Skip to Content
59

3.7 based on 59 customer reviews

21
16
10
7
5
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Unfair reputation?

SELP1650 13/06/2015 by Apocryphon (USA)

This was one of two lenses I got when I initially purchased my a6000. I'm pretty nocturnal and, to be honest, I pretty rapidly got sick of and replaced it, even though I kept it. The slow aperture just left a lot to be desired and I didn't really find its low light performance to be overly exceptional. I was pretty disappointed. Barring the release of a cost-effective a6000s, many of us will be choosing such cameras for our all-purpose carry around, and that means struggling with light a bit. Slow apertures leave a bit to be desired. I've been playing with it again a good deal recently. I still harbor a pretty similar opinion of its low light performance. Though, as long as you don't mind not achieving a proper exposure (which, at night, is sometimes more accurate than what the light meter thinks is "properly exposed", anyway, but that is really beside the point - you can't increase the exposure quite as readily without relying on slow shutter speeds and high ISOs, the point being)... so it is definitely far from ideal as an action shooter at night. Long shutter speed stills on a tripod? Not as bad. You can get some great images out of it, in terms of that. Lately, where I've found it really excels after giving it another chance, is (duh, obviously) in good light at apertures between f/5.6-11. Ideally I've been trying for shots at f/8 or f/11. Under these conditions, I'm glad I reintroduced myself to this lens. I'm actually really impressed with the center detail and clarity I get out of it for what it is. Though, that said, I'm not mercilessly pixel peeping all the corners at 300% crop when I use it. If you're taking the kids out to the beach on a sunny day and need a portable lens? It is pretty good, and casual shooters looking for a portable lens shouldn't have a problem with it. Out with the friends at night in a poorly lit bar? Not so much. Throw up a solid color paper backdrop, get some good lights, stay between f/5.6 and f/11 and you could probably even do portraits and full body shots for a client were you to wish it.

12

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Smart compromise

SELP1650 23/06/2014 by maistora (United Kingdom)

I got the E PZ 16-50mmas the kit lens with a Nex 5R in early 2013. Before that I was using the 18-55 mm kit lens with a first-generation Nex-5. My first impressions were inevitably influenced by the comparison: - the 16-50 is significantly smaller and lighter than the 18-55. I love this, because compactness is a high priority for my needs. With this lens I had a truly pocketable camera, like the old Nex with the 16mm pancake, but with a versatile zoom instead. - the lens struck me as visibly sharper than the old kit. I hadn't updated the firmware of the 18-55 for phase focussing, and the new lens came witth this capability as native. And the old body didn't have phase focus at all, so the combination 5R+16-50 was notably faster to focus and produced sharper images than the Nex-5 + 18-55. - This is where the good news ended. I started discovering some of the lens's deficiencies. It produces less even focus from centre to periphery: while sharpness in the centre is higher, the corners more visibly lose fine detail than on the older kit. - Image quality challenges are most prominent at the wide end: at 16mm the RAW (ARW) image is much more distorted than the fixed-length 16mm pancake. It can look almost like 'fish-eye' (especially with urban shots with lots of off-centre straight lines). - There is also heavy vignetting - darkening of the periphery. In addition to the gradual darkening, a completely black circular vignette can occur from the thinnest add-on like a simple filter in front of the lens, or a (properly wide) lens hood. As the corners get less light and less detail, noise becomes more apparent there, even at moderate ISO values like 400-800. Any low-light shots of detail-rich scenes at the wide end of the zoom would disappoint with below-average image quality. Not what one would expect from Sony?.. -The workaround: shooting in JPEG produces, counter-intuitively, better images than RAW. How can this be? Simply, Sony are aware of the lens limitations and the in-camera conversion includes correction algorithms, that largely neutralise the geometric distortion and the darkening of corners. - This is when I discovered Lens Profils in Lightroom. I had never used them before, because other lenses needed less correction. With the correct lens profile for the 16-50 lens, post-processing corrections on the PC are even better than the in-camera ones. From 'bad' originals you can get results anywhere from 'acceptable' to 'very good'. The lens-specific corrections cover not only distortion and vignetting, but also chromatic aberration (colour fringing) and fine-tuning all parameters can produce crisp, excellent looking images. Conclusion: Knowing the lens limitations and applying the right post-processing corrections allows you to deliver high quality images with the E PZ 16-50mm. I own a number of higher-quality Sony and non-Sony lenses, prime (fixed-length) and zooms - but nothing beats the humble 'kit zoom' for the combination of versatility and compactness that makes it my go-to lens for all situations when I don't carry a camera bag and need a camera in my pocket or in my laptop case. Some of my images produced with this lens have won awards or were sold via Getty Images. Attached are examples of different subjects and light conditions;

