Skip to Content
64

4.8 based on 64 customer reviews

57
4
1
0
2
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

64 Customer Reviews

0

Great portrait lens

SEL55F18Z 12/11/2017 by Andrydeen (United Kingdom)

With Sony 6500 it is perfect combo , especially for portraits

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent picture quality - noisy focusing

SEL55F18Z 18/10/2017 by Greg007 (USA)

The only negative I can say about this lens is it can get a little noisy when it's focusing. Coming from G Master lenses which are completely quiet, this may be important for video people. For them I would recommend the ZEISS Loxia 2/50 which is manual only focus lens. Little cheaper. About the same small size and weight.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very sharp lens

SEL55F18Z 28/09/2017 by OwenP (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I needed a low light lens for filming on my A7RII and this is the perfect solution. The Lens is sharp wide open and produces decent bokeh.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Build quality sucks

SEL55F18Z 11/09/2017 by FUsony (Canada)

After a year of usage barely took it out and shoot with it most of the time I had my zoom on the paint scheme wares of I do not abuse my gear and Sony does not do anything for me to help this situation my last Sony product

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/09/2017

Hi there! We regret to hear that your camera doesn't go well. We will have this forwarded to the relevant department as your honest feedback is a vital part of our continued growth and improvement. If you wish to have it serviced, please visit our eService website at https://esupport.sony.com/CA/p/service.pl

0

Clean and Clear.

SEL55F18Z 01/09/2017 by ScottPhotoNYC (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this now knowing if I would use this on a regular basis. I actually find this to be a go to lens for me. It's small enough to use almost anywhere. I find it to be fast and give me the clean results I'm looking for. It worked great on my A7 & A6300.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Lightweight

SEL55F18Z 26/08/2017 by Stables3 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Nice lightweight lens on my A6500, good sharp image with nice contrast. Too early to give a long review as just had the lens a few couple of weeks.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

This is my all time favourite Prime!

SEL55F18Z 19/06/2017 by Residentevilzerofan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having owned the SEL55F18 Zeiss Plannar for 18 months it's my favourite lens - it's the sharpest lens I have ever come across and this is also reflected in DXO Mark for the E-Mount series. I cannot highly recommend this lens enough - The Bokeh is insane.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Exceptional lens for a6000

SEL55F18Z 19/06/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this FF lens in anticipation of buying A7x camera. On a6000 gives excellent sharpness, nice colours. Also very light and compact and remarkably 'thin' for a FF lens. Satisfactory only for macro, but very good for portraits with especially nice bokeh. A bit expensive.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Must have lens

SEL55F18Z 10/05/2017 by Cast a giant shadow (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The FE 55mm is a must have general purpose, short portrait lens. The images it produces are fantastic. They are sharp and the subjects pop. I highly recommend this lens

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Favorite Lens

SEL55F18Z 07/05/2017 by Teddi (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I absolutely LOVE this lens with my Sony A7II. It takes great pictures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Lens

SEL55F18Z 06/01/2017 by Rush Videos (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this lens to use with our Sony A7sii & couldn't be happier. The lens not only captures great color and depth of field for video, but also works well with the A7sii low light capability. The only reason it received a four star is we feel it coud've been a faster lens for focusing. The pictures this lens are beyond amazing. Overall the build is very well & definitely great quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Great lens! works as I expected

SEL55F18Z 04/11/2016 by Wangfa (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great outputs, light weight, and perfect for street, landscape, and portrait shots

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

SONY & ZEISS PRO PRIME LENS

SEL55F18Z 16/08/2016 by FDAC (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Superb Prime 55mm Lens on an A7Rii,excellent optic

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Outstanding lens

SEL55F18Z 11/06/2016 by Mfm20 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Beautifully sharp. ..with true colours. Good general purpose focal length. It is very expensive but the quality is obvious

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Brilliant supreme prime

SEL55F18Z 08/06/2016 by Giggy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Sony - Sonnar T* FE 55mm F1.8 ZA has turned out to be the main lens I use most of the time on the full frame Sony Alpha 7 Mk 2. To achieve best results I manually tweak the final focus on the part of the subject that will make the picture pop out the best in an almost 3D look. The lens is razor sharp in any part of the picture frame at any aperture. Although this lens is expensive compared to similar sized prime lenses I think it is worth the extra money and would fully recommend it on mirrorless Sony Alpha cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Great Lens, you'll love it!

