Skip to Content
36

4.6 based on 36 customer reviews

25
10
0
1
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

37 Customer Reviews

0

Best First Lens!

SELP18105G 23/11/2017  (Canada)

Covers all the bases for focal length! Very sharp the electronic zoom will grow on you! Amazing for video and photos!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quality lens

SELP18105G 05/11/2017 by Ash68 (United Kingdom)

Bought this to replace the 16-50 kit lens and it's a massive step up in build quality although I honestly can't see much difference in image quality but I've only had it a month so too early to tell really. The auto focus is very quick and I love the manual focus dial so all in all very happy. Don't do much video shooting but I would imagine this lens to be a excellent choice due to the constant F4

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Exceptional All-Rounder

SELP18105G 30/10/2017 by Holst (Canada)

It is everything you could ask for and it is a G line lens. For a price you can't really beat it, as most other G lines are excessively over-priced. The image quality is exceptional and the lens is built to last with a metal exterior. While power-zoom is not popular with some, I find it responsive and precise.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Lens

SELP18105G 05/10/2017 by Old Creek (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens is a real worthwhile addition to my new Sony 6500. Covers a nice range, very smooth focusing and sharp results

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent lens

SELP18105G 16/09/2017 by Sponge daddy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

An excellent lens for both video and photographic purposes. As sharp as you would expect from a G series lens, and a good price. Very pleased.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Disappointed

SELP18105G 14/09/2017 by Chimes1953 (United Kingdom)

I had great expectations for this lens and I have to admit that it doesn't disappoint in use. Good range of focal lengths make it very versatile. I would have given a 5 star rating but for one little quirky point, which I think is a little cheap skate given the price of the lens. There is no lens cap! Is this a big deal? For me it is, particularly when I discovered what the Sony 72mm lens cap cost.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

6

0

Versatile Lense

SELP18105G 12/09/2017 by Johnny970 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this a month ago with a6500, a day before for my 3 weeks west coast road trip. In which, i'm glad i did, with my limited knowledge with cameras and lenses, i was able to take astounding pictures be it portrait, landscape, or even at a low light environment such as the caverns, all i did is set it up in auto mode with my cam, use the toggle to zoom in/out, point and shoot.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

7

0

0

Great Lens for value, weight and sharpness.

SELP18105G 22/08/2017 by Gordon M (USA)

If I only have room for one lens this my go to lens it's light, compact and sharp. The photo was shot at 105mm on an A9 in full auto settings. Sure you can buy a lens with a lower f stop but it will double the weight and triple the price and a maybe a fraction better quality???

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Questionable Quality Control

SELP18105G 03/08/2017 by Caleball (USA)

This product takes good images with only minor defects most notable at the corners. At times the vignetting appearance at the edges is extreme and requires extensive post production work to correct. The zoom ring is perfect and I appreciate the ability of the lens to change the direction for zoom to mimic other brands (can zoom by turning the ring right or left depending on settings). However the focus ring is poorly made... at least on my lens. The gap is drastically different depending on what angle you look at it from. The rings are against each other which has allowed sand and dirt to get between the two metal rings and make a horrible grinding effect. The lens also falls asleep often and takes a moment to wake up to take pics. If you hold the lens at a downward angle the lens will vibrate and grind when zooming in or out. This also makes a sound that ruins any film.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

5

0

Super Lens

SELP18105G 17/07/2017 by Bradus (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

So pleased to find this Lens. It fits my a6000 very well, and is a natural replacement for my Minolta 'A' mount AF 28-105 zoom xi. The powered zoom is smooth and quiet, and although I have a number of fine prime lenses, it will be very hard for this lens to leave my a6000.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

E PZ 18-105mm F4 G OSS

SELP18105G 16/07/2017 by Maggs (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens to my use as often as possible, very pleased with the results

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Tac-Sharp ¦ Fast Focus ¦ Professional Quality

SELP18105G 19/06/2017 by Residentevilzerofan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this after reading endless reviews and watching hours of video reviews. Let me give you some advice: if you are thinking about buying a lens that is versatile, can adapt to many situations and has a very fast AF - then this lens is for you - at this price you really cannot go wrong - it's TAC sharp - it really is - the sweet spot is around 71mm @ F6.3/7.1 - it comes to life. @ a 100% crop I am astounded by it's centre sharpness. I purchased the HOYA Revo UV filter for it as I wanted to protect it - photographing kids around splashing water etc. The Bokeh this lens provides is second to none - close to my FE Zeiss 55F18.... for portrait photography again with Face Detection active it's amazing. Even at a 100% Crop the sharpness is just incredible.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

1

0

Great all round lens.

