Skip to Content
467

4.4 based on 467 customer reviews

275
136
27
9
20
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great camera

DSCH400/B 03/05/2015 by frugalchariot (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this camera in late June, 2014 and have used it regularly. My photographic interest is the outdoors, both scenic and wildlife from closeup to telephoto, and the wide angle with 63X optical zoom allows amazing reach. The 20 megapixel resolution allows fine tuning and cropping on the computer with no loss in quality of the end product. And the camera is not heavy or bulky, is easily carried, and relatively easy to hold steady even on telephoto shots. Overall, the camera is a bargain at its asking price; I would recommend it without question to anyone who wants simplicity and great photographic range.

7

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Could do with some better firmware and fasterfocus

DSC-H400 02/07/2017 by MAD MAX (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My Sony Camera has been dogged by constant problems with focus. By pressing the shutter button partially it pulls into focus, then at the point of shutter release, loses it frequently. It also loses it's way and saves "invalid" files, that is most unpredictable. Focus - when it works is painfully slow. Multiple shutter release has never worked. It is also not possible to take control of focus, for example leave it on infinity. Aperture and Shutter priority pictures are fit only to delete. This is a very poor excuse for a camera. Shame because it is light, has a marvellous telephoto capability - but so little of the electronics really work properly. Unreliable and not really much use, I have initialised this camera on nearly every outing to get it to work at all. I will more than likely end up throwing it in the dustbin.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

467 Customer Reviews

0

Very versatile camera spoilt by poor documentation

DSC-H400 16/11/2017 by Radders (United Kingdom)

I was looking for a reasonable inexpensive camera with a conventional viewfinder and purchased this. I am satisfied with it's performance but dissatisfied with the poor documentation/operating instructions.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

thatched cottage

DSC-H400 15/11/2017 by chainsaw (United Kingdom)

excellent camera for the price the quality of my pics have improved two fold but one problem it will not take moon snots

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Generally okay but focus is slow

DSC-H400 13/11/2017 by Renegade Pete (United Kingdom)

Bought this camera and found it good in most respects. It's failing was slow focus. For the type of photography I do this was a major deficit. Took the camera back to the shop I purchased it, and paid the extra for a Sony DSC-HX400V. This has the far superior Carl Zeiss lens and focus etc. Much better camera and well worth the extra money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

easy to use

DSC-H400 13/11/2017 by kevvy (United Kingdom)

lovely camera i,m not a great photographer but this camera takes lovely photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant features

DSC-H400 11/11/2017 by Kellymarie (United Kingdom)

I bought this product to take pictures of my new born baby and I’m so glad I did. It takes amazing clear pictures and I have been able to capture some amazing shots. The software you can install to a laptop/computer is amazing and allows you to edit and play about with pictures and arrange them as you please. A* product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Camra

DSC-H400 18/10/2017 by Tea m (United Kingdom)

Design and style of the camra is just perfect and it meats all my needs

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great features

DSC-H400 05/10/2017 by Davl (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this a couple of weeks ago and am very pleased with the versatility of the camera.

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

versitle

DSCH400B 05/10/2017 by retired guy (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

exposure is not always correct. have to retake a scene at times.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/10/2017

Hi, retired guy, Thank you for the feedback. There are a lot of settings you can change to set the proper exposure you want to get. It also depends on how and what you want to get from your subject. You may try setting the mode dial to Program Auto. This will automatically adjust the exposure (both shutter speed and aperture value) when you are shooting. For more tips, we suggest visiting the link below:
http://docs.esupport.sony.com/dvimag/2014/DSC-H400_guide/en/index.html.
Regards,
Vincent

0

Lovely clear photo's!

DSC-H400 02/10/2017 by Cornish Glen (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had been hoping to get an SLR camera, however this bridge camera does all that I had wanted and more. Great photo's without the weight of carrying around extra lenses.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good, solidly constructed Camera.

