Skip to Content
15

4.5 based on 15 customer reviews

9
4
2
0
0
Picture Quality

Good

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Turns the A7II into an A99 instantly!

LA-EA4 13/12/2016 by BigMackCam (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After an unfortunate experience with the LA-EA3 (poor focusing speed and reliability in less than perfect light), I am utterly delighted with the LA-EA4 when used with my A7II. Yes, it steals one-third-of-a-stop of light due to the SLT translucent mirror, but this is no different to the Sony A99. Once fitted to the A7II, this light but sturdy adapter works flawlessly, providing fast, reliable PDAF just like the A99 - both for sonic-drive and screw-drive lenses. My Sony Zeiss, Tamron and Konica Minolta lenses all work perfectly with it, and I couldn't be more satisfied. Excellent product - highly recommended!

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Adapters

LA-EA4 23/03/2016 by Martii (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this adapter 4 weeks ago although it works upto now well enough in hind sight should have forgotten the legacy glass and gone with the Metabones adapter for nikon or canon lenses more variety of glass and a lot cheaper than Sony glass. The LA EA4 Adapter because of the mirror you lose 30% of the incoming light which needless to say is not good for low light situations.

Performance

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

1

15 Customer Reviews

0

Works better than expected

LA-EA4 16/01/2017 by DavidBev (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have tried this adapter with six different A mount lenses on my a6000 camera. The autofocus works as fast as it did when these were connected to my a77 Sony camera. The Sigma lenses I tried have the advantage of also having optical stabilisation which the Sony A mount lenses don't. However they all work very well (Sony, Sigma and Tamron)

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Turns the A7II into an A99 instantly!

LA-EA4 13/12/2016 by BigMackCam (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After an unfortunate experience with the LA-EA3 (poor focusing speed and reliability in less than perfect light), I am utterly delighted with the LA-EA4 when used with my A7II. Yes, it steals one-third-of-a-stop of light due to the SLT translucent mirror, but this is no different to the Sony A99. Once fitted to the A7II, this light but sturdy adapter works flawlessly, providing fast, reliable PDAF just like the A99 - both for sonic-drive and screw-drive lenses. My Sony Zeiss, Tamron and Konica Minolta lenses all work perfectly with it, and I couldn't be more satisfied. Excellent product - highly recommended!

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Adapters

LA-EA4 23/03/2016 by Martii (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this adapter 4 weeks ago although it works upto now well enough in hind sight should have forgotten the legacy glass and gone with the Metabones adapter for nikon or canon lenses more variety of glass and a lot cheaper than Sony glass. The LA EA4 Adapter because of the mirror you lose 30% of the incoming light which needless to say is not good for low light situations.

Performance

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

1

0

Nice to be able to focus with old lenses

LA-EA4 21/08/2015 by Slalom (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this for a few moths and it works nicely.

Performance

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Works a treat!

LA-EA4 09/07/2015 by AAG1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Opens up the world of Sony A mount lenses but also that of some great legacy Minolta glass.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Well worth the money if you have full frame lenses

LA-EA4 17/06/2015 by JZW72 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm a serious hobby photographer. I bought this three weeks ago to make use of the full frame zoom lenses I had inherited from my father (who had a minolta dynax 35mm camera). I have two voigtlander primes (15 and 40mm) - manual focus- which I use for essentially stationary subjects. I wanted the LA-EA4 so that I could use my autofocus zooms. I can now concentrate on moving subjects if I wish. It works a treat and adds a different flavour to a days shooting. I'm loving it I've not uploaded any pictures but I feel that the adapter gets the most out of any attached lenses - it does a remarkably crisp job of focusing...

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Amazing focus speeds

LA-EA4 21/04/2015 by minfansony (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this for my A7R and A7II, works really well with both cameras, better than I expected and a different league compared to the EA3. Only a slight light loss due to the mirror and I've not noticed a big difference between this and the EA3 doing night shots. Great edge sharpness too with my Sony 16-35mm F2,8. Just wish it was the same size/weight as the EA3, but I can live it due to the focusing speeds. Also its a shame both adapters don't recognise the aperture on my Tamron 90mm F2.8, making the lens useless.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Superb product, just what I needed.

