014 by el gringo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

For the last 3 years, my normal grab and go combination has been a Sony a55 and SAL18-250 Zoom. Now on the a6000 I needed a medium range zoom that in combination with the 16-50, would make up most of the focal range. From casual observation, I feel this lens probably out performs the SAL18250 in sharpness contrast and colour rendition. Definitely worth trying.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

SLOW Slow slow, too slow...

SEL55210 12/09/2014 by Styra (United Kingdom)

Biggest problem of this lens is focusing and speed of focusing - it is really slow, it takes few second or sometime this lens is not able to focus. There is no possibility to make pictures of moving objets, even slowly moving objets... There is nothing else to choose for my Sony NEX camera... My next camera will be with possibility to choose more wide spectrum of lenses.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

Works

SEL55210 15/07/2014 by Mudoch (USA)

THe lens works just great with the A6000, gets the shots as expected. I have just one disappointment, it sucks the life out of the Battery. With only a few shots, under 5, I loose as much as 20% of the Battery. I mostly manual adjust the lens and then let it auto focus once I've framed the shot. Not sure If this is normal or just how I use it.

11

1

0

Easy to use. Great shots.

SEL55210 15/07/2014 by Kmandallas (USA)

This lens is easy to use and takes great photos. Used it extensively in the Canadian Rockies for both telephoto and macro shots. Very impressive results. A great compliment to the 18-50 that came with the camera.

9

0

0

Excellent lens with great range

SEL55210 03/06/2014 by Splodge59 (United Kingdom)

Just superb! I have used this lens for so many different locations and subjects, from insects to landscapes, and it works brilliantly for all of them.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Complements my kit!

SEL55210 02/06/2014 by Carl (United Kingdom)

Added to my NEX 6 16-50pz lens to give me greater options when shooting pictures. Great zoom, like the fact that body of lens is metal.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Excellent

SEL55210 02/06/2014 by Pash47 (United Kingdom)

Have had the lens about a year and a half and can say it is well made with solid feel, smooth when zooming and the pictures are excellent. Have used it on both the Nex C3 and now the Nex 6 and images have been excellent with both.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

excellent optics

SEL55210 04/05/2014 by Ace2456 (USA)

I enjoy the use of this lens very much. The optics are very sharp. I have used for long distance photography when I could not get close to the object photographed.

11

0

0

Great Value

SEL55210 26/12/2013 by UserNex7 (USA)

I purchased this lens as a part of the A3000 bundle after reading the reviews here and in several sites. Over the holidays, I used the lens to take photos from Inspiration point on my NEX 7. Viewing them on my Mac, I was blown away. Images were extremely sharp, great color and the zoom was useful in capturing birds and the sunset. Considering the cost, this is a great purchase and I am very pleasantly surprised. It does need a lot of light and is not lightning fast to focus. But the photos were great throughout the zoom range. I would highly recommend this lens. It is a tremendous value for money.

13

0

0

May have bought a turkey

SEL55210 06/07/2013 by Toadjumps (USA)

I love the idea of this lens but the reality is that the images are badly ghosted. I've experimented with both handheld and tripod shots and on a lovely day with good light there are bad ghosts at 70mm and at 210mm. I plan on taking it back to the store and trying another lens as I read other reviews and haven't seen this complaint so I may have a bad lens.

14

30

0

Excellent lens

SEL55210 20/03/2013 by JamesChen (USA)

I got this lens for a couple of month, it came together with the NEX-F3Y kit, its pretty amazing with it superb quality of images. Particularly at low-light condition. The only problem is a little bit long in length, it might poses some discomfort while you are shooting photographs in a crowded area. But I guess probably I might get used to this as time goes by.

29

2

0

Good lens... lacks sharpness at high end

SEL55210 30/01/2013 by AyanD (USA)

This is a very good, compact lightweight lens for my Nex 5N. Also cozy feel and good looking. Great for outdoor/portrait. Nice stabilization too. At the dark side - this lens is not sharp wide open at the tele end. If you zoom more that 150mm or so then you have to step down the aperture and the image quality is so so. This is 210mm in APS-C so you can expect it to work as good as a 350mm full frame. But in reality it doesn't. If you plan to take nice bird or animal picture it is not the lens for you (probably nex series is not for you) but if you plan to take picture for normal outdoor or some long range portrait - its perfect.

34

5