SEL55F18Z 10/05/2016 by keefiman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

As most Review sites and reviewers here have said, this lens is pin sharp. Nice bokeh and colour rendering. Probably not the cheapest, depending on where you get it from but worth it. Perfect match for the A7Rll. The only thing it lack is the DoF indicator of the Batis.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Little Choice

SEL55F18Z 14/04/2016 by plattsnaps (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had read the reviews and done the research. FE full frame, 55mm versatile lens, F1.8 fast, colours wow, sharpness as anticipated very good, cost? you get what you pay for. Other problems no problem in post.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

8

0

0

Quality lens

SEL55F18Z 07/04/2016 by silkystrings (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This had a lot to live up to. As a recent adopter of the Sony A7R I was used to using a 5D3/Sigma Art 50mm combination. I am glad to say it's up there with the best. Very sharp, very good contrast with excellent colour rendition. Beautifully built and (hopefully) should last a lifetime.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A quality and pinpoint clarity

SEL55F18Z 26/03/2016 by Deepfield (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this lens in early March in London with the Sony a 7RII and do not regret it, the lens has a wonderful solid feel to it and excellent low light capabilities. It's versatile as an everyday prime lens as well as a great for portraits portraits. Using it properly yesterday in a large park in Sao Paulo I was amazed that every shot I took was this great image, even though it was the first time out to actually take pictures. This is a go to lens when ever you are going out. No counts when I understand the eccentricities of the lens and my improved use of it my pics will be even better.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Simply fantastic

SEL55F18Z 11/02/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

First some background information. I recently sold all my Alpha mount lenses and camera and moved over to the Sony mirror less system. I now own the A7ii, Sony 24-70mm Zeiss f4, Sony 70-200mm f4, Sony 90mm macro f2.8 and my latest purchase the beautiful Sony 55mm Zeiss f1.8. Yes this lens is beautiful, it feels, looks top, top quality and a pleasure to own. The photographs it produces are amazing, sharp, sharp. The colour renditions of this lens are typical Zeiss and 3D like. I honestly believe this is the best lens I have ever owned.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Sharpness!

SEL55F18Z 07/01/2016 by Frighty (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Extremely happy with this lens however I am upset that it doesn't have any stabilisation built in. But the Sharpness of this lens kinda makes up for it. Over all I'm happy and I'm sure that once I've remortgaged in the distance future I will be able to purchase the 24-70 with built in OSS.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

11

0

Quality Zeiss lens

SEL55F18Z 06/12/2015 by Nick46 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Superb prime lens. Produces clear bright images. Ideal starter lens for my new Alpha A7ii.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Superb Lens

SEL55F18Z 13/10/2015 by Lanadre (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this a few weeks ago and what a lens it is. Light, fast, superb image quality, cannot fault this lens at all. I do wish there was a hard focus rather than focus by wire but this is something on most of the sony lenses now.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic definition with A7r mk2

SEL55F18Z 08/10/2015 by dacdave (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only had this lens 2 weeks, I have been in photography 50 years and the 55mm f1.8 Zeiss with the Sony A7r mk2 is producing the best images I have ever experienced.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Made the right choice

SEL55F18Z 23/09/2015 by The_Northumbrian (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the A7ii and had to choose between the 24-70 f4 and the 55 f1.8, versatility vs quality and shallow depth of focus - made the right choice with the 55mm. I've never owned a fast prime and the 55mm has now given me the bug to buy other primes. Focus is precise and fast and the quality and sharpness of the files is amazing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Stunning Lens

SEL55F18Z 18/09/2015 by The fool in the rain (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago and it hasn't left my Camera. Truley a stunning lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony - Sonnar T* FE 55mm F1.8 ZA

SEL55F18Z 12/09/2015 by fstop007 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I traded all my Canon equipment for the Sony alpha 7 Mark II and a few lenses, including the Sony - Sonnar T* FE 55mm F1.8 ZA. It focuses as quickly and accurately and renders color as well as the "L" Canon lenses. Plus it's less bulky and much lighter, making it easy to carry and pack.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

The best prime ever made

SEL55F18Z 17/07/2015 by Nate (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Prime lenses are known for having superior clarity, contrast and a much larger aperture. Well, this lens certainly doesn't disappoint. Its exceptional! compared to allot of primes i have previously used.. At larger apertures like f1.8 some lenses suffer with softness, but lens this is razor sharp! The out of focus elements are buttery smooth! The auto focus is quiet, and fast on an A7ii and A7s E-mount camera system. Use this on the A6000 and it becomes the perfect focal length for portraits. The build quality is a nice solid metal all round, so it will withstand many years of use. It may be a pricey lens, but in my opinion this is definitely one of the best primes ever made.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

