FE 85mm F1.8

Product Reviews

$749.99

24

4.9 based on 24 customer reviews

22
2
0
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

25 Customer Reviews

0

Awesome Bokeh

SEL85F18 19/04/2018 by feelit (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this yesterday (4/17/2018) and received today (4/18/2018). Had the chance to test at home , but definitely putting it to the test this up coming weekend. The BOKEH is phenomenal! Awesome clarity and compression. Definitely looks like this will be my BUTTER lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Much better results than zoom lens.

SEL85F18 17/04/2018 by TomKtoo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Although really happy with the 24-70mm Sony zoom I wanted more optical isolation of my subject matter from the backgrounds and it really delivered.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Lens, Great Price!

SEL85F18 15/04/2018 by See Yee (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

If you have not own a prime portrait lens yet or looking to get one, this 85MM 1.8 is a must have for your setup. If you want nice BOKEH images and such this is a must have! Nicely build, feels good in the hand, small, sharp, and super quiet Auto focusing!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Hands down my absolute favorite lens

SEL85F18 28/03/2018 by LenaNycPhoto (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased my 85 1.8 back in February it is now almost April and I carry it around with me constantly. My first Sony lens purchase was the G master 24-70 which I love but I do practice a lot of street photography and the 85 is easy to carry around. I was going to purchase the 85 1.4 G Master but I'm happy I went with a 1.8 because it's so much lighter and it's over half the cost. The bokeh is exquisite and the photos come out very sharp. Perfect portrait lens!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

As sharp as the Zeiss 55mm f1.8

SEL85F18 23/03/2018 by Jim64 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brilliant. Get one. Lens hood is cheap tat but the lens is way better than the asking price. Good enough for pro work all day long.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sharp as a tack

SEL85F18 26/02/2018 by Taid (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the perfect portrait lens. No need for the faster and more expensive version.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome sharpness and Beautiful Bokeh

SEL85F18 12/01/2018 by Sebascelis (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I read about this lens in many reviews and everyome said it’s close to perfect, so I decided to buy it and wa not dissapointed at all. This lens is perfect, autofocuses unbelieavably fast and accurate, and the images it produces are breathtaking. I was worried about the lack of OSS (optical stabilization) but with the IBIS in my camera I REALLY don’t need it. I can shoot still objects at 1/8s completely sharp!!! The focus-by-wire is linear and not accelerates which I prefer and manual focus (together with my camera’s magnification focus-aid) is a joy. I strongly recommend this lens, for it’s price, is my best lens so far (lightweight, small, fast...).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fantastic lens!

SEL85F18 06/01/2018 by Waarnemer (Canada)

The best price-performance ratio, absolutely great lens! Super sharp, light, easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best bang fot the buck!

SEL85F18 20/12/2017 by dmeds (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very sharp images from this lens. Wonderfully creamy bokeh, fast, accurate, silent focus. Lightweight and a lot of bang for the buck. I recently moved from Nikon to Sony and have no regrets whatsoever

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Don't be fooled- this is not a consumer grade lens

SEL85F18 05/12/2017 by Vision of You (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

for the past 30 years or so I have shot using Canon L glass- I am indeed a lens snob. I purchased the Sony A7rii and have been using my own glass via an adaptor but thought I needed to try a native lens. I have to admit that I was very reluctant to get a 'cheap consumer' grade lens but the write ups assured me that this was a good lens.. I have used the G Master version of this lens and was not impressed, the focus was slow and the lens itself is heavy. This 'cheap' lens is fast and accurate to focus. The images are sharp, in images of very high contrast you may see some colour fringing (although to be honest you would see this with most lens!), lightroom removes this quickly and efficiently. For the cost point this lens is definitely worth the investment

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

What a lens!!

SEL85F18 11/11/2017 by gwtog (United Kingdom)

When you see a lens at this price point, with others very similar in features but more than double the price, you assume it will be low quality. You couldn't be further from the truth! The FE 85mm f1.8 is pin sharp, focuses fast and gives you an almost butter smooth background. This will stay on my body for a long time as my new "go to" portrait lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

1

0

Excellent balance of quality, size, and price

SEL85F18 10/10/2017  (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was my first prime lens with the Sony A7II and I'm extremely happy with it. The lens is silent when focusing and is very quick to acquire the target. Subject isolation is pretty easy when you open up the aperture and background blur is quite pleasing. The lens has a solid feel with metal barrel and the focus ring is well damped providing just enough resistance to avoid accidental bumps when manual focusing. It's not an overly large lens but is significant enough that it balances well on the camera. Overall I'm very pleased with this lens and would recommend it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super sharp on Sony 7rii

