XQD/SD CARD READER

Product Reviews

$98.33

6

1.8 based on 6 customer reviews

1
0
0
1
4
Performance

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

6 Customer Reviews

0

Life Expectancy Short

MRW-E90 29/01/2018 by Lizard Man (USA)

I purchased this reader back in June 2016 when I got my D500. Used lightly until my wife and I upgraded our D810's to D850's. I began using it pretty heavily as I fine tuned the focus on each camera for all our lenses. 2 days ago, Lightroom couldn't finish uploads and then when I'd insert a memory card, the drive would disappear in Lightroom and windows explorer. At first I thought a memory card went bad but fortunately I had a second one of these with my laptop and it worked as expected. Also tested other USB cables to see if that was the problem but that didn't fix it either. The unit worked very well prior to failing and there aren't many alternatives out there. Nothing last forever but I'm disappointed this one didn't last longer. I hope it's just a fluke! Warranty is only 1 year.

Performance

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Works just fine iMac running High Sierra 10.13.2

MRW-E90 28/01/2018 by RLPrice92 (USA)

I plugged this in to my iMac, and imported photos to Lightroom CC via the Sony XQD card from my Nikon D500. Import was fast, worked fine!

Performance

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

SIGNIFICANTLY LOWER SPEED THAN MARKED

MRW-E90 04/01/2018 by Nick237 (USA)

I tested against memory card bench mark, it is actually just over 300 MB/s in reading and only over 100 MB/s in writing. Absolutely disappointing.

Performance

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

I can't get any sony support for this device.

MRW-E90 29/12/2017 by Grover (USA)

I can't get any support for the Sony XQD Card reader. Sony does not recognize their own model number so you can't even send them a support request. No body has any readers for this card in stock. So how much is a new camera you just bought worth when there is no hardware you can buy to get your pictures out of the memory card? I am considering taking a very expensive camera back due to this issue. This is business at it's worst when you produce a new memory product in mass and your suppliers have none of the readers that are advertised so you can get your pictures from the card.

Performance

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Write speed is only 110MB/sec

MRW-E90 05/11/2017 by ax123 (USA)

Write speed is almost 3 times less then led to believe by the claim "Transfer 60 GB data in approximately 3 minutes2" on the page of the product https://www.sony.com/electronics/card-readers/mrw-e90. Read speed is up to 270MB/sec. Performance on small files is pathetic (dozens of kilobytes per second). Write caching on windows can't be turned on.

Performance

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Uncompatible

MRW-E90 28/10/2017 by Steezie (USA)

This card reader says it is Windows and Mac compatible, but after Mac OS 10.12, it is not and fails to work at ALL. There is no driver or updates available to fix this issue.

Performance

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

6

2