SELP18105G 06/06/2017 by Eric 39 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is an excellent all round lens, as I suffer with arthritis the power zoom function is ideal as I have difficulty twisting the zoom ring. I have only had the lens for approx. two weeks so have not been able to fully realise all it's potential but so far results for photos and video are excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Best value native zoom bar none

SELP18105G 06/06/2017 by Krav (USA)

Pros: Good focal length range Constant f4 is a joy Sufficient sharpness for most situations Focusing speed not bad, silent too Cons: A bit heavy for all day shooting Slight vignette & distortion on extreme ends Slow start-up, so keep it on standby for street & events

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Nice lens for everyday use!

SELP18105G 02/06/2017 by Eddie2k2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Beautiful lens, 18-105 what I need most everyday use, sharp and quit for video power zoon in and out. F4 all focal length. Great quality photo and video.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent, sharp and flexible.

SELP18105G 01/05/2017 by CheesyGiblets (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I chose this and an a6300 body only over the standard kit lenses and so glad I did. /it is very versatile, and sharp throughout the ranges I've pushed it to so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Love it!!

SELP18105G 07/04/2017 by jenks8 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great all around lens. I used it the other day on a little nature walk. Lousy weather prevented me from getting really great shots but the zoom range and aperture really made it ideal. Obviously not the big zoom needed for serious wild life shots but a great walking around lens with great flexibility.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

A great all-around lens

SELP18105G 12/03/2017 by PhilOH (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as a replacement for the 16-80mm that came with the camera (and which I don't see with my registered with my other products). I like the slightly greater reach and the fixed f4 aperture. Although it fits my hand and works beautifully. The pictures are excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

silent focusing excellent pictures

SELP18105G 04/02/2017 by pash47 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

the lens is great for all round photography including video due to silent motorised focusing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Fantastic Value

SELP18105G 13/01/2017 by paukenmeister04 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Lens is everything I wanted it to be. I was looking for a well-rounded lens that I could travel with and I think I have found what I was looking for. as a side note, I feel that the power zoom toggle switch should have the ability to zoom faster.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great Lens

SELP18105G 29/12/2016 by Davetech (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

So glad I purchased this lens. It is very responsive and images look great. It is such a great deal for a G lens with a constant aperture of f4. You can blur the background so easily with this lens.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

An excellent all round lens

SELP18105G 28/11/2016 by Me20161948 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this on the 18th November for a very special national event. The photographs (over 100) were uploaded to the websites who were to publish them. A couple of days later I was told that most of the photos would be published nationally in a couple of days. They were.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Perfect All Around Lens

SELP18105G 17/10/2016 by Beach Guy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this two weeks ago and love it. Great build, light weight, crisp image quality and works perfectly with my A6300

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Really Fun Lens for Video

SELP18105G 16/10/2016 by Shaolinscott (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am really enjoying this compact and lightweight powered zoom lens. Good resolution and smooth operation

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Sony e pz 18-105 lens

SELP18105G 12/06/2016 by Esthar1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased 2 weeks ago and very pleased with product

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

0

Does it all

SELP18105G 05/05/2016 by Lounge Iguana (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens is a real step up from the kit 16-50, with much better bokeh and twice the reach. The stabilisation is truly wonderful, especially when manual focusing. The drawbacks are the size, battery drain from the power zoom and lack of width at the wide end (it's really more like 19mm after correction). It resets to wide after the camera sleeps, which some may find annoying. Overall, a lovely lens that handles well and gives great results.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

14

0

0

Good general purpose lens

SELP18105G 16/01/2016 by Whaty (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens to go with my Sony A5100. I have a number of primes but wanted something a little more versatile and covering a wider range, for those times when you don't want to carry several lenses around with you, the 18-105 fitted my requirements perfectly. In my opinion the IQ is generally better all round than the 16-50 kit lens, and of course it has a much wider range. It is a large lens, especially when mounted on the A5100, but somehow it works and it doesn't feel to front heavy, in fact, it's quite comfortable to use. It's the most expensive lens in my collection but, it met my requirements in terms of range perfectly, it feels like (and is) a quality product, can deliver excellent IQ and overall, I'm very happy with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

20

3

0

Buy this lens, excellent.

