Skip to Content
6

4.0 based on 6 customer reviews

2
2
2
0
0
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Works well

FDAEV1MK 22/08/2013 by leebos (USA)

Works very well for bright sunny days when the LCD washes out and becomes almost useless. Wish it would tilt down as well as up. Sure wish I had it on a recent trip to AZ, NM, & NV. I could have gotten some better shots. Way overpriced but it will fit other sony camera's as well as my HX50V.

13

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Expensive for a plastic viewfinder

FDA-EV1MK 02/06/2014 by Zepp (United Kingdom)

This viewfinder had made using the Sony RX1 much easier to use, especially in bright sunlight and low angle shots, where the articulating finder turns 90 degrees, allowing you to look down through the finder. Unfortunately, although the electronics work fine, the housing of the EVF are made from plastic and seems bordering on cheap. The finder doesn't even have a locking nut to secure it to the hotshoe. The diopter adjustment is not concealed, but is located on the side of the finder, so can be knocked all too easily. The hinge also feels vulnerable, mainly due to the plastic design. For a premium priced item, this is badly designed, using less than robust materials. Although it may well sit well with other cameras, it definitely does not with the metal body of the RX1.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

6 Customer Reviews

0

Makes the DSC RX1R truly professional

FDA-EV1MK 25/02/2015 by Nickpicker (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is must for the RX1R and I have used this a few times, I like the various positions it can be use in and is a must for taken pictures low down where otherwise you would have to lay down on your tummy and then you could not position yourself comfortable to compose a picture. To make those final setting adjustments it's like looking through a SLR maybe not such a large area as the SLR but enough to see those changes which you would not see looking on the rear display. Also the dioptric adjustment does not get out of adjustment once set it stays there. I have these viewfinders on other makes of cameras that have been pushed out of adjustment and you think the picture is out of focus not so with this viewfinder. The information displayed is okay, anything larger then you would be sacrificing the area of composing your picture. I always make my settings on what I see rather than try to read what is displayed, I find the green led which does flash if you are out of focus can help but the clarity of the display is good and you can see if you are out of focus. The level bar could be handy this has been disarmed again too much information can clutter the display and you can always check on the large monitor. The way the sensor switches from monitor to viewfinder is fast when you take your eye away from viewfinder another plus for this. I prefer to use the rubber eye piece because I wear glasses and this gives support I need but usually I set the viewfinder and tend to leave my glasses off because you could damage the large monitor with your glasses. I am retired QA Manger but working in electronics for many years on high quality assemblies would say the build quality was excellent and as for the price my personal view is it's about right, for what you are getting.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

I still think the price for this item is crazy.

FDA-EV1MK 06/02/2015 by Keith (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have not used the camera with this accessory much yet but it seems fine and does what one would expect. Information displays well. It is OK attaching and removing from the hotshoe. I had to buy a larger belt bag to accommodate the camera with the viewfinder. Sony should work on producing a reasonably priced compact with the HX50 performance that has a built in viewfinder. Maybe even delete the LCD which is useless most of the time.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Great accessory

FDA-EV1MK 23/06/2014 by jirams (United Kingdom)

Excellent device but eye wateringly expensive - must be mad

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Expensive for a plastic viewfinder

FDA-EV1MK 02/06/2014 by Zepp (United Kingdom)

This viewfinder had made using the Sony RX1 much easier to use, especially in bright sunlight and low angle shots, where the articulating finder turns 90 degrees, allowing you to look down through the finder. Unfortunately, although the electronics work fine, the housing of the EVF are made from plastic and seems bordering on cheap. The finder doesn't even have a locking nut to secure it to the hotshoe. The diopter adjustment is not concealed, but is located on the side of the finder, so can be knocked all too easily. The hinge also feels vulnerable, mainly due to the plastic design. For a premium priced item, this is badly designed, using less than robust materials. Although it may well sit well with other cameras, it definitely does not with the metal body of the RX1.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Works well

FDAEV1MK 22/08/2013 by leebos (USA)

Works very well for bright sunny days when the LCD washes out and becomes almost useless. Wish it would tilt down as well as up. Sure wish I had it on a recent trip to AZ, NM, & NV. I could have gotten some better shots. Way overpriced but it will fit other sony camera's as well as my HX50V.

13

0

0

Right angle tilt is convenient

FDAEV1MK 19/12/2012 by RXIchiban (USA)

I have to admit that I had grown accustomed to the LCD view while I awaited delivery of the EV1MK, but it has a number of advantages over most built-in viewfinders which I will relate to you. The viewfinder can be removed and that makes the RX1 easier to use for street photography because, without the EV1 sticking up, the camera is far less obtrusive. The EV1MK can be tilted, making it a right-angle viewfinder that is convenient for above crowd, knee high, and macrophotography. This viewfinder has the highest resolution of any EVF that I have ever seen and that makes manual focusing a snap. Blacks are black and, in fact, all colors are true. When you look away from the EV1, it turns the LCD screen on. Also, you have the option to switch it off with the button on the left side. The diopter correction slides to accommodate personal visual acuity. The case can be attached/detached to your belt or the camerastrap with its Velcro flap, so it can be handy. It is sturdy and has a snug fit to the hotshoe. 100% view shows everything. I recommend using the leveler that shows up in the EV1 (or on the LCD) because you may get lost in an image that looks three dimensional even though you are seeing through one eye.

118

3