SEL85F18 26/08/2017 by Tonycad (Canada)

Best portrait lens for it's price! Use it with Sony 7r2 ! Sharp, beautiful bokeh !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

FE 85mm F1.8 - WOW

SEL85F18 25/08/2017 by rodriguesn84 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

85mm F1.8 compared to FE 85mm F1.4 you're not gonna find much difference, but a little. The lens is well built and it's got a little bit of weight to it, which I really love. The images that you can get from this lens is just so great, if you shoot in Manual like I do you're gonna love the results. If you're a serious photographer and you don't have one of this bad boys in your bag, you've gotta get one. The FE 85mm F1.8 is much cheaper than the FE 85mm F1.4 They both perform great, so if you've got deep pockets get the FE 85mm F1.4 If not, go for the FE 85mm F1.8 and you WON'T regret it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

3

0

Solid performer

SEL85F18 30/07/2017 by Cast a giant shadow (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens about a month ago and I'm delighted. Sharp, great quality and a great depth of field range. I love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Amazing Lens

SEL85F18 14/07/2017 by Pdj57 (USA)

I just treat my self a birthday gift and bought this lens today and I'm blown away with the quality of pictures! Beautiful bokeh, amazing & sharp details. And the price is affordable. I use this lens with A6500

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Excellent portrait lens

SEL85F18 20/06/2017 by trfphoto (USA)

I debated spending more money on an 85mm portrait lens for the A7R II, but I'm glad I didn't. This lens performed very well using eye autofocus and allowed me to shoot pretty much wide open during a recent shoot to create a pleasing fall off of focus and background bokeh. The lens is also well balanced on the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Holy Snikeez! This Lens Performs-So Glad I Got it!

SEL85F18 13/06/2017 by AFREEMAN (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Since the Zeiss 85 and the Sony G Master 85 were so expensive I held out for almost a year. I used the excellent Sony Zeiss 55 1.8 for close up portraits. But eventually Sony put out the way more affordable 85 1.8. As soon as I got it (I was one of the first to order it) I was hooked! Creamy bokeh, super sharp and lightweight! It really did check all the boxes. Oh, and it focuses fast! You'll love this lens as much as I do, I promise!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

0

0

Great for Portraits with Fantastic Creamy Bokeh

SEL85F18 13/06/2017 by JRH4609 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sony really created a fantastic lense. This is a must have lense.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Good feel features, magnificent on camera

SEL85F18 05/05/2017 by ideas (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens 3 weeks ago purposely to get richer shots on baptism event Was greatly impressed. My clients comment says it all- Lovely pictures. Sharp bold and isolated background superb, quick auto focus.The lens balance well on my A7s. Journalists must have this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

0

0

Amazing "budget" portrait lens

SEL85F18 24/04/2017 by Romelu (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this lens a month ago and it has done nothing produce amazing results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Excellent lens. Thank you Sony.

SEL85F18 19/04/2017 by EricW (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It tackles the big three expected from a portrait lens. Good low light performance. Sharp in focus. Pleasing fall off and bokeh. Then it adds surprises. Dust and and water sealed. Fast and silent focus. Not a distraction and easy to take candid portraits. Also consistently accurate focus. Many keepers. Small and light. A benefit of this is that it does not scream, “Hey, I have a really expensive lens over here!”, which is a plus unless you want the attention that brings.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

26

0

0

Compact fast lens with a cutting edge

SEL85F18 06/04/2017 by Jackie S (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Ergonomic design coupled with a fast F/1.8 aperture that focuses swiftly and provides pleasing images.

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

0

Excellent portrait lens for the A7 and A7ii

SEL85F18 05/04/2017 by Pauld77 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens in preference to the 90mm f2.8 Macro, the 85mm f1.4 and the 85 mm Zeiss Batis because it represents the best value for money for what I shoot. It is sharp, autofocuses quickly and it sits well on the small A7 bodies.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

18

0

0

Almost identical to the Zeiss Batis 85mm F1.8!

SEL85F18 01/04/2017 by Carlj (United Kingdom)

I tend to focus on portrait shooting, so when I moved to full frame with the A7ii, I needed a fast, prime 85mm and Sony had just released this. Of the 3 main lenses at this focal length for the Sony, the others being the Batis and F1.4GM, this qualifies as the cheapest. It certainly doesn't earn the title of cheap and cheerful. Wide open, eye af nailing focus, there's a nice fall off into clean bokeh. Where the focus is, the detail is amazing. Certainly better than a lens at this level is expected to perform. In conclusion, I understand now why the Artisans raved about it - so glad I got mine prior to general release.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

19

0