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

22

0

59 Customer Reviews

0

Not sharp and image quality as expected

SELP1650 06/11/2017 by Devy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this one month ago along with Sony a6000 camera...I am so disappointed from this image quality ..I bought this camera with lens after reading many reviews. But no one mentioned about this kit lens so bad which make this camera 1 star. I bought this camera even after knowing sony lens are very costly as compare to other brands...But i while buying never had intention to buy another lens and wanted to use only Kit lens. However. i saw some video in YouTube after purchasing it..They also mentioned that Kit lens is bad for this camera. By bad quality kit lens and other higher cost of Sony lens. I think may not turn back to sony again...I would suggest, Sony should sell only Camera body and let customer to decide to buy their other costly lenses before buying this camera. However, i am still not sure if its camera or kit lens is bad because i have to buy their costly lens to confirm it.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Poor built quality

SELP1650 18/10/2017 by big_dave (USA)

I would have love loving it but unfortunately I can't. I bought this as an everyday portable lens but it got broken after a month or so. The side zoom lever got broken while detaching, carefully enough, the lens from the body revealing the poor built quality. Two ultra-thin (probably 0.5 mm) plastic pins poorly hold up the button to the lens. A part that: -It has a really heavy vignette (that can be corrected in camera). -The zoom lever is obviously electronic and it is quite slow I guess for video use. -The zoom ring is electronic too. Is is a lot faster than the lever but it has a delay anyway, but not a huge deal. -The optical quality is good though. It is true that is a cheap one but be extremely cautious using and storing this lens. I don't know what's the point of building something portable that's so fragile? I come from Canon DSLR and I never experienced anything like this.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great camera

SELP1650 17/10/2017 by Kristenk (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great camera for a good price. I paid a little more than I wanted to but it was worth it. I do wish it had a view finder.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compact travel lens

SELP1650 07/10/2017 by Taijiallan (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens is perfect for making my a6500 into a compact easy to carry camera. It is not the sharpest lens to be attached to the sophisticated a6500, but allows a variety of focal lengths in a small size that expands when the camera is turned on. The 16mm wide angle is great for snapshot scenes covering a variety of subjects while the 50mm and the lengths in between allow some cropping and enlargement. A very useful lens for travel snaps and carrying easily.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great for short range with good lighting

SELP1650 27/08/2017  (USA)

I recently bought the Sony A5100 mirror less camera for my 11 day trip to Italy. I took 2500 photos. This lens came with it. I just loved the ease of use, the size, the weight and everything about operating it. When it came time to share pictures with others, I realized that my pictures did not measure up to several of the other people who came on the trip. Short distance and good lighting - The pics were awesome Long distance and/or low lighting - It really lacked a lot. Although most of my pictures were short distances, I am really really disappointed in the lense. I am currently looking to somehow update the lense.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great vide quality

SELP1650 30/07/2017 by jackiechan (USA)

I got this lens with the camera and I definitely recommend it. It does a little bit of what every lens does.

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Still trying to get crisp photos

SELP1650 18/07/2017 by DelawareDon (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am excited to begin working with my ICLE-a6300. I am still testing how to take crisp photos but am not yet satisfied with the end results. If I can master all of the core cameras features I will be very happy. My overall rating will go to five at that time.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Small But Good

SELP1650 12/07/2017 by Morphy9 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens on the A6300 still able to place in my pocket(Jacket) Could lens, takes great shots and I love the power zoom.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony - E PZ 16-50mm F3.5-5.6 OSS -Very easy to use

SELP1650 24/06/2017 by Pete 202 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had it for a month and have used it twice with excellent results.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Piece of junk

SELP1650 23/06/2017 by gullible (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Instead of integrating perfectly with the A6300, this lens seems to make the camera inoperable. Sometimes it is fine, but other times it hunts for focus and zooms in and out. Lately it has been inhibiting video recording, making the camera shut off after 3 seconds!! I missed capturing my kids' music recitals because of it. The camera seems to fine with other lenses.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Not bad for kit lens

SELP1650 27/05/2017 by Fiftysixa (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not bad performance, best attribute is being compact

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Works Great!

