Skip to Content
FE 85mm F1.8

Product Reviews

$749.99

15

4.9 based on 15 customer reviews

13
2
0
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

15 Customer Reviews

0

What a lens!!

SEL85F18 11/11/2017 by gwtog (United Kingdom)

When you see a lens at this price point, with others very similar in features but more than double the price, you assume it will be low quality. You couldn't be further from the truth! The FE 85mm f1.8 is pin sharp, focuses fast and gives you an almost butter smooth background. This will stay on my body for a long time as my new "go to" portrait lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent balance of quality, size, and price

SEL85F18 10/10/2017  (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was my first prime lens with the Sony A7II and I'm extremely happy with it. The lens is silent when focusing and is very quick to acquire the target. Subject isolation is pretty easy when you open up the aperture and background blur is quite pleasing. The lens has a solid feel with metal barrel and the focus ring is well damped providing just enough resistance to avoid accidental bumps when manual focusing. It's not an overly large lens but is significant enough that it balances well on the camera. Overall I'm very pleased with this lens and would recommend it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super sharp on Sony 7rii

SEL85F18 26/08/2017 by Tonycad (Canada)

Best portrait lens for it's price! Use it with Sony 7r2 ! Sharp, beautiful bokeh !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

FE 85mm F1.8 - WOW

SEL85F18 25/08/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

85mm F1.8 compared to FE 85mm F1.4 you're not gonna find much difference, but a little. The lens is well built and it's got a little bit of weight to it, which I really love. The images that you can get from this lens is just so great, if you shoot in Manual like I do you're gonna love the results. If you're a serious photographer and you don't have one of this bad boys in your bag, you've gotta get one. The FE 85mm F1.8 is much cheaper than the FE 85mm F1.4 They both perform great, so if you've got deep pockets get the FE 85mm F1.4 If not, go for the FE 85mm F1.8 and you WON'T regret it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Solid performer

SEL85F18 30/07/2017 by Cast a giant shadow (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens about a month ago and I'm delighted. Sharp, great quality and a great depth of field range. I love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Amazing Lens

SEL85F18 14/07/2017 by Pdj57 (USA)

I just treat my self a birthday gift and bought this lens today and I'm blown away with the quality of pictures! Beautiful bokeh, amazing & sharp details. And the price is affordable. I use this lens with A6500

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Excellent portrait lens

SEL85F18 20/06/2017 by trfphoto (USA)

I debated spending more money on an 85mm portrait lens for the A7R II, but I'm glad I didn't. This lens performed very well using eye autofocus and allowed me to shoot pretty much wide open during a recent shoot to create a pleasing fall off of focus and background bokeh. The lens is also well balanced on the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Holy Snikeez! This Lens Performs-So Glad I Got it!

SEL85F18 13/06/2017 by AFREEMAN (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Since the Zeiss 85 and the Sony G Master 85 were so expensive I held out for almost a year. I used the excellent Sony Zeiss 55 1.8 for close up portraits. But eventually Sony put out the way more affordable 85 1.8. As soon as I got it (I was one of the first to order it) I was hooked! Creamy bokeh, super sharp and lightweight! It really did check all the boxes. Oh, and it focuses fast! You'll love this lens as much as I do, I promise!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

Great for Portraits with Fantastic Creamy Bokeh

SEL85F18 13/06/2017 by JRH4609 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sony really created a fantastic lense. This is a must have lense.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Good feel features, magnificent on camera

SEL85F18 05/05/2017 by ideas (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens 3 weeks ago purposely to get richer shots on baptism event Was greatly impressed. My clients comment says it all- Lovely pictures. Sharp bold and isolated background superb, quick auto focus.The lens balance well on my A7s. Journalists must have this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

0

0

Amazing "budget" portrait lens

SEL85F18 24/04/2017 by Romelu (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this lens a month ago and it has done nothing produce amazing results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Excellent lens. Thank you Sony.

SEL85F18 19/04/2017 by EricW (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It tackles the big three expected from a portrait lens. Good low light performance. Sharp in focus. Pleasing fall off and bokeh. Then it adds surprises. Dust and and water sealed. Fast and silent focus. Not a distraction and easy to take candid portraits. Also consistently accurate focus. Many keepers. Small and light. A benefit of this is that it does not scream, “Hey, I have a really expensive lens over here!”, which is a plus unless you want the attention that brings.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

22

0

0

Compact fast lens with a cutting edge

SEL85F18 06/04/2017 by Jackie S (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Ergonomic design coupled with a fast F/1.8 aperture that focuses swiftly and provides pleasing images.

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Excellent portrait lens for the A7 and A7ii

SEL85F18 05/04/2017 by Pauld77 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens in preference to the 90mm f2.8 Macro, the 85mm f1.4 and the 85 mm Zeiss Batis because it represents the best value for money for what I shoot. It is sharp, autofocuses quickly and it sits well on the small A7 bodies.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

18

0

0

Almost identical to the Zeiss Batis 85mm F1.8!

SEL85F18 01/04/2017 by Carlj (United Kingdom)

I tend to focus on portrait shooting, so when I moved to full frame with the A7ii, I needed a fast, prime 85mm and Sony had just released this. Of the 3 main lenses at this focal length for the Sony, the others being the Batis and F1.4GM, this qualifies as the cheapest. It certainly doesn't earn the title of cheap and cheerful. Wide open, eye af nailing focus, there's a nice fall off into clean bokeh. Where the focus is, the detail is amazing. Certainly better than a lens at this level is expected to perform. In conclusion, I understand now why the Artisans raved about it - so glad I got mine prior to general release.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

17

0