Skip to Content
27

4.9 based on 27 customer reviews

23
4
0
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

26 Customer Reviews

0

a beast...

SEL90M28G 13/11/2017 by BatIvko (USA)

Hi there let me just say that this lens is a beast! Honestly if you can not produce a beautiful image with this one there is something wrong with you camera. I'm using this lens with a6000 and the results are great. I can only imagine what full frame will do.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

My Favorite So Far

SEL90M28G 12/11/2017 by Beland (USA)

I bought this after checking out the DxOMark rating the 90mm F2.8 Macro as the sharpest lens for the Sony E mount full frame system. Compared to other options I rented, it exceeded my expectations. You can really sink into a subject and grab details you wouldn't expect with fantastic bokeh, back up and get a completely different perspective. Subjects are sharp and creamy where you want it. Even banal postcard shots have a depth of detail to them that elevates the image. Despite the size, it's light enough for most handheld situations. The AF/MF ring switch and focusing zone switch is convenient when focusing macro subjects. The stabilization worked great. I want to compare this to the FE 100mm F2.8 STF GM for portraits.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent lens

SEL90M28G 09/11/2017 by bbac (United Kingdom)

Have only had a couple of weeks but this is an excellent lens. I have been a Nikon user for some years (previously with Canon) but I am now totally going over to Sony and I am really impressed with the results. Add to that how light the equipment is to carry and this is important these days with reduced in-flight baggage restrictions.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

GREAT PORTRAIT/MACRO CAMERA

SEL90M28G 18/10/2017 by APG17 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

VERY IMPRESSIVE 90MM MACRO WORK AND PORTRAIT CAPABILITIES. COULD BE BEST IN MY BAG!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

FE 90mm F2.8 - WOW & MUST HAVE

SEL90M28G 07/09/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sony has got 5 different lenses for Full Frame E- mounts Mirrorless Cameras available when it comes to Macro & Close Ups. If you're really looking to have outstanding images, the Sony FE 90MM F2.8 is the BEST one within the Sony line of Lens for Macro. Please note that this lens can be used as a portrait lens as well, and the results are just as great as macro images. Yes it is very expensive to buy this lens, but I've always said this and will always stand by it. I believe in buying expensive gear, because they will last for a very long time, as long as you take care of it. I've got a huge OCD when it comes to taking care of all my gear, be it musical instruments, video gear & camera gear. They're all in a MINT CONDITION. I am also very grateful that this lens was given to me as a payment for a project that I am currently working on, thank you very much - you know who you are. Bottom line: Would I recommend the Sony FE 90MM F2.8 Macro Lens? YES. Buy it & you won't regret it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Amateur Enthusiast

SEL90M28G 13/08/2017 by Zach11 (USA)

Currently shooting with A6500, and just thrilled with overall performance. Mainly using for Macro and it doesn't disappoint. Love the manual focus

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Promising item

SEL90M28G 28/07/2017 by A Rainy Night in England (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Pleased with the macro image quality, once the focus is established. In low light the MF collar is useful. Yet to be 100% proficient with the lens but will be an ideal replacement for a Zeiss Makro-Planar 60mm f2.8 used with a E-mount to C/Y adaptor.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

An Excellent Macro Lens

SEL90M28G 22/07/2017 by Humfan1943 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A good sharp macro lens with useful features, MF and focus freeze, OSS is a real help when slow shutter speeds are needed. A bit pricey, but overall it`s worth it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The perfect lens for Macro Photography.

SEL90M28G 14/06/2017 by TheFerdinand (USA)

I bought the a6300 a few weeks ago. I wasn't happy with the kit lens' image quality, so I decided to make an investment on a high-end lens and bought this one. After a few days of playing with the settings in my camera, I managed to get some amazing shots. I am not a professional, just an amateur. I don't know much about photography, but with this babe I feel like one. I am still learning how to shoot in manual. But using the auto mode still produces beautiful images especially when shooting in natural daylight. I am attaching a few photos. Hopefully they can be uploaded in high resolution.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

The FE90 Macro does it all

SEL90M28G 13/06/2017 by Dave W (USA)

This is the macro lens that I have been waiting for for years. It has 1 to 1 magnification without an extension tube and internal focusing. Imaging quality is equal to the best competition and ease of use in fantastic. It also will double as an excellent portrait lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent sharp results

SEL90M28G 01/06/2017 by Swanney (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens was a replacemnt for a larger 105mm macro which I had used with my previous alpha series cameras. Having moved to the E mount system I needed a suitable lens. This had excellent reviews and has performed bery well so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Fantastic lens

SEL90M28G 02/05/2017 by jl328 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I really love this lens. The build is solid, easy to use. The optics produce clear sharp excellent photos. I also have the 50mm macro. The 90 mm is my preference by far!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

