Skip to Content
17

4.5 based on 17 customer reviews

11
4
2
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Sharper than you think

SEL70300G 05/10/2016 by Luccombe Lad (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this about 6 weeks ago. The stabilisation works a dream. Obviously not pin sharp in low light at 300mm. But, given good light, it is very acceptable at 300mm. Probably limited indoors, but for bird photography etc...it's great

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

25

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

No tripod mount

SEL70300G 03/08/2017 by tfpernar40 (USA)

I could really like this lens and would give it a higher rating if it had a tripod mount. It's heavy weight requires me to aim higher when composing to overcome the tendency creep downward. It usually takes three or more tries to get the image centered. I also notice that the rear of the base of my a6000 tips up slightly even after everything is tightened very firmly. I don't think the camera with its non-metal frame was meant to stressed in this manner. I never use this lens for tripod shots, not even with my a7ii. I previously had the a-mount version and I was able to make a tripod mount, however the changes made on the e-mount made that impractical.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

5

0

17 Customer Reviews

0

Good telephoto reach

SEL70300G 30/08/2017 by Topgun11 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Lens mechanics works well, image quality is very good. Balanced and quite compact for a 300mm lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good performance v weight

SEL70300G 28/08/2017 by Singingbike (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The focal range, combined with OSS makes this a good addition to my bag. I use it with A6500 and the camera & lens combined weighs much less than my DSLR and standard lens. I can hand hold at much slower shutter speeds and find it great for close up work as well as wildlife.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

No tripod mount

SEL70300G 03/08/2017 by tfpernar40 (USA)

I could really like this lens and would give it a higher rating if it had a tripod mount. It's heavy weight requires me to aim higher when composing to overcome the tendency creep downward. It usually takes three or more tries to get the image centered. I also notice that the rear of the base of my a6000 tips up slightly even after everything is tightened very firmly. I don't think the camera with its non-metal frame was meant to stressed in this manner. I never use this lens for tripod shots, not even with my a7ii. I previously had the a-mount version and I was able to make a tripod mount, however the changes made on the e-mount made that impractical.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

5

0

0

Very useful

SEL70300G 27/07/2017 by HeRog (USA)

Overall it's a great lens, but there is one thing I don't like: It seems you can peel off the serial number and that is not a good thing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant

SEL70300G 08/07/2017 by sgfj (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I use this on an A6500 and so I cannot tell what the edge definition is, nevertheless, on the APS-C format, I get superb definition and high contrast across the whole image. Bokeh is good, too. This is an excellent lens but a criticism is that it does not have a tripod mounting, however that would have added to the weight and for its zoom range, this is a relatively lightweight piece of kit. The second annoyance is that although normally focus is fast and accurate, sometimes it "hunts" before finding correct focus. This is the second "G Master" lens I've used and both are truly excellent. Both are easy to manually focus, both have easy OSS, AF/MF and fix-focus buttons and the ability to set focus-ranges for speedier focussing. It would be nice if Sony would offer a 2X tele converter to go with this lens !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Nice all round lens

SEL70300G 07/07/2017 by Lmcder (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens just over a month ago and I am really pleased with the results I am getting. The only negative thing I can say about it is that I feel it's a bit heavy for the body of the Alpha6500, and it gets heavy for me after 2-3hours of shooting handheld but this doesn't warrant rating in down to four stars. It is now my lens of choice when heading out and about and it has opened up a whole new world of shooting options including insects, butterflies and wild life.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Terrific lens

SEL70300G 20/06/2017 by Sony Shooter (Canada)

Just bought it 5 days ago to have it for shooting the grand kids games. It performed flawlessly. Nice reach and sharp. Hope also to use it for wildlife as my Canon 7D with a 300 prime is getting a bit heavy. I know it won't have the same reach but for the closer birds etc it should be ok.This lens is mounted on a Sony A6000 giving me a 450 reach. Also looking at getting a full frame to complement the 70-300.It would have been nice to have a tripod mount.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony 70-300G

SEL70300G 18/06/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens to give me the reach at 300mm it is very sharp, it's first use was at Donnington Park motorbike racing when fitted to my A6000 it makes me a 450mm lens in a very small package. The only draw back is that a tripod mount which the lens needs would make the lens perfect.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Compact fast lens with a cutting edge

SEL70300G 31/05/2017 by Jackie S (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I received this lens 2 weeks ago. I've taken more than one thousand images with it in this short period of time, using it with both the a7 and the a6000. Fits and balances well with both cameras though I prefer its handling with the a7. Weight and size of the lens are just right in my opinion. Optically, it performs to a high level of performance. Build quality is excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

First Experience with Sony

SEL70300G 11/04/2017 by Lowbox (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Two weeks into ownership and I just love this lens. Used for architecture, landscape, wildlife it's just fun to use with good results. I would recommend this product 9/10

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Good zoom coverage

SEL70300G 09/02/2017 by Muggins530 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens to replace 70-200g. Although this new lens is heavier, the extra focal length is worth the extra weight. Very good quality both in build and results. The only reason I can't give five stars is the absence of a tripod mount. It's quite a weight on the lens mount. Overall I'm very happy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

3

0

Great performance, exceptional sharpness

SEL70300G 04/02/2017 by Alfie1942 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only had this lens a few days so this review is necessarily limited. However so far the optical quality has proved outstanding. At 300mm against a bright sky the tracery of a winter tree is rendered perfectly with no visible chromatic abberation. Al round lives up to expectation and the existing reviews. Concerns - it is a heavy lens, I have used it only handheld which is fine and well balanced but I am concerned about putting the camera on a tripod. A removable tripod bracket would be nice.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

10

0

0

Great zoom length

SEL70300G 27/01/2017 by Idgsd (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I own the A mount 70-300G but this lens is sharper. Targeted cars 750m away (measured distance with Google Earth), with my A6500 and the built in Clearimage Zoom (2X), all handheld with elbow support. Was able to read the license plate number off the OOC jpeg photo....

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

Excellent lens that compliments the Sony range

SEL70300G 23/12/2016 by Stevejd64 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am using this lens with the original sony A7R mirrorless camera and I'm very satifeied so far. The lens is somewhat on the heavy side but that is not an issue for me personally. The only thing missing is a bracket on the lens barrel itself for tripod mounting which would be highly useful.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

0

0

Nice lens

SEL70300G 09/12/2016 by Bird Man (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brought it 5 months ago and have had a great time with it. I use it on my A6000 mostly for wildlife shots. I wish it would reach even more than it does. Unfortunately Sony doesn't make a telaconverter that allows all the functions with my A6000. It's so much nicer to carry around this much smaller and lighter set up than my Nikon with a telephoto lens. Gets good clear images. Would like to see a tripod mount on the lens itself like other Sony telephoto lense as it gets a bit tipsy with only the camera mount.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

20

0

0

less functional than price suggests

SEL70300G 12/11/2016 by drewp (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Reasonably sharp, well constructed, compact, four times zoom with acceptable bokeh

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

12

0

Sharper than you think

SEL70300G 05/10/2016 by Luccombe Lad (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this about 6 weeks ago. The stabilisation works a dream. Obviously not pin sharp in low light at 300mm. But, given good light, it is very acceptable at 300mm. Probably limited indoors, but for bird photography etc...it's great

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

25

0