Skip to Content
FE 70-200MM F4 G OSS

Product Reviews

$1,699.99

45

4.8 based on 45 customer reviews

38
6
1
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

45 Customer Reviews

0

Fantastic lens. Shame about Sony's pricing

SEL70200G 17/11/2017 by Hughzy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens is often overlooked as people seem to be drawn more to the G Master. This is ashame as this lens is a fantastic performer and extremely light. It's just ashame that Sony still sells its lenses at prices that are far too high

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

First impressions

SEL70200G 09/10/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Although I have not had the chance to test in depth, I took the lens with my A6500 along a Thames walk last week. Highly impressed with the sharpness from all angles. Zoom is smooth. Colours accurate on the sunny day. Autumn colours especially. Lens is heavy which I expected, but I carried it around all afternoon with no fatigue.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Not a robust lens

SEL70200G 30/08/2017 by Pietmann (USA)

Looks like a tank and appears as an competitor alternative. Lens is not pro grade and can't be used as I used my competitors white lens. Focus not working after a impact within the camera bag. Inside it is a plastic lens, cheaply made. A big surprise to me. I googled and many 70-200 f4 and f2.8 users have the same experience. It's a pity that a small steel ring gets bended and fail the focus.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

4

0

Impress but lacking a tad

SEL70200G 26/08/2017 by Lrs Photog (USA)

This lens is awesome when it's on .... but do to some focus haunting and slow focus I had to knock it down a star

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fabulous lens for travel

SEL70200G 25/08/2017 by svcace (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

While it is true the newer Sony lens is faster, the fact is it is really heavy and the barrel extends. If you travel or do hiking, it is a load to take. The f4 G OSS is simply a wonderful lens and razor sharp at nearly every point. Frankly, the A7'rII I have has such a wonderful low light ability, a faster lens simply is not a priority for me. I can't recommend this lens highly enough.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Superb Portrait and Landscape Lens

SEL70200G 17/06/2017 by JPearson (Canada)

I have had this lens for a couple months and absolutely Love it! Great focal range, optical quality and solid build. Could not be happier.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good optics but no teleconverter available

SEL70200G 08/06/2017 by Desoscar (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

As above when are Sony going to make more lenses/converters

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Just the best

SEL70200G 19/04/2017 by Seaton Carew (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This brilliant lens that complaments my Sony A7, so pleased to have it in my bag.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Just the ticket

SEL70200G 23/09/2016 by Camshy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

On camera most of the time since getting. Size and weight are reason I chose this rather than to f2.8, being I shoot landscapes f4 is fine. Stabilization works great for hand held shots though that's rare. Image quality so far from lens and the A7R have really helped take my photography to a new level, so much so that I now have prints rather than just digital copies. Regularly print 20" x 30" and 16" x 36", also a 20" x 59". Anyone with E mount who shoots landscapes should get this lens as it doesn't disappoint.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Spot on!

SEL70200G 26/06/2016 by Kohakoo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had read a few negatives about this lens being soft max zoom. I think I'm one of the lucky ones, its spot on.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Light, versatile, accurate and extremely fast auto

SEL70200G 18/01/2016 by dynot (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased last month and has been my main camera lens so far and I am very pleased with the results. Though rated at F4 the Sony A7Rii that I am using it with far outweighs this. I am looking forward to Sony releasing a 2,8 which I am sure, when released will become the lens of choice for many photographers.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

6

0

A must have lens for sony e-mount users

SEL70200G 09/06/2015 by Fatbobby (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A great lens for both my A7 and A6000 . Excellent image quality on both cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

nice balance with camera

SEL70200G 22/05/2015 by Dr Do (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

fitted in well with my setup and the screen helps with low level shots

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Switching to Sony

SEL70200G 23/04/2015 by mehansen (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Been a Nikon user forever - shifting to Sony -The 70-200 and the camera combined feel like they weigh less than the Nikon 70-200 alone. and the clarity/sharpness is right there - Thanks Sony - Now you need a 2x like my nikon and we're really in business!