An outstanding lens

SEL55F18Z 13/07/2015 by Ulrome (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Since buying this lens, it has rarely been off my Sony A7 (and now A7II). This and the 35mm Zeiss Prime lens make an extremely good pair. The 55mm is amazingly sharp and when used at wider apertures it produces a lovely bokeh. On an APC camera like the A6000 it is ideal as a short telephoto, for example for portraits. In short, it is every bit as good as the leica lenses that I also use with the A7.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Unbelievable

SEL55F18Z 18/06/2015 by Hillwalker (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was originally going to get the Sony ziess 24-70 lens, but after reading reviews went for this lens. It surpassed all my expectations it is tack sharp, amazing even unbelievably good, I would state in all my years it is by a long shot best lens I've ever owned. My advice buy it you won't regret it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

In comparison to the 50mm 1.4 Zeiss.

SEL55F18Z 03/04/2015 by TCGC (USA)

Well, I had to scratch that itch folks. I own the 50mm 1.4 Sony Zeiss and bought an A7. Couldn't resist the need to compare. What can I say? This lens is sharp- stupid sharp. At 1.8 compared to the 50mm 1.4 at wide open...the 55 is sharper in the center and less CA. Almost non-existent CA. Side by side they are negligible at F2 and down, but the 55 comes out ahead in terms of corner sharpness. I see it as a preference. It's a bigon design where the 50mm is a planar. For portraits I personally find the 50mm more pleasing in how it renders bokeh. But really, the differences are splitting hairs. For the price, I think it's safe to say that the 55 is pretty much a steal and a system mover lens. It's also really small and light- I was caught off guard by this. Differences between 1.4 and 1.8 are almost non existent. The 55 was an excercise in what could be done when optimal conditions were met in terms of focal length and speed. Zero complaints- how could you? Great job Sony.

9

5

0

Otus Junior

SEL55F18Z 01/04/2015 by Seba84 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sharpness of the photos is the best I have ever seen !!! Lack of OSS is a shame and the price is high but you would not be disappointed with quality from wide open !!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great lense, just dirty inside

SEL55F18Z 29/03/2015  (USA)

I purchased this lense, had to return it because its dirty inside from manufacturing(chromatic aborations everywhere). I received the second lense to replace the first one, that lense was even dirtier inside. Not happy and not sure what to do anymore. waiting back for response from the place I purchased it from as to what I can do. if sony had more choices for lenses, i would just get something else. but the selection of lenses is pathetic.

1

45

0

Super sharp and fast lens

SEL55F18Z 04/03/2015  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a beatuful lens for me. It's fantasticaly sharp (almost too sharp - a nice problem to have). The colours transfer is brilliant and holds the whites tremendously well. Well built solid lens too. You can feel the quality when you hold the lens.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Sony Zeiss Sonnar 55mm f1.8

SEL55F18Z 03/02/2015 by GordonS (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

As might be expected, this lens delivers superior results, particularly when a decent tripod, or flash, is used. It can resolve fine detail, even in difficult lighting circumstances. The colour transmission lives up to the len's T* badge. It's well built, and feels purposeful in use. On a camera with an aps-c size sensor, it's an excellent portrait lens, perhaps delivering some results that are too sharp. Not everyone appreciates seeing the fine hairs, and pores of their skin. This is a very satisfying piece of optical equipment to use. I'm very glad I took the plunge, and got one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Absolute best obtainable lens you can buy.

SEL55F18Z 22/12/2014 by Dhammawitt (USA)

The single most Must-have lens out of all the Nikon/Canon/Sony bodies I've had. Currently the only FE lens I have for my A7ii.....and I'm still ok with that.

9

0

0

Guest 55 mm lens

SEL55F18Z 11/11/2014 by Stanback (USA)

Bought this as a standard lens for my A7R. Razor sharp with great color accuracy.

4

0

0

Sharpness, and great colour

SEL55F18Z 31/10/2014 by Sydney2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to compliment my A7R as it is the same high image quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Super Sharp little GEM!

SEL55F18Z 11/10/2014 by Lacroix (USA)

This is one of the sharpest 50mm lens I've ever used. It's also silent and fast so what else could you ask for. I just don't understand why some people buy a third party manual 50mm lenses such as Voigtlander, Leica, etc... plus adapters when this lens is "native" and can perform at the same level or better not to mention that you can use it in auto as well. Some may argue that the a F1.2 or f1.4 is the reason to get a third party expensive lens, however, until you see the sharpness and silky butter feel bokeh on this lens, you'll never know how good it is. All A7, A7R, and A7S owners should have one of these lenses in their photo bags. I know mine doesn't leave my camera.