SELP1650 22/04/2017 by PLund6 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Super Easy to use and takes very clear and great photos and pictures

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Surprisingly sharp, very light

SELP1650 02/04/2017 by Theoldsmithy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The reviews that go on about this being soft are really nit picking. I have so far found this to be very sharp. It also focuses really quite close up, much closer that I was expecting. Not macro, but perfectly good enough for flower close ups. The best feature is the variable zoom speed. turn the ring quickly and it zips from 16 to 50; turn it slowly and you have fine control. I would recommen buying the 3rd party auto lens caps which work a treat.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Seems good

SELP1650 23/02/2017 by Dudewheresmycar (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I want to know exactly why i need to register a dang camera???????????

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

great first camera

SELP1650 12/02/2017 by bubba016 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

i had this camera for a little over a year and takes beautiful pictures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

My favorite camera ever

SELP1650 05/02/2017 by Wayne 1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this about two weeks ago and have tried to give it a good test. I really like the ability to do selfies by flipping the screen on the back. I find it easier to use than my I phone to do selfies. I will sooon be looking for a telephoto lens to add to my camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great lens!

SELP1650 02/02/2017 by Kamey (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this for my Sony a6000 and it's perfect. A good standard lens to cover the mid range distances.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Camera

SELP1650 29/10/2016 by Gajitguy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this camera which had this E PZ 16-50mm OSS lens to replace my other Sony camera which had the Sony E 18-55 F3.5-5.6 OSS lens. I got it mainly because the newer lens is more compact when the camera is switched off. I am doing a fair amount of travelling now and I wanted something which would be more compact. This fits the bill and the camera takes really great photos with this particular lens attached. I can highly recommend it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Small, light and good quality

SELP1650 15/06/2016 by smithy_sid (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this bundled with my Sony camera. It's amazingly small and lght, and the optical quality is better than I expected for the price. I've compared it with fixed focal length lenses, and while the optical quality is not quite as good, it's more than adequate.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Good everyday lens

SELP1650 15/05/2016 by Magpie2016 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a good everyday lens for general travel as it does not add weight or bulk to the A6000 body.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Amazing!!

SELP1650 21/04/2016 by Sabrina101 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought my Sony camera and lens on my birthday which I was so excited about! I originally was going to buy an Olympus camera but I'm so glad I chose this one! I am very pleased with it and have not had any problems so far! I recommend!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good lens

SELP1650 24/03/2016 by Bigboytwin (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this recently to replace an earlier on that I had sold. I thoughly enjoyed using it before.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

5

0

Great lens

SELP1650 10/03/2016 by P3nf0ld (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent value for money nice build and finish great photo quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic love my new camera

SELP1650 21/02/2016 by Jilldenn (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera a couple of weeks ago and I love it it takes beautiful photos and has a great recording feature so it's perfect for vlogging I'm really happy with my new camera and would defo recommend it is also really easy to use and prompts come up on the screen guiding you it's brilliant

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good

SELP1650 10/01/2016 by Ash333 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Lens is good. Not superb but considering the price it is a good lens. If you are using it for video you may have an issue with the zoom motor being heard on the audio I would prefer a manual zoom ring

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Not a bad kit lens, but there are better

SELP1650 10/01/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wish I bought my camera as body only and saved the money to buy a better lens. This lens is not bad but it's not great, I find it produces mediocre shots with inconsistency.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

5

1

0

Clear focus

SELP1650 07/01/2016 by Jim L (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this in December 2015. Still getting used to setting but great camera, light and easy to use

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

no happy :(

SELP1650 14/12/2015 by Gullyraw (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

As soon as I bought my camera i thought was ideal, they updated this exact model and now I'm left with a camera that feels less than it should... its just disenchanting.....

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

14

0

Good kit lens

SELP1650 25/11/2015 by AAG1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good kit lens. Not fast but reasonable quality images.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great for beginners

SELP1650 20/11/2015 by Lucian Iurea (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Being my first lens, I took over 1000 photos (up to the moment of review) and had no problem. The only thing that I find bad with it is when taking video the zoom is noisy. Overall great product for beginners.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Great Features ...