11

0

0

Excellent lens

SEL70200G 15/04/2015 by chriscamera (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having used this lens for a number of weeks on a 7R, I am very pleased with the purchase. I have used it as a general purpose lens, because it has the image stabilisation which my prime lens does not have and with the 7R you do need to be careful of camera shake/movement, so when I cannot use my tripod I like to use this lens. Of particular note for me are some of my outdoor portrait work with this lens, producing excellent results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Smooth

SEL70200G 14/04/2015  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Even though I have had less time using the lense than I would have liked I have found the lense smooth and steady with crisp detail even when hand held and the light levels are not at their best . Worth every penny

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

WoW fast focus

SEL70200G 06/04/2015 by Sydney2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Using this lens with a mirror less camera is just awesome. It's light small and has an image quality second to none. Used with the A6000 it's focus capabilities are fantastic, Using it with 36 mp gives an image quality which will amaze.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

29

0

0

Portrait Lens? Who Knew!

SEL70200G 28/03/2015 by CraigC (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

In addition to be the obvious telephoto lens it was designed for, finding some creative uses as a portrait tool.

7

4

0

hard to focus in low light

SEL70200G 23/03/2015 by cyclemichael (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Hard to focus in low light is probable more of a problem with my Sony a7. Even when using my BIG Sony flash, its hard to focus in low light because there is no IR Preflash focus assist

7

5

0

Fantastic Glass

SEL70200G 03/03/2015 by Gmoney4u (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this lens new and have been completely pleased with its operation. It takes exceptionally clear images at all focal lengths. The auto focus is crisp and fast. The lens is light and well balanced for controlled hand held telephoto shooting. The lens feel solid and well built and looks good.

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Stable picture even handheld

SEL70200G 28/02/2015 by simonog (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought last week. This is the first telephoto I have had where used with a Sony Alpha 7 II I can take a full zoom picture handheld and it's rock solid stable. Well made lens with easy action and good performance.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Best Bargain Of My Year

SEL70200G 25/02/2015 by BigELVIS (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I borrowed this lens last summer for a very intensive shoot overseas in Korea for two weeks. It was a life saver. Using the Fe 70-200 F4 G OSS was the same as finding an oasis in the desert. The lens was so light on my Sony A7 so that even with a bum shoulder I always would forget about it until I needed it. Working with it and my 24 to 70 mm F4 lens was a pleasure and I really worked it hard. I shot every day In all kinds of conditions sometimes in really dark places and using the 70 to 200 mm, I shot a lot of interesting photos without a tripod shooting wide open at F4. I made images with that lens at 1/15 of a second handheld and sharp as a razor's edge. I was able to capture the subtle color that lived inside the color photographs that I saw in some very dark places. Buying this lens may be the best deal that I may have made recently. It is small and light and travels well. You can carry it in a jacket pocket or photo vest. And finally - the lens sturdiness is a plus and it is also as sharp as a serpent's tooth. It's a truly great lens!

10

0

0

Excellent, sharp lens.

SEL70200G 10/02/2015 by ClarkyAviation (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Absolutely excellent lens. The build quality is fantastic, although with my sample the tripod collar moves too easily when it is supposedly locked down. The IS is decent, not as good as a cheaper competitor lens that I have, but it is a heck of a lot quieter. Focussing is essentially silent, as is changing aperture. This lens feels like it's built like a tank and could really stand up to abuse. The size is great for an FE system like my A7s, although I feel it's a lot more comfortable to use with a battery grip installed. It's a bit pricey for what it is, to be honest, but offset against the cost of the camera (in comparison to the competition) the overall price about evens out. But the lens is super sharp, lovely bokeh. I've been using it for aerial photography, and just general photo taking, and it's performed extremely well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Love my new Lens

SEL70200G 06/02/2015 by forgiven (USA)

I took my Sony FE70-200mm F4 G OSS lens on a road trip. The photos I took out the window of my car while the driver was going around 60 miles per hour. I was very happy with how clear and crisp the photos were. I have a Nex 7 camera and the colors were great. I have loved my NEX 7 and find this new lens a great addition. The lens fits well in my hand. The only draw back is the weight when I carry it around. Both photos below were taken while the car was moving at a good speed.

