Skip to Content
8

3.6 based on 8 customer reviews

3
1
2
2
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Performance

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

let's get real (to the purchaser)

LAEA3 11/05/2015 by TerryDover (USA)

if you want to see the difference between this, and the other one that costs double, try an online search. by the way, also review lens adaptors made by others. you will find adaptors tricky, with many requiring adjustments to camera settings (not much fun in the field on a sunny day or if below freezing. this one allowed an amount telephoto to mount to my A3000 (similar to the A6000) with ease. the auto focus is a bit slower. so factor that in. if you are staying with sony lenses and not trying to do video or use all the complex features this is fine.

3

1

Most Helpful Critical
0

An afterthought from an otherwise innovative team

LAEA3 01/12/2014 by ThinkingKnight (USA)

Why can Sony not provide more details about how it works and how it compares with the LA-EA4? Even on contacting Sony Customer support on the phone most of their reps have no clue of this...many of us invested heavily in the A-mount when Sony made SLT technology and are afraid that the release of just one A-mount body this year with no midrange product may be a sign that they are investing less in A-mount and we will have to switch to E-mount or FE-mount . Where is the replacement for the A65 and A99? I was hoping for a mount adapter that provides " aperture drive mechanism enables Auto Exposure with compatible A-mount lenses." while utilizing the on-chip phase-detect sensors on the A6000 without the need for a translucent mirror. I just ordered the A77 II after owning multiple SLTs in the past and am looking forward to the full frame A7 II with sensor shift stabilization but need an affordable(preferably bundled free) thin sleek strong mount adapter that preserves all of the functionality of the A-mount lenses. The LA-EA4 providing just 15 phase detect sensors is a terrible compromise when the A6000 and A77 II's on-chip phase detect sensors can do all the work while having electronic compatibility with the vast array of A-mount lenses.

42

3

8 Customer Reviews

0

Not a good combination with A7II

LA-EA3 13/12/2016 by BigMackCam (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the LA-EA3 so I could use my sonic-drive A-mount glass (Sony and third party) with my new A7II, excited to have both on-sensor PDAF and CDAF to choose from. Unfortunately the PDAF is slow and unreliable, requiring good light and a detailed and contrasty target to successfully focus. CDAF is slower still, with many micro-adjustments at the end of the focusing cycle, but is unfailingly accurate. Interestingly, when PDAF does manage to lock on and focus successfully, it is then able to track rather well in continuous AF. But after extensive tests, I regrettably returned the LA-EA3 to the supplier for a refund. It may be that it works well on other Sony cameras (such as the A6000-series and the A7RII), but performance is too weak for me to recommend it in tandem with the A7II. Conversely, the LA-EA4 I've bought works flawlessly, closely matching the PDAF in my Sony A99-based Hasselblad HV.

Performance

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent

LA-EA3 22/07/2016 by Bigboytwin (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It does as it says on the tin as the saying goes. There is nothing more to say.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Does what it says on the tin

LA-EA3 28/09/2015 by Gromit (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

At first I thought I was going to have trouble with it as after a few shots with the SAL 70-400mm a warning popped up on the screen. Re-attaching the lens cured this. One or two glitches later I decided it was either just contacts bedding-in or my failure to make sure the mechanism had clicked into position. I've had no problems since and have changed back and forth between 70-400mm and 24-70mm as well as removing the LA-EA3 completely and re-attaching the FE 55mm.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

versatile

LA-EA3 14/09/2015 by popsie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just bought this and I am pleased that I did. Now I have the ability to use all my other lenses thus keeping the overall costs down as well as extending my capacity and range photographically

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

let's get real (to the purchaser)

LAEA3 11/05/2015 by TerryDover (USA)

if you want to see the difference between this, and the other one that costs double, try an online search. by the way, also review lens adaptors made by others. you will find adaptors tricky, with many requiring adjustments to camera settings (not much fun in the field on a sunny day or if below freezing. this one allowed an amount telephoto to mount to my A3000 (similar to the A6000) with ease. the auto focus is a bit slower. so factor that in. if you are staying with sony lenses and not trying to do video or use all the complex features this is fine.

3

1

0

An afterthought from an otherwise innovative team

LAEA3 01/12/2014 by ThinkingKnight (USA)

Why can Sony not provide more details about how it works and how it compares with the LA-EA4? Even on contacting Sony Customer support on the phone most of their reps have no clue of this...many of us invested heavily in the A-mount when Sony made SLT technology and are afraid that the release of just one A-mount body this year with no midrange product may be a sign that they are investing less in A-mount and we will have to switch to E-mount or FE-mount . Where is the replacement for the A65 and A99? I was hoping for a mount adapter that provides " aperture drive mechanism enables Auto Exposure with compatible A-mount lenses." while utilizing the on-chip phase-detect sensors on the A6000 without the need for a translucent mirror. I just ordered the A77 II after owning multiple SLTs in the past and am looking forward to the full frame A7 II with sensor shift stabilization but need an affordable(preferably bundled free) thin sleek strong mount adapter that preserves all of the functionality of the A-mount lenses. The LA-EA4 providing just 15 phase detect sensors is a terrible compromise when the A6000 and A77 II's on-chip phase detect sensors can do all the work while having electronic compatibility with the vast array of A-mount lenses.

42

3

0

Gateway to Alpha lenses

LAEA3 29/10/2014 by Billm6152 (USA)

This gadget is necessary to allow Sony Alpha lenses (A mount) to be connected to a Sony NEX-3 (E mount) camera. This is a good thing because there are many more "A" mount lenses available than "E" mount. If effectively extends the life of the NEX-3. The mount uses a quick twist mount, and so is easy to use. With some practice you could probably change lenses in the dark if you needed to. On the down side, the mount is a little bigger (thicker) than you'd expect it to be; perhaps it does more than just physically connect the mounts. Also, at least in some cases, some lens functionality is lost when going through the mount.

19

4

0

Great all around product.

LA-EA3 26/09/2014 by VynZ (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Given what this does I am surprised that this adaptor is so small, compact and lightweight. However being a same-brand adaptor, the autofocus speed when using lenses should be quicker. I use it with a SAL-1635Z and the autofocus is very slow compared with the nearly instant autofocus of the kit E mount lens. I also find that the fit on the E mount side of this adaptor, where it attaches to the camera body, could be more rigid although this may have more to do with the E mount design rather than the adaptor itself.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

11