SELP1650 04/11/2015 by blueman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought last month and is nice and work very well .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

good quality

SELP1650 14/09/2015 by mallyb47 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens along with an a6000 camera a month ago, and for a kit lens paired with the camera the quality of photo is excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good in parts

SELP1650 08/09/2015 by terrymacsurfer (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens with my NEX-6 and have been reasonably pleased with the sharpness and colour quality I get on Raw images. There is quite a lot of vignetting at wide open and a lot of barrel distortion, both of which can be greatly reduced in post with software corrections. The build quality of the lens is a little rough and the zoom is noisy and feels a little loose, but seems to work adequately. All in all, for such a small lens and the price it sells for I'm quite happy with this lens.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Pretty darn good wide angle

SELP1650 02/08/2015 by ritchierich (USA)

I don't see what all the fuss is about. I had reasonable expectations with this "kit" lens, but actually was blown away with its performance! I work at a camera store and see all sorts of optics and this one is well worth it. I was initially planning on the 10-18 lens as an additional wide but really found this to be quite sufficient and sharp. I shot a wedding (video) with this mounted on the Sony A 6000 and was very impressed with its quality and clarity. Do not hesitate to get one for yourself.

8

3

0

Terrible lens

SELP1650 08/07/2015  (USA)

Terrible distortion below 20mm. No straight line will look straight with this lens at those wide angles. The distortion is so bad that you have no chance of correcting it in post processing. Also don't shoot in any direction where there's alot of light, because the lens will flare any light into a haze. It doesn't have to be light coming towards the lens. It can be a bright object and you're image will be pretty much ruined. I'm using it on a Nex-3N, and it could be the camera, but I have a zoom telephoto lens also and I don't see the flaring issue with that lens.

7

6

0

Excellent Lens

SELP1650 01/07/2015 by George8 (USA)

Certainly not a professional, but I do like to take good photographs. I gave up a nice Nikon more than a decade ago to dabble in digital photography - a simple Sony at the time. Four more simple yet great Sony's later, I'm finally back with an a6000. Love the camera and still learning about it - but I'm very impressed with this lens. Beautiful color, perfect focusing, no barreling as far as I can see. Very much recommended.

4

0

0

DIED

SELP1650 14/06/2015 by Tob64 (USA)

Great lens. Fast focus and useful in many different situations. But at 15 months the lens is suddenly a paperweight. When attached to the NEX-6 body the camera says "Cannot recognize lens Attache properly". My Sony 55-210 lens works perfect. So I contacted Sony support. I had registered the camera and lens when purchased. But Sony could not tell me if it was under warranty? Why did I bother to register it? BTW I have the receipt. So I contacted the Repair center that Sony uses. I explained in detail what the issue is. I received a canned response. The minimum charge to work on a Sony NEX-6 is $269. I sent another email emphasizing it was the lens NOT the body. I received the same unhelpful response. Nice customer service.... :) Sony...You should stand behind your products. A lens shouldn't die at 15 months.

30

2

0

Unfair reputation?

SELP1650 13/06/2015 by Apocryphon (USA)

This was one of two lenses I got when I initially purchased my a6000. I'm pretty nocturnal and, to be honest, I pretty rapidly got sick of and replaced it, even though I kept it. The slow aperture just left a lot to be desired and I didn't really find its low light performance to be overly exceptional. I was pretty disappointed. Barring the release of a cost-effective a6000s, many of us will be choosing such cameras for our all-purpose carry around, and that means struggling with light a bit. Slow apertures leave a bit to be desired. I've been playing with it again a good deal recently. I still harbor a pretty similar opinion of its low light performance. Though, as long as you don't mind not achieving a proper exposure (which, at night, is sometimes more accurate than what the light meter thinks is "properly exposed", anyway, but that is really beside the point - you can't increase the exposure quite as readily without relying on slow shutter speeds and high ISOs, the point being)... so it is definitely far from ideal as an action shooter at night. Long shutter speed stills on a tripod? Not as bad. You can get some great images out of it, in terms of that. Lately, where I've found it really excels after giving it another chance, is (duh, obviously) in good light at apertures between f/5.6-11. Ideally I've been trying for shots at f/8 or f/11. Under these conditions, I'm glad I reintroduced myself to this lens. I'm actually really impressed with the center detail and clarity I get out of it for what it is. Though, that said, I'm not mercilessly pixel peeping all the corners at 300% crop when I use it. If you're taking the kids out to the beach on a sunny day and need a portable lens? It is pretty good, and casual shooters looking for a portable lens shouldn't have a problem with it. Out with the friends at night in a poorly lit bar? Not so much. Throw up a solid color paper backdrop, get some good lights, stay between f/5.6 and f/11 and you could probably even do portraits and full body shots for a client were you to wish it.