DSC-H400 29/09/2017 by Malc42 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I needed a new camera after my previous camera died. I looked around a bit and in the end came down to two cameras, one the Sony and the other a Nikon. Both were the same price and had the same facilities except that the Nikon did not have a viewfinder. I'm old fashioned and like to look through viewfinder rather than stare at a back screen. So I went for the Sony and I am glad that I did. It has a solid feel to it. I like something that feels that if you drop it - I hope not - not much damage would happen. Since I last bought a camera things have changed and the camera has a whole variety of tricks up it's lens. However the zoooooom has to be recommended. I think it specifies something like 63 times on the optics and there is a doubler on the electronic side taking the zoom way beyond what you will got to in normal use. The only thing that slightly lets it down is the documentation. There is a small leaflet that gives some details but there is at least one small item that is 100% wrong. It shows two icons on the control button one is "Intelligent Auto" and the other is "Movie Mode" but this is not what the camera tells you! which is 100% the opposite! There is a manual that you can download that gives you more details but it covers both this camera and a more expensive sister model that has wifi and the capability to control it from a smart phone. However in the manual it generally doesn't necessarily matter as you can quickly work out if the feature described is available on your camera. All in all an excellent camera and I looking forward to some clear weather to get some outside shots.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Small camera with the BIG zoom

DSC-H400 27/09/2017 by twister (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to take on a safari, and, was rewarded with some great shots .. 'steady' to hold, great viewfinder, and, the zoom is perfect ...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Sony

DSC-H400 20/09/2017 by alltre (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After a few problems not being able to charge the battery, they changed the camera and it has been first class ever since.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Zoom

DSC-H400 19/09/2017 by Ploops (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this for my holiday the zoon is brilliant the camara is so easy to use the down side is the screen you can't take a high shoot to look in the screen the screen is fixed apart from that I give it 4 stars

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features

DSC-H400 18/09/2017 by timb16 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been very impressed so far with the results of this camera. Once you get used to the macro function, Witch can we a bit strange at first, Then the camera does everything that a budding amature needs. On full auto it is simple to use, But both aperture and speed can be adjusted to make use of light. I can see a long future for me and this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy to use

DSC-H400 15/09/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this as last camera was too complicated for an old fogie like me. This is the best camera I have had and so easy to use, just what I wanted.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent zoom quality

DSC-H400 11/09/2017 by P3nf0ld (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this a few weeks ago great zoom a bit disappointed that I couldn't find how to take just standard black and white could only find partial colour but overal a great camera. Excellent battery life and nice and light weight.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Huge zoom, slow camera

DSC-H400 27/08/2017 by Tonyph (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Huge zoom but let down by speed, takes a long time between photos. Battery life poor.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Superior available light performance

DSCH400B 25/08/2017 by Bob7 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Upgraded from a simple point and shoot for vacation. I was especially impressed with the low light available light capability. Inside churches and museums where flash is impractical or not permitted, this camera gave me consistently sharp and well color balanced pictures

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Simple

DSC-H400 25/08/2017 by Bbex007 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A great buy for anyone starting out in photography. Purchased for my 13 year old, easy to use, amazing pictures and a sturdy camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

EXCELLENCE PERSONIFIED

DSC-H400 24/08/2017 by sharazjek (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Needed a new camera and this one was exceptional,it was as if you just had to point and it would do all the rest!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good overalll but not excellent.

DSC-H400 14/08/2017 by Jons (United Kingdom)

I bought camera 9 days ago and after experimenting with features, I was very happy overall and would have given 5 star had it not been for two things. 1) Each frame felt like 1 to 1.5 per second per frame rather than .75 per second as per spec. 2) At first glance and after 10 days of practise I was disappointed when zooming on an insect from a few feet away as lens unable to focus very very closely on subbect. 0 out of 10. Compared to my Canon mini bridge 410X camera which I have had for over 2 years, the 410x I score 10 out of 10 when zooming very close to insects from a few feet away and take very clear pictures. Less fidgety with controls. With Sony or other brands I suppose be patient learning by reading manual and practise using to selecting different and correct controls on dial and you will be able to zoom on tiny insects, fruits, etc. 3) To be fair the menus are logical laid out for a new user but with years of experience using Canon, it takes awhile to readjust and learn to use another brofo and lay out. HINT: a) goto Sony Europe website and search for DCS H400 digital manual app. Highly recommended. https://www.sony.co.uk/electronics/support/compact-cameras-dsch-series/dsc-h400 b) and to download digital manual goto: https://www.sony.co.uk/electronics/support/compact-cameras-dsch-series/dsc-h400 5) 20 MP for dcs h400 versus 16 MP for sx60 Sony. No match Everything else was very good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great camera

DSC-H400 13/08/2017 by Maiden Beast (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great camera im a beginner fantastic zoom just what i need great value for money