16

0

0

an excellent lens

SEL70200G 04/02/2015 by jotaenege (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like the 70-200, but rather wait if they make a 70-300 with a similar design

1

5

0

Simply put, a terrific lens!!!!!!!!!!!

SEL70200G 14/01/2015 by CharlieS (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is well worth the money. You get what you pay for.

1

4

0

Super Lens

SEL70200G 03/01/2015 by photooutdoorsman (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Sony FE70-200 F4 G OSS E-mount Zoom Lens is just abnout the best that money can buy. This lens is sharp as a tac and delivers constantly great images.

4

0

0

Optimus Prime

SEL70200G 30/12/2014 by ProArte (USA)

If you own an a7R, this is definitely the lens to capture images of sports, birds, portraiture, and videos. It is the only zoom lens that has the razor sharpness to match the high resolution sensor of the a7R; for example, when you take a picture of NASCAR 51, you will be able to discern each and every hair of Justin Allgaier's eyebrows. I have been using this FE 70-200 F4 G since it was first issued by Sony for everything but macrophotography. The color is perfect and there is no distortion. Marvelous landscapes come from closing the aperture down to have foreground to infinity in focus. Attach a polarizing filter and capture rainbow trout swimming in the clear mountain streams. Project the image on a 12 ft screen to see shimmering fish scales. If you are going to attach a zoom lens to the a7R, make it this one; and take spectacular photographs everywhere you go.

15

0

0

Great lens

SEL70200G 29/12/2014 by ezgl33 (USA)

This lens provides excellent image quality in a not too big package. It is a great addition to any full frame E-mount kit.

3

0

0

Excellent lens

SEL70200G 27/12/2014 by calm1954 (USA)

One of my favorites. This lens is sharp and has a fast AFS. I highly recommend this lens!

3

0

0

Superb ... as in GOOD

SEL70200G 27/12/2014 by Smart45 (USA)

Purchased specifically for a safari trip to Africa. It performed flawlessly. I took several thousand pictures and my only complaints had to do with the number of shots of my feet (taken by mistake).

2

0

0

Superb!!

SEL70200G 25/11/2014 by Grrrowl (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent build quality and superb fast sharp AF all in a nice tiny package. OSS is amazing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

a great lens

SEL70200G 17/11/2014 by warwick72 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought my sony compact & lenses 3 weeks ago and a few hundred images later, am very pleased with the result.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

gorgeous lens

SEL70200G 27/09/2014 by BillA7S (USA)

Beautiful clarity and color throughout the zoom range and all f-stops. Happy with the electronics features also. At f4 with the A7S high sensitivity, able to get amazing low-noise evening/night shots across zoom range.

17

0

0

Amazing Lens

SEL70200G 26/09/2014 by IPHONE6 (USA)

This lens is truly amazing, and I highly recommend it for anyone that purchases the nex-7R. It's focus time is quick and the quality is pristine. Nice job again Sony!

9

3

0

jury still out

SEL70200G 26/09/2014 by novarocket (USA)

Haven't had the chance to really use the lens. Just came back from brazil but did not taker this lens. Biggest drawback is the weight.

1

62

0

excellent quality

SEL70200G 03/09/2014 by ms3650uk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Used at Bournemouth Air Show wth A7 camera excellent full frame definition

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A Pleasure to Use, truly Balanced Quality

SEL70200G 23/08/2014 by Jolie3 (USA)

This lens is balanced beautifully on my A7s. The image quality is really outstanding. It's smooth and silent operation makes it a pleasure to use, concentration is on the subject. The mechanics and feel of this lens is simply great; sharpness, color, and contrast. This one is definitely a fine one to keep and definitely work hard.

22

2

0

Great telephoto lens with ultimate sharpness

SEL70200G 01/08/2014 by Rizvan (United Kingdom)

Having already bought the Zeiss 24-70mm & 55mm I decided to buy this telephoto lens to add to my collection. Some may consider this a very expensive lens but the price is justified by the results it produces. It is sharper than its rivals but in a smaller and ligher package. No negative issues to report and it is one of my favorite lenses so far. I hope Sony continue to make lenses of this calibre and consider releasing a tele-converter for it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Sony has done a great job with this lens!