12

0

0

SELP 1650 Focus Ring Design Problems

SELP1650 08/06/2015 by sonyfan_sometimes (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

So far I have bought 3 of these SELP 1650 lens, the reason being the focus ring [end of lens] is made out of a very soft material, if you put the camera down a little heavy, the focus ring deforms and then the lens does not function at all, you can try to rebend the focus ring and some times the lens will work again, sometimes it will not, hence that's why I have so far purchased 3 lenses , Sony charge 55 pounds to just look at the lens, and around 100 pounds to fix your lens, I bought a neoprene camera case , and still managed to bend the focus ring, Obviously Sony have a design / material problem, this is not a very robust lens, it is not a camera lens combination that you put in your rucksack or over your shoulder or go cycling , you can not recommend it to a friend, you know they will be buying a new lens in a very short period, if you use your camera on a daily basis it is no use what so ever, it is just not robust enough., it is a lens that you take the camera / lens out of a bag, take a photo , and put it back in the camera bag, not a usable product., could not recommend, Sorry Sony you really need to do some work on this lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

4

0

Great size and weight

SELP1650 01/06/2015 by Hopbackman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

For its size it produces very sharp pictures at a great price. Would have liked the power zoom to keep its focal length after power off. But this is a minor quibble

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

New experience.

SELP1650 28/05/2015 by grandkids6 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Compact, light weight with great optics. It will fit in with my travels shortly without adding bulk. Love using it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quality product.

SELP1650 14/05/2015 by Willwick (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great build quality and looks. Rapid focus and optical performance good. Very happy with product.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

EPZ 16-50

SELP1650 04/05/2015 by Wee Malky (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

On some sites this gets a bad press i also have a full frame Nikon i am just a happy hobbyist and this lens works for me so as a kit lens live with it its a good lens get out and take photos just do it

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Not Bad, Not Good

SELP1650 03/05/2015 by JMKinAZ (USA)

Overall, I like this lens. Images are sharp. The lens is compact. A good starter lens in a kit. And the price was right when I bought it Dec 2014. But there is way too much barreling at the widest angle and some vignetting on the corners. I will replace this lens fairly soon.

4

3

0

Good enough for a stocklens, but don't count on it

SELP1650 13/04/2015 by Techperson4 (USA)

I have this Lens as a secondary. I never really use it. It's for a very good reason: This lens is not very good. It came in the package with my QX1. But that could only mean one thing: it's cheap. And as a matter of fact, it is. Unless this lens came with your camera, don't buy it (unless you're on a budget).

1

2

0

Easy to use with great results

SELP1650 07/04/2015 by charleigh (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

great little lens, good for all shooting modes, nice and light

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Images not as sharp as nex5n

SELP1650 17/03/2015 by Kath (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Images even on landscape setting can be off focus - missed shots.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

3

0

Questionable optical performance

SELP1650 23/01/2015 by GordonS (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Barely adequate resolution, particularly at the short focal length.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

2

0

Not good

SELP1650 19/01/2015 by elyoung (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the A6000 kit with this lens, and ended up returning it because the image quality was pretty bad. It has the worst distortion of any lens I've ever seen by a lot. Pretty much always soft images. This lens is not up to the standard Sony portrays. Upon realizing the camera was great and the lens was bad I purchased the A6000 body and the zeiss 1670Z. Now I'm happy!