LA-EA4 02/03/2015 by Lanadre (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product to use my Minolta and Sony A mount lenses on my A7. What an amazing product, it has got me interested in adapting other lenses to my A7 as well now for fun.

Performance

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

Excellent

LA-EA4 03/02/2015 by Aquila1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Speed in autofocus with legacy Minolta AF lenses exceeded my expectations.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Allows me to use other lenses

LAEA4 06/10/2014 by dtopp (USA)

This adapter allows me to use my collection of Minolta lenses. I have to adjust aperture and exposure times, but the adapter is saving me the cost of buying lenses.

16

1

0

it was exactly what I wanted

LAEA4 27/09/2014 by games252 (USA)

I have multiple lenses for my dslr but wanted the ability to use them with my new Sony. I can easily switch cameras , set up cameras for multiple use, and easy to carry. I am extremely happy with this attachment.

15

5

0

A to e mount adapter

LAEA4 26/09/2014 by Pattig (USA)

I used my Alpha lens and had some problems with it connecting to the camera. Needless to say I was Not impressed.

7

10

0

Extremely useful, but extremely improvable

LAEA4 13/09/2014 by Apocryphon (USA)

I'm giving this a 4 because 3.5 is not available and it is good enough to where I'll round up instead of down. This said, I almost never take it off any more, though it does happen here and there. Simply put, the upside is that it greatly expands your range of excellent glass to include Sony A mount and Minolta Maxxum lenses. The downside is that it does not seem to effectively communicate with your camera to the fullest extent - and this is a huge downside and disappointment. I almost never use autofocus anymore, BUT, for those who do you'll find your autofocus points greatly diminished to a crosshair type pattern that you'll be familiar with from older dSLRs (I use the a6000.) This would be fine IF it was a selectable option inside the camera (especially if it allowed for more resources and speed to be allotted to those few points), but, really, and for future reference for Sony, it should communicate with the camera and have NO hindering effects on the performance of the camera in that respect. While I seem to get great images out of it, I'm not sure if that has to do with the addition of the mirror, the lenses, or both.... I think anyone who is familiar with the CSCs that it will be attached to will find certain elements diminished (I also think it views a bit darker than e-mount lenses.) All in all, it is a great purchase that has allowed me the use of some excellent lenses. I would certainly like to see improvements on the idea in the future.

34

1

0

Extends lenses available to Emount users.

LA-EA4 05/09/2014 by rboy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Auto focus works very well, the device feels very solid and does the job I needed it to.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Works great with older "A" mount lenses!

LAEA4 05/01/2014 by SharpShooter (USA)

One of the main factors in my decision to purchase the A7r was due to this adapter. I had started with a Minolta film camera and moved to the a900. While I don't have a huge fortune in glass, I didn't really want to reinvest. I have listed the lenses I have below which all work well with this adapter. Older Minolta lenses: 28-100 AF 3.5-5.6 100-210 AF 4.5-5.6 70-300 AF 4.5-5.6 17-35 AF 2.8-4 Sony alpha A mount lenses: 500mm reflex f8 (Sony mirror lens) 50mm prime 1.4 135mm prime 1.8 The two primes and the 17-35 are my favorite lenses and they don't disappoint me on the A7r. The 135mm is one heavy piece of glass but is razor sharp and color is tack on. I would definitely suggest using the tripod mount on the adapter for heavier lenses. I do have one lens which does not work with this adapter. It is the first lens on my first Minolta. It is a 35-80 "power zoom", an odd little lens with a powered ring for zooming and focusing. Not a big loss for me, but I thought I would mention it. If you have lenses from Minolta or Sony A mounts, I would definitely get this adapter!

107

5