9

0

0

Great Prime Lens

SEL55F18Z 07/10/2014 by chriscamera (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted a lens to put on my A7R as a general purpose high end lens. In conjunction the photos are excellent, with clear focus, no apparent chromatic aberrations or distortions across the photos. Light capture appears excellent for its small 49mm diameter. The lens is very well made, looks and feels solid. The fit to camera is sound with no movement and the manual focus, when used works well. I have used a slim polaroid circular filter on the lens which is difficult to operate with the slight recess on the front, almost impossible with the excellent lens hood provided, but what's new. High end fantastic lens as you should expect from Zeiss.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Best native lens yet for A7!

SEL55F18Z 28/09/2014 by Bitchinlight (USA)

The FE 55 1.8 is flat out a great lens. Edge to edge a top performer. Have used it for landscapes, with a close focus tube for macro shots and portraits. Probably the best overall lens I've ever used. Hopefully more lenses in the FE line will live up to this.

10

0

0

As "advertised" - Tack sharp

SEL55F18Z 27/09/2014 by johnrsims43 (USA)

Really sharp (as others have commented). Great focal length for portrait or general use. I've used it a bit for landscape, and photo merge multiple shots when I need a wider field of view. Works OK, but 35 mm is also very sharp, and perhaps better for some landscape shots.

3

0

0

Superb Lens

SEL55F18Z 26/09/2014 by photodan (USA)

This is one of the very finest lenses I've ever owned or tried. Using with the 36mp a7r which will show up any weakness. Superior resolution, color rendering, and contrast. It's very good even wide open. Has excellent bokeh. Focuses accurately.

3

0

0

Very Sharp lens

SEL55F18Z 26/09/2014 by signgrap (USA)

Great build! A wonderful sharp lens

1

0

0

Stellar - my new best friend

SEL55F18Z 26/09/2014 by Huckleberries (USA)

Sharpest most usable prime I've owned. Light throughput is excellent; rivals or surpasses any 1.4 I have and will give some 1.2s a go. If I only had 1 piece of glass, this is my first choice. Rarely if ever in a bag - always mounted - never left in studio. On the A7r it's a telling lens; if you err, there is no escaping detection. Conversely, when you nail it, the results are spectacular. The separation and "3D" feel are absolutely Zeiss and the images produced have their unique signature - I know instantly if an image was made with this lens or not. Buy it and never look back.

9

0

0

Exception Lens

SEL55F18Z 26/09/2014 by JWTM (USA)

The professional reviews are "on target," describing this as one of the best lenses Zeiss has made. It is crystal clear from edge to edge. Pure Zeiss quality, just as you would expect. Matched with the a7 or a7r, it produces amazing clarity and color with beautiful, creamy bokeh. (Attached image captured RAW at 1250 ISO and converted to Jpeg. Only adjustment was white balance. No sharpening.)

9

1

0

Good quality

SEL55F18Z 16/09/2014 by NeliPi (United Kingdom)

I photograph nature, portrait , reportage. I'm happy. Good shots day and night.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Prime Lens!!

SEL55F18Z 15/09/2014 by akira482 (USA)

This is a great lens, might be a little pricey for some. I own a Nex-7 and it’s ridiculously sharp. I'm happy with the results. This lens is a must have with great depth of field too. You will be happy with your purchase.

3

0

0

Outstanding Lens

SEL55F18Z 14/09/2014 by Esperance (USA)

The portraits produced by this lens and my Sony Nex-7 digital camera are, quite simply, outstanding. I would rate this product with 6 stars (though Sony only made 5 available).

2

0

0

so far, so good

SEL55F18Z 13/08/2014 by RickLeBeau (USA)

Bought this lens along with the A7R. So far I love both of them. The A7R is nice and versatile, and I use several lenses with it, besides the FE 55. I'm really looking forward to using the 55 more, though.

1

4

0

Stunning image quality

SEL55F18Z 29/07/2014 by Cirrusgazer (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had very, very high expectations having read and watched so many good reviews, which were confirmed by a valued friend who has used the A7r with this lens for the past 7 months. I have only been using it for a few weeks but it has already surpassed those expectations: the phenomenal sharpness is as good as I dared hope but the added surprise for me is the quality of the colour which it captures. It is simple in design, feels solid and well-engineered, the focussing ring also feels good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

One of the best lenses ever tested by DXO /DPReviw

SEL55F18Z 28/07/2014 by Rizvan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having read many reviews about the Zeiss 55mm f/1.8 I felt it was time to buy one and see if it lived up to the high praise that it has been given. DXO & DPReview have rated this lens as one of the best they have ever tested and I can only confirm that to be true. It is mind bogglingly sharp with the build quality living up the the Zeiss name. I am happy that I have added this lens to my collection and hope Sony & Zeiss continue to keep up the high quality in future FE mount lenses.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Superb.