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

disapointment

DSC-H400 12/08/2017 by 11111111111111111 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

got no way of using it properly without a user manual

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Good Zoom Camera

DSC-H400 23/07/2017 by Al73 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought the camera a couple of weeks ago. I already have a compact camera and DSLR camera so this is sort of inbetween the two of them. Optical zoom is excellent although camera is a bit slow to operate on taking multiple pictures. I bought this for a cruise I'm going on to take photos of landscape from the ship so should work really well.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

great zoom

DSC-H400 16/07/2017 by chevron (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

still geting used to used to camera but very impresed

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Shame about the video

DSC-H400 14/07/2017 by 1h7w4j99cv (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago and on holiday for the last two weeks the video didn't work properly with a red cast over the picture even automatic operation. I changed to a Panasonic today

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

not worth having

DSC-H400 10/07/2017 by not know (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

main problem is the viewfinder .not clear in bright sunlight

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

GOOD CAMERA

DSCH400B 10/07/2017 by BZZZZ (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

SITE WAS SO DIFFICULT TO NVIGATE THAT I ALMOST DID NOT BUY THIS AND MAY NOT BUY ANOTHER PRODUCT ONLINE AS A MATTER OF FACT I WAS SO ANNOYED THAT I MAY NOT BUY ANOTHER SONY PRODUCT.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/07/2017

Hi BZZZZ, thank you for bringing this to our attention and we're sorry to hear that you had a hard time with our website. We'll make sure that your feedback reaches the team for possible changes on the site and improvements. Best regards.

0

DSC-H400 Compact Camera With 63x Optical Zoom

DSC-H400 06/07/2017 by Lachie1946 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera a few weeks ago and already I'm impressed

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Could do with some better firmware and fasterfocus

DSC-H400 02/07/2017 by MAD MAX (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My Sony Camera has been dogged by constant problems with focus. By pressing the shutter button partially it pulls into focus, then at the point of shutter release, loses it frequently. It also loses it's way and saves "invalid" files, that is most unpredictable. Focus - when it works is painfully slow. Multiple shutter release has never worked. It is also not possible to take control of focus, for example leave it on infinity. Aperture and Shutter priority pictures are fit only to delete. This is a very poor excuse for a camera. Shame because it is light, has a marvellous telephoto capability - but so little of the electronics really work properly. Unreliable and not really much use, I have initialised this camera on nearly every outing to get it to work at all. I will more than likely end up throwing it in the dustbin.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

A smart looking SLR

DSC-H400 30/06/2017 by Damo86 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this as a birthday present and found it really easy to use and the pictures it takes are amazing. In all a very good SLR for the price too.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

ideal for my requirements

DSC-H400 28/06/2017 by Paul244 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only had this a short while and the only upset is that it will not take RAW images - in all other respects it is ideal.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good Start

DSC-H400 22/06/2017 by Proud Yorkie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Since buying this camera I have downloaded the instruction manual and am slowly making my way through it. So far, so good.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great camera. Fantastic features.

DSC-H400 20/06/2017 by Shuggie000 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very easy to hold. Then operate.good zoom, with the focus on the same button as taking the picture.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good camera but poor instructions not enought expl

DSC-H400 10/06/2017 by John30 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought camera a month ago just getting used to it photos seem good at moment but not enough information on the instructions in box with camera

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Excellent picture quality

DSC-H400 06/06/2017 by TeeEff (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I find it easy to use with excellent picture quality. However, the manual could be clearer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

It is so easy to use.

DSC-H400 06/06/2017 by Buffman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like Sony products and they are so reliable and the after sale service is very good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great camera!

DSC-H400 29/05/2017 by jacki232 (USA)

Nice camera! i ever seen this type of cemera. realy great!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

sony dsc-h400 camera

DSC-H400 20/05/2017 by JOHN1955 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

this is a great camera easy to use with alot of great fetures

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Camera

DSC-H400 15/05/2017 by Egtonbutterfly (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Our previous point and shoot camera was a Sony. We had been very happy with it so were pleased when we identified another Sony that met our needs. The DSC H400 is not to heavy or cumbersome and is straightforward to use. Resuults are excellent and the Zoom really good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great camera - one drawback

DSC-H400 09/05/2017 by Miketerryfan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really good camera. Easy to use and the 63x optical zoom is exceptional and that is why I bought this camera. I was surprised that the camera does not have any inbuilt cropping or trimming facilities. My two previous cameras in this field both had the feature and I just presumed it was standard. Maybe a small price to pay for such good magnification but all image editing is now done on my computer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0