SEL70200G 17/07/2014 by photonut (USA)

After reading the many articles and tests that involved this lens I was really starting to second guess my purchase. Now after getting it and putting it through my own tests the lens was well worth the purchase. The lens is very sharp from 70mm all the way to 200mm. I didn't see any problems in the corners at 200mm even when pixel counting. Maybe I got a newer release of this lens, I'm also using the latest firmware update on my Sony A7r. Great lens, quality is superb! Focus can be a little slow in low light but that's given with an F4 lens.

26

2

0

Easy to use, great quality

SEL70200G 16/07/2014  (USA)

Would highly recommend.

0

28

0

Stunning....

SEL70200G 15/07/2014 by JohnNH (USA)

I purchased this lens for use on both my A7 and A7R - and it certainly does not disappoint. In fact, after coming from the Nikon world - I expected this Sony lens to fall a bit short in IQ compared to my Nikkor counterparts - but, in fact - it is as good as, if not better! - then my Nikkor 80-200mm F/2.8 IF-ED and other Nikkor lenses (I own a bunch of high end Nikon lenses). A couple of very simple truths about this lens... 1) Looks are deceiving. I expected this lens to be hefty and heavy - but, looks are indeed - deceiving. For the form factor, it's actually quite svelte and handles and balances beautifully, either in-hand or attached to a tripod (from the lens foot). While the weight overpowers a bit my NEX-7, it is wonderfully balanced on either my A7 or A7R. 2) Focus speed and focus acquisition is fast. Really fast. Even when stopped down to smaller f/stops. I haven't experienced any focus-hunting on either my A7 or A7R. 3) I keep being asked "is this lens sharp". Yes - it is. It is SHARP. It's as good as - if not BETTER - then my Nikkor high-end lenses, some being twice the price of this Sony lens when I purchased the Nikon lenses "new". So, that's a huge compliment to the Sony Optics team. Stunning lens..And yes - again - it is SHARP - even "pixel peeping a 36MB RAW file from my A7R... 4) There are manual controls on the lens to facilitate your shooting style and what you are shooting. These buttons/switches activate and deactivate settings you may have set in your camera - and work wonderfully. No longer to you have to go back to the Menu on the Camera to adjust "on-the-fly" these same features and take your eye from the viewfinder. This lens was "made" to fit with the Sony FE bodies - and it works wonderfully. 5) The build quality is stunning. The focus and zoom rings on my example are silky smooth and give exactly what I expect for tactile feedback. So - here is the bottom line... If you are coming from the Nikon or Canon world of professional lenses/bodies - BUY THIS lens if you are looking for a native FE lens to match what you've come to expect from other professional optical manufacturers. This Sony lens does not disappoint. A little about me..? I shoot commercially and expect the best out of my equipment. For that? This lens will fit right into my shoots and style, I hope this helps.

83

1

0

Excellent Lens

SEL70200G 06/06/2014 by GaryS (USA)

Purchased the FE 70-200mm F4 G OSS Full-frame Zoom Lens to use with my a7 and a7r. This set-up works great for me as it feels lighter in my hands than my old set-up, Nikon D610 + Nikkor 70-200m f/4G VR. The images captured with both Sony cameras are sharp and as good or better than my old set-up. I am very happy that I made the switch. I do not care about the techno stuff. All that I care about is the output and with this equipment, I can see an improvement in my images. I have no problem carrying the FE 24-70mm, FE 70-200mm, FE 55mm along with either the a7 or the a7r all day with no complaints.

59

7

0

Solid performance, just about small enough

SEL70200G 05/06/2014 by RayS (United Kingdom)

Recently purchased as part of a move from a DSLR-based system, complete with giant f2.8 zooms. While I miss that extra aperture stop a little, the overall reduction of size and weight in the whole system makes it worth the sacrifice. Very good performance right from f4, with the exception of the corners being just a little soft until you stop down. That's no a problem for my style of work, though. Out of focus backgrounds look very smooth and clean. Autofocus is fast and accurate, and the stabilisation works surprisingly well. Overall, I'm very happy with it so far!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

Excellent sharp Lens

SEL70200G 03/06/2014 by Rond (United Kingdom)

The FE 70-200mm F4 G Lens is very sharp and the quality is excellent

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0