SEL55F18Z 28/07/2014 by Thkpic1 (USA)

This is a fantastic lens....absolutely stellar in every right. It's sharp as a tac with great contrast and pleasing bokeh. To my eyes anyway, I can' tell the difference from 1.4-1.8....the lack of speed is absolutely non-essential. In fact, its probably the reason Sony was able to nail the performance on this lens throughout it's aperture range. One thing though, the sample picture in the ad on this page of the girl is driving me nuts. Yes, you can see how much shallow DOF you can get with this lens doing portraits. However, her left eye is completely out of focus....not a professional shot in any way. Could have picked a better example IMO. Back to the lens. Yeah, its awesome.

12

0

0

Really stunning lens!

SEL55F18Z 24/06/2014 by Jack24 (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens a couple of months ago mainly because I had the 24-70 ZA for general use and needed this for finer copy work. I read reviews saying it was a cracking good lens and studied the optical analyses on some sites so I hoped for something good. It is hands down the best lens I have owned - and I have two best-rated recent Canon lenses. It is pretty flat, sharp all over, almost no aberrations - brilliantly crisp. I cannot fault it; light, and a great fit for my A7R, biggest problem is holding it steady enough when out and about and using full resolution, but with care it is far ahead of anything I've encountered before, and I like to print big so now I can!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

A fantastic lens!

SEL55F18Z 24/06/2014 by Dean (United Kingdom)

I love using this lens! The sharpness is a joy to view. Incredible in low light. A perfect match for the A7 family.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Great colours, contrast and sharpness.

SEL55F18Z 05/06/2014 by Nige (United Kingdom)

One of the best lenses I have ever used. Using it on the A7r is like having a compact medium format camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Fantastic FE55 ... absolute must have lens on A7r

SEL55F18Z 02/06/2014 by IPSNotts (United Kingdom)

This is a fantastic lens. Out of focus areas are beautifully renderred with a creamy texture whilst the in-focus areas are as sharp as can be. Micro-contrast and colour rendition are outstanding. Having come from using Leica lenses, this is praise indeed!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

A very Good Lens

SEL55F18Z 02/06/2014  (United Kingdom)

I was lucky enough to be able to get both this and the 35mm at the time I bought my A7r and both are excellent lenses. I also own the old Zeiss 50/1.4 Contax/Yashica fit lens which was tested as the best 50mm available in the 80s/90s and this 55/1.8 is clearly better throughout, optically, as well as offering AF. The price is very high for a standard lens but it really does deliver. Would be 5 stars if it was a little cheaper.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Truly Awesome 55mm F1.8

SEL55F18Z 02/06/2014 by kensom (United Kingdom)

This is one of the best lenses I have ever used. In partnership with the A7R the colour and detail rendered are truly awesome. For pixel peepers, look no further you can easily zoom in on your monitor to a ridiculous degree. So what is at the end of the track?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

amazing lens

SEL55F18Z 06/05/2014 by shawnroller (USA)

I really love this lens. It is the lens that is always on my A7. I rarely use any other lens. It is extremely crisp.

11

0

0

The Perfect Match for a Sony A7r

SEL55F18Z 05/05/2014 by 4Candy (USA)

Love the lens!

6

6

0

Excellent Prime lens

SEL55F18Z 04/05/2014 by Samm1000 (USA)

High quality prime lens that allows full usage of the 36 mp alpha 7r. Has decent bokeah when wide opened. Only wish is that it was an f1.4 instead of a 1.8. For the price charged, that would have been a reasonable expectation. Right now FE mount lenses offer few choices but I'm sure this will change. Still the first lens I would choose in the FE offerings.

10

1

0

The most exciting lens ever

SEL55F18Z 03/05/2014 by Atwj (USA)

Fantastic colours, Bokeh andost of all very sharp to detail. One of the most adorable 50s to own. Every image is mesmerizing.

9

5

0

Super sharp lens! Zeiss-worthy

SEL55F18Z 29/03/2014 by JoeFotosiamo (USA)

This lens definitely lived up to its Zeiss name! Superbly sharp across all aperture and from center to edges. The bokeh is very nice and smooth as a 55mm lens and the colors look great. I actually bought this lens instead of the 35mm and have not regretted it yet.

16

0