18

6

0

Anglers camera

SELP1650 04/11/2014 by Deano m (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been searching for a good camera with simple self take options and i believe this camera is exactly what i have been looking for.The camera was purchased mainly for self take fishing photos and it was the smile shutter option that drew me to this camera.All i have to do is smile and the camera does the rest and the 180 degree tillable screen makes the job even easier.Also i like the idea that i can shoot 5 shots one after the other on the self timer mode,so for the thousands of anglers out there look no further for the perfect fishing camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

4

0

OK purchase, does what I need it to do

SELP1650 14/08/2014 by fotorail (USA)

The lens is an OK lens, would prefer a manual zoom though. The lens came with the camera, a Sony a6000. This is an amazing camera. I have a full complement of professional Canon Cameras as I am a sport shooter. This camera and the 16-50 lens will be my choice for shooting Basketball this season and for Track and Field. For my general overall shooting the a6000 and 16-50 is the go to choice and I am never without if I am out and about.

11

1

0

All a kit lens needs to be and more

SELP1650 02/08/2014 by SgtMajor (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The SEL1650's specs make it seem like a typical kit lens you'd get with any entry level DSLR, but packing extra width (24 vs the usual 28 equivalent) comes in handy, and it's all in a very compact package. It has its faults but they shouldn't stop you from getting great images if you know what you're doing.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

OK kit lens

SELP1650 17/07/2014 by Agro84 (USA)

This lens came with my A6000 mirroless, my first experience with such a camera. Normally I lug around my Nikon D7000 with an 18-300 mm zoom. Took this camera and lens on a vacation to northern Italy. Still learning the camera, so results could be my inexperience. Overall an OK lens. Pretty sharp overall. Would prefer a bit faster. However, the bokah is pretty nice. But I do HATE, HATE, HATE the power zoom. I hated it on point-and-shoots, and I hate it on this lens. Can't find the lever easily, and cannot fine-tune with the precision of a manual zoom.

12

6

0

Smart compromise

SELP1650 23/06/2014 by maistora (United Kingdom)

I got the E PZ 16-50mmas the kit lens with a Nex 5R in early 2013. Before that I was using the 18-55 mm kit lens with a first-generation Nex-5. My first impressions were inevitably influenced by the comparison: - the 16-50 is significantly smaller and lighter than the 18-55. I love this, because compactness is a high priority for my needs. With this lens I had a truly pocketable camera, like the old Nex with the 16mm pancake, but with a versatile zoom instead. - the lens struck me as visibly sharper than the old kit. I hadn't updated the firmware of the 18-55 for phase focussing, and the new lens came witth this capability as native. And the old body didn't have phase focus at all, so the combination 5R+16-50 was notably faster to focus and produced sharper images than the Nex-5 + 18-55. - This is where the good news ended. I started discovering some of the lens's deficiencies. It produces less even focus from centre to periphery: while sharpness in the centre is higher, the corners more visibly lose fine detail than on the older kit. - Image quality challenges are most prominent at the wide end: at 16mm the RAW (ARW) image is much more distorted than the fixed-length 16mm pancake. It can look almost like 'fish-eye' (especially with urban shots with lots of off-centre straight lines). - There is also heavy vignetting - darkening of the periphery. In addition to the gradual darkening, a completely black circular vignette can occur from the thinnest add-on like a simple filter in front of the lens, or a (properly wide) lens hood. As the corners get less light and less detail, noise becomes more apparent there, even at moderate ISO values like 400-800. Any low-light shots of detail-rich scenes at the wide end of the zoom would disappoint with below-average image quality. Not what one would expect from Sony?.. -The workaround: shooting in JPEG produces, counter-intuitively, better images than RAW. How can this be? Simply, Sony are aware of the lens limitations and the in-camera conversion includes correction algorithms, that largely neutralise the geometric distortion and the darkening of corners. - This is when I discovered Lens Profils in Lightroom. I had never used them before, because other lenses needed less correction. With the correct lens profile for the 16-50 lens, post-processing corrections on the PC are even better than the in-camera ones. From 'bad' originals you can get results anywhere from 'acceptable' to 'very good'. The lens-specific corrections cover not only distortion and vignetting, but also chromatic aberration (colour fringing) and fine-tuning all parameters can produce crisp, excellent looking images. Conclusion: Knowing the lens limitations and applying the right post-processing corrections allows you to deliver high quality images with the E PZ 16-50mm. I own a number of higher-quality Sony and non-Sony lenses, prime (fixed-length) and zooms - but nothing beats the humble 'kit zoom' for the combination of versatility and compactness that makes it my go-to lens for all situations when I don't carry a camera bag and need a camera in my pocket or in my laptop case. Some of my images produced with this lens have won awards or were sold via Getty Images. Attached are examples of different subjects and light conditions;