SELP18105G 05/01/2016 by mallyb47 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was a Christmas gift from my wife, it's been on my a6000 since opened. I've taken about 120 or so shots with it to date and quality is great resolution, sharpness and colour. Can't see it coming of my camera anytime soon.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

5

0

Excellent lens !!

SELP18105G 02/12/2015  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good range for general purpose photographs. I am happy with this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

10

0

Great proffesional zoom lens

SELP18105G 12/09/2015 by KeninSpoons (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Quality glass with an excellent range which suits the A6000 admirably.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

4

0

Just what my A6000 needed!

SELP18105G 04/06/2015 by Luigi_03 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Sony SELp 18-105mm is a solidly-built lens, but not a particularly heavy one; is optically excellent, as you would expect in a G-class lens, and zooms quietly and smoothly from wide-angle to mid-range telephoto under your camera's control. Its zoom range makes it an ideal choice for portraits, and also for street photography, architectural features, art, sculpture and buildings. The constant F4 aperture provides excellent depth of field control, and makes the most of whatever ambient light is available. Since I acquired this lens nine months ago, it has become my favourite walkabout lens. My A6000 and the SELp 18-105 make a Premier team.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

15

2

0

PERFECT ALL-ROUND LENS!

SELP18105G 15/03/2015 by SAMF (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I BOUGHT THIS LENS UNDER ADVICE FROM A FRIEND, AND IT IS THE PERFECT LENS FOR ALMOST ALL ENVIRONMENTS.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

4

0

Ideal Walk About Lens

SELP18105G 11/02/2015 by Pete 394 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had the lens just about a month and find it ideal.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

8

0

Very nice all around lens

SELP18105G 01/10/2014 by WestOkid (USA)

The lens has great build quality and good optics for a good price. It's only drawback is its form factor. It's rather large. However, the size is relative. If you consider the focal length it covers and the constant F/4 aperture, the size is actually reasonable.

23

4

0

Good value

SELP18105G 27/09/2014 by Leebergtally (USA)

I bought this lens because it has a constant f4 aperture and was moderately priced. I'm using it with the NEA EX50 camcorder. It's a good medium range zoom. It's plenty sharp throughout the zoom range. While the power zoom is better than the 18-200 powered zoom that came with my 50, you will still be hard pressed to get a smooth start and end. Also the focus is difficult. I often use the momentary auto focus. Still I am glad I added it to my modest arsenal of lenses.

11

1

0

Very good value for the price

SELP18105G 14/08/2014 by Myxin (USA)

This lens is a very good value for anybody doing both videos and stills. The power zoom is very silent and smooth for videos and the stabilization is very good. For stills, the lens is very sharp from around f5.6 to f8 but a little bit soft wide open. It produces very good images. The constant f4 aperture is very nice and a good compromise to keep the size down and, it makes it very versatile. The lens is quite big though, especially on the small body of my nex 5r, but easy to use and not to heavy. Highly recommended for the price!

40

3

0

Vs. SEL18200

SELP18105G 04/09/2013 by nickisntmyrealname (USA)

This new lens will no doubt be an excellent lens. But the SEL18200 is also an excellent lens. There likely will not be any noteworthy difference in image quality between the two lenses. At its longest focal length, this lens is a little more than a full stop faster than the SEL18200, at the same focal length. The power zoom control on this lens no doubt will work very well indeed, for shooting video, but won't provide any real advantage for shooting still images. This lens evidently will cost less, but this isn't enitirely certain, and will depend on whether it is possible to find discounts for either lens. The two lenses are very nearly identical in size and weight. But the SEL18200 extends to focal length nearly twice as great, and its active steady shot stabilization works amazingly well. It remains to be seen whether this lens will have the active form of optical steady shot. All in all, it is not the least bit apparent whether this lens will be more desirable than the SEL18200, especially for anyone who mainly does still photography.

52

260