High quality construction & precise focusing

SEL90M28G 02/04/2017 by Deepfield (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this from a camera store in Euston London and was given some pretty convincing advise why I should have it. I have used it to take about 150 or so shots and notice that a great deal of precision is required in setting up the scene to get near perfect results which slowly I am getting now. I use a Sony Alfa 7RMII which is quite a new purchase. It is large compared to my go to lens Sony Zeiss 55mm 1.8 but walking around London for a day with it wasn't too much hardship it is quite long but but balanced with the camera. The images from the top of the Tate Modern over London and inside the museum were very interesting as were the ones of family. It focuses very quickly and silently but be sure to set the focus limiter on the left side correctly otherwise the lens hunts to focus to much. The manual focus is an excellent benefit and really allows you to focus right in deep by magnifying your subject then fire your shot for very precise results.The steady-shot switch is a help when the wind was blowing although the focus hold I have not used much at this stage. I am still getting used to it but I am pleased with the purchase and I know it will lift my game further. Try it and you might get hooked.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

All the features and more of this lens type

SEL90M28G 12/03/2017 by Martii (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's in the same class as the 85GM Bokeh not as ball like, it is a good lens for portraiture and macro and usable for street photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Excellent quality

SEL90M28G 10/09/2016 by sgfj (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very expensive ! but this is a great lens with a wide aperture (but for macro work, you'd better not use f2.8 since it gives no depth of field whatsoever). I use this on an A6000 body - which it dwarfs - this is physically a fairly large and heavy lens. But it gives excellent edge-to-edge quality and great contrast. On the A6000 it occasionally hunts and cannot find focus - then you have to start again, but this apart, it focusses quickly and surely. There are 3 focus ranges: Full; 0.5m-infinity and 0.28m-0.5m. For photographing butterflies, I generally operate in a range 0.28m - 1.0m so because this falls across two ranges, I often end up shooting on "Full" so I lose some focus speed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

10

4

0

Lovely lens...

SEL90M28G 28/08/2016 by PaddyP (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens mainly for macro and the quality of both the lens and the images is impressive. It's quite chunky on an a7rii, but not unmanageably so. Regarless of where you buy it, there's no hiding the fact that competitors lenses are still cheaper, which is the only downside, otherwise I'd give it 5 stars.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

10

4

0

A Wonderful Lens

SEL90M28G 25/08/2016 by Counterman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens two weeks ago, and am delighted with it. Its macro facilities are fabulous, but it's also a great portrait lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

1

0

Superb Optics Macro F2.8 90mm Lens

SEL90M28G 23/08/2016 by FDAC (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Amazing Prime Telephoto (Macro) 90mm lenses I have ever used. The Optics are in a class of there own. Limitless possibilities with one of the very best Camera bodies in its class

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Great Lense

SEL90M28G 16/08/2016 by Mike0000001 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fantastic lense, very crisp even at the edges. Manual focus very easy and with nicely placed fix focus button on the side. Use as Macro or 90mm - Highly recommend. Shame about the cost but you do get what you pay for.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

3

0

Love this lens

SEL90M28G 14/08/2016 by BarbsC (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have wanting this lens for about 12 months, put off by the price plus other people's feelings about their own (competitor) macro lenses. I needn't have worried. I can finally attempt the sort of macro shots I have been trying for (flowers/bees/bokeh effects). I love this lens, its sharp, easy to move from autofocus to manual focus, good solid feel to it, as have my other Sony lenses. I have used it also as a general 90mm lens and again am happy with the results. More practise needed but that's me, not the lens!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

A Quality Lens

SEL90M28G 24/06/2016 by Boso (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens to do some close ups. Early attempts look promising but I've not yet had opportunity to give it a rigorous trial.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

13

0

Best ever on top of market.HIGHE REZ SONY LENS..

SEL90M28G 27/01/2016 by Mo T (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I buy week age and surprised by the Best ever on top of market.HIGHE REZ SONY LENS, it's catch picture which show up any thing naked eyes can't see! So glad of Sony product, and high tech from Sony. ALWAYS WAS THE BEST..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

32

0

Love the lens, can't show files, too large :-(

SEL90M28G 18/01/2016 by darkart (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Crisp and clear, used on from wide open to fully stopped down, can't fault.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

2

0

Superb lens a must buy!

SEL90M28G 13/10/2015 by Mufftrix (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to partner the A7R II and after using it for a few weeks cannot fault the IQ and it's versatility as obviously a macro lens, but also a general walkabout lens!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

25

0

0

Great lens for both macro and general work.

SEL90M28G 28/09/2015 by Ulrome (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Before I bought this, I used a Leicaflex R 100mm Macro Elmar for my macro and close-up work. This lens is very sharp and has a lovely bokeh, but of course lacked stabilisation, auto-focus and exposure links with my Sony A7. The FE 2.8 90mm from Sony is equally sharp and also has a super bokeh. In addition, it has all the features that the Leica lacked - Steadyshot (which gives at least 2 extra stops), autofocus (that can be easily switched to manual for fine adjustment by simply sliding the focus ring, and a focus hold button. In all it is a splendid lens, and although somewhat heavy and quite costly it certainly delivers.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

14

6

0

Great macro lens. Love it!

SEL90M28G 21/07/2015 by profilux (USA)

I love this lens. I've been using it exclusively since I got it on my A6000. Macros are fun and portraits are nice and sharp. Decent bokeh with the aperture. AF is decent with it, but would probably be faster on A7's.

26

19