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

22

0

0

Amateur says it works like a charm

SELP1650 02/08/2013 by jinx (USA)

This lens came bundled with my nex3 model camera. I have only ever had point-and-shoots prior to this. Since I enjoy taking close-ups, I thought I'd immediately have to splurge on a macro lens to be happy, but this is proving to be a useful lens. Fiddling with the settings, I have managed to take great photos outside and decent ones inside. I do find that when I'm trying to caputre things at a distance, I have to switch to telephoto lens, but almost always switch back to this one. Maybe my limited experience makes me a dumb novice, but I think it's great for the price as an all-purpose lens.

19

2

0

"Good" lens for everyday shooter

SELP1650 12/03/2013 by Meangrain (USA)

I bought a NEX-6 that came with this lens. I LOVE the NEX-6, but only like this lens. I never use it unless I want a camera and have no room for a camera bag. It is convenient at best... and frustrating at worst. Distortion correction is ALWAYS ON with this lens... that alone should tell you something. I like it for photography and hate it for video. I get strange lookin pincushion distortion that ruins my panning shots when in video mode. It operates reasonably distortion-free once you zoom to 22mm or further. Having the wide end of this lens to use is nice when you can't take a step back, but anything beyond 22mm should be ok if you have any straight lines to keep straight. Like most E-Mount lenses, you are paying for compactness and convenience, if you want high-quality optics for your NEX, get the LA-EA1 for photo or the LA-EA2 for video.

30

4

0

Don't bother if you have an original NEX5

SELP1650 15/02/2013 by BLTMAN (Canada)

I preordered it a couple of months ago and it just arrived from Sony.ca this week. The images produced by the lens (except when zoomed in all the way) have some of the worst distortion and barreling I have seen. All of the newer NEX cameras have had firmware updates adding in body distortion correction to JPEG images so this is really only a problem for those of us that adopted early and don’t want to spend $700 on a new camera. While there are sel1650 profiles to correct RAW images in lightroom, that is not really a solution to the problem (especially if you want to snap jpegs). It takes digging through several layers of the support website (and not on the sales part of the website) to find out that the SEL1650 may result in “Shading in the corners or distortion may be visible at the lens' widest position” on the original NEX. What an understatement. This Information was nowhere to be found when I ordered the lens. Absolutely shocking that Sony could not build this lens to support a camera (the original NEX5) that is less than 3 years old. Sony supported the original NEX5 for 18 months of firmware updates and then simply stopped. They left out the feature that is now available in all of the newer cameras that make this lens passable (in camera distortion correction for JPEG images). They should at least offer a very good trade-in program for those that own the earliest NEX models want to be able to use the newest lenses - but they don't.

85

13

0

Excellent travel lens

SELP1650 21/01/2013 by bayfield (Canada)

Bought this with a 5r body to replace a canon dslr camera mostly because its easy to carry and a slimmer profile. The photographs i have taken with the sony camera are exceptional...I'm an amateur photographer but demand superior results...and a forgiving camera that can decide what settings are appropriate. I have shot over 3000 pics with this lens and am extremely satisfied with what I see and its the easiest camera/lens combo I've ever travelled with. One disappointment was when the camera was accidentally knocked off a low shelf and it dropped perhaps 18" onto a carpeted floor. The lens is now unusable, and yes, it did fall, but this happens, has happened with other cameras and they were banged up...but still worked. That said, as soon as I can get a replacement I will definitely buy it again, no question.

18

3

0

Got 2 versions 1 silver 1 black SELP1650

SELP1650 18/12/2012 by mtechnic6 (USA)

I tried both lens on both the NEX-5N and my NEX-5R and it works, but the quality control will be an issue, the silver one was not as sharp nor is the OSS working properly with either camera. Compared to the black version it is a noticeable difference in that the OSS works and it is sharper than the silver one. However, compared to my SEL1855 I will have to disagree with the reviews that are currently out stating that the SELP1650 is a sharper better picture taking lens than my SEL1855 it is not, at lease my copies of the SELP1650s. You will have to be careful and hope your version that you get is better than your SEL1855. I kept the black one and sold the silver version already, until I come across another silver version that is equal or better than my black SELP1650 as my NEX 5R and